Perfectly Imperfect

22 Aug

& I’m in Madison!

It seemed like I was never going to be actually living in the sorority house & back at school. I talked about moving in all summer but it seemed so far away. Move in day went pretty well though; I got an early start & even though it was hot as hellll (I was sweating up a STORM), it was fine. I am really happy to be here & hope that this year is an amazzzzing one. Here are a few pics I’ve managed to snap over the past week

My FAVORITE breakfast – I’m going to have to make it work here in the house somehow!

grilled wraps with cheese & guac & turkey- perfection. (this is not the whole meal)

We went to Cheesecake Factory the night before I left for school and I got the Asian Crunch Salad- it was SOOOO lame. It was a healthier option on the menu but honestly, I was really disappointed in it.

My car was PACKED for the road trip. It ended up being about 13.5 hours because we stopped in Decatur, Illinois to visit my great-GREAT Uncle.

New Found Love- DUNKIN DONUT BLUEBERRY ICED COFFEEsoooooo good!!!

The paddle I made for my “mom” in my sorority- it is a tradition πŸ™‚

This is my side of my room!! We have horrendous wall paper so I covered my walls with used book pages- my roommate & I bought some fashion magazines. I really like how it looks.
Last night I started out the year right by going out with the girls. It was a lot of fun & I know this year is going to be so crazy fun! I think it is so important to live up your 4 years of undergrad because it is such a unique experience & it only happens once!

To be honest, I’m feeling pretty low with body image stuff the past couple days. Being at school reminds me how easy it is to compare to other girls and feel insecure but I do not want that to affect me- i’ve been there, done that. A lot of bloggers have been posting about confidence and I can’t help but agree with what some of them have been saying- confidence is everything. A confident person is an attractive person (not always but a lot of the time). If you walk into a room thinking you are the shitttt (pardon my french), other people probably will too. That’s how I want to carry myself, not in the sense of being ‘cocky’ but just in the sense of being confident enough to know that I am not “fat” and know that I may not be perfect, but i’m perfectly imperfect and it works.

I just try to remember that every day is a new day- “live each day and be done with it”. So I haven’t made the healthiest choices the past few days, so WHAT? Today is a new day and I can be as healthy/active as I want. I’m sick of feeling guilty for indulging and then trying to restrict the next day. I’m sick of letting things i’ve done in the past impact my attitude in the future. The best thing to do for your body after you’ve been out of routine is to go back to eating in a healthy, balanced way and to exercise the correct amount. I really want to follow what I say and I know that I have all the tools to do so.

Be back soon- I’m determined to update this baby πŸ™‚

Questions- 1) Do you feel confident? How do you deal with comparing?

xoxoxoxoxoxoxoxox


59 Responses to “Perfectly Imperfect”

  1. Meg August 22, 2010 at 3:23 pm #

    Yeah baby confidence ROCKS, and you have NO reason to feel inferior, Shelley, you are absolutely beautiful and there is NO comparison for beauty in human beings. You NEED to try DD’s coconut iced coffee as well – your life may be changed after that πŸ˜‰

    I love you!

  2. rebecca lustig August 22, 2010 at 3:33 pm #

    hi babyyygirl,
    school is so, SO hard bc youre surrounded by self comparisons and unhealthy habits. when you see/hear something triggering, switch your focus and attention to something else… perhaps to how far youve come and how happy youve been since regaining your health.

    your blog title says it all: finding happiness AND health. they go hand in hand

    have a splendid sunday, dear
    tons OF love, becca
    http://fromheretothereinpurple.blogspot.com

  3. dmcgirl37 August 22, 2010 at 3:34 pm #

    Shelly..

    It’s so nice to hear from you! Im so bummed you deleted your FB..will you get it back??

    I think you are 100% right about confidence. If you think your beautiful… other people will..PLUS you’ll feel good about yourself, which is always nice! haha

    My confidence is crap lately but I get glimpses of it being better so that is encouraging to me!

