Say Yes

5 Jul

Happy Fourth of July!!

(belated I guess)

First, thank you guys sooo much for all the support in response to my last post. I know so many of you can relate, and even if you can’t, your comments makes me feel so much better. I know that everything i’m going through will make me stronger, and I have already learned so much of myself in the past couple years as a result of my eating disorder.

My last post was really hard for me to write, but I felt so relieved that I did because it meant that I was saying yes to myself. I was saying yes to doing something that I knew would make happier.

 I’ve always been someone who has a really hard time saying yes to myself- I say yes to everyone else but for some reason, I have the hardest time doing things for myself.

summer, one of my main priorities is to start saying yes to the things I need, and no to the things I don’t. I’m sick of worrying so much about other people and not enough about myself. I’m always so concerned with my friends or other people, and how they feel or what they think, but I forget to sit back and think about how I feel.

So I guess i’m just trying ot say thatit’s ok to say yes to yourself!

Say yes to a healthy meal that you took some time to make.. [baked sweet potato rounds, chicken hotdog, broccoli & Trader Joe’s guacamole hummus..so good]

say yes  to a nap when you know you need some more sleep…

say yes to a night out with your friends

Say yes to ice cream when you want it! (or froyo.. both work for me haha).. cookies n cream from graeter’s is my fav or plain tart froyo

say yes to jello shots

I think you guys get it…

In this whole process of recovering from my eating disorder and figuring out who I really am [ya know, deep stuff like that], knowing when to say yes to is tricky. I’m working on figuring out what I want versus what I think I should do (does that make any sense?). I’m starting to get a little more in tune with myself, but it definitely isn’t easy.

Sometimes I want to go out with my friends and just let go of being “healthy” for a day, while other times I want nothing more than to curl up on my couch, watch a movie, workout, and relax all day… and i’m finally starting to understand that both are ok. There is never a “right” thing to do in these types of situations, and when it comes down to it I realize that ill be happiest if I listen to my body and do what I feel like doing. Make sense?

Anyways, i’m off to bed… last week of my summer class tomorrow.

love youuuu

19 Responses to “Say Yes”

  1. vanessa July 5, 2011 at 1:36 am #

    happy 4th shelley!!

    i’m so glad you are back and writing.

    • Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth) July 5, 2011 at 7:11 pm #

      you too! & thanks 🙂

  2. Megeg July 5, 2011 at 7:22 am #

    Love this – and I totally agree! You only live once – live for your own happiness!

    • alyssa July 5, 2011 at 9:55 am #

      amen! love you both!

  3. cardiopizza July 5, 2011 at 7:38 am #

    Good for you! It’s so important to put yourself first, even when it may feel like a selfish thing to do. Self love definitely comes first in my book 🙂

  4. Katie July 5, 2011 at 8:22 am #

    Always just love yourself girl and know to live each day to the fullest!!

    I love ya!!!!

  5. Mom July 5, 2011 at 8:28 am #

    Right on! Can’t wait to see you on the 14th!
    Love, Mom

  6. debbiecutieface July 5, 2011 at 8:45 am #

    Happy belated 4th to you! You’re so right – I’m totally the same way – always pleasing others and NEVER myself (which had a lot to do with the whole Mike breakup sitch if you remember haha). Time to change that, huh?

  7. Emily July 5, 2011 at 9:34 am #

    happy belated 4th of july!! and yes! you are so right about there never being a “right” thing to do. just learn to go for it more often..I totally understand that!!!

    xoxo

  8. sisrocks1996 July 5, 2011 at 9:46 am #

    Happy belated 4th. My family always calls me selfish, but I RARELY do anything for myself if I put my foot down then I get called selfish. The thing is so often we forget we have to love ourselves first. This can mean huge bowls of our favorite ice cream or a rest day you don’t want to take, but your body is screaming for. This can be going out and losing sleep because you need that social time. I love this post because I think that struggling with yes is common with ED!

  9. Gina G July 5, 2011 at 11:47 am #

    Can I get an amen? I know I have never met you Shelley, but I honestly love your honesty and everything you have been sharing. I KNOW all of us can relate in one way, shape, or form. We are all works in progress, and that is a great thing. Love your blog girl! 🙂

    • Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth) July 5, 2011 at 7:10 pm #

      thank you so much!

  10. Wei Jun July 6, 2011 at 3:39 am #

    You are seriously beautiful, girl!

    I wonder though, out of curiosity, do you exercise or workout to stay in shape?

    • Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth) July 6, 2011 at 11:53 am #

      thank you! and yes i do exercise, but not just to stay in shape..also because it makes me feel good

  11. Coco July 6, 2011 at 11:42 am #

    I just caught up on this post and the last, and I wanted to say THANK YOU for being so candid about your struggles. There is absolutely nothing to be ashamed of, even though it may feel that way. I have been struggling with overeating after my period of restriction as well. Neither habit is healthy, and they both stem from emotional as well as biological issues. It seems like you are working very hard, and I commend you. I will continue to follow your journey, as mine has been a similar one.

    • Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth) July 6, 2011 at 11:52 am #

      thank you! it always helps to hear someone else that is struggling with the same thing. im reading your blog still too 🙂 i know we’ll both get past all this stuff..but it def takes time & practice!

  12. Allison (Allison's Delicious Life) July 6, 2011 at 7:21 pm #

    Yay for saying yes!!!! I feel that way sometimes, too. I hesitate to say “yes” to fun things whenever I feel like I need to be focusing on something else. During the school year, this happens allll the time. It’s important to realize that if you say “no” to fun things, the other parts of your life will suffer too. You can’t be hardworking/healthy/perfect/etc. 100% of the time! Congratulations on finding yourself and enjoying life 🙂

  13. jenna July 6, 2011 at 7:56 pm #

    great post shelley! and i have defs learned to just say YES to what you wanna do 🙂

  14. Molly July 6, 2011 at 11:09 pm #

    Thanks for the comment. I believe you it is just so hard to get into the swing of things 🙂 it will be a-okay soon. Thank you!

    Good post! I agree that it is so hard to actually say NO when you mean it.

Leave a Reply

