In Defense of (my) Food.

8 Aug

Hello my long lost friends!

No point in apologizingย – I just have to get back in the blogging groove I guess and the only way to really make that possible is to blog so here I am! After the wedding, which was amazing, my friend Leah came to visit again for a week. When she was here, and when she left, i’ve been working at the Ohio State Fair…. I know, trust me haha. My good guy friend runs the Ohio Corn Grower Associations stand so he hired me, and it has been quite entertaining.

I guess there is no easy way to recap all of this so i’ll just show you it all in pics ๐Ÿ™‚

just a little bit of food first!

my FAV breakfast- fage 2%, cereal mixture, peanut butter & this no calorie chocolate sauce i found (actually pretty good), & fruit!

a chickpea veggie salad from potbelly’s with added turkey!

salad at a deli in chicago and my FAV matzoh ball soup!!!

another go-to breakfast! featuring peanut butter powsYUMMM ๐Ÿ™‚

a little salad i whipped up that was eaten with other thingsss but had a salmon filet & grilled portabello mushrooms!

and a snack plate of sorts with turkey, these vegetable latkes, hummus, honey mustard dressing, & veggies

an open face tuna melt on a sandwich thin! i made the tuna with a touch of light mayo, mustard, pepper & celery & let it toast with provolone cheese over it.. delicious!

pictures from my cousin’s wedding in Chicago ๐Ÿ™‚

i definitely had some liquid courage and walked into one that was going on the night before…. wedding crasher? maybe ๐Ÿ˜‰

picture at the fair!Leah “won” a fish!

& there have been good times out with friends of course!!

I hope that as I get into more of a “routine” with school starting, I blog more. I know it seems contradictory that I would blog more when I am busier, but somehow having a schedule keeps me more accountable to blog. I fit it into my schedule when I know that I have to think about my schedule- if that makes any sense?

On the recovery front, I have been pretty good. I’ll admit that I think it is pretty amazing that I have stayed in my goal weight range since April and I am really proud but the mental struggles are definitely still there- as I expected they would be. The important thing that I try to remember is that even if i’m not 100% satisfied with my body, going back to old habits will only leave me unhappy and in a terrible situation. Life is infinitely better without my eating disorder and I am not willing to go back.

But back to my title of this post- which is probably making you think “whattt the….?” at this point. I’m referring to people’s reactions to the way I eat. As you all know, I like to eat healthy foods. I see this as a good, healthy thing but generally people my age don’t really think about making healthy choices most of the time. Obviously, TONS of girls (& even guys) my age will consider being healthier and go through periods where they want to eat ‘healthy’ and they will ‘diet’ but end up quickly reverting to old habits. This is completely fine & normal, but I’m different in that i’ve been through my eating disorder & now know what a healthy, balanced diet consists of. I feel awkward when I go out to a restaurant and I want to order something healthy or ask for some kind of special request for my meal because I know my friends think it is kind of ;ย I feel the need to defend my food choices.

I’ve found that sometimes i’ll make excuses like I want to make sure it’s not too oily so I don’t get a stomach ache (which is only 1/2 true) or that I don’t like that particular sauce/dressing, when in reality I am doing it because I know it is too much without those requests and I will feel better if the food is that way. Honestly, I don’t think I should have to have an excuse for why i’m eating healthy. As long as I’m eating enough and not restricting, which is honestly the case 99% of the time – then there isn’t a problem. I’m past the point of fear foods – if I really want something, I’ll eat it but generally I know what I like & what makes me feel the best. I know most of the questioning comes from insecurities in other individual’s food choices but it still makes me uncomfortable from time to time.

I’m going to work on this by being more comfortable and confident in my food choices when I’m with friends & family in the future. If people poke fun at the way I eat or say i’m boring or ask me why I get what I get, i’m going to simply reply that it is what I want to eat. No excuses- no explanations. After all, its just food.

