Looking for some Inspiration

3 Jul

Happy Fourth of July!!

I personally love the fourth of July. The fireworks, the people watching at big events, the sparklers, the cookouts, the family traditions & everything it is about makes me smile. I just got home from my local fireworks & I had the best view- i loved them! Every fourth of July my family goes to a parade on the Monday as well.

What are your fourth of July traditions??

It is also such a nice time to remember how lucky we are to live in America ( I know not all readers do, so sorry to exclude you!!). As clichΓ© as it may sound, I really do feel blessed to live in a such an amazing, free & diverse country. Happy 4th!!

In other news, things have been going pretty well for me. Eats have looked a little bit like this (I haven’t taken many pictures to be honest, but here’s what I’ve got)

Breakfasts

oats with greek yogurt, kashi puffs, peanut butter, apple butter & fruit!

fage 2%, better n’ peanut butter, berries & banana, kashi puffs & cascadian cinnamon crunch cereal

overnight oats!! fage 0%, 1/3 cup oat bran, & almond milk!! peanut butter on top with nectarine & blueberries- delicious!

Snacks!

many smoothies in a bowl!! I believe this had a yoplait frozen fruit/yogurt mix pack, almond milk, spinach, sweet n’ low & protein powder

found these babies!! & loved them

Salads

this one had Annie’s gingerly vinaigrette dressing, corn, veggie burger, & other hidden deliciousness. There is mozzarella cheese somewhere I promise.

TONS of veggies, grilled chicken, feta cheese, & yumminesssss!
Additionally, i’ve eaten my fair share of wraps & i’ve eaten out quite a bit.

I also wanted to show you my favorite summer hair style lately- kind of blurry, but you get the point (I am so awkward with these kind of pictures FYI)

I don’t know about you, but I love the laid back look in the summer. I like having some natural wave, and the braid just adds something a little different!

On another note…

It’s funny because I keep saying i’m going to post more, but then nothing really changes. Part of the reason is that I’ve been putting too much pressure on myself with my writing. When I have been doing really well and feeling very confident/happy (in recovery & in life in general), I find that my writing and blog just flow. But to be honest, right now i’m kind of in a weird place.

I’m not unhappy at all. In fact, I can say that I’m pretty happy with how my summer is going. I have good friends to be around & I am taking care of my recovery stuff & am getting to spend a lot of time with my family. I guess A HUGEEE part of me just misses school & the independence, and the ability to meet new people at any given time and to do whatever I feel like doing that day. Obviously, this is somewhat true at home but in a much different way.

I think more than anything, i’m just a bit confused right now. I’m confused about where I am in my recovery, i’m confused about who my true friends from home are, I’m confused about how I went from being in a very serious relationship with my “best friend” to being totally, 100% single, and i’m confused about what I really want to accomplish from this time at home. I know i’ll figure it out, but in the mean time my inspiration is low in the blog-world. I feel like it’ll hit me though & i’ll get in a flow πŸ™‚ (stupid writer’s block). All of these questions are things that I just have to more or less allow to unfold & I do believe things work themselves out in the end & that things happen for a reason. Ultimately, I think what I want is for this summer to allow me to go to school refreshed & confident in who I am and what I love.

I guess the question I want to ask you all is simply Where do you look for inspiration when it is running a little low?

Is there anything you’d like me to talk about on the blog?


I hope you all have a great holiday & spend time with people you love!!!

xoxoxoxoxoxox

44 Responses to “Looking for some Inspiration”

  1. Mandiee July 4, 2010 at 12:12 am #

    I feel so blessed to live in a free country, too. I may not agree with everything the government does, but I’m still glad to be an American. I’m so jealous you got the new Laras, girl! I’ve been hunting them down (all the people at Whole Foods know me by name) but to no avail. The ones that you tried are definitely on the top of my list. We all go through ebs and flows of inspiration. As long as you’re happy, that’s all that matters. It may be a little bit confusing at times, but I know you will find your way. My best advice is to do some of your favorite things, whether it be catching up with friends you haven’t talked to in ages, taking a relaxing walk, or even just something nice for yourself like painting your nails (cute hairstyle btw.) Find inspiration in anything and everything, girl!

