Easy Dinners

21 Jun

Thank you all so much for your comments on my last post. It means so much to me that after such a long hiatus I still have some amazing support!

This summer I’m living in an apartment for the first time. I’ve lived in a dorm and in a sorority, so this is my first time having the ability to cook for myself in a real kitchen. Even though my best friend/roommate laughs at me for some of my cooking skills (a little bit of a newbie), I think I’ve whipped up some yummy things. The thing is, sometimes I just want to make the easiest and quickest things meal possible when i’m feeilng tired/lazy..

I still am out of the habit of taking pictures, but here’s a couple super easy meals that I’ve made (not the prettiest pictures, I know).

Tortilla pizza!

to make this I took a whole wheat tortilla, stuck it into the oven at 425 for 2 minutes, spread on tomato sauce, feta cheese, & veggies, & then stuck it back in for about 7 minutes… & viola- delicious!

another easy go-to of mine…

Big Salad

this one had a bruschetta veggie burger, garlic hummus, yogurt ranch dressing, and a whole wheat tortilla. I like how you can make a million different kinds of salads.

& one more easy and DELICIOUSSS meal…

“Healthy” Fried Rice


I cooked the brown rice on the side first. Then I sautéed some garlic and onions, and added the rest of the veggies and shrimp in soy sauce, oil, & some seasoning. I also cooked an egg white and scrambled it in. Then I added the cooked rice and stirred it al together- super easy & super delicious!

Questions: What are some of your go-to easy and quick recipes? I need some ideas!!!

PS– one of my best friend Jamey just started a HILARIOUS blog, you guys have to check it out when you get the chance. Hint) if you like harry potter, fashion, politics, or cats you’ll prob like this blog…

here’s a picture from my weekend too!

PPS- we actually DIDN’T mean to all wear blue… hahaha & the girl (Jamey) in the black pants is the one whose blog I told you about!

14 Responses to “Easy Dinners”

  1. Emily June 21, 2011 at 5:11 pm #

    I eat tortilla pizzas all the time! they are so easy and quick. one of my favorite go-to meals is an omelet, because you can throw anything in it from veggies, to beans, or tons of cheese.

    xoxo

  2. megan @ the oatmeal diaries June 21, 2011 at 5:25 pm #

    SO HAPPY YOU ARE BACK! I love tortilla pizzas and big salads too… I’m also a huge fan of wraps because they’re so easy and you can put pretty much anything in them. Yayyy keep posting! 🙂

  3. Molly June 21, 2011 at 6:14 pm #

    your eats look so good! and I AM SO GLAD YOU’RE BACK!.

    p.s. Did I tell you Im dating a guy who goes to Madison? LETS PARTY!

  4. debbiecutieface June 21, 2011 at 7:47 pm #

    ugh, I’m in my own apartment too and I SUCK at cooking. Those are great ideas though!

  5. Marissa June 21, 2011 at 8:19 pm #

    mm that tortilla pizza looks yum.. and so easy! … ill have to keep that recipe in the back of my mind for when I’m stumped for dinner ideas. If you’re looking for quick-meal suggestions here are some that I like

    – angel hair spaghetti (cooks up in two minutes!) – throw in some oil and veggies + parm.. and whala!
    – grilled tuna/turkey melts
    – veggie stirfry
    – nachos (take chips top with shredded cheese and tons of veggies and let em bake for a few minutes)

  6. movesnmunchies June 21, 2011 at 8:19 pm #

    lovin ur meals!! and idnnah ideas!!.. my easy ones are big salads with beans and hummus or big bowls of oats!

  7. sisrocks1996 June 21, 2011 at 10:34 pm #

    So glad you’re back! My favorite PB sandwiches, cereal and sweet potato with spinach and hummus… Yea my cooking skills maybe even worse then yours! Eek! I love the all blue 😉 It’s a color that looks amazing on everyone!

  8. Allison (Allison's Delicious Life) June 21, 2011 at 10:58 pm #

    I love making tortilla pizzas also. Other quick and easy dinners that I love include: tuna melts, grilled cheese and soup, something involving eggs, well…actually pretty much everything i make is considered fast and easy! haha

  9. Katy June 22, 2011 at 2:14 am #

    Your food looks yummy! 🙂

  10. Ann @ Day By Day June 22, 2011 at 7:07 am #

    The fried rice with shrimp looks so good! I tend to rotate through about five or six different dinners. I make a lot of big salads (often with veggie burger crumbled on like you did), wraps, bowls of quinoa/beans/any other veggies, or just a big plate of raw veggies, crackers, hummus, etc.

  11. Jenny June 22, 2011 at 8:36 am #

    dinner is the one meal that I really struggled with in the creativity department. After about 2:00pm all of my motivation to cook is out the door! Thanks for the ideas, Shell my bell :)!

    you and your friends are so stinkin gorgeous!!

  12. cardiopizza June 22, 2011 at 9:00 am #

    I feel like all I cook are easy dinners that take very little brain power…I’m just not into making complicated things!

    Tortilla pizzas are the best! I also love having breakfast for dinner (omelets, waffles, etc), making a stir fry, and throwing some chicken in the crock pot to make tacos. So simple yet delicious! 🙂

    I also like to by frozen ravioli to make when I really want a meal in 5 minutes…they cook up so fast! I throw some frozen veggies in there as well and dinner is done!

  13. Lindsey June 22, 2011 at 9:02 am #

    I feel like all I cook are easy dinners that take very little brain power…I’m just not into making complicated things!

    Tortilla pizzas are the best! I also love having breakfast for dinner (omelets, waffles, etc), making a stir fry, and throwing some chicken in the crock pot to make tacos. So simple yet delicious! 🙂

    I also like to by frozen ravioli to make when I really want a meal in 5 minutes…they cook up so fast! I throw some frozen veggies in there as well and dinner is done!

  14. katie June 22, 2011 at 12:18 pm #

    AHHHHH SO GLAD YOU ARE BACK! I havent read your last post but i am about to!!!! ahhh i love that you still go out and have FUN with yo frandz! I feel like not many bloggers do that, hahaha. i feel like im one of the only ones who stays up late!!!!!!! love tortilla pizzas!

Leave a Reply

