Open up Your Mind

17 Feb

Hi bloggies, blog-friends, blog stalkers, family, or whoever else you may be πŸ˜›

So as you all know (because I have been annoyingly mentioning it in every post), I am really stressed and busy right now. Blogging, as much as i want it to be, cannot be a number 1 priority:( I am trying to comment as much as possible but just know that I am reading but will get back on track next week when i’m less stressed/busy πŸ™‚ I know you wonderful readers understand!

With that being said, it is 1:15 am (ended up posting in my music class)Β (Sorry Mom) and I am choosing to blog instead of sleep– what the f? haha!

Valentines Day dinner with Gardner was soooo delicious!! I didn’t take pictures but I started with an awesome curry crab soup & had the scallops with a blue cheese risotto for my entree and two pieces of bread… soo good!!

I challenged myself on Monday with breakfast. As you all know, I usually go to the ‘bowl’ breakfasts- yogurt messes, oats, yoatgurt, whatever but I thought i should switch it up! I had a cranberry oat bagel with cinnamon raisin swirl peanut butter, fage 2% and an apple

After class I had to go to my therapist appointment so on the way I got Panera for lunch and had the delicious bbq chopped chicken salad.. this salad is awesome, I love it!

Then I rushed back to campus, went to a zoology discussion, took a quick nap, and was off to my sorority meeting. Before, I ate this snack:

strawberry banana chobani, hazelnut spread, 365 honey puffs, and almonds.

Dinner was real quick and eaten while at the library studying my butt off all night for zoology. Snack was also eaten there. Didn’t have time for pictures. Too Stressed 😦 Finally got to bed around 1:30 and woke up to make yoatgurt!!

1/2 cup instant oats cooked in a cup of water, fage 2%, honey sunshine, raw almond butter, cinnamon raisin swirl peanut butter, banana & cinnamon.

I had two classes and then went to UHS for my weigh in- good outcome. I am about 4 pounds from my target weight– yay!! a 20 bmi & i feel fabulous (Seriously!!)

I had lunch before going to econ tutoring (i’m telling you- my schedule is packed..ugh)

this was a salad with swiss, chicken, eggs & half of a naan grilled flat bread, an apple & pretzels. Loved it! Except the chicken is nASTTTY- me and my roommate were talking about it- it is so processed & salty– yuck! i don’t think i can ever eat it again 😦

I realized a food rule I used to have in my eating disorder was that I could only eat bread at one meal- like If i ate a sandwich for lunch, i had to eat a salad and protein only at dinner- how dumb!! I was missing out πŸ™‚ What are some food rules you have realized you had/have that make little to no sense? I am so glad I have overcome so many of mine!!!

After econ tutoring & a zoology review I had a snack!! cinnamon raisin peanut butter, kefir & graham bumpers!

I had humo from 5:30-8:30 so I grabbed dinner at Einstein’s on the way and planned to eat it after (late, i know..ugh!) I got a wrap with turkey and veggie cream cheese. I love their wraps– they don’t fall apart at all and they are so grainy!!

Then slaved away at the library. boo.

I wanted to talk to you all about something my teacher in my relaxation class talked about today. She talked about the effect that what we verbally say/think can have on our actions.

She demonstrated this through an exercise (lucky me- i was chosen as the example hah..). She had me hold my arms out and I was to resist her as she pushed them down. Then, I had to say “i’m weak i’m weak i’m weak” as she pushed them down, rest, and then say i’m strong i’m strong i’m strong as she pushed them down.

I was amazed by the difference. When I told myself I was weak, I let her push me down. When I said I was strong, I was able to keep my arm up.

Why am I sharing this with you all?Β Because I honestly believe the way we think and the way we speak/think can influence our overall happiness and confidence. I used to consider myself pretty pessimistic. I still am sometimes. But i am truly working on being optimistic and believe that when I take my thoughts and rationalize them/make them positive, I end up feeling a whole lot better.

She discussed opening up your mind– allowing yourself to relax. Allowing yourself to react to a stressor in a positive way. You have a choice- you can either react to a stressor in a negative, spastic, etc. way or you can breathe in and out and figure out how to calmly solve the problem.

It seems obvious. The thing is though, we all negative self talk and become close-minded way more than we realize. This negative talk could actually be effecting our every-day lives in how we complete tasks (& how efficiently), how we interact with others, and how much energy we have. I am going to really pay attention to my optimism this week because I think a little goes a long way.

as Jason Mraz beautifully wrote πŸ™‚

“Well open up your mind and see like me
Open up your plans and damn you’re free
Look into your heart and you’ll find love love love”

Hope the rest of your week is amazing!

xoxoxoxox

Shelleyβ™₯

Questions-

1) How do you react in stressful situations?

