Have a Little Faith

6 Jun

Happy Sunday!

I hope your weeks went swimmingly & you did something every day that made you smile 🙂

My week was really good! It has been nice to spend a lot of time with my friends and people who are important to me. I’ve missed them more than I may have realized.

One day, My Mom & I did some shopping & when we were hungry, we stopped at Cosi for some lunch. I got the Shanghai Chicken Salad & the plain rustic bread!


I love this salad– it is huge and so refreshing. I’d recommend it. When I got home I had time before I had to babysit and I knew i’d have a late dinner so I had a delicious & filling snack

I microwaved about 1/2 cup of egg whites and added some salt & pepper and also ate a sliced organic gala apple with some better n’ peanut butter drizzled on top! This really kept me full.

That night insane storms ensued so I ended up having to make up a quick dinner (got subway WOO) & just stayed in the house.

This lunch was eaten at some point this week- turkey & cheese wrap & gotta have a pickle too!

After a great workout of some cardio AND strength training (yay me), I refueled with Lifetime Fitness’ Ultimate Protein Shake made with protein powder, blueberries, & banana

Perfect for post workout fuel (which, if you didn’t know, is ridiculously important..especially when strength training).
I also wanted to share with you all
a workout i’ve been doing that works really well for me. You see, I tend to get really bored from lifting weights but I know it is really important for your health. I found this in Women’s Health & have been doing it 2-3 times a week. I really like it and it is the perfect balance between being hard but not too hard.

You do 3 sets of the 8 exercises

I had some friends over that night & we all hung out outside by a fire.

We ate a lot of food that night haha… yep, case in point.

& it wasn’t even my idea to take a picture of all the food!!

I haven’t taken many more pictures of eats this week but I did have a really fun night last night because two of my girl friends from high school who live in other cities came to visit

Loveee them! We went out for asian food & I got a chicken teriyaki salad with ginger dressing & a vegetarian medley roll

Last night, I was on my own for dinner so I made use of all the fresh veggies & put together a huge & delicious salad.

TJ’s chicken-less strips, part-skim mozzarella cheese, asian sesame ginger dressing.  I put in veggies and I sautéed cucumber & mushrooms in a pan. I also ate some pretzels & apple slices on the side.

I saw the most hilarrrioussss movie last night with my guy friends

you’ve gotta be in the mood for weirdness- but it was honestly so funny. I was crying at one point because I was laughing so hard.

This morning, I made myself an amazing breakfast of about 1/2 cup oat bran, fage 0%, a mix of better n’ peanut butter & pb&co crunch time, blueberries, banana, & cinnamon

I also made my sister a bowl 🙂

After working out & running to Trader Joe’s (looove), I came home and made some lunch

This is my go to lunch at home because it is so simple. I’m always up for something different, but this just usually hits the spot and keeps me full for a few hours.

I’ve been thinking about religion and fate a lot lately when i’m bored. I think this is because of a mixture of things. A lot has happened to me over the past couple years. I’m not saying this so I can be seen as a victim, because that is not how I view it at all. Despite everything that i’ve gone through, i’ve realized I have very little bitter feelings about any of it.

Why?

Because even though a lot of these events caused me pain in ways I had never felt before, I also grew stronger from them all. Every tribulation taught me something about myself or about life in some way or another.

I’ve never considered myself a religious person. Though I identify myself as a Jew, this has little to do with any of the formal education i’ve received about the religion. It has more to do with the fact that I like believing in something. I feel lucky to be a part of a group that is so full of traditions, hope, faith, and history. I love that being Jewish makes me different. But most of all, I love feeling like there is a higher power than me. There is something or someone up there, who knows what, that is responsible for all the amazing aspects of life.

I was actually talking to Debbie for a while about this a couple of weeks back, and realized I really want to share some of my views on my blog. I think religion should always be about acceptance. I hate that it has to cause barriers and separations between people, because ultimately, religion is simply an escape for everyone. It is every individual’s hope that there is a reason why we are all here, and that we each have a purpose in the world.

I have NO CLUE what my purpose is and to be honest, I don’t feel the need to figure it out. But I do like that I have hope. I love that I believe in fate. It would be really easy to look at some things i’ve been through and feel angry, but I don’t. I know for a fact I wouldn’t be who I am today without everything i’ve been through and so I am thankful for it all.