    Have a lovely day!
    xox

  2. nattietan July 4, 2010 at 1:08 am #

    Happy 4th of July to you and the whole of America! I see you got to try them new Larabars! – Jealoussss! AnyhOoo, I was thinking about the things you’re confused about and I don’t know if this will help but perhaps it’d be best to just… live. You know? Not think so much about which friends are real, which aren’t, what you want to accomplish over summer, relationships… Just take each day at a time and let life unveil itself to you as you live it. =)

    Love you much!
    xoxo

  3. devan July 4, 2010 at 2:16 am #

    you are so beautiful and inspiration, shelley
    keep loving and living!! kay? xo
    you deserve so much love!

    i haven’t tried overnight oat BRAN.. that looks awesome πŸ™‚

  4. Kerry July 4, 2010 at 3:52 am #

    We dont celebrate the 4th of July over here! Sounds fun though, i loooove fireworks! hope you have a great time!! Happy 4th! xx

  5. Tatianna July 4, 2010 at 4:31 am #

    Shelley!
    Don’t feel bad – blogging can be kind of tricky to ‘get back into’ after being away from it for awhile. It’s one of those things that gets easier and more powerful when you stick with it, so I’m sure some inspiration will come. Usually, when I find myself in a bout of writer’s block, it’s usually because I am avoiding writing about what’s really on my mind. I’m not saying you’re doing this at all, but for me, once I give in and just vent about what I am really thinking about the words just flow.

    Sorry if that didn’t make much sense.. it’s 5:30 in the morning and I’m off to work πŸ˜›

    Happy fourth of July (Here, we are celebrating Canada day!)
    ❀ Tat

  6. Taylor July 4, 2010 at 6:57 am #

    happy 4th to you too! we have a big party every year to celebrate, it’s the one annual get-together we have that involves more people than just immediate family. too bad it’ll be raining here in st louis all day!

    as for inspiration…sometimes I find myself so overflowing with ideas that I can’t post them all because it would bombard readers with SO much at once. Then, at other times, my brain is bone dry, suddenly unable to remember any of those amazing post ideas from before.

    I’ve started just keeping a little to-do (or to-post?) list on my iPhone and whenever something comes to me as a potential post, i just type it in and continue with my day. Then when I sit down to write I have a few ideas already in the works if there’s nothing that “flows” immediately.

    question: how strong are your fear foods now? Like…I know there’s not nearly as many and they aren’t as terrifying as they once were, but how hard ARE they now that you’re in recovery? do you ever eat them?

  7. theemptynutjar July 4, 2010 at 7:03 am #

    I love your eats. Good stuff.
    You don’t need to try so hard to “figure out where u are in recovery”, etc…just live each day in the moment. You are doing just fine me thinks.

  8. Alexa Meany July 4, 2010 at 7:10 am #

    hiii,

    i honestly think you sound like your doing soo amazingly well. I don’t know that you need to know where your at exactly in recovery, as long as wherever it is, is a positivie place ( which i can tell it really really is this summer for you!) I love how honest you are and i do like seeing all your eats as well. I think when i’m looking for inspiration i usually take on new things or projects, or i usually just try to sit back+ relax πŸ™‚

    happy 4th!! hope its a good one!

  9. julia July 4, 2010 at 7:40 am #

    First: you look beautiful with the hair!
    So jaelous about those new Larabars: mmm! Are they as good and jummy as they sound?

