Love you Mom!

9 May

Happy Mother’s Day!

I wanted to take this post to, perhaps unoriginally, give a little tribute to my amazing Mom.

My Mom & I have an interesting history. We have always bickered a lot because I think we have really similar personalities and tempers, but when it comes down to it, I feel incredibly close with my Mom. I am not afraid to tell her anything and I know she is my number 1 support system along with my number 1 fan. She has helped me through every challenge I have ever encountered and I feel so lucky to have such an amazing role model in my life.

Here are a few things about my mom:

1. She defines the term cool Mom- seriously, there should be a dictionary entry for  the phrase “cool mom” with the definition as- Marcy (last name haha). My friends even sometimes come over to hang out with her when i’M NOT THERE. Case in point…

showing the other mom’s how to do a sake bomb RIGHT.

2. She is the hands down most giving person I have ever met. She’s the person who will see something in a store that reminds her of you and will not be able to resist getting it. She loves nothing more than making other people happy and sometimes is almost too giving for her own good. If she loves you, she will do absolutely anything and everything to show it.

3. She has some weird/crazy/quirky/funny obsessions… these include (but are NOT limited to) salt & pepper shakers, monkeys, dice, gambling (not the best one probably.. oh well!), peace signs, antiques, & wizard of oz. I love her collections/hobbies & interests because it just shows a huge part of her personality. Some might think its odd, I think it freakin’ rocks.

4. We can do crazy/spontaneous things together & she is always down to have a good time. I lOVE that she doesn’t act her age… I hope i’m as fun as she is when i’m a Mom.

playing with really long and pointy icicles from our roof… oh yeah.

5. She tells it like it is. Though I was embarrassed about it when I was young, I think it is pretty kick ass now. She isn’t afraid to tell someone off if they are wrong and she speaks her mind ALWAYS.

That’s just a VERY BRIEF summary as to why my Mom is one AMAZING lady, even if she doesn’t always believe it herself.

Mom, I love you. I know we fight and sometimes you might feel like I don’t want to talk but you are honestly an AMAZING Mom. I really hope one day I can give back to you everything you have given me so far in life. I am really looking forward to spending time with you this summer and I know we are going to have a great time! I do really mean all of this too. When I upset you, I feel horrible and just kind of shut down. You really mean so much to me. I LOVE YOU!

{ source }

♥♥♥♥♥

In other news, I’m currently in the middle of finals so I really haven’t been letting blogging be high on the priority list but once I get home I know I will get back in the groove.
If you haven’t already, I really suggest you check out
Katie’s post about blogging. I have been having REALLY similar thoughts and though I absolutely LOVE the blogging community and truly feel that you are all greatly responsible for parts of my recovery, I also need to evaluate what I want to do with my blog. For me, being able to have a creative outlet is really helpful but I want to make sure that my blog is in no way hindering me from living my life to the fullest (this means with respect to things like food and exercise, not with respect to any of you!) I hope you understand and I will DEFINITELY be back soon 🙂 You are all amazing.

I am also doing so incredibly well with the break up situation. I am truly excited to reconnect with my high school friends and I’ve made some new connections here at school that are making life a little more exciting 🙂

Can’t wait to fully catch up on your lives and to get back to blogging.


Hope you have great weeks!


xoxoxoxo,

Shelley♥

42 Responses to “Love you Mom!”

  1. beccaandspice May 9, 2010 at 5:51 pm #

    glad you had a great mother’s day my dear :] sounds like your mom is a real catch!

  2. Lauren @ BIOCHEMISTA May 9, 2010 at 5:56 pm #

    Awwww, your mama sounds awesome! Makes me miss mine so much!!!

    GOOD LUCK on finals chica!!!!!!!!! 🙂

    XOXOXOX

  3. Jenna May 9, 2010 at 6:12 pm #

    Awww what a sweet post!!

  4. tatiannalives May 9, 2010 at 6:34 pm #

    This is soo cute 🙂 I feel the same way about my mama.. she’s my number one!

    ❤ Tat

  5. Marcy Leeman May 9, 2010 at 6:52 pm #

    Wow, what a wonderful Mothers Day gift!
    I Love you too Shell!

    Love, Mommy
    xxooxxooxx

  6. Lauren May 9, 2010 at 7:08 pm #

    Aww your mom looks like so much fun and it’s truly evident how close the two of you are! 🙂

    Glad you are doing well hun.