Your turn! I want to hear what you think about this issue- do you feel like you constantly are being judged for your healthy choices? How do you respond when people question the way you eat or make fun of you for it?

xoxoxoxox


51 Responses to “In Defense of (my) Food.”

  1. Lauren @ BIOCHEMISTA August 8, 2010 at 11:41 pm #

    Hi love! Glad to hear you are doing so well! ๐Ÿ™‚ Maintaining since April is a HUGE accomplishment!!!! You should be SO PROUD of yourself!! And PS you looked beautiful at the wedding!!!

    I too struggle with the whole being “too healthy” when ordering out. I have a few friends that roll their eyes when I ask for salad dressing on the side, cook eggs in light oil, etc. Then they order a burger and fries and sneer at my fish, veggies, and rice. The thing is that is what I WANT. What my body craves. Since I was little I never liked steak and fries and I loved veggies. I wish sometimes people could realize that food choices aren’t *always* based upon calorie content, amount of fat, etc.

    I found that what’s helped me (somewhat) overcome this is to say to myself “I’m the one paying for this so I’m gonna get what I WANT”.

    Anyways, sorry for the essay response ๐Ÿ˜‰ LOL So glad you are doing well and are so HAPPY!!!

    XOXOXOX

  2. Charmian August 8, 2010 at 11:57 pm #

    Beautiful food, beautiful photos and beautiful words ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Ilana August 9, 2010 at 3:20 am #

    Hi Shell my love,
    First of all I am so so so very proud of you – every post, you are looking happier and healthier and that’s the point right?
    I went through a really defensive stage about my food too – my mom thought I should be eating X, Y, and Z, but I absolutely just didn’t want to, not because I didn’t want to eat, but because I’ve made certain choices for myself and my health. Because they’re “different” it’s really easy to feel defensive about it, especially if people are watching and asking questions. My key rule is – Don’t Ask Don’t Tell (haha) – if no one asks me, I don’t say anything about it. If someone does ask me, I explain that this was what I wanted to eat, and I try to make it as least political as possible. It’s just food aaaafffter all!! Because you’re still in a recovery mentality, I think you’re a lot more aware of the food choices you make on a conscious level and so you’re a lot more sensitive to criticism or questions. Been there! Again, totally normal. It sucks to feel on the defensive all the time about things you don’t feel like you should have to be defensive about but as you grow more comfortable with the whole thing, the questions will probably stop and/or you’ll be less aware of it all.
    I love love love all the pictures of you – bridesmaid dress? You’re too cute. And crashing a wedding!!! I love it!
    Keep on going girlie! You’re freaking rocking my world!!
    xoxo

  4. determinedtoshine August 9, 2010 at 3:39 am #

    I definitely know what you mean about feeling like you need to make excuses for your food choices. I think some people (mostly people who don’t know me too well), now that I’m at a healthy weight ‘expect’ me to suddenly be eating what is considered to be a ‘normal’ modern diet (ie a lot of processed food). While I don’t obsess about eating 100% healthy/pure/clean ALL the time, eating healthily is something I’m always going to do because thats how I like to eat… and while my close friends and family know and respect that, I feel other people judge me for it and think its an ED thing to choose healthy options.

    Hope you’re enjoying your summer!
    x Hannah x

  5. Tatianna August 9, 2010 at 4:42 am #

    I don’t really go out to eat that often, but I can relate to this so much. When I pack food for work, people make comments on the fact that I eat so healthy because it’s just so different from anything they are used to. I try to stay confident and just say that it’s what I like to eat… but it definitely sucks to feel like you have to defend all of your meals.

    You have come a long way, and you have to remember that we are all different. You have the choice to eat healthy and fill your body with nutritious food that is going to make you feel the best… and that is no one else’s buisness. Letting them influence you otherwise is almost like letting them influence you to make the ‘diet choice’, which we know is not okay.
    (Forgive me PLEASE if none of that made sense.. I am extremely tired right now and can’t think straight. Haha)

    Love you girl! It’s wonderful to get an update… and you look FANTASTIC in that dress!!!
    โค Tat

  6. Gabriela @ Une Vie Saine August 9, 2010 at 6:14 am #

    First of all, you look so beautiful in the wedding pics! Sounds like you’ve been having a wonderful summer ๐Ÿ™‚

    Ugh, I can DEFINITELY relate to this feeling. I went to a BBQ a few weeks ago and my friend’s dad was HORRIFIED that I don’t eat meat. To be honest, it pisses me off when people make a big deal about what I do/don’t eat. Why do they care? I used to get way more nervous about it, but after several years of eating this way, I’ve learned to stick to my guns and just order the way I want. There will always be people who don’t understand your healthy habits, but if you give into them, you’re not being true to your own commitment to yourself. I just try to be as inconspicuous as possible about it, smile a lot, and try not to get the waiter/waitress pissed off!