2) Do you believe that a positive mind and strong relaxation techniques can make a difference??

3) adding onto earlier– what are some food rules that you have had/currently have and how have you/how do you plan to overcome them?


PS- look what my Mom sent me via phone picture message… haha! her yogurt messsss πŸ™‚


78 Responses to “Open up Your Mind”

  1. Marina February 17, 2010 at 12:54 pm #

    I agree with you, I believe that telling yourself something, really makes you think that way. It’s hard for me to do that, but I try. Like, when I feel I haven’t studied enough, I keep telling myself, I am smart, I learned it all, I am strong and can do it. And it really helps me.
    I do have stupid food rules. Like, If I had a lot of milk for breakfast, I won’t have it in the evening, or bread too. And I try to avoid carbs for dinner, but I’m trying to change it lately.

  2. Sara February 17, 2010 at 1:12 pm #

    this post spoke volumes shelley! i am seriously trying to work on being positive as well. I’m such a negative nancy lol

    1) I wish I could react better in stressful situations. I tend to stay away from EVERYONE until the stress disappears…not really a good idea.

    2) I definitely believe positivity makes a difference. we truly make situations what they are, and it is are choice to view things positively or negatively.
    3) I had sooooo many food rules during my ed. the dumbest one looking back:
    I had a rule to always wait until after sunset to put anything in my mouth–which would then be barely anything like popcorn, some veggies, etc.
    NOT proud of that at all.

    xoxo
    Sara

  3. Stef @ moretolifethanlettuce February 17, 2010 at 1:16 pm #

    so cool that you’re taking a relaxation class! i could use one of those lol. don’t worry about not blogging as much, it will always be here! life on the other hand, has some not as flexible deadlines lol. hope you can de-stress girl!

  4. katyainsf February 17, 2010 at 1:20 pm #

    I am definitely a firm beliver in the power of positive thinking and affirmations. I’ve tried it and it’s worked for me so it will work for everyone else too. The power of thought is incredible! As for your questions:
    1)Stressful situations are a problem for me…Though I must say, I turn to ed a lot less than I used to in stressful situations! Now I call someone, snuggle with my bf, blog or write down all my worries and solutions to them and why each one isn’t as bad as I thought originally.

    3) As for food rules – chyaah..I overcame mannyy so far! I had ridiculous ones like: you can’t look at anything in a grocery store that isnt a diet drink (I’d literally walk with my eyes down the whole time), I was never allowed to finish the last bite of anything, I ate everything in a circle (cut little pieces off the crust and turned as I went), I ate cereal one grain at a time and if I accidentally ate two, I’d have to remove out ouf the bowl because that was a “mistake”, also I ate foods in the order of their first letter (apples first, then bananas etc..) ughh..crazyy. lol

  5. MelissaNibbles February 17, 2010 at 1:21 pm #

    It sounds like you’re managing your busy schedule very well. Don’t worry about blogging. We’ll be here when you decide to post!
    I think the relaxation class sounds wonderful. It’s important to clear our minds during the day.
    I used to have the EXACT same food rule as you with the carbs! Sometimes I’ll catch myself thinking that way and have to give myself a reality check. It’s always an ongoing process.
    Good luck with all your work girl!

  6. *Andrea* February 17, 2010 at 1:22 pm #

    what a great exercise, thanks for sharing! having a positive attitude works wonders. i love that song too πŸ™‚ sooo cute that your mom sent you that pic..your helathy habits are affecting so many people! you’re amazing. good luck with all your work. so happy that you have a healthier weight/bmi. i hate focusing on numbers but i think it’s great!

  7. Shelleysveryproudmom February 17, 2010 at 1:24 pm #

    ILOVEU!ILOVEU!ILOVEU!ILOVEU!ILOVEU!ILOVEU!ILOVEU!ILOVEU!ILOVEU!ILOVEU!ILOVEU!ILOVEU!ILOVEU!ILOVEU!ILOVEU!ILOVEU!ILOVEU!ILOVEU!ILOVEU!ILOVEU!ILOVEU!ILOVEU!ILOVEU!ILOVEU!ILOVEU!ILOVEU!ILOVEU!ILOVEU!ILOVEU!ILOVEU!ILOVEU!ILOVEU!ILOVEU!ILOVEU!ILOVEU!ILOVEU!ILOVEU!ILOVEU!ILOVEU!ILOVEU!ILOVEU!ILOVEU!ILOVEU!ILOVEU!ILOVEU!ILOVEU!ILOVEU!ILOVEU!ILOVEU!ILOVEU!ILOVEU!ILOVEU!ILOVEU!ILOVEU!ILOVEU!ILOVEU!ILOVEU!ILOVEU!ILOVEU!ILOVEU!ILOVEU!ILOVEU!ILOVEU!ILOVEU!ILOVEU!ILOVEU!ILOVEU!ILOVEU!ILOVEU!ILOVEU!