    Love you girl ❀
    Dana xo

  4. Sarah August 22, 2010 at 3:39 pm #

    Hey Shelley,

    I’ve never commented before (I’m new at blogging) but I love reading your posts (and your breakfasts look sooo yummy!)

    I can totally relate to the whole confidence issue. I’m a college student too and constantly struggle with comparing myself to other girls. It’s so hard but what has helped me is trying to catch myself in the middle of a negative thought and then immediately switching that negative thought into a compliment. Even if I don’t truly believe the compliment inside, it at least helps to switch off the negativity and self-loathing. Hope that helps!

    Also, I totally struggle with the restricting after having a few unhealthy days too. You’re absolutely right that the best way to get out of the “cycle” and the disordered eating is just to jump right back into your healthy routine like nothing happened. It’s hard, but doing this really helps with finding a balance πŸ™‚

  5. Michelle August 22, 2010 at 3:40 pm #

    Fantastic post!

    I definitely have days that get me down, but I try to make a list of everything that I did good that day. It can be super small like held the door for someone or made my bed! I love looking at lists like that to see that I’ve done some great things.

    I still compare myself to other people. There’s no denying it, but I try to just know that we all have our “specialties.” Some girls are really smart, others have a killer sense of style, and some are well-rounded. I used to have a horrible fashion sense, so I took the girls whom I admired their fashion sense shopping. It’s a win-win

  6. Danielle (Runs on Green) August 22, 2010 at 4:05 pm #

    I’m happy to be back at school too! And I totally agree that confidence = attractiveness. You *are* the shit…so work it πŸ™‚

  7. Lauren August 22, 2010 at 4:09 pm #

    It’s definitely not cocky to think that confidence is a desirable attribute. I can imagine being back at school and surrounded by beautiful girls is hard and it’s definitely normal to compare yourself, but just don’t ever let that natural and confident beauty in yourself ever fade away.

    Have an amazing time and LIVE it Up!!! πŸ™‚

  8. Katie August 22, 2010 at 5:39 pm #

    Confidence is a must girl!!!! I think confidence is beautiful as long as you are not over confident, some girls get that way and get stuck up ; p

    I LOVE your new attitude , I am so happy for you to be back at school and loving life! LOVE the photos on your wall, very cool and creative way to cover ugly wallpaper! lol!

    Have a great night beautiful!

    U are so tan! Im so pale!! Loving your tan!!!

  9. Shanna, like Banana August 22, 2010 at 5:45 pm #

    You’re going to school in my home town! I lived in Madison for 18 years..great city πŸ™‚

  10. Rachael August 22, 2010 at 5:47 pm #

    Madison is such a great town – so much to plug into and absorb!
    I remember school as being a huge trigger for body confidence issues…what helped me was being transparent about what I was thinking and feeling, and talking to other girls about it. Hearing that they were thinking similar thoughts (even those who didn’t coming from an ED background) was reassuring, and taught me to stop bottling up my thoughts and process them with support.

  11. Jess August 22, 2010 at 7:40 pm #

    Love this post!! I’m so glad you’re back at collegeee living life!

    You are the bomb.com! Work it πŸ™‚

  12. izzy August 22, 2010 at 7:57 pm #

    It’s awesome to hear how happy you are to be back with your girlies, despite not feeling so great confidence-wise. It’s so true though, a confident person is a beautiful person (for the record, confidence and cockiness are two COMPLETELY different things, imo). I struggle with confidence as well, but I find when I surround myself with self-loving, instead of self-depricating people, I pick up the self-lovin’ bug and feel better about myself. I’m sure your sisters will help you out there – a sorority seems like an amazing support system to have in your hardest moments.

    I love your impromptu wallpaper in your dorm! I so badly want to do a collage thing, but alas, I’m living at home and I think the parentals would spaz if I thumbtacked or taped their wall to death!

    izzyy
    xoxo

  13. Morgan @ Healthy Happy Place August 22, 2010 at 8:50 pm #

    i think we all go through days where our body image sucks..and yes, it’s all about confidence! sometimes it helps me to go out and buy a new pair of jeans or a cute new top, and my confidence sky rockets.