    I think it’s OK to don’t really know where you are in life and recovery, I believe that’s normal. Just have faith and trust, you’re doing a great job and I can’t tell you how proud I am, I truly mean that. I feel as if I know you a little in real life, do you know what I mean? Just wanna give you a big hug girl!

    xxx Julia (Taste of Living)

  10. Meg July 4, 2010 at 8:19 am #

    Love the hair gorgeous! For some inspiration – you’ve already got it down, really – blog about things that interest you aka your hairstyle! Simple things like that are really fun to talk about, and magazines, fashion/style, trashy celeb talk (haha) and just life in general. Blogging doesn’t always have to be about what you THINK others want, blog about what YOU want, and I garauntee we’ll all still read πŸ˜‰

    Love you! Happy 4th! I am blessed to have you in ma liiife!

  11. Jenna July 4, 2010 at 8:36 am #

    I think that is a great summer goal to go back to school feeling confident and refreshed!
    Love the hairdo- you are so cute girlie πŸ˜‰
    Jenna

  12. kelsey@snackingsquirrel.com July 4, 2010 at 9:18 am #

    i love wearing my hair down but i need to have it up just a bit in the sumemr since it can get so hot and humid out. i love ur hair style, i do a similar thing but with two braids in the front on the sides, and then tied back.

    you have all summer to figure it out.. or at least feel much more grounded in where ur headed. i wish u all the best- cuz i know u’ll get there ❀
    xoxo

  13. Alex July 4, 2010 at 9:18 am #

    i love your hair!

    Also jealous about your larabars! I want to try those!!

  14. thehungryscholar July 4, 2010 at 10:06 am #

    I have so much to catch up on, which is fine…because I love your blog. So easy to get behind πŸ™‚

    I totally feel ya on keeping it natural during the summer. I haven’t worn make-up in days, and that is a huge deal for me. I wear make-up to get groceries. Shallow? yes.

    And oh, I’m adding you to my blogroll…I mean I read your blog enough!

  15. Sara July 4, 2010 at 10:08 am #

    Shelly, I absolutely love your blog! No matter how many times/what you post I will keep reading! I think your writing is so open and honest, and I believe that is really important. So props to you girl!!

    I just started my own blog, so I just wanted to introduce myself and say heeyyy!

    happy 4th πŸ™‚

  16. Annie July 4, 2010 at 10:16 am #

    You are such a cutie! I love doing my hair like that in the summer too…actually more like year round lol. I am so jealous you got the new laras. I am dying to try them!!!

    When I am feeling low, I try to think about how the situation I am in could be worse. I think about what I have in my life and how it could all easily be messed up if I went back to my ED. I chat with a friend online or call one just to say hello. Hope it helps.

    xoxo
    ~Annie

  17. cat July 4, 2010 at 10:21 am #

    i was just wondering if you are still strict about measuring and if you still have fear foods?

  18. Amanda @ . seek . July 4, 2010 at 10:53 am #

    Happy 4th, girlie! We celebrate the 1st up here in Canada, but I’m a big fan of the fireworks and cookouts as well; they’re like the epitome of summer πŸ™‚

    And speaking of summer, I love your summer hairstyle πŸ™‚ I’m a big fan of the wavy/tousled/messy beach look as well, and that braid is definitely a nice touch.

    As for inspiration, I find it can’t really be forced or pursued… it just kind of has to come on it’s own. I think that you’re putting too much pressure on yourself to be inspired and have it all figured out, though. We often make the mistake that we have to put a label on how we’re doing… Recovered. Confused. Fine. Not fine… If it’s a “bad” label, we start putting too much pressure on ourselves to make things good, and we forget that life is a constant up and down cycle. It’s natural to go through lows and highs, and when we accept that as normal, I think it becomes a lot easier. Just live, hun, and don’t stress about not having everything figured out. It comes with time.

  19. Katie July 4, 2010 at 11:47 am #

    Hello Love!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I love your hair with the braid, looks so pretty as do you ! Love the heart tank too!!! Looking good girl, nice tan too!!!

    Thanks for the sweet comment : ) always leaving the sweetest comments ever!

    Ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhh just take the summer to kick back and relax! Enjoy love!!! Life is beautiful and soak up every minute of it! U dont need to stress about things!