    WHAT MORE CAN I SAY????????

    THANK YOU TO EVERYONE WHO CONTINUES TO SUPPORT MY CHILD!!!!!

  8. krista February 17, 2010 at 1:28 pm #

    hey!! congrats on getting so far! I was just wondering.. once you reach goal weight, are you getting a new meal plan?

  9. katie February 17, 2010 at 1:35 pm #

    Shelleys Mom , You rock and I Love That you are such an Amazing Mom and Kudos to you for raising two wonderful daughters!!!!!!!! Shelley is such a wonderful , amazing, sweet, and smart young lady!! I am so glad her and I became friends through blogs!!!!

    Shelley!! You are a busy girl!!! DOnt EVER worry about not posting everyday or not commenting when you are too busy, we all love you and will always be here and be reading your amazing blog!!

    SO glad you and Gardner had a great dinner, I love Scallops!!! The best, they melt in your mouth!!

    Yay for a bagel with cinnamon swirl PB, the best eva!!!

    Im so proud of you Shelley that you are 4 punds away from your target weight, and I am so happy you feel AMAZING!! That is the best part!! U should!!!!

    Love that your mom had a breakfast yogurt mess, she is so cool!!!

    Love ya girl and have a great week!!!!!! xoxo

  10. ilanalala February 17, 2010 at 1:41 pm #

    As I get older i’m getting better at handling stressful situations. I used to be such a crier – everything would just set me off. I’m good under certain types of pressure but other things would make me nuts!

    I am a strroooong believer in relaxation to help ease and organize the mind! I’ve studied acting since I was young and we always did relaxation as part of our warm-ups, and it’s something I’ve carried with me throughout my whole life. It’s one of the reasons I love Pilates so much – the system is so focused on body and breath that, although physically active, you are relaxing the “thought” part of your brain and by the end of the session not just your body but your mind feels more open and balanced. It really helps everything.

    And aawwwww what a cute comment from your mom right there :):) I love it.

    I really like this post – I love that so many people around the blogoverse are focusing on positive thinking right at the same time I’m trying to teach myself how to do it.

  11. Tori February 17, 2010 at 1:47 pm #

    I use to have strict no snacks between meals rule. Now that’s a dumb rule don’t you agree!? πŸ™‚

  12. blueeyedheart February 17, 2010 at 1:57 pm #

    That’s amazing that you were actually able to see the difference like that in how you talk to yourself! I’m tempted to try that, just because I’m curious…

    I definitely have some crazy rules too… I realize they’re crazy, though. Sort of like the “not allowed to eat the same thing twice in one day” rule… if I want to eat two apples in one day, or have cereal twice, I CAN, dammit!

    ❀ ❀

  13. Allison R. February 17, 2010 at 2:05 pm #

    The best part of this whole post is the fact that your mom sent you a pic of her yog mess. That’s a true foodie mama right there! lol Can’t wait to see ya tonight πŸ˜€

  14. Anna February 17, 2010 at 2:05 pm #

    I feel that keeping a positive and open mind allows us to make the choice to seek better lives for ourselves. While I don’t believe that simply affirming something (a positive affirmation like “I’m lovable) does anything or makes you lovable, I believe keeping an open, positive, and FORGIVING attitude towards oneself makes a world of difference.
    Have a great day love xoxo and hang in there with the school work, you can do it!! πŸ™‚

  15. Abby February 17, 2010 at 2:11 pm #

    I absolutely believe a positive mindset can make a massive difference on our well being.. that class sounds wonderful.. I want to join!!

    When Im stressed, a long walk, a cup of tea, and a call home to the parents tends to do the trick. I try to restrain from taking out my negativity on my husband, too, sooo if that means just being alone for awhile, then so be it!

    Have a super day, Ms Shelley! πŸ˜‰

  16. ellen February 17, 2010 at 2:14 pm #

    I’m so happy you’re doing well πŸ™‚ I started reading your blog a little while ago. You’re so so so so so amazing, inspiring and gorgeous. thats so funny about your mom sending you her bfast picture πŸ˜› xox

  17. Gabriela @ Une Vie Saine February 17, 2010 at 2:16 pm #

    Wow- you’re a busy girl! Vday dinner sounds DELICIOUS. Crab soup and scallops? Dream meal right there! You and Gar seem soo adorable…it’s so awesome you’ve had someone so positive to help you in recovery!