    Great job on maintaining the weight girl!! Such an accomplishment, stay strong!

  7. theemptynutjar August 9, 2010 at 6:35 am #

    It’s just food.
    Excellent statement.

    You look beautiful and like you are having fun. Great job.

  8. Kate August 9, 2010 at 7:28 am #

    you look like you are doing great! yahoo!

    when i worked in an office, i would get lots of comments on what i was eating for lunch. most the ladies would make lean cuisine. they would always comment on how healthy my lunches were like it was a bad. how did my lunch effect them?! i never understood that. half the time i think it is their insecurity that makes them say things like that. boo! i’ve gotten better at tuning that kind of talk out.

    enjoy the rest of your summer my dear!

  9. Taylor August 9, 2010 at 7:41 am #

    I just wanted to say that I love your blog so much that sometimes it makes me want to cry.

    You are such an inspiration to me. I see girls that have let this thing overtake their whole lives and end up stuck in treatment into middle age. I’ve seen girls look terrifyingly scary their entire lives, never having real friends or a love life. I’ve seen girls DIE from this eating disorder–yet even after that it’s still nearly impossible to bring myself to fight it.

    Your blog shows me what’s possible. What’s out there. It helps to keep me focused on what I’m fighting for and what I could have someday if I can just get through this.

    Thank you. You’re beautiful. I love you.

  10. Katie August 9, 2010 at 7:42 am #

    I missed you girl!!!!!!!!!!!!! So glad you posted a new post!!!!

    U LOOK AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!! U should be proud of yourself and you look beautiful as ever!! The wedding pic from Chicago, you look beautiful as ever!!! Love that you are enjoying life, thats how it should be, life is too short to stress over food! I feel ya on the eating, you should eat what you want and you can live a healthy lifestyle, and be strong and healthy! I eat a very healthy lifestyle, its what works for me and makes my body happy!

    Love this post! Have a great week girl! xoxo

  11. rebecca lustig August 9, 2010 at 8:00 am #

    i’m so proud of you, girl!!

    1. you’re living your life, and enjoying it, while taking care of yourself
    2. you’ve maintained your goal weight
    3. you’re past the point of fear foods
    4. you’re sticking up for yourself– eating what you WANT, bc that is, afterall, the most important part of your relationship with food… eating what makes you feel good.

    so good to hear from you!
    I hope you have a great start to the week!
    โค becca
    http://fromheretothereinpurple.blogspot.com

  12. Jenna August 9, 2010 at 8:04 am #

    Good for you for standing up for your food choices!!

  13. Alexa August 9, 2010 at 8:08 am #

    i definitely can relate!! being in college and eating healthy is always notable amongst all the binging, pigging out, and fat talk. its such a contradicting whirlwind that females in society today have created.I’ve definitely made up excuses before and felt nervous while ‘defending my food’ but in the end .. it’s what i need to do to eat properly and comfortably- and i so agree.. ITS JUST FOOD ppl!

    xox girl.. glad your doing so well! ๐Ÿ™‚

  14. Molly August 9, 2010 at 8:33 am #

    I love this post to tears. First of all, my I say, you are beyond gorgeous. Loved you in your bridesmaid dress (and that you wedding crashed haha amazing!). As far as defending your food, I do it ALL the time. ESPECIALLY with people I feel I should trust the most to accept me for who I am. that would be boyfriends and family. Why must they make a comment? Im eating arent I? I feel better when I eat clean (but ENOUGH). Its hard, but I know you can do it! Stay true to yourself, because you are doing AMAZING.