  20. The Candid RD July 4, 2010 at 12:19 pm #

    Love the latest hair style! I need a new hairstyle myself, yikes.
    I hope you enjoyed your fourth. I just read your comment and I would love to have a blogger meet-up sometime! Sadly I won’t be around much because of my training in Pittsburgh, but we’ll have to figure something out down the road a bit. I don’t know any C-bus bloggers! Pathetic, right?! There have to be others!

  21. Coco July 4, 2010 at 12:47 pm #

    happy 4th! i LOVE the front braid in your hair–it’s adorable. i have tried to do it on mine but my hair gets really frizzy and it looks funny.

    anywho, don’t worry about how often you blog. i sometimes blog every day for a week, then i won’t blog for 2 months! just focus on living your life and staying in recovery, and the rest will follow.

  22. blueeyedheart July 4, 2010 at 1:54 pm #

    Happy Fourth of July!! πŸ™‚

    I wouldn’t worry too much about needing to be an inspiration, if I were you… just being yourself is inspiration enough. Sorry if that sounds “sappy,” but it’s the truth…

    ❀ ❀

  23. izzy July 4, 2010 at 2:39 pm #

    Happy ‘fourth to ya, girlie! I may not live in the US, but we just celebrated our “Canada Day” and I feel so blessed to live in a great country, as well. So, so lucky πŸ™‚

    I can relate with the difficulty youre finding adjusting to life away from school for the summer. Though I started slipping at the end of school last semester, it was a huge adjustment to go from go-go-go at school, then seeing so many of your friends go back home for the break and everything – its though :$ Any big social or life adjustment is hard, but remember how many even bigger life adjustments and changes youve made – and SUCEEDED at! School’ll be back before you know it and hopefully youll be able to go back and kick MORE ass when it does πŸ™‚

    Ohemgee I am HUNTING for those Larabars – legit, calling stores and begging for managers to order them in and stuff! Gahh!! I’m dyin’ to try Carrot Cake + Chocolate Chip Brownie!!

    izzyy
    xxoxox

  24. kbwood July 4, 2010 at 3:28 pm #

    hey beautiful!!!

    I totally know what you mean by being confused. sometimes we get caught up in a whirl wind of life and then it ALL hits us and we think DANG what happened? I broke up with my boy last year on a whim while i was getting into recovery more and living life more.. i cut him out of my life because i tried to leave it all behind but in reality I was really hurting myself by losing him and disobeying God. Im not saying this is the case for you! But dont cut people out of your life that care about you and love you because it’s easier for them to go away. That will in the end leave you broken hearted and so confused. Girl, recovery is a JOURNEY. by NO means do I have it perfected!!!! I have my bad days. and the important thing is that I look back on where I was an where I am now, and thank God for bringing me that far. And thank God for continuing to bring me farther along as the future unveils. Its going to get easier every day girl. love you and please let me know if u want to talk!

  25. Samantha July 4, 2010 at 4:29 pm #

    I LOVE YOUR HAIR!!!! And your header (don’t think I mentioned that yet which I meant to awhile ago!) and love love love the song!! It’s such a good song to listen to with the windows down. I think it just gives a great feeling! πŸ™‚ Have a great 4th of July girlie!!

  26. Ilana July 4, 2010 at 6:03 pm #

    Hey sweetie,
    First of all, you’re so stunning – love that picture of you! Braids are my favorite thing.

    Superjealous you found the new Laras too haha.

    When it comes to inspiration and feeling a little low, sometimes I think it’s best to just ride the wave. It might take you places you dont like but you’ll come out on the other side refreshed and inspired and so much stronger. I think at our age it’s really common to feel kind of groundless and rootless and I think it’s pretty confusing and freaking weird and it’s never nice to not be able to see where you’re going but I think if you just keep walking down the yellowbrick road you’ll uncover things about yourself you either forgot about or you never knew before. It’s very strange but I think you’re an incredibly strong and wonderful girl and you will find something amazing under there. But…well..when I need a quick boost, there’s always show tunes, pop music, eyeliner, and my mirror.

  27. Kristy July 4, 2010 at 7:02 pm #

    Happy 4th of July girl!