    When I’m stressed, the first thing I do is block myself off from anyone I’m not super close with. For some reason, I can’t handle making “small talk” when I have other things on my mind. I’m working on not being so pissed off when I’m under pressure πŸ™‚

    I used to have lots of “food rules,” like foods couldn’t have over a certain number of calories and I couldn’t use any seasoning with fat in it. But life’s too short! I say eat whatever you want as long as you don’t go overboard on the sugar and processed stuff. I’m sooo happy for you that you’re almost at your goal girl! xoxo

  18. funfashionista February 17, 2010 at 2:31 pm #

    you sound so busy! im glad you still posted though:). all your eats look wonderful of course and you are doing so well girl. i still have some weird food things w/ carbs and fats. im reallyy working on it though.

    i totally agree with your relaxation teacher! when i wake up in the morning with like a negative attitude about the day it’s usually just blah. but if i wake up with an attitude like im going to do something fun today and make it good it’s ALWAYS better. im working really hard on staying postivie too! and looking at the postive of overcoming my ED.

    LOVE YOU GIRL, amy<3

  19. Lauren February 17, 2010 at 2:36 pm #

    I completely understand about the school stress. When it comes to stressful situations my #1 coping mechanism tends to be my ed. =( But I am working on learning to rely on other coping mechanisms.

    Some food rules I have are that I won’t eat after 6 pm and I won’t drink calories (juice, milk, etc…) I am learning to break this one by letting myself drink coffee. Yay! And I have that bread rule too! I agree that it is so stupid and needs to be broken. Good luck getting all of your school stuff done!

  20. Missy Maintains February 17, 2010 at 2:42 pm #

    Aww your mom is so cute! Love her yogurt mess!

    I agree that positivity really works. My inTensati gym class was the one where we yell positive affirmations the whole time. I left feeling so much better!

  21. Kelly February 17, 2010 at 2:44 pm #

    YAY! I am so excited that you are 4 pounds away from your target weight and that you have gotten your BMI to 20!! Shelley…that is so awesome! I am beyond proud, happy, everything for you!!

  22. Diane Doesn't Diet February 17, 2010 at 2:51 pm #

    That’s so cute that your mom makes yogurt messes!! πŸ™‚

    I totally agree about negative self talk-I feel so much happier when I “speak nicely” to myself, even if all the stress from school/work/life I’m currently dealing with hasn’t gone away. Love thatttt!

    Have a great day lova! And don’t feel bad about missing days of posting-youre livin life!!

  23. Amanda @ . seek . February 17, 2010 at 2:59 pm #

    Shelley, you.are.amazing! I love that you are so close to your target weight and loving your body. I love that you’re trying to focus on being more positive. And I love that you share your inspirational journey with all of us ❀

    I use to have so many food rules it's ridiculous. I've overcome a lot of them, and still working on others. I look back at the ones I use to have and all I want to do is laugh. Someday soon, I hope I can look back at the ones I have now and do the same πŸ™‚

  24. daintyvegan February 17, 2010 at 3:16 pm #

    I think you’re right – our thoughts influence our actions and life way more than we may originally realize. In the past I have been SO pessimistic but I’ve noticed now that I’m trying harder to be optimistic, it’s actually becoming easier. Changing my frame of mind has helped to banish my depression; that discovery was very neat.

    In stressful situations I tend to get quite emotional and moody. Not fun. Thankfully I’m picking up on my bad emotions and trying to lessen them a bit. Doing that also helps me manage my stress.

  25. adrienmelaine February 17, 2010 at 3:21 pm #

    4 pounds away- I keep telling you this- but you rock!

    I love how you have been so positive through this all- keep your head up through the school work- we’ll all still be here regardless of if you take a day off or two- love ya

  26. Molly February 17, 2010 at 3:46 pm #

    mmm I love panera. you should try their new veggie pesto soup. Its awesome!

  27. one healthy apple February 17, 2010 at 3:49 pm #

    Shelley! You have the sweetest mom! She’s done an amazing job with raising you (obviously)!

    I think stress is something that gets to all of us. You are doing a great job in finding some tools that work. I agree that it’s all about positive thinking- even saying the word ‘stress’ can make things worse, so take it out of your vocab!

    Food rules- I used to eat an apple before every meal so I would get full…kinda stupid now that I think about it!

  28. gateauxbellehelene February 17, 2010 at 3:54 pm #

    I still have the bread rule now!! Today I’ve had 4 pieces of bread so am feeling pretty full right now. So tomorrow I’m not going to have any and instead have Ryvita for lunch. I don’t want to have salad though as it never fulfills me! But I do agree with you it’s stupid how I still have this rule. I do need to work on it and you are an inspiration for this. Thanks! Helen x

  29. Danielle February 17, 2010 at 4:05 pm #

    I understand being swamped with work. Don’t worry about it- we’re still reading πŸ˜‰

    You’re taking a relaxation class?! Uh…can I take one too? Seriously, you’ll probably learn more useful things in that class than a lot of your others lol.