So I guess I didn’t have a main point in that little ramble, but i’m trying to say that I really think it is important to believe in anything, label aside. It makes life seem a whole lot better 🙂

“dream is a wish your heart makes when you’re fast asleep. In dreams you will lose your heartaches. Whatever you wish for, you keep. Have faith in your dreams, and someday, your rainbow will come smiling through. No matter how your heart is grieving, if you keep on believing, the dreams that you wish will come true.”
-Cinderella

1) What are your thoughts on religion/fate? How big of a part does it play in your life?

2) Best way to use protein powder? I just bought some and want to put it to good use!!


64 Responses to “Have a Little Faith”

  1. diane June 6, 2010 at 6:59 pm #

    I love your gladiator sandals! Where are they from?

    • Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth) June 6, 2010 at 7:14 pm #

      Nordstroms 🙂 thanks!

  2. Megan @ The Oatmeal Diaries June 6, 2010 at 7:11 pm #

    I just had to comment and say how beautiful and healthy you look! So happy for you!

  3. caitlyn June 6, 2010 at 7:36 pm #

    Great post! You look great!
    I used to post a lot on Religion and Faith when my life was in shambles because that’s all I had! I totally agree that it is an “escape” … sometimes life gets so hard that you have no choice but to let go of control, put it in the “arms of an angel” (love that song)… and hope things work out!

    I bet you can use protein powder in pancakes or something. I usually just do shakes, if anything.

    🙂

  4. tatiannalives June 6, 2010 at 7:39 pm #

    It’s great to hear from you Shelley! You sound so wonderfully happy 🙂 I think it’s contagious!

    I actually didn’t start having religious views until my eating disorder.. well, since recovery I guess. I honestly don’t really know what made me want to get better one day, but I believe that it was God who changed me. Because of everything I’ve been through, I know that everything in life serves a purpose and I am actually so grateful for it all. I feel really strongly about this, is you can’t tell. Haha.

    Wonderful post! As always 🙂
    ❤ Tat

  5. Gabriela @ Une Vie Saine June 6, 2010 at 8:03 pm #

    Girl, I know EXACTLY where you are coming from with the whole religion thing. For so long I shied away from religion because so many people our age look down on it, and it has separated a few friendships for me. But in the end, the most crucial part of believing in God is loving and accepting everyone, even the people who have hurt you. It’s SO HARD, but it’s something I strive for every day!! Recently I’ve thought a lot about my ED in terms of faith as well, and I do think that it’s useless to be bitter about what’s happened. God gives us obstacles, and those obstacles make us stronger people…we would not be the same without struggles. They make us who we are, far more than our accomplishments.

    Loving the Cosi action in this post…ever since you told me there’s no health difference between the whole grain and white, I’ve been enjoying every carbalicious bite of that bread!! Hope you have a wonderful week love!!

  6. Keri June 6, 2010 at 8:04 pm #

    I go to lifetime too 🙂

  7. izzy June 6, 2010 at 8:22 pm #

    Omg I’m LOVINN your eats! Legit, I’ve been hooked on wraps recently and I think your blog is partially to blame!! ;D

    I think about the role of religion and faith in my life sometimes, too. I’ve never been terribly invested in it, nor has it been forced upon me by my parents, but I like having something to believe in. It may not give me “all the easy answers”, but I like having something to stand up for and knowing there’s something more out there.

    Protein powder = smoothies galore and soft serve! I made some (soft serve) today with the rest of my hemp protein, which is nasty, and it was really good! I’m buying Designer Whey when I’m done what I have and I’m psyched for good-tasting protein powder!

    izzyy
    xoxo

  8. Averie (LoveVeggiesAndYoga) June 6, 2010 at 8:25 pm #

    My husband is Jewish and identifies as a jew socially but not religiously. Had the bar mitzvah, Hebrew school, the whole bit but uses his culture/faith as a way to relate to others, totally nothing to do with the religion side of it. And in business, his “jewish fraternity” as he calls it has helped him network sooo much.

    Love that you are taking a stance on this one girl. Bold. Interesting. Not just more boring oatmeal. (no offense to those that like to feature daily oatmeal or anything LOL) But THIS is the kind of post i love to read! GREAT PASSION about something!