    I hope you have a fabulous rest of your summer.

    xo-Molly
    http://www.givinganythingbutup.wordpress.com

  15. izzy August 9, 2010 at 8:35 am #

    Welcome back, girlie! I actually know what you mean about posting more when you’re busier at school – I feel the same way…esspecially when blogging becomes an escape from the essays and the readings ๐Ÿ˜‰

    SO proud of you for staying within your weight range and doing generally better, EDwise. It’s not easy when you get back home and when it becomes so easy to fall back into old, (bad) habits, but you did it!

    I can completely relate to your feelings about beig judged. I’m a carb whore and proud of it, but sometimes if I go out with friends, I simply DONT WANT to order the oversized, greasy, meaty lasagna I know they’ll serve. Sometimes I’d rather have a shrimp salad, let’s say, and I’ll get BOMBARDED with anorexic comments (from my friends who don’t know about ED) or other snide comments. “You’re skinny enough – have a burger” (aside from the fact that I don’t eat beef/pork…whatevs). Ditto with packing lunches. When you have to hide your yoghurt mess on your lap in hopes of avoiding disgusted faces pointing and asking “What’s THAT?!”, there’s something wrong with the world.

    Le sigh. Hang in there, girl! Can’t wait for your next post!
    izzyy
    xoxoxx

  16. Molly August 9, 2010 at 8:57 am #

    Oh gosh, I feel like I am constantly judged for eating healthy. Sometimes I do feel like ordering a salad, or I don”t really want to eat fried food. However, sometimes it seems like people feel bad about their own choices after seeing mine. I don’t want to make them feel that way but I can’t let their reactions affect my own decisions either.

    Also, people think that if you are not overweight you should not be eating all those healthy things, which is WRONG! Everyone should be eating veggies and fruits.

  17. highonhealthy August 9, 2010 at 9:01 am #

    You look gorgeous in those pictures and I’m jealous of all the fun you’re having!!

    I constantly have to defend my food choices too and while it’s annoying, it’s something I’m willing to put up with if it means I get to eat food that makes me feel good. Why what I eat is something others feel the need to scrutinize is beyond me but if it makes them feel better.. well, they can go ahead and do it. Just makes them look silly and annoying to me though.

  18. Fi August 9, 2010 at 9:16 am #

    You look soo pretty in your photos! and ur dresses are gorgeous ๐Ÿ™‚ that tuna melt looks pretty good too!

    I do feel the need to defend my food choices and then I get all embarassed and stuff, so if I keep my mouth closed and dont try and defend myself, well then i dont draw attention and if anyone says anything to me (which they do!) i just say “thats what i like to eat’ and thats it! ๐Ÿ™‚ friends are friends and surely they wont judge you for eating healthy! maybe they are just jealous! xx

  19. kbwood August 9, 2010 at 9:27 am #

    AMEN GIRL!! u do yo thang. I seriously used to make up EVERY excuse in the book “It will give me tummy troubles”.. etc.. but now I totally ask for substitutions without ANY excuses.. people ask and ill just simply say “Its healthier” .. and if they have something to say, they can just get over it! Its so freeing once u finally reach that point! YOU are maintaining… now its another story when u are gaining.. u NEED ALL OF THAT!! I never ever asked for substitutions when I was gaining! But now- I am just living a life style of a health conscious person. Its hard when uve been labled as the “Sick girl” and then you arent sick anymore and then try to just simply be aware of your health!! People that make comments are just simply jealous bc they dont have self control. haha! It took me SO LONG to figure all of that out!! But really- some butter they use is NOT necessary for anybody! So I usually ask for “light on the butter” and more and more ppl are becoming health concious.. so its becoming a normal thing at most places! ANYWAY this is getting long but I am so so proud of you and you look AWESOME in those wedding pics!!!! Keep up this hard work during the school year girl!!! Your metabolism is prob so speedy fast now!

  20. Katie @ Health for the Whole Self August 9, 2010 at 9:58 am #

    I can certainly relate! I have had family members tell me I’m “boring” or “no fun” because of my healthier choices. I think you’re right that the best defense is simply not to continue the conversation; you shouldn’t have to explain yourself all the time!