    And your mom’s pic + comment are adorable πŸ˜€

  30. homecookedem February 17, 2010 at 4:14 pm #

    Awwwww, yes, positive thinking is POWERFUL!! πŸ™‚ And exciting that you’re weight is getting so much healthier!! I am so happy for you!! πŸ™‚

  31. Melissa February 17, 2010 at 4:39 pm #

    Noooo stress!

    Take a break from reading blogs and go finish your list of Things to Do! πŸ™‚

    Glad you have so much positive energy. That’s going to be a huge help getting thru.

  32. theemptynutjar February 17, 2010 at 4:45 pm #

    Shelley’s mom: nice yogurt mess πŸ™‚ and you have raised quite a gal ! the kind of girl everyone ought to have for a friend

    great post shelley, your bagel breakfast is great…i LOVE seeing u have FULL and complete meals….tired of seeing half a bagel “meals” 😦

    about the food rules…yipes…still have some…tired of all this to be honest

    that positivity feedback is so so true…so true!

    u are busy busy…keep eating to be your absolute glowing best!

  33. molly b February 17, 2010 at 5:04 pm #

    You are such amazing inspiration! Your life sounds so much fuller and you seem so much happier these days. Your attitude towards weight gain is so encouraging. You deserve to be healthy and free of this. Keep it up!

  34. Naomi (onefitfoodie) February 17, 2010 at 5:05 pm #

    I am loving panera lately! I just went yesterday on the way back from my trip and got half a smoked turkey on multigain bread with their hummus and half of the chicken apple fuji salad which was fantasticcc it may just be my new favorite ‘fast food’ restaurant!!

    in stressful situations sometimes I will write down what is stressing me out (if the situation allows) getting my thoughts down and on paper, sometimes gets them out of my head so its clearer!

    i am so happy that you are doing well and happy and 4lbs away! YAY!! πŸ™‚

    so amazing, shelley you deserve it!!

  35. Foodie (Fab and Delicious Food) February 17, 2010 at 5:25 pm #

    Glad you had a nice Valentine’s Day dinner!

    Good for you for switching up your breakfast! It looks so yummy!

    I think it can be helpful to try to remain positive in stressful situations because then it may help your mind remain clearer, not bogged down by negative thoughts, and help you be better able to resolve the situation at hand.

    That’s so cute that your mom sent you a pic of her yogurt mess!

  36. merittothecarrot February 17, 2010 at 5:25 pm #

    Kudos for shakin up breakfast. You are amazing ❀

    http://www.merittothecarrot.org

  37. kbwood February 17, 2010 at 7:05 pm #

    WOW shell-you have come SO FAR!! keep PUSHING for that weight.. I AM SO FREAKING PROUD OF YOU, i could cry!! you are amazing!!! seriously-and even that 4 pounds will make a HUGE difference in how you feel! if you need me please email me because i was in this same position last year-STRESSED to the MAX and not at a healthy weight quite yet, and i understand how tough that can be, you have a lot on your plate but you can DEF DO IT!! i did it with the help of Gods strength and the support of loved ones. when im stressed-i always PRAY and read the bible, take a hot bath, take 10 min out atleast for some “me time” .. and look foward to summer! haha! love you!

  38. BostonRunner February 17, 2010 at 7:26 pm #

    Wow so much to say in response I know I’m going to forget something haha. First, it’s so hard to balance school and this blog! I just try to do the best I can and not stress out if I don’t have time to blog as much as I would like.
    Second, I completely believe that a positive attitude/thoughts can get you far! I would like to think in stressful situations that I look on the bright side and try to take a step back and breathe – but I don’t always do it. Something to strive for!
    And lastly, I love Jason Mraz : )

  39. whydeprive February 17, 2010 at 7:31 pm #

    I used to only allow myself one meal a day. It was always dinner. I remember having to make a sit down lunch for a teacher in Foods class, and I was freaking out because LUNCH ISNT MY ONE MEAL! Im so much happier with my 3 meals a day!!

    I do NOT react well in stressful situations. Im Irish, and inherited the temper so I fly off the handle all the time when Im stressed.

    And yes, I absolutely believe that positivity makes all the difference inthe world!

  40. Lauren February 17, 2010 at 7:59 pm #

    Hello sweetheart! Sorry life is so crazy busy for you right now, but I promise, things will subside.

    What an excellent exercise. I never really thought about it but to see how your teacher illustrated the power of our minds is so true. We can tell ourselves one thing, but unless we actually believe it, it’s pointless.