  9. Emily June 6, 2010 at 8:43 pm #

    I am spiritual in my own way, not necessarily religious. I feel that each person has their own beliefs, their own thought process on a higher power. good for you for being so proud of your religion and beliefs.

    I haven’t gotten protein powder yet, but I really want to try it!

    xoxo

  10. maxinthegym June 6, 2010 at 9:06 pm #

    Your shoes! I adore your shoes!

    Your strength training routine looks great! Keep it up!

  11. Jess June 6, 2010 at 9:31 pm #

    As a Christian, religion COMPLETELY affects my everyday life! I, like you, LOVE knowing that I am here for a purpose–I totally agree 🙂

    Greattt eats, babe. Looks like you’re having so much fun!
    ❤ jess
    xoxo

  12. Amanda @ . seek . June 6, 2010 at 9:34 pm #

    Hey girl! Glad to hear that you’re having fun spending quality time with good friends 🙂 You sound so happy, and you definitely deserve to be ❤

    My faith used to be really strong before I got sick with my ED. When that hit, I lost interest in pretty much everything besides food and I found myself moving away from God. But, through recovery I've been finding my way back, and I honestly believe that I wouldn't still be here if it weren't for His grace and the prayers of those around me. My faith has been getting a lot stronger as I continue recovering, and I find so much peace and solace in it. Like you, I've come to see all the trials and tribulations that I've been through in the past little while as a blessing in disguise. Sure they hurt, but they've taught me so much, and for that I'm thankful.

    And I wish I could help with the protein powder, but I don't use any. I think shakes are pretty much the most popular way to use it though.

  13. Katey June 6, 2010 at 9:36 pm #

    I LOVE COSI! Their bread is SO good. I’m not really big on faith- christianity in particular. I used to be really involved in youth group and church, but a lot of stuff happened, and I don’t go there anymore. I believe in a lot of buddhist concepts now, but I don’t consider myself a buddhist- if that makes sense? I read eating mindfully, and then I started reading a lot of buddhist books (just recently). But I don’t really like to label myself as something.. you know? I too believe in fate, but I believe in karma also. I just try to be the best person I can be!

  14. blueeyedheart June 6, 2010 at 9:40 pm #

    It sounds odd, I guess, but I don’t really intertwine religion with faith in my mind. I mean, yes, there are certain things that I believe are meant (fated?) to happen no matter what you do, but everyone has some element of choice. I don’t know that religion has anything to do with that.

    ❤ ❤

  15. sophia June 6, 2010 at 11:41 pm #

    Loved your question, Shelley. As you might already know, I am very very “religious”. But I hate that word. I don’t believe in my faith is a religion, so much as a lifestyle…a fact, a truth, a way of living and enjoying and making sense of my purpose in life. My faith plays a huge part in everything I do…it gives me joy, it gives me meaning, it gives me comfort and wisdom and many, many amazing sisters and brothers who share the same faith and vision as me.

    • Aletheia June 7, 2010 at 7:15 pm #

      Can I just amen what Sophia just said?

      My God is not a religion to me. To me he’s not just this big huge man far far away that knows everything and controls the world. He’s a living Person, and He lives right inside of me. He shares every moment of joy with me, just as much as he shares my sorrows. He is my rock, my comfort, and the One I can trust. Life is meaningless without Him, and without my brothers and sisters, I’d be a wreck. A total wreck.

      Thanks for sharing your musings with us, Shelley, and for opening up the discussion to all.

      🙂 xo aletheia

  16. julia June 7, 2010 at 1:23 am #

    Wise words…thanks for sharing them. And you’re doing an amazing job with everything. I’m so proud and I mean that from the bottom of my heart!

    xxx Julia (Taste of Living)

  17. fi June 7, 2010 at 3:00 am #

    As George Michael once famously said/sang! “You gotta have faith!” Its a great attitude to look on things that happen to us in our lives as “Blessings in disgiuse” or lessons to be learned from to better ourselves as human beings. Whats the point in being bitter or angry, itS SUCH a waste of precious time, and im sure, you, like me, we have wasted enough precious time already!
    xxxxxx