  14. debbiecutieface August 22, 2010 at 8:59 pm #

    yay so glad you’re back at Madison! You’ll have an amazing sophomore year, I know it πŸ™‚

    giiiiirl, you’re so stunning there’s absolutely no need to compare yourself to anybody else! Honestly…most gorgeous girl in your sorority and probably the whole entire Greek system, fosho πŸ˜‰

  15. Jenna August 22, 2010 at 9:30 pm #

    Glad you are back and gonna live this year up! That is what I wanna do too!
    I agree confidence IS everything πŸ™‚
    Loves ya!!

  16. *Andrea* August 22, 2010 at 9:34 pm #

    i just graduated college and WISH i could tell my former self to just loosen up. i used to judge everyone in college (in my head) and compare people to myself and it’s mentally exhausting. life goes by so fast so why not spend each day LOVING yourself for who you are, you know? easier said than done… good luck though i know you can do it! you’ve come so far.

    LOVE what you did with the wall. very clever and glamourous πŸ˜‰

  17. christina August 22, 2010 at 9:44 pm #

    love the redone wallpaper. you are too cute. have a wonderful semester!!

  18. Katharina August 22, 2010 at 10:09 pm #

    I’m so glad that you are back at school and loving it πŸ˜€ I hear you on the confidence thing. It’s such an important part of our lives. I wish more people had it because there’s no reason why they shouldn’t be proud of who are they (and that’s definitely not limited to outer appearances). I use to compare and feel insecure around other girls when school would start, but over the years I’ve noticed that I don’t care anymore. My summers usually leave me time to reflect, grow, and I’ve gotten to a point where I accept myself for who I am. Lately, I’ve been repeating this thought in my head “I won’t apologize for who I am, but I can apologize for things I do.” I don’t think people should feel ashamed about who they are, but I think as people we should take responsibility for the things that we do (good or bad). Another thing that has helped me has been…. just being compassionate towards myself. I use to be overly practical and that just sucked the enjoyment and spontaneity of life. Now I see that I can still live my life to the fullest by just letting go. For example, I use to make my decisions based on a “schedule” or “what makes sense”. Sometimes it doesn’t matter if I go to certain stores in a particular order because it’ll save me time or gas. I’ll go to the stores I want to go to when I want to go to them. Okay I just went off on a tangent lol. But seriously though, you are such a wonderful person and waaay more than just a body. Unshakable confidence comes from accepting and appreciating who you are πŸ™‚

    XOXO

    http://www.ohonemorething.wordpress.com

    • Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth) August 23, 2010 at 10:22 am #

      thank you so much for such a thoughtful comment! You are so inspiring in that I know you are really comfortable with who you are and I really hope to get closer to being that way. I’m gettin there πŸ™‚ You’re such an amazing person & so compassionate

      • Katharina August 23, 2010 at 11:29 am #

        And I have so much faith that you will! Also, thank you so much for your kind words. You’ve got a lot of love in you and surrounding you πŸ™‚

  19. kbwood August 22, 2010 at 10:15 pm #

    GIRL you are incredible. those girls are so blessed to have you as a roomate.. seriously. you have so much to offer- your energetic and loving spirit is RADIATING all the time. be confident in that!!! God gave us a confident spirit! you are UNIQUE and special and so perfect in HIS EYES. you be strong this year- keep going down the healthy road girl..you are too awesome not to. LOVE YOU!

  20. jqlee August 22, 2010 at 10:56 pm #

    Hey Shelley, so happy you’re back in Madison where you love but yes, being around other girls your age is so damn hard sometimes. Even for me at work, I compare myself to other professional women. It’s something that I’m sure I’m always going to do but I do try to be more confident because you’re right, it really does show and make you feel better about yourself too.

    Hope you have a fabulous start to the year!

  21. Kerry August 23, 2010 at 1:15 am #

    your room looks so good!!

    • Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth) August 23, 2010 at 10:23 am #

      thanks!! i love itt.. so much better now

  22. julia August 23, 2010 at 2:09 am #

    I hope and wish you have a special, amazing time there. I hope you’ll find that confidence soon, because you’re stunning, strong, powerful and because you deserve it. Comparing is a waste and is really something I try not to do, I find that it’s much less of a deal than during my ED. Everyone is different, you can only be you…be the best you you can be. You’re sparkling and I’m so proud!

    xxx Julia (Taste of Living)

  23. Marina August 23, 2010 at 2:13 am #

    I’m glad that you’re trying to enjoy college life as much as you can, and that you’re trying to be confident.
    My confidence is really low, but I know, that when I try and pick it up a bit, it really shows, and people notice me more.
    Enjoy girl!

  24. fi August 23, 2010 at 3:03 am #

    Hey Shelley, the wallpaper is fab and so is the paddle u made. I too think confidence is everything, why should we think less of ourselves than we think of other people, we deserve our own respect. Comparing, especially in college is tough, so just confident and comfortable with yourself, your the only shelley, make the best of it. Fi
    xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

  25. Nat August 23, 2010 at 4:03 am #

    Love your walls! Looks like the start of term is taking off on the right foot and I couldn’t be happier for you! You look stunning, happy and full of life hun.

    Don’t ever feel second best to anyone and as tough as it is not to compare, remember that you are the best Shelley there is in this world and just as no one else can ever be like you, you shouldn’t feel compelled to be like anyone else either.

    I struggle with confidence as well.. and not to mention comparing myself with others. It’s not easy to stop but I guess it’s all about fakin’ it till you make it almost. You know what they say: ‘Practice makes perfect. Perfect practice makes success’. You’re going to be more than fine!

    Much love,
    Nat xoxo
    http://morsels-of-life.blogspot.com

  26. tatiannalives August 23, 2010 at 4:51 am #

    Shelley!!
    I am so excited for you to be in school again… and it looks like you are off to an incredible start! I hope that when I go away to school, I can have a similar attitude. You’re right – confidence is one of the most important things when it comes to body image and being social. A confident girl is a happy and beautiful girl.

    ❀ Tat

  27. Janna's Keeping it Real! August 23, 2010 at 7:32 am #

    Confidence *is* everything! I wish I could have realized this in undergrad…powerful knowledge!

    I hope you have an awesome time at school this semester, it will seriously be Some of the best times of your life!

  28. Hannah August 23, 2010 at 8:01 am #

    I think it would be a lie for anyone to say they feel confident 100% of the time – we all have our low days. Its part of being imperfect!

    Something I try to think about when I’m feeling down about myself is that the people in my life love me for who I am, exactly as I am. My family/friends/boyfriend wouldn’t love me any more if my legs were longer or my boobs were bigger lol. We are the most perfect versions of ourselves that we can be. And we should be proud of that.

    Glad your enjoying being back at school!
    x Hannah x

  29. Katie @ Health for the Whole Self August 23, 2010 at 8:12 am #

    Gosh, I know how easy it is to fall into that comparison trap and wind up feeling crappy about yourself. But everything you said here is so true – attractiveness has a lot more to do with your attitude than your actual physical appearance. And a confident person is a happier person. I don’t know about you, but if I had the option of looking like a model but always feeling self-conscious or unhappy, I would NOT want to look like a model.

  30. Kiki (Paper Crane Dreams) August 23, 2010 at 8:21 am #

    Yay, glad you’re finally back at school! And I agree with you and every other commenter that confidence really is the key. Maybe you’re not feeling so good about yourself now just because of the big change between being home and then going off to college. But I’m sure once you do something that makes you happy (shopping trip, maybe?) your body image will bounce right back up again so you can enjoy the year as much as possible! x

  31. nellatight August 23, 2010 at 8:32 am #

    How exciting! I’m back at school too — love it. Can’t wait for things to get started, so I can just LIVE my life.