  21. Tori August 9, 2010 at 10:27 am #

    Usually it is the unhealthy people who comment on my food quirks. So I immediately make fun of there unhealthy habbits too. I know. Real mature! But it’s bettter if you laugh about eachothers quirks than if you start trying to defend yourself. I think everone has their little food quirks, and it’s easier if you just don’t judge people and realize that everyone likes different things. No one is better than the other.

  22. beth August 9, 2010 at 10:59 am #

    keep on doing what you’re doing! learning to speak for and about yourself is hard…trust me, along the way lots of people won’t appreciate you for it (take it from one who knows) but being strong in your choices, whatever they are is a GREAT quality.

    oh, and btw, have you ever tried Bumblebee Tuna Sensations…they are delish. I especially like the lemon pepper and sundried tomato and basil.

    ๐Ÿ™‚

    good luck at school. have fun and study a little bit!

  23. Morgan August 9, 2010 at 11:15 am #

    I do feel like I get judged a lot for making healthier choices. I just let it go. I make a healthier choice, but I’m not the one complaining at the end of the meal how awful what I ate was, how unhealthy or how terrible I feel. People won’t get it, and that will never happen until they take charge of their own health

  24. christina August 9, 2010 at 12:32 pm #

    you look so pretty at your cousin’s wedding. that dress fits you perfectly! love the flowers too ๐Ÿ™‚

  25. Naomi (onefitfoodie) August 9, 2010 at 1:00 pm #

    hey girl!! so glad to have you back! ๐Ÿ™‚ you were missed for sure around here!!! i totally hear ya! I love to eat healthy foods! its what makes me hapy! I was a buffet for my BF’s brothers wedding with TONS of choices. I chose skim milk wiht raisin bran, a banana and thats it!! others had the waffles, pastries etc…people would look at what I was eating and say things like “why are you eating that when you can eat THIS” ummm because this is what I want to eat? just beacuse there is crap food in front of me doesnt mean I want it! you seem that you are doing so amazing!!! keep havign fun and living your life! xox

    • hioih August 9, 2010 at 9:05 pm #

      i think they were referring to the actual moment; as in why are you eating that (milk and cereal), if you could actually eat it every other day of your life, instead of eating THIS (insert- muffins, pancakes, egg scrambles with cheese) because it’ll be the “exception to the rule”
      not saying you CAN’T eat muffins etc, every single day because you can, but you know it’s not healthy, so why not indulge every once in a while you know. because it’s worth it. you don’t live twice.

      • Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth) August 9, 2010 at 10:26 pm #

        hioih- i totally see your point but i’m not sure if i agree entirely. I mean, I can only speak for myself but I definitely indulge. I go out at least once a week with friends & let go of any or all eating habits but i just know that my day-to-day routine can’t be like that. Also, i am working on defining my life based on the moments in it & the people i’m with as opposed to the food i eat- if that makes sense? It’s all about balance I guess!

  26. Megan August 9, 2010 at 7:42 pm #

    Shelley, thank you SO SO SO much for this post! it seriously lifted my mood! I could relate to everything you said, and I’m tired of defending my food choices too. So what if I LIKE salads? By the way, your chickpea one looks awesome. I’m guessing my huge salads have more calories than some people’s lunches so why do they feel the need to say something? Ahh I could rant about this forever. It is SO hard in college because everyone is into ordering pizza (I’m lactose intolerant which makes for a good legit excuse) and getting fried appetizers and I just do NOT like that stuff. I honestly never have! Anyway it makes me feel a little better that others experience this too even though it is frustrating… I’m going to take a note from you and be more confident with my food choices! No more making excuses for the healthy and yummy food we eat!!