  18. Naomi (onefitfoodie) June 7, 2010 at 5:13 am #

    hey love! beautiful pics of yuou and your friends, I love all of your summer sandals!!!! I think i almost got the ones your friend was wearing with the tube top, or very similar ones! great eats..i LOVE BIG salads in the summer…seriosuly craveee them!!

    religion is very important to me in that I knwo I want to raise my kids jewish, so for me, having a husband with the same values is extremely important…my father is israeli and all my grandparents holocause survivors so its very embedded into me and I was brought up practicing the religion

    I really cant stand people who ONLY believe in their relgion! a girl i met in college had never met a jewish person in their life and thought that the christmas tree was a universal symbol for winter time!! she legit didn’t believe that I did not believe in the christmas tree!!!!

    I accept everyones religion and beliefs and thoughts, but yes my religion is impt to me!!

    xoxox

  19. solskinn88 June 7, 2010 at 6:27 am #

    Beautiful post, Shelley.

    I do not know what religious “label” I put on myself, but since starting recovery I have taken interest in Buddhism. It is a sense of peace and acceptance that I find when reading Buddhistic texts.
    All I know at the moment is that I believe in the strength we all carry inside of us. The strength to change our behaviour for the better, and the strength to find beauty in life. I believe in acceptance, tolerance and love for people and nature. To look beyond the different identities we have, and see our fundamental identity : we are all human.

    As for the protein powder, I use it in my youghurt. You will not notice it! Haha, my first attempt was to put in water… do not try! 😉

  20. Simply Life June 7, 2010 at 6:53 am #

    Yum I love eating at Cosi!

  21. The Candid RD June 7, 2010 at 7:30 am #

    I’ll assume you are back from school and in C-bus…right?! We should meet sometime! I will be here forever! I love COSI, but Nick hates it, but a bummer.
    I don’t use protein powder, but if I did I would use it in smoothies, and maybe in my oats like many bloggers do. I hear it’s great in oats.

    I want to see that movie! glad you thought is was funny, can’t wait.

  22. Cassandra June 7, 2010 at 8:42 am #

    awesome post…. religion is a strange thing… I have this weird belief that you are born into your religion and not taught it, or even raised it, I don’t know if that makes sense but it took me a long time to figure out where I stood on religion, and now I just have to continue following what my heart was leading me to all these years.

  23. dmcgirl37 June 7, 2010 at 8:44 am #

    Loved this post 🙂 Looks like your having a great time!

    I love your thoughts on religion. I think it’s so important that people have faith in something. at some point in my younger teen years I considered myself ‘atheist’ This DID NOT make me a happy person. Matter of fact I think I was the most depressed i’ve ever been. after I got into buddhism my entire life changed for the better. I understood karma and why thinks happen to me. . Everything started to become eaiser for me. I’m so happy that you are a spirtual person and think it’s important.

    Dana xx
    http://happinessiswithin.wordpress.com/

  24. debbie June 7, 2010 at 9:11 am #

    you already know how I feel about religion, especially after everything that’s happened to me recently 🙂 I think it’s great to have faith in SOMETHING and to be a part of something, but we should NEVER allow religion to create boundaries between people…which unfortunately, throughout the course of history, it has. Which is why we’re both here to change that, right? 😉

    lovelovelove your outfit! You’re one chic chick 🙂

  25. Steph (@ mediterraneanmiss) June 7, 2010 at 9:25 am #

    What a beautiful girl you are ❤
    Thanks so much for swinging by my blog!! It made me so happy, I know I've totally seen you around before so it was very exciting to finally "meet" you ;D

    I picked a good post to find you, too! I've been trying to figure out where I stand religion-wise, and it's difficult. I think I believe in goodness and love, and the combined goodness made up of everything – nature, people, etc. You can call that being of good, positive energy whatever you like.

    ps – little less deep to follow up that statement, but girl you've got style! Loving that outfit 🙂

  26. lowandbhold June 7, 2010 at 10:05 am #

    I really want to see that movie. It looks hilarious! I love Russel Brand.

    I’m a Christian and my faith is incredibly important to me, however, I keep it to myself most of the time. It’s an internal thing.