    You’re amazing girl and you are STRONG! πŸ™‚

  41. tatiannalives February 17, 2010 at 8:06 pm #

    Shelley – How can I be so fortunate to have such a beautiful angel as my big sis!? πŸ˜› You give me SO MUCH inspiration girl.. congrats on being so close to your target weight!

    1) How do you react in stressful situations?
    I am horrible at dealing with stress.. I am afraid I don’t have any advice for you on this one! Stay strong beautiful πŸ™‚

    2) Do you believe that a positive mind and strong relaxation techniques can make a difference??
    I truly believe that sending positive energy out into the universe will result in in coming right back. Life is what you make it! I am slowly learning how to look at the glass half full because I think it is so important πŸ™‚

    3) What are some food rules that you have had/currently have and how have you/how do you plan to overcome them?
    I had the exact same carb rule during my disorder! In fact.. sandwiches HAD to be open-faced so I would only have one piece of bread. It’s amazing how far I have come… I now eat double the amount of carbs that I used to have in a day at EACH meal and snack!

    One I am still struggling to break free from is the rule stating that I can’t have cakes and cookies… but in time I think I will be able to overcome this one. Instead of tackling it head on, I am waiting for it to come stress-free πŸ™‚

    xox
    Tat

  42. Lauren @ BIOCHEMISTA February 17, 2010 at 8:08 pm #

    Hey girl,

    Great post. Love the exercise your prof did. I also think positive thinking helps in any situation. For ex: when you have a cold, if you keep thinking “I feel sick, I feel miserable–well then, you will feel sick and miserable” But if you think “Hey this isn’t soooo bad”, you generally feel a little better πŸ™‚

    Don’t stress about not blogging all the time, we love you all the same!

    xx

    Lauren

  43. crazylittlethingneela February 17, 2010 at 8:48 pm #

    you know what is right for you sweetie and i am here to support you with that!
    ohh the food rules. ‘fat make you fat’ haha story of my life! aww not. once i sarted eating more fats i actually had a life! πŸ˜‰

  44. lowandbhold February 17, 2010 at 9:30 pm #

    I love that Jason Mraz song!! You’re doing so great! It makes me smile to hear about your sucesses!

    Hope things calm down for you soon πŸ™‚

  45. Jess February 17, 2010 at 9:53 pm #

    Incredible eats, babe. But that’s usual πŸ™‚ You always eat the yummiest stuff!!

    I am quite busy too! I am so behind blogging wise, but school has to be priority. I totally understand!
    ❀ jess
    xoxo

  46. Treatment For Insomnia February 17, 2010 at 9:59 pm #

    Excellent post, I found it very informative; I’d just like to add, for those of us who suffer from insomnia, that it’s imperative that they find a solution to their ill because it’s been reported that such people run the risk of having their brains shrink; unbelievable…anyway, nice post.

  47. Molly February 17, 2010 at 10:19 pm #

    1. I love Jason Mraz
    2. I love this, “Why am I sharing this with you all? Because I honestly believe the way we think and the way we speak/think can influence our overall happiness and confidence. I used to consider myself pretty pessimistic. I still am sometimes. But i am truly working on being optimistic and believe that when I take my thoughts and rationalize them/make them positive, I end up feeling a whole lot better.”
    3. Girl, priorities are priorities: school and living your life should come far before commenting and posting :0)
    4. Thank you for all your kind comments. I appreciate them so much!!
    5. Way to switch up your breakfast on Monday!

  48. Kristie February 17, 2010 at 10:54 pm #

    Hey, just wanted to say we missed you at Red Mango tonight! I hope studying is going well and you get to have some rest and relaxation soon!

  49. Jenna February 17, 2010 at 11:01 pm #

    That is so cute of your mom!!

  50. feetinmotion February 17, 2010 at 11:26 pm #

    I’m very stressed too 😦 PS, it looks like your odds are good for the bondi band giveaway haha, only you and one other person have entered!

  51. Kylee (Little Hat) February 18, 2010 at 12:12 am #

    Congratulations on being so close to your target weight! You have come so far (: You’re such an inspiration!

    A positive mind DEFINITELY makes a difference. Especially in situations like recovering from an eating disorder, I think.
    I have an unfortunate amount of irrational rules that I can’t even explain, it’s just kind of like…things I know, rather than rules I can put on paper if that makes sense? I’m struggling a lot with breaking them, but I’m working on it!

    Have a great day (: -Kylee

  52. imaginenamaste February 18, 2010 at 12:48 am #

    that relaxation class sounds amazing–and the power of thought! i love stuff like that! good luck with all of your tests/projects/stressors coming up πŸ™‚ your part about feeling great in your body gave me so much hope for everyone!

  53. nattietan February 18, 2010 at 1:28 am #

    I said this before and I’ll say it again – your Mum is so adorable!!! Lol.