  27. Jess August 9, 2010 at 8:38 pm #

    I definitely feel judged sometimes. I’m chill with my family, because they often do not give me trouble (unless i’m cooking broc/sweet potatoes, they tend to make the house smell ๐Ÿ˜‰ ) But I have a hard time explaining to my friends that I just love to eat healthy!! I know I shouldn’t worry, but sometimes i do!
    โค jess
    xoxo

  28. Lindsay August 9, 2010 at 9:25 pm #

    I have always felt like whenever I go out to eat with friends and not immediate family memebers that they are judging me for requesting that my food to not have butter on it or no mayo or no cheese or whatever I dont want on the food. I think after reading this, I will stop letting people make comments on my food. If they do make comments, I will just ignore it or tell them that I just prefer to specify how my food is made!! ๐Ÿ™‚

  29. mayapamela August 9, 2010 at 10:29 pm #

    Isn’t it funny how concerned other people get about food that is not their own? I get annoyed when anyone says “you’re going to eat all that!?” or question why someone is eating a particular food. You’re absolutely right, as long as you’re not restricting and you’re a healthy weight than you should eat what makes you happy. I think a large part of it is confidence, so as long as you smile and say it’s what you want I think you’ll be fine!

  30. Emily August 10, 2010 at 6:31 am #

    this has been a problem for me too! I hate it when others judge my food because it’s “weird”. But I’ve also learned that what’s good for me is all that matters!

    xoxo

  31. Brenda J. Wood August 10, 2010 at 8:12 am #

    Girl we are on the same page! I’m glad that you are not waiting for years until your body is wrecked and needing heart surgery, cancer corrections and diabetes.. Smart woman you are in deed.
    What a role model for your age group too. Yippee for you!
    I’m a recovered bulimic with a few years under my belt and still learning new stuff about myself and it.
    Brenda J Wood
    http://www.heartfeltdevotionals.wordpress.com

  32. Molly August 10, 2010 at 10:34 am #

    Shelley,

    I love your defense of food. Seriously if it is going into your body might as well get it how you want it. My family sometimes makes comments about not eating meat that are ridic but I mean… it is because they have never attempted to live veg. I get you.

    Molly

    p.s. keep having fun lady!

  33. Leah @ Why Deprive? August 10, 2010 at 11:25 am #

    I feel like the people that judge the way I eat, are the ones who should maybe learn a lesson about health. The critical ones are the ones who eat like crap, and you know what, if they want to judge me then fine. Its not my problem.

    I still worry about peoples reactions to what Im eating though. Not so much new people in my life, but the people who knew me during my ED. My parents especially, I would never tell my mom how much weight I’ve lost because I feel like its something I shouldnt even know. She asks me and I say “oh I have no idea” and its a flat out lie. I dont know why I do it, I know shes not concerned about me anymore, its just such a habit that I cant stop.

  34. thehungryscholar August 10, 2010 at 4:21 pm #

    You look beautiful.

    I totally agree with you about people commenting on your food. When I ordered steamed vegetables instead of fries, people always roll their eyes.

    Stay strong because you rock!

  35. Dana August 10, 2010 at 5:50 pm #

    I dont feel like anyone judges me for my food choices..anson gets on my nerves sometimes when he makes comments about how I DONT eat much in reality I do..Nut butters have TONS of calories and I eat them constantly..I just have worked so hard to be eating this much and am proud of it! I dont care that I am not eating pizza..half my food has the same amount of calories as pizza so whats the big deal. I eat what I want and what im comfortable with, im healthy & happy so whatevs..

    Dana xo

    • Dana August 10, 2010 at 5:51 pm #

      PS You look gorgeous as always !

  36. Jennifer August 10, 2010 at 11:38 pm #

    I totally agree with you. There is no reason that you should have to defend your choices in food. I know I have been there before. I’ll go out to eat and order something healthier and people look at me and go what’s wrong with you? Don’t tell me your on a diet! It can be embarrassing and pretty much cause a scene, but my goodness when it comes down to it, they are probably only calling me out on it because they’re the ones who aren’t eating as they should.

  37. Chelsea August 11, 2010 at 1:22 pm #

    OMG I hate having to defend what I am eating…ED or not. I don’t understand why people think that what others is eating is so interesting and why the feel the need to ask, comment, or inquire about it.

    Actually today I was sitting outside eating my lunch at work and could hear the conversation of three women sitting behind me. One lady was giving the other an earful about how she wouldn’t ever eat what that lady was eating. The other lady got really defensive and countered that saying that she eats nasty things all of the time. I couldn’t believe what I was hearing and it made me so mad…and it wasn’t even my food they were talking about. I need to come up with something to respond to people’s comments about my food that gives them the message to go away.