    Yog messes are my favorite too πŸ™‚

  32. Emily August 23, 2010 at 9:28 am #

    I can relate so much to this! it’s like we are in the same place..I am tired of feeling guilty as well. I guess there just needs to be a point in this journey when we vow NOT to feel guilt. I don’t know if you’ve seen Eat Pray Love, but that’s a part of the movie. Eating is for pleasure..not for guilt!

    have fun at school!!

    xoxo

  33. Gabriela @ Une Vie Saine August 23, 2010 at 10:56 am #

    So true!! I know so many girls who don’t have movie-star faces or supermodel bodies, yet they attract attention (both male AND female) because of the way they carry themselves. If you believe you’re interesting, beautiful and fabulous, everyone else will too. It’s useless trying to compare yourself to others because we’re all SO DIFFERENT. You wouldn’t hate your eye color because someone else’s was different, right? BE CONFIDENT love- YOU’RE BEAUTIFUL!

  34. lowandbhold August 23, 2010 at 11:15 am #

    Yay for being back! I love your magazine decor on the wall, so cute!

    Confidence really is important. I still struggle with it, but I do find that it’s coming to me more easily these days.

    You are gorgeous and you’re right, live college up while you can. It’ll be over in a flash. I miss it!

  35. steph (@ mediterranean miss) August 23, 2010 at 11:47 am #

    Girl you are STUNNING!! Don’t compare yourselves to others because they’re all busy comparing -themselves- to YOU! Everybody is beautiful in their own way; I’m so glad that you’re realizing that.

    Your dorm looks fab!!! I love your style with all of the pictures. I hope you’re having a great time – I agree, undergrad is all about livin’ it up πŸ˜€

  36. natasha August 23, 2010 at 3:20 pm #

    Since I’m currently trying to recover from bulimia, I find that my confidence is probably not as good as it should be. I tend to compare myself to people a little too much, so I just try to not look at the negative in myself so much. Focus on the things you love about yourself (not necessarily image related).

    Best of luck πŸ™‚

  37. thebeautifulbalance August 23, 2010 at 4:32 pm #

    I love your room gf! Thats such a cute idea with the magazine pics on the wall-soooo fun!!
    Ugh-confidence and comparing-SO SO hard in college. But one thing that helps me is affirmations. If I wake up and say “I am beautiful, my curves are hot” or something it gives me a little boost for the day. And when it comes to comparing, I’m not much help with that one but remind yourself that your body is UNIQUE and you are the only one who can look and feel like you. God created you like this for a reason.
    Don’t forget how far you’ve come, you are SO beautiful and amazing and have way more confidence then you think you do! <333 love ya girl!

  38. Naomi(onefitfoodie) August 23, 2010 at 4:50 pm #

    confidence IS everything! it can turn a person from sad to happy and it really does give off such a strong, attractive vibe. You are beautiful and have beautiful friends. enjoy your time at school and live it up, girl!

  39. sarahdbelle August 23, 2010 at 8:39 pm #

    Shelley,
    You are going to have an AWESOME year. You are so gorgeous and such a fabulous person. I know you are going to just radiate confidence this year. Just think about how far you’ve come in your recovery and how many girls you inspire whenever you’re feeling a bit low. Xo.

  40. Tina August 24, 2010 at 7:54 am #

    Hey Girl! I’m loving your homemade wallpaper!! I know how easy it can be to compare yourself to others, but every one is at a different point in their lives. Just know that where ever you are, is it exactly where you need to be! πŸ™‚

  41. Sana August 24, 2010 at 2:56 pm #

    I always wonder how the other girls feel, the ones we think are “confident” chances are they are also feeling a little low in the self esteem department!

    Blogging has taught me that we all do feel the same way and it is hard to open up about it

  42. justjac August 24, 2010 at 9:05 pm #

    I’m sorry to hear you’re having a hard time :/ but I hope your first week back at sc hool has been a good one, otherwise!

    I’m in sorority so I know the struggles w/ finding balance between eating healthy and enjoying yourself and having fun. I’m sure you’ll do great.

  43. pscalise August 25, 2010 at 8:18 am #

    congrats on being back at school. im sorry to hear you are struggling with body image. i find that the past thing to do when im having a bad body image day is to engage myself in life- focus on other things instead of body image. remember that people love you for YOU not what you look like.