    When I’m stressed, I sometimes find myself retreating back but more often than not now, I turn to my friends and family to talk it out, or I go for a swim to cool me down.

    I totally believe that a positive mindset can make a whole lot of difference in how a person approaches challenges. And I know that an optimistic mind is so important in any kind of recovery!

    xx

  54. Averie (LoveVeggiesAndYoga) February 18, 2010 at 2:40 am #

    2) Do you believe that a positive mind and strong relaxation techniques can make a difference??—YES!

    Psych minor and masters degree, yes, the power of the mind is immense and our attitudes can shape future behavior as well as future thoughts.
    Cognitive Behavioral Therapy at it’s finest. That’s the crux of it, or just google away πŸ™‚

    Grreat post Shelley!

  55. Karin February 18, 2010 at 8:34 am #

    LOVE that post! I’m a huge believer in positive thoughts and yoga has taught me a lot about it.
    I think the power of the mind is extremely underestimated sometimes.
    Ps: Your mum’s comment is so adorable!!

  56. Can You Stay for Dinner February 18, 2010 at 9:13 am #

    Shelley,
    I completely believe in the power of your thoughts. I have really worked hard to be more positive over the past few years and it has done wonders for my mood.
    I don’t really have any food rules other than trying to get 5ish servings of fruits/veggies a day? Is that a rule?

  57. Nutritious Foodie February 18, 2010 at 10:35 am #

    Shelley you are doing awesome.. I love all of your eats…

    You may not appreciate this now but one day you might look back and think I remember someone commenting on my blog saying – I would trade all of my professional stresses to be back at school with all of the tests, studying and craziness. I personally think I did better then…

  58. Julia February 18, 2010 at 1:14 pm #

    Proud of you sweetie! That bagel sounds delicious and is a great step. Keep going for those last pounds, you’re doing great!

    And blue cheese risotto with scallops…please take me the next time!;)

    xxx Julia (Taste of Living)

  59. Gena February 18, 2010 at 2:59 pm #

    Shelley, your courage is inspiring. Way to challenge yourself!

  60. balancingfoodandlife February 18, 2010 at 3:38 pm #

    I’m so proud of you, hunny! 4 pounds is nothin! You’ll be there in no time! ❀
    Your post really hit me hard and made me think –
    as you saw in my blog i've been binging lately, but also, i've been more
    negative than I usually am.
    That thought process needs to change!

    keep up the good work!

    xox Vera

  61. Michal February 18, 2010 at 3:52 pm #

    I am so happy girl that you are almost at your goal weight that is amazing πŸ™‚ good for you! Lately i have noticed that I too have been binging a little more, and just not feeling my best. I need to adopt your healthy attitude and remember that I am strong and can do anything I set my mind too!

  62. Caitlyn (Letters from the Oasis) February 18, 2010 at 6:51 pm #

    I use that exercise every time I coach. It’s the first thing I have the kids do (I demonstrate with a volunteer, then they all do the same to each other)

    Then I make them sign a PACT (positive attitude contract terms)… which are basically rules I set for my team *No saying “I can’t”, *always encourage anyone who does say “I can’t” and if someone slips and says it, we try to turn it into a positive… if they say they “can’t” to that, then they have to sit out practice until they tell me three things that they can do. Usually it never gets that far (maybe twice?)

    So glad you are feeling good about the positive gains you’ve made! πŸ™‚

  63. usfmeg25 February 18, 2010 at 8:01 pm #

    In stressful situations… I usually work pretty well under stress. I just try to stay focused on the task at hand.

    As far as relaxation exercises and positive mind exercises, I do believe they work well for some people. I however do not do them. I don’t know why. I know when I was in treatment for my eating disorder, the therapists liked to have us do these exercises. They seemed to work but I just don’t stick with them long enough…

    Eww food rules. Yes. I had.. TONS. One in particular was to never eat anything with fat. It was fat free everything. Even after taking nutrition classes and reading tons on research on the importance of having fat in your diet.. it was a fear of mine. I read fat… ED told me that that’s exactly what it will do to me. Make me fat! Stupid Ed… stupid, stupid ED. How am I overcoming this …. I’m forcing myself. Taking baby steps.

  64. Kate February 18, 2010 at 8:22 pm #

    YEAH! Congratulations woman!

    i am a huge beleiver in positive talk. our thoughts determine how we approach life.

  65. Nelly February 18, 2010 at 8:38 pm #

    Cinnamon raison swirl pb! AHHH! amazing!
    Love the mom picture…my mom is the same way!

  66. The Candid RD February 18, 2010 at 9:54 pm #

    Please don’t ever apologize for not having the time to comment on our blogs! This should be a hobby, not a chore, right? I have been caught up in that too, and stressed out about not commenting on blogs, but I never started blogging to add to the stress in my life, I did it to add to the relaxation and fun times!