    All of your eats look amazing like usual. You are doing such a good job varying what you eat. It’s something I am trying to work on.

    As for finding purpose in the summer, try just living. That’s what summers are for. I know it’s easier said than done, but when you live and spend time doing things you want to do and helping others, you’ll find what makes you happy and a purpose.

    Best of luck,
    Kristy

  28. debbiecutieface July 4, 2010 at 10:56 pm #

    eeeeee I love the side braid! I do it all the time too, mainly because my bangs are a pain in the ass and refuse to ever grow out.

    I feel ya on the confusion. You’ll figure it out girl. You’ve got all the time in the world.

    happy fourth darling!

  29. Averie (LoveVeggiesAndYoga) July 5, 2010 at 12:30 am #

    I think that at your age being a little confused and uncertain is NORMAL. Life, friends, school, boyfriends, yes, normal. Hell, I am a grown woman and I am still confused about life some days πŸ™‚ Take it one day at a time, Shelley! And what I love seeing on your blog is just your daily pics from your daily life. Food, who cares. Id rather see you!

  30. Steph (@ mediterraneanmiss) July 5, 2010 at 5:24 am #

    Hello pretty girl!
    First off, I love that picture of you rockin’ the braid. I love the laid-back summery look, and I love putting tiny braids in wavy hair for a mermaid look (*blush*).

    Recovery is difficult because it’s absolutely your battle to win. You are so much stronger than you think, and you are doing a fantastic job. We all have our off days, weeks, months, but I really admire the way you push through! I wouldn’t change anything about the way that you write. You’re refreshingly honest, funny and your pictures are always great πŸ™‚

    As far as inspiration goes, I sometimes look to my comments. It’s heartwarming to see how much people I have never met in real life actually care. Just look at the comments in this post – don’t you see how loved you are?
    xo!

  31. Gabriela @ Une Vie Saine July 5, 2010 at 10:53 am #

    Hey girl! This was a great post for me to read because I’m kind of dealing with this right now too. This weekend I totally forgot about blogging, just went out and LIVED, and I’m having trouble coming up with how to post about that because how do I explain that I love blogging but I love being a college kid too, and sometimes they don’t really coincide all that well? I get most inspired when there’s a topic I really want to talk about but have been putting off for whatever reason. If there’s anything you want to put out there, just bite the bullet! Also, I love seeing pictures of people’s lives. We’re SO much more than what we eat, and seeing pics reminds us all of that!! Hope your week is off to a great start love!!

  32. Kate July 5, 2010 at 8:00 pm #

    first off, i have been searching for the new larabars and CANNOT find them in stores here. jealous!

    the transitions from school to home were always super hard for me while in college too. it is like you do all is this great growing while you are in school and you fall right back into your kid role when at home. it is still is there for me when i spend time at my parents house but not as intensly. sorry i can’t offer much advice.

    sometimes it helps just to write something, anything–list of stuff you like, stuff you don’t like, what disney character respresents you best…, each day. getting in the practice of creative habbits helps. eventually it will just flow.

    take care ladybug!

  33. sensorydefensiveness July 5, 2010 at 11:05 pm #

    The things that have worked best for me is to go on a walk out in nature and remind myself of what sort of person I want to be. And to try to do something everyday to work closer to who that is. As long as you aren’t falling backwards you’re a success. At least that’s how I feel.

  34. lowandbhold July 6, 2010 at 7:33 am #

    I’m so jealous that you got to try the new lara flavors!!