  27. Lyndsey @ I'm Lyndsey June 7, 2010 at 10:33 am #

    Ahhh love you and your friends outfits!! Glad you have been having fun and I hope you’ve been hopping in that pool trying to stay cool lol.

    I also noticed many asian themed eats this week, that sometimes happens to me and you don’t even realize it.

    I can’t wait to read other peoples protein powder suggestions, because I just bought a big thing of it this weekend and other than smoothies, I have no clue!

  28. Leah @ Why Deprive? June 7, 2010 at 11:59 am #

    Love this post!!
    Im not a religious person – but I do believe that there has to be something bigger. I mean, if there wasnt how did we all get here? Its too much for me to wrap my mind around.
    I used to believe in fate, now Im not so sure. I do feel like everything happens for a reason, all the things Ive been through have made me who I am. And to be honest, I really, really like me.
    But fate and I have had a rough go for the past few years, and I dont know that fully believe in it anymore. Which I know doesnt make sense since I believe everything happens for a reason. Its all very confusing.

  29. kelsey@snackingsquirrel.com June 7, 2010 at 12:03 pm #

    i thought i subscribed to ur blog! dont know what happened. im back tho, made sure to fix the little error! ❤ ❤

  30. Ilana June 7, 2010 at 2:06 pm #

    First of all, youre looking and soiunding wonderful, which I love. I love the photo of you with your friends, you look gorgeous.

    I think religion is an interesting thing – I used to reject Judaism entirely but as I’ve gotten older, it kind of accidentally became central in my life so I’m paying more attention. I practice and I hold a lot of the customs dear to me, but I’m comfortable admitting that, while these are customs associated with my spiritual view, they are just htat – my customs, the traditions of MY family. I believe, first and foremost, that ALL things are possible, that any answer is potentially the right answer but I think that whatever drives the universe is bigger and so much more complex than we can physically comprehend, so we try to label it and define it in terms of our human understanding, which is where all these different religions and systems of belief come from. I think we are all connected, whether you call it “life” or “the universe” or “nature” or “God” or whatever and the natural world is the place where we can truly connect.

    I have no idea if thats cohesive at all!!

    I’ll admit, like I said I used to reject Judaism, but now I really look forward to having a Jewish family and a Jewish home. I love the faith and the customs and the fact that my entire familial history is defined by the history of the Jewish people. I connect, it’s where I feel like I belong.

    Fantastic post, Shell. I hope you’re having a fabulous day!
    xoxo

  31. Cassie June 7, 2010 at 2:21 pm #

    Shelley, sounds (and looks) like you’re doing great – so happy for you! 🙂

    Faith is uber important to me, although I’m definitely not your traditional religious person. I pray and talk to God every day, several times a day, but I don’t go to church. I feel in my heart that I have a good relationship with Him (although it could always be better!), and that is enough for me.

    Re: protein powder uses. My fav is probably using a little vanilla protein powder (along with some PB) in my oatmeal! Delish!

  32. Gina June 7, 2010 at 2:22 pm #

    http://fitnessista.com/2008/11/something-worth-waking-up-for/

    ^that is my favorite! it’s an oatmeal cookie and it is seriously my favorite thing to eat right now!

    http://foodsofapril.com/?page_id=4445

    ^This page on her blog has tons of recipes that use protein powder as well 🙂 I like the “protein cakes” on this site, but I’m not too crazy about their texture. I think I’m just doing something wrong though 🙂

  33. Kris | iheartwellness.com June 7, 2010 at 2:27 pm #

    I think I am in love with your sandals! Where are these little gems from??

    I love getting together with my girls or my sister to eat snacks and hang out!!

    XXOO

  34. Jennifer June 7, 2010 at 3:22 pm #

    Very good post. I have always been strong in my beliefs. Yet for some circumstances that I cannot get into, a few years ago I was blind sided and realized that I need to be open to others and what they believe and not always think that I have it all together. Because if that were the case, I would be God. But, I am not, and I have had my eyes opened in these past years to really open up my mind and see past my own beliefs and respect others views for what they are.

  35. Sammi June 7, 2010 at 3:41 pm #

    hey just wondering, did you delete your formspring account?