    I like the demonstration your teacher did, with your arms. I think it’s such a good point that our minds truly rule our lives. If we think positive thoughts, our days will be full of positive energy. It’s like the placebo effect, it’s HUGE! Our minds cause us stress too, stress is not real unless you make it real. I do it to myself all the time, but I’m trying to remind myself to live in the moment, and live life.

    You are so good at challenging yourself with food, by the way. I’m impressed with your courage and ability to fight. The breakfast looks so good.

    Have a great night.

  67. fullofwhimsy February 18, 2010 at 10:45 pm #

    Your eats look so good! Good job on challenging yourself with breakfast…! Keep up the amazing job, Shelley.

    ~ Catherine

  68. jqlee February 18, 2010 at 11:15 pm #

    That’s so cute that your mom sent you a pic of her food. My BF does that now too. Haha, he’s so used to me taking pictures of food that whenever he’s eating something blogworthy he says his brain automatically thinks, “take a picture!” Lol.

    Your days are just like mine like you said. Busy. Busy. Busy. It’s pretty much class, snack, class, errand, snack, class, eat real food, go to some appt….etc. You’re managing it all very well though, still eating good, and healthy food. Keep it up but don’t get too stressed girl. I think of it this way, EVERYTHING WILL BE OKAY. Even if something goes wrong or whatever, really if you stop to think about it, it’s not the end of the world. If I do bad on an exam because I didn’t have time to study, that ONE grade is not going to determine my future.

    I do think a positive mind helps make me stronger. I’m thinking about this in terms of when I work out. If I think, damn girl you are buff – then I can lift more. Or if I think, wow you are so fast at running, I push myself to run faster.

  69. Simply Life February 19, 2010 at 8:14 am #

    yum! i love being able to have panera!

  70. Katharina February 19, 2010 at 9:41 am #

    Your mom is so cute! My mom has been inspired by blogs too πŸ˜‰ I love it!!!

    I LOVE all your eats seriously. I am a sandwich, bread, wrap lover! And you always have a delicious combo going on πŸ˜€ Bagels for breakfast are so good! Switching it up is nice. I say variety is the spice of life πŸ˜‰ Getting too stuck on one thing makes it hard to accept bumps in the road. Even though a bagel is not a bump lol, but I guess I was speaking in broader terms and just applying it to life in general.

    1) This morning when I had my OIAJ the jar toppled over and I just told myself, don’t get upset. So I cleaned it up calmly and it was okay. I do deep breathing as well. Just anything to put things in perspective.

    2) YES!!! They make a world of difference. The exercise that your teacher had you guys do was really neat. And your point is so spot on. Whenever I hear people downplay themselves I counteract that negativity with a positive comment. I definitely “Baby” myself in that sense πŸ˜€ After years of being negative Nancy and just not liking myself (for no reason), I am now loving everything and I don’t want to live any other way!

    3) Oh gosh. I had food rules like “nothing over 100 calories”. Uhh no fat. Couldn’t have white breads, no sauces. Very… bland. Now I am free what eat what I want. Everyone is! Unless they’re diabetic or something :\

    HAve a wonderful Friday and good luck with everything!!

    XOXO

    http://www.ohonemorething.wordpress.com

  71. lpskins February 19, 2010 at 12:41 pm #

    I always preach to my clients about positive self talk but never practice it myself. I am fully aware of how much it makes a difference. Thanks for reminding me of this.

  72. justjac February 20, 2010 at 12:38 am #

    Shelley, you inspired me to try something new today! You’re doing so well! πŸ˜€ I totally agree that ‘opening your mind’ can be so freeing! Our own thinking/thoughts have (or can have) so much power over us. It’s just important to make it be positive rather than negative influence!!

  73. Andrea March 10, 2010 at 3:42 am #

    What a great way to try and de-stress yourself! I will definitely be using that tip.

    I have another suggestion for de-stressing and losing your anxiety. Try floating! It’s like floating in the Dead Sea, but in a warm salt water pod. So relaxing and a wonderful experience! http://www.floatspasandiego.com

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Choosing a Positive Attitude - February 17, 2010

    […] […]

  2. Simple Techniques to End the Worry Mindset - February 17, 2010

    […] […]

  3. The Power of Affirmations and Music - February 17, 2010

    […] […]

  4. Thank You For The Negativity! - February 17, 2010

    […] […]

  5. READING and REVIEWS « Living in the Kitchen, Gym and Mall - February 19, 2010

    […] Instead they tend to passively endure distressing situations.”Β  This passage reminded me of this post that Shelley wrote when she talked about how the ” the way we think and the way we speak/think can […]

Leave a Reply