    I totally think I can relate to how you’re feeling. It takes time for things to settle out to where you can see and understand the big picture. But just make sure you make yourself a priority and really focus on your relationship with yourself. Everything will fall into place eventually πŸ™‚

  35. Lola July 6, 2010 at 11:52 am #

    Hey girl!! thanks for commenting on my blog πŸ™‚ and happy 4th of july to you! hehe I don’t celebrate it since I live in Mexico and all but I have family living in the USA and I sure love to visit them hehe πŸ˜›
    I love your summer hairstyle πŸ™‚ Ive been styling my hair like that too πŸ˜›
    I can totally relate with what you say about being more independent when you go to school, sometimes I feel trapped in my house too!! and being single all of a sudden is hard, but at least now we cn dance to “all the single ladies” at parties hehe πŸ˜›

  36. Ellen@FirednFabulous July 6, 2010 at 12:26 pm #

    Aww, you’ll find your way, I just know it! That fact that you’re trying and searching is a great step. I’m actually reading The Alchemist right now (blogged about it today), and it is such an inspirational book. You have to read it if you haven’t already. It’s about realizing your dreams and going after them…and of course experiencing all the bumps along the way! You’ll get there. Keep on keepin’ on, girl πŸ™‚

  37. Amanda @ HopeHasAPlace July 6, 2010 at 12:52 pm #

    1. It’s lovely to “meet” you! Thanks for the sweet comment on my blog… it’s always good to find other recovery bloggers and feel not so alone. πŸ™‚

    2. The new Larabars! I haven’t seen them yet. I haven’t tried many of them anyway, but I seem to be a fan of the not-fruity ones so I’ll keep an eye out!

    3. I know what you mean about not understanding where you are right now. When I was younger, I just assumed that life would go the way I wanted and everything would work out in the end… unfortunately, that doesn’t always happen. That’s not necessarily bad, though–just a change of plans. You WILL figure things out, and come out better for it.

    xoxo

  38. Katie @ Health for the Whole Self July 6, 2010 at 3:37 pm #

    I am SOOOOOO jealous of those new Larabars!!! I want to try them so badly!

    I think that having a touch of writer’s block is perfectly natural when you’re in that confused, in-the-middle kind of place. But it sounds like you’re being very self-reflective about it – and self-awareness is always the key to getting out of a funk!

  39. Kelly July 6, 2010 at 5:36 pm #

    Just hang in there girl! I have faith in you…complete and total! Don’t worry about the blog…we all love you and we will read no matter how often or how un-often you post! Love you girl!

  40. Katherine: What About Summer? July 6, 2010 at 6:18 pm #

    Happy fourth! I really like that hair style a lot- you’re so cute rocking it

  41. Chelsea @ One Healthy Munchkin July 6, 2010 at 8:50 pm #

    Your hair looks so cute. I love doing braids like that! πŸ™‚

    I can totally relate to being confused. It’s so true that summer is an awesome time to reconnect with yourself and think. I hope you figure things out!

    Ahh, I love John Mayer’s version of Free Fallin’. I die a little every time I hear him do it in concert. ❀

  42. dmcgirl37 July 7, 2010 at 7:08 am #

    awe i’m confused about my life all the time too if that makes you feel any better ahaha! oh well. Life is just confusing sometimes. I think it’s because it’s just a learning experience, you’l figure it all out. I’m SURE of it!

    Writers block? I just start with photographs and write something about either my day or how i’m feeling. I just am brutally honest so I usually have something to say most of the time if not all of the time…

    Dana xo
    http://happinessiswithin.wordpress.com/

  43. Bekah July 11, 2010 at 3:23 pm #

    Have I mentioned how much I love your header? Welll.. I do. πŸ™‚ My posts have been so infrequent because I like to spend time on quality writing, and so often do I have, aahjdfjgdsjfsa WRITER’S BLOCK. And it’s not even like I’m a real, legit writer either. Oh well. Sometimes though I literally write down what is in my head. And then i take a very long time to edit it so I sound better. Haha. Other times I like to relate my blog posts/eats to a story, and tell it that way.

    Love 4th of July! Love your eats, and loove America.

  44. Jenna July 17, 2010 at 3:00 pm #

    Omg shelley! You probs may or may not wanna hear this but anyways…you know who you look like in this picture? Kelly Bensimon from housewives of NYC! And don’t get me wrong she is gorg and so are youuuuuuuu πŸ™‚
    Jenna xo

Leave a Reply