  36. Vanessa June 7, 2010 at 3:51 pm #

    I am a Christian, so I believe that the one and only reason I am here is to serve Jesus. I wouln’t have made it through my eating disorder without him. He is the one I went to to cry to, pray to, get strength from…and still helps me each day. I would never put down another person for their beliefs, but I KNOW Jesus is the only way. I love everyone for who they are. I love your blog as well! As for the protein powder, I’ve never tried it, Oops! I would try to use it in shakes and maybe in pancakes or something. I know they are good for you. My brother drinks one after each workout. So, keep up the great work! Love ya lots!!

  37. Nicole June 7, 2010 at 6:30 pm #

    Hey! I was thinking about buying a protein powder too. What brand did you get? 🙂

  38. Kelly June 7, 2010 at 6:52 pm #

    Shelley…i had no idea you were Jewish. I feel like you and I could have such a great conversation about religion. I was also raised Jewish (but my mom is Methodist so I was exposed to both sides) and my husband is Jewish. We are not practicing Jews but I would consider myself to be Jewish if someone asked me my religion. However, I don’t think I believe in organized religion. Rather I believe in faith. I think that all religions are beautiful but I also believe all are man-made. For me, what is more important is a spiritual connection with God regardless of your religious identity. I am extremely open minded and I think everyone has a right to their own beliefs and their own ways of connecting to whatever moves them spiritually. Sorry…was this too deep?

  39. Allie (Live Laugh Eat) June 7, 2010 at 7:54 pm #

    Ahh you look so cute! I remember watching The Hangover and crying so hard from laughing. Perhaps I’ll have to watch that one in theaters 🙂

  40. Kate June 7, 2010 at 8:12 pm #

    i agree 110% with you that religion should be about acceptance. i had a really hard time with that in high school when i had some friends who got into the whole “saved” and “not saved” mind set.

    as for protein powder, smoothies!!!!

  41. Katherine: What About Summer? June 7, 2010 at 8:28 pm #

    and what did you do to make yourself smile this weekend? that movie looks good (as a Greek, I can laugh at the truth in all stereotypes).

    I like bananas rolled in protein powder… I know I’m weird

  42. Chocolate Coated Runner June 7, 2010 at 9:59 pm #

    Love the blog ❤ xoxo

  43. Salah June 7, 2010 at 11:22 pm #

    mmmm protein powder…great in yogurt, oats, smoothies, everything! even mixed with milk and poured on top of cold cereal!

  44. KRUTI June 8, 2010 at 2:13 am #

    ah, i love your outfit! it’s super cute, and you look really pretty 🙂
    where did you get that black dress from?

    and I drink a lot of protein shakes, I mix in bananas berries, almond milk, and either strawberry or cookies n’ cream protein powder. it tastes so GOOD 🙂 or April’s protein batter, with some pb <this stuff is seriously yummy!

  45. Jenna June 8, 2010 at 7:59 am #

    Glad you are enjoying summer!
    Jenna

  46. Erin at The Healthy Apron June 8, 2010 at 10:46 am #

    Yes, it’s SO so important to have faith or belief in SOMETHING! It makes life worth living and I would love to read more about you sharing your beliefs 🙂

  47. Ellen June 8, 2010 at 3:26 pm #

    Mmm, that salad and your wraps looks SO yummy. Simple foods really are the best sometimes. I’ve always been curious about protein powders, but have yet to try them, so sorry, I’m no help there!

    http://www.firednfabulous.blogspot.com/

  48. Amy @ Second City Randomness June 8, 2010 at 3:53 pm #

    I’m dying to go see Get Him to the Greek! I heart Russell Brand in a weird nonsexual way… lol.

  49. Sarah June 8, 2010 at 6:42 pm #

    Love how happy you look in the pic! And I really enjoyed reading your views about religion. Take care dear!

  50. Annie June 9, 2010 at 3:12 am #

    I am Jewish too! It hasn’t really been a big part in my life though. I had a bat mitzvah and my family celebrates the big holidays, but that’s about it. I wish I was more spiritual though. I would love to take some Judaism classes, if I had the time.

    I have been doing some strength training as well and I love it!! It is so invigorating and fun!!

    And your yogurt messes loook amazinggggggggg and you look so pretty and happy in that pic!

    xoxo
    ~Annie

  51. highonhealthy June 9, 2010 at 9:59 am #

    I’m not exactly religious as I don’t believe in god but I do feel as if something else is out there. As if the Earth is a lot more aware of us than we think.