    Have a great night.

  7. Danielle May 9, 2010 at 7:36 pm #

    That was a sweet tribute to your mom- she does seem really cool 🙂

    Good luck with finals!

  8. Gabriela @ Fro-Yo Lover May 9, 2010 at 7:40 pm #

    Awww – that was lovely, Shelley!
    I´m sure you´re Mom´s amazing 🙂
    Wish you a wonderful week, love!
    Brazilian XOXO´s,
    Gabriela

  9. Amanda @ . seek . May 9, 2010 at 9:06 pm #

    Great post dedicated to your mom, Shelley. She sounds like an amazing woman 🙂

  10. Lindsay May 9, 2010 at 9:40 pm #

    You and your moms relationship sounds identical to my moms and mine. We are too similar that we bicker over the little things, but she is the person that I so want to be like when I am a woman and mother!! 🙂

  11. whydeprive May 9, 2010 at 10:46 pm #

    What a sweet tribute to your mom! I even teared up a little!

  12. Averie (LoveVeggiesAndYoga) May 10, 2010 at 12:20 am #

    beautiful tribute to your mama! and re you and gardner, so sorry to hear about the breakup but girl, you are strong, amazing, beautiful and life will hand you an amazing partner when the time is right. that sounds fairly awful, I’m sure, right now, but it will happen and til then, stay strong!
    xo

  13. Molly May 10, 2010 at 12:32 am #

    lovely post… your mom does sound like a bucket of fun! love all those pictures of her.. and your dress is absolutely gorgeous in that first picture

    good luck on the remainder of your finals

  14. justjac May 10, 2010 at 12:53 am #

    Sweet post, I love mommies! ❤
    I hope you had a good weekend girl, and are doing well! Thinking about you!

  15. imaginenamaste May 10, 2010 at 1:31 am #

    Yeah for the semester almost being over! Mine ended Saturday followed by a long-overdue nap!
    Your mom looks so entertaining–I love the monkey collection. My dad collects very ummm unique things too….when I was in South Africa for a summer, I got him various monkey statues! He wanted a “naked lady.” No.
    I hope that you do what is best for you about your blog. And, I think it is wonderful that you are listening to you.

  16. Alexa Meany May 10, 2010 at 7:34 am #

    this is precious and i truly agree with you and katie. and I’m SOOO glad to hear your doing well on the break up front. I know how exhausting break ups are and I’m so happy that you haven’t let you bring it down in regards to social life or health. I reallyyyy admire that! you goo gurllll.

    also lovin the sake bomb shot… isn’t that the best when your mom can party like she’s your age! amen!

  17. Kelly May 10, 2010 at 7:49 am #

    Goodluck on finals! 🙂

  18. Gabriela @ Une Vie Saine May 10, 2010 at 8:01 am #

    Your mama sounds like a wonderful woman 🙂 Happy belated mother’s day to her!!

    This is your blog, so you should do whatever you want with it. If that means focusing less on food/exercise, then go for it! I love how honest and open you are in all your posts, and I look forward to reading for a lot more than just eats 🙂 Good luck on finals girl!! xoxo

  19. glidingcalm May 10, 2010 at 9:15 am #

    awww your Mom sounds amazing!!! yay for fabulous Mommys!!

    And I just read your post about your break up with G. Sending you a big hug!!!!!!! I was in your place just one month ago!!!

  20. devan May 10, 2010 at 9:26 am #

    i love all the pictures!! ❤

  21. aletheiazoe May 10, 2010 at 10:24 am #

    Your Mom is wonderful – if I were your friend, I’d probably hang out with her when you’re not home, too. Ha!

    love,
    🙂 aletheia

  22. julia May 10, 2010 at 10:52 am #

    Beautiful…I recognized so many things about your mom in my mom:)

    And I totally understand the blogging thing. I’m the same way: living my life and blogging isn’t the most important aspect of it at all, although I still love it…

    Stay strong girl, xxx Julia (taste of Living)

  23. cardiopizza May 10, 2010 at 11:54 am #

    Great post!

    And take all the time you need away from blogging. I told Katie the same thing: When I was your guys’ age, I spent most of my time having a good time with my friends at college. Really ENJOY this time in your life, it’s truly an experience!

  24. Kate May 10, 2010 at 12:13 pm #

    how sweet! moms are the best!