    Chelsea

  38. Meagan August 11, 2010 at 5:34 pm #

    Yes! Yes and YES! Thank you so much for this post Shelly! I always feel the need to defend myself about my healthy food choices because my family often thinks I am falling back into a restricting pattern again. But I’m not, I eat healthy because it makes me FEEL GOOD! Yes, healthy foods are often lower in calories, fat, etc., but they also have 10x more of what your body needs! Make decisions that make YOU happy and just live the way you want!

  39. Shanna, like Banana August 12, 2010 at 2:56 pm #

    What faboosh photos! You look great!!! And I’m loving the bright blue shoes with that dress..so cute ๐Ÿ™‚

    I get comments on what I eat a lot of the time. Usually people think I’m eating a ton because I eat often and I eat volume-foods like cabbage, salads, etc. It gets extremely annoying, but I know that I need to be the one that’s happy with me at the end of the day.

  40. thebeautifulbalance August 12, 2010 at 5:06 pm #

    Oh my gosh girl, you are BEAUTIFUL. this post is great and so truthful. I hate that we sometimes feel so judged for wanting to eat healthfully-my Brother once made me cry because I cooked whole wheat pasta for dinner one night and said “it was complete crap and he wanted the normal stuff” even though the whole wheat kind has more fiber,protein etc. WHATS so wrong with that?We live in such a judgemental society and its hard to deal sometimes.
    ps Thanks for checking out my blog. you are awesome!!! <333

  41. Free recipes August 12, 2010 at 8:32 pm #

    What a stunning salad! I find your blog to be such a joy to see and read. Thank you for sharing another fresh and healthy recipe!

  42. eatmovelove August 13, 2010 at 8:51 am #

    YOU ARE BEAUTIFUL!

    I am glad that your doing well.

    IT’s a struggle to just be ourselves isn’t it?

    Why can’t people just be themselves and let us be okay with ourselves?

    I hate it. Hate judgement and hate hypocrisy.

    Peace.

  43. The Fit Collegiate August 13, 2010 at 11:09 am #

    Great post! I hate feeling self-conscious about my commitment to a healthy lifestyle. People HATE to see someone who they perceive as being more disciplined than them in terms of eating choices, and they’ll seize any opportunity to make you feel guilty about making healthy choices.

  44. Salah August 14, 2010 at 6:24 pm #

    I want you to come fix my breakfasts for me…lol you always have the best looking cereal-yogurt bowls!

  45. sophia August 14, 2010 at 10:20 pm #

    Oh shelley, you are SO gorgeous! You have one of the prettiest smiles ever.

    Now about the topic of your food defense…I think it’s great that you enjoy and try to eat healthy…so long as you clearly differentiate it between what your body really wants, and ED fear. I trust that you are wise enough, though. The problem with healthy-eating only comes when it starts hindering you from social life… when you get too obsessed with it. Since that’s not your case, just enjoy what you eat! ๐Ÿ™‚

  46. pursuitofhealthfulness August 15, 2010 at 12:34 pm #

    Oh my gosh, I know Kara Hansell! We used to play soccer together when I lived in Ohio. Funny!

  47. malpaz August 20, 2010 at 2:57 pm #

    well since you asked, and i read the post, you and i have 180 views on what is healthy. i dont find artifical food in any way healthy(walden farms, sweet n low, sandwich thins) and i am pretty sure the food you eat in an entire day is what i eat i a single meal. s while you say your food is ‘healthy’ i beg to differ. for you, you think its healthy and somehow enough for a normal person but for me i think it is unhealthy. just my opinion b/c you did ask

  48. amy September 5, 2010 at 3:02 pm #

    I get judged all the time for what I’m eating b/c I’m in recovery from anorexia. I work out and weight train and I follow my meal plan eating 6 times a day but people always comment about me carryting a cooler and eating healthy when I have weight to gain. i’m just trying to gain healthy weight instead of packing it on with junk and I think thats a good thing but it is frustrating. Once ur labeled with an ED it gives everyone permission to comment on ur food I think.

Leave a Reply