    You and all your friends are beautiful! The clothes and shoes are so cute. 🙂

  52. Hello June 10, 2010 at 3:32 am #

    Hi! You have a beautiful blog!

    I wanted to ask… you said it’s important to have hope, but hope in what? Just anything?

    … I also had another question, do you believe in absolute truth? (if you answered no… and if you claim there is no absolute truth, how can you be absolutely sure?) Or do you believe that everything is relative?

    Honestly, I believe it would be a frightening place to live a world governed solely by people’s opinion’s of right/wrong aka if we lived a world where “it’s all relative”. Because what if someone did not believe murdering someone was wrong (By the way I wholeheartedly believe it’s wrong!!)?

  53. Hannah June 10, 2010 at 2:57 pm #

    Have you read Have A Little faith by Mitch Albom???

  54. justjac June 10, 2010 at 11:03 pm #

    I’ve just started doing more strength training and it’s great–love it too! Have you tried yoga? It’s a great way to kind of mix it all together!

    Love the smoothie and the other eats! Espc the late-night snackin, fire side–my favorite!! Friends and bonfires just speak summer to me 😀 ❤

  55. littlemisspotato June 11, 2010 at 7:04 pm #

    I do believe in fate! I’m not all too religious but I think there may be a higher power out there. I’m still having a hard time finding my place in this world and figuring out exactly WHAT I believe it!

    I sometimes use p.p. in smoothies. Occasionally it tastes chalky to me though :/

    Whenever I see “by the pool” pictures I’m always afraid someone will fall in hahaha

  56. Kelsey June 11, 2010 at 10:57 pm #

    give me a life cafe smoothie and a pool and id be one happy chick. lol. gorgeous ladies ❤

    oh boy do i believe in fate!!

  57. nattietan June 13, 2010 at 10:22 am #

    I think all things happen for a reason – at least, I’d like to think so. I wish I could be more religious but I often find myself struggling in my faith. That said, it doesn’t mean I don’t believe in God. I do. It’s just that sometimes, when times I tough, I start questioning my faith and I guess that’s when I start to try and take control of things, at least, what I perceive control to be.

    AnyhOoo, you’re looking great as usual and I’m happy for you hun – to be living life as you should and looking so happy and glowy and strong!!

    xoxo

  58. Kelly Olexa June 13, 2010 at 1:44 pm #

    Hey Girl! Just found your blog today and LOVE it!! Adding to my ever-growing list of “Must Reads”.
    Protein Powder, wow, I have so many uses, although to be honest, I don’t do the protein powder thing as much as I used to. That said, it is great in oats, great in faux pancakes, great in smoothies and I have a great zucchini protein bread recipe too!!
    YUM!!
    @kellyolexa

  59. livelaughlovehopeeat June 22, 2010 at 1:39 am #

    I believe everything happens for a reasons. So I guess that’s believing in fate. But to believe in fate, you have believe in something. It can be anything…. a religion or belief in a high power. Something greater than you that is making this fate happen…… who’s the mastermind?
    We all have our different opinions…. God, gods, Christianity (which I have always leaned toward), Judaism, muslim, etc, etc, etc……
    We don’t have all the exact same beliefs, but I think we just have to respect each others…. The are more similar than you’d think.

  60. elaine @ Om Sweet Om June 22, 2010 at 4:04 pm #

    If you got the chocolate flavor protein powder, you can make April’s “protein brownie batter” (Food’s of April). I like to make them a little runnier so that I can drizzle them on top of things as chocolate syrup 🙂

  61. Ryan June 29, 2010 at 10:20 am #

    Nice blog !

    Our magazine Family Health & Life http://www.thefamilymag.com covers something similar in Canada. They look for new stories and ideas all the time. Anything and everything that is non mainstream and everything that gets people thinking.

    Cheers
    Ryan

  62. an idiot abroad December 20, 2010 at 3:15 am #

    I can see that you simply are an expert at your field! I am launching a web site quickly, and your particulars will most likely be fairly beneficial for me.. Thanks for all your assist and wishing you all the success.

Leave a Reply