  25. solskinn88 May 10, 2010 at 1:00 pm #

    Haha, I have said this before- but Shelleys mom- you are wonderful.

    In Norway we do not celebrate Mothers Day before later in the year, but I usually make a card ( my mother insist that I make her one, she does not want a bought card, haha 🙂 ) and then we spend the day together, appreciating each others company.
    If there is one thing I am sure of in my life it is that I love my mother. Before becoming sick I took her for granted, not reflecting over what she had in her. Now I know, and are amazed, about how much love and support she is able to give.
    Put it simply, my mother has helped me to life twice.

  26. Little Notes May 10, 2010 at 2:13 pm #

    Your mother sounds like a terrific woman 🙂

    Good to hear that your doing well after the break up and even meeting some new people. Ive always said with regards to blogging, blog what you want and when you want. Remember its much better to be out enjoying the real world and your life than sitting inside stuck to a computer screen. I`ll always read whatever you decide to post about anyhow, your such a lovely sweet girl and so full of life its great to see you finally getting the chance to enjoy it.
    xox
    Laura

  27. gateauxbellehelene May 10, 2010 at 2:27 pm #

    Good luck in your finals. I know how you and Katie feel. Blogging should be fun and something that you do because you want to. If you need to take time off that’s fine.
    Your mum seems great!

  28. Salah May 10, 2010 at 2:44 pm #

    What a great post!

  29. malpaz May 10, 2010 at 3:50 pm #

    aww your mom sounds amazing. i owe my mom my everything in recovery. i have never met a more geniuine,. honest and straightforward best advice giver in my life. seriously without her i cant imagine life or where i would be.

    the pic of you and your mama is adorable!

  30. Ashlei May 10, 2010 at 4:47 pm #

    Awwww love all the pics of you and your mommy!! 🙂

  31. SHe-Fit May 10, 2010 at 8:32 pm #

    What a great mom you have! Love the picture of you two

  32. Sara K May 10, 2010 at 10:42 pm #

    Your mamacita sounds amazing and like bunches of fun! Sake bombing?! Sweeeeet 🙂
    Good luck on finals my dear!

  33. nattietan May 11, 2010 at 1:37 am #

    Your Mum looks and sounds amazing! I’m sure she’s just as blessed to have you as a daughter as you are to have her as your Mum.

    Best of luck with finals! Summer’s about to start!!!

    Much love,
    Nat xoxo

  34. highonhealthy May 11, 2010 at 10:17 am #

    That was great! Your mama sounds awesome and I know that you’ll be just as cool as she is when you’re older. 🙂

  35. Christine Fallabel May 11, 2010 at 3:35 pm #

    Shelley, I think you’re amazing, and I always read your blog!!!! Just wanted to let you know that you’re an inspiration (with your recovery)…keep up the great work!

  36. Katherine: What About Summer? May 11, 2010 at 5:22 pm #

    what a great post about your mom. she looks so fun and like she has a young soul!

  37. Carly May 11, 2010 at 10:18 pm #

    aw how adorable!! And what acnice gift!

  38. therabbitrunner May 12, 2010 at 8:35 am #

    your mom seems awesome!! you two must both be carefree fun loving girls! great post to her 🙂

  39. lizzyj1305 May 12, 2010 at 12:05 pm #

    Hey beautiful girllll!!
    ~wanted to send loveee to you and your beautiful mama! hope you are having a great week!!
    xoxo!

  40. arielmakingstrides May 20, 2010 at 4:47 pm #

    Shelley!!
    Thank you so much for your kind words on my new blog 🙂 I am so excited to get to know you and support you on your journey. You are truly super-woman.
    Your momma sounds awesome! I can’t wait to keep reading!
    Hugs!
    Ariel

  41. Cassandra May 20, 2010 at 5:08 pm #

    yea!!!!!!!!!! MOM!!!!!!! ❤

    good luck with all of your finals! xoxo

  42. Kristy May 20, 2010 at 6:43 pm #

    You’re mom sounds awesome. I’m not sure if my mom has the “cool factor” that your mom has, but I still love her to pieces!

    Just to let you know, I love your blog. It’s great to see how much progress you have made. I hope I can keep making ED progress like you have been.

    By the way, I started a blog not too long ago. You should check it out : )

    http://rediscoveringme-kristy.blogspot.com/

Leave a Reply