    ❀

  44. Sara K August 25, 2010 at 10:26 am #

    Confidence is what it’s all about πŸ™‚ And damn woman you are ONE HOT MAMA so you got everything to be confident about (btw killer tan you have going on ;D) I find it hard on some days to have that attitude but you just got to fake it til you make it, keep telling yourself that you’re not only gorgeous, but a honest, fun, caring person.
    Oh and are we TWINS, my dorm room looks the same- I have magazine ads plastered all over my walls and all my bedsheets/room stuff is PINK- even the pink stuffed elephant i keep on my bed…haha.
    Oh and I agree about Cheesecake Factory…I got one of their “healthier” salads once and it was pretty lousy.
    Much loveeeeeeeeeee xoxo

  45. highonhealthy August 25, 2010 at 8:44 pm #

    Sometimes I feel like the prettiest girl in the world and other days my confidence is rock bottom and I feel like shit. Literally. My goal is to have my confidence up ALL the time and when it’s down, I want the down to still have me knowing and feeling like I’m amazing. Like most people are saying, confidence IS everything. I truly believe that. If you have confidence.. the world is yours. Or at least you think it is. πŸ˜‰

  46. james August 26, 2010 at 9:20 am #

    This is a very interesting point of view. Your blog is refreshing, but I wish one could find more content, though. I am looking forward to reading more from you. Keep up the good work. thanks

  47. kelsey@snackingsquirrel.com August 26, 2010 at 9:25 pm #

    although ur right in how we must not compare ourselves to others, i do want to say that if anyone was to compare, u totally stand out in the group of girls, and ur beauty radiates a million times over, not kidding! u have no reason to feel any less or beat urself up. if u were to see what we all see you’d catch a glimse of just HOW BEAUTIFUL you are ❀

  48. Salah August 28, 2010 at 7:31 pm #

    Have an amazing sophomore year girl!!! I totally agree! LIve it up while you can! It flies by! haha I can’t believe I’m about to graduate and about to move away (again) for work!

  49. 1970kikiproject August 30, 2010 at 4:33 pm #

    have fun this year!
    glad you’re off to a good start and enjoying being back at school!

  50. Chelsea @ One Healthy Munchkin August 31, 2010 at 7:18 pm #

    Your room’s walls look SO awesome! That’s such a cool idea. πŸ˜€

    Girl I so know what you mean about school bringing up body image issues. But I like your attitude about being confident. It’s so true that confidence is a person’s sexiest attribute! So as long as you rock it, you’ve got nothing else to worry about. πŸ˜‰

  51. Cassandra September 3, 2010 at 3:52 pm #

    i constantly compare myself to other women, but the reality that brings me back is if i looked like this, or was like that i wouldn’t be with my boyfriend. Or wouldn’t have certain people in my life because with image comes more than just the outside it pulls in everything that makes us who we are.

    You are absolutely beautiful girl! and question it for a second! you are who you are for so many reasons, just continue being strong and finding those reasons of your strength and beauty. ❀
    Have fun and good luck with school!

  52. weight loss calculator September 13, 2010 at 6:51 pm #

    trying to follow you on twitter but cant find your name

    • Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth) September 14, 2010 at 4:38 pm #

      shell625

  53. Jocelyn @ Peace.Love.Nutrition September 15, 2010 at 7:41 pm #

    I was in a sorority and always had a hard time comparing myself to the other girls. I always thought everyone else was thinner/prettier than me. But after college I realized that there’s no one else like me out there and being unique is what makes me cool/interesting and I needed to stop comparing and just be me!

    Enjoy college– such fun years! I’m jealous πŸ˜‰

  54. Cassie @ sunkissedwithlove September 15, 2010 at 9:48 pm #

    Hey girl! I love your blog! Come back and update us readers on your life πŸ™‚

  55. oatsandspice January 12, 2011 at 3:58 pm #

    Shelley,

    I came across your blog and I love it! I am an AXO also (at Michigan State)! Where do you go to school?

    Check out my new blog: oatsandspice.wordpress.com – I just started blogging and I LOVE it!

Leave a Reply

