College Life

8 Feb

Hi Pookiessss!!!!

(haha sorry, after seeing Rent, I still have the songs in my head for at least 1/2 of the day and have varous lines from the movie running through my head. If you don’t know what i’m talking about, in Rent, Maureen calls her loves Pookie)

Sorry for that rant! I ended up having such an amazing weekend!

on Friday, I decided to take it easy and went to see a movie with one of my friends! We saw When In Rome

My Review: This movie was cute & definitely enjoyable but nothing deeper than that. The plot was fairly predictable but nonetheless, I enjoyed it because I was totally in the mood for a thoughtless night. I wouldn’t go out of your way to see it, but if you’re bored and have seen the other movies you want to see, you’d probably enjoy this!
After the movie I pretty much just hung out with friends around the dorm and I watched 21 with a couple of my friends. That movie makes me want to go to Vegas/be 21! haha.

I decided to prepare some overnight oats πŸ™‚ I included ~1/2 cup plain wallaby yogurt, 1/2 cup oatmeal, 1/2 cup water & cinnamon and then in the morning I added peanut butter, banana, more cinnamon & some graham bumpers… so good πŸ™‚

These overnight oats were really good!! Loved em.

Saturday was honestly the best day… soo fun! I ate lunch with a friend and didn’t picture it. Saturday was the Camp Randall Hockey Classic which is when the hockey team plays on a rink on the football field!!

We went to a party before the game and then pretty much danced to the game haha. We were a bit…under the influence. haha look at Gar’s face! It was fun because we went with some of his friends & some of mine!!

I left the game with Gardner and went to a restaurant called the Nitty Gritty I basically scarfed my food down- I was ravenous! I got this huge bbq chicken salad and had some chips & ketchup too! Β We also definitely had a pitcher of beer… which we probably didn’t need…..

After that it was already like 9! I was so tired. Gardner and I took a 30 minute power nap and then I got ready to go out again… I got a burst of energy! It was such a fun night.

We went to a bar called The Red Shed where they serve Long Island’s in these. It was fun & I may have taken the mason jar… :-X don’t judge me hehe

I was up til like 4 am and slept until 1 pm. Who am i?!?! It felt so good though!!

I had brunch (i guess) at around 2 and it was oatmeal!! in this mix: 1/4 cup egg whites, 1/2 cup oatmeal cooked with original almond milk, cinnamon raisin swirl peanut butter, banana, and some cereal! Loved every bite.

Then I did some last minute secret valentine blog shopping! I love shopping around State Street so I enjoyed it a lot! I think I got some good things πŸ™‚

I stopped inside this store Bop becuase there were sale signs all over the door. This store is really expensive generally and for some reason I was drawn in. I ended up trying on jeans (which could have been a bad idea, but luckily was not!) because I have been frustrated that I don’t really have any that fit (old are too big, new are too tight). I found a great pair on sale, that are the size i believe I am truly meant to be and decided to make the purchase!

I felt truly empowered to have purchased these pair of jeans. These pair of jeans fit my healthy body. These are the size that is normal and healthy and beautiful. It felt so good to buy something for my improved self.

After shopping I had my afternoon snack! Fage 2%, 1 cup of marshmallow oaties, dark chocolate dreams & almonds (side note: sometimes it is weird for me because my snacks are the size of normal people’s meals… oh well, no comparing, right? :] )

Hit the spot. Honestly, I was so full for hours. This doesn’t really happen to me anymore. My hunger cues have definitely been a little messed up and usually I have some kind of constant hunger (whether it be physical or mental, if that makes sense). I went to the library with my friend and when I got back it was like 8:45 and I had to eat dinner! I just ate it in the dorm quickly because no one else really eats that late haha.

I had an Amy’s Cheddar Burger on a pepperidge farm whole wheat deli flat with laughing cow, everything pretzel thins, annie’s honey grahams & an apple!

After this I blogged and did some homework. A pretty relaxing Sunday and one that definitely helped me get re-energized!

I have realized that since my weight gain, I have so much more energy. The thing is, the time the energy change is most noticeable for me is during nights on the weekend. I am now able to stay out late with my friends. I used to be so tired and would not be able to make it nearly as late as the rest of my friends would.

I believe late nights out with friends are crucial to an unforgettable college experience. I want to look back and be able to remember fun times out, not times that I stayed in because of ‘calories’ or my sleep needs.

This leads me to my next Question section!!!

I am answering questions regarding college life πŸ™‚

Danielle asked “How do you feel about alcohol + college in regards to a healthy lifestyle?”

Honestly, we all know alcohol is not healthy and binge drinking is definitely a problem in our society today. The thing is, I believe college is the time in our lives where (if controlled) we can have a little fun and drink with friends! I am totally fine with drinking and do it because I think that it creates lots of fun memories and times to remember (or… not haha). It becomes a problem when it is someone’s only way to have fun, but I think moderation is key. I know it may be hypocritical to a ‘healthy lifestyle’, but I do really enjoy going out and drinking with my friends on the weekends sometimes and i’m not afraid to admit it. I realize others may disagree and I completely respect that opinion!

Katherine asked “how are u finding it holding yourself accountable to eating with being away from school and all that? do u ever have moments when u slip?”

This was a huge problem at first. When I came to school, my parents were under the impression I would be gaining weight. However, this did not happen at all. I was able to be in 100% control and took it way too far. Now, I realize how serious my condition is/was and do not want to slip up. I truly want to recover so I think that is really helping to motivate me stay on track. Previously, I didn’t truly want to recover. There have been a couple times where I have given into temptations to slim down a snack, but nothing durastic has happened (i am proud to say!). My weight has been continually increasing and I have been doing a great job with my meal plan! If i ever feel the desire to ‘cheat,’ I usually call Gardner and he convinces me to say on track πŸ™‚


Hope you all have fantastic starts to your week!!

some questions for you:

1) What was your favorite thing you did this weekend??

2) What is your honest opinion about the issue of alcohol in college?

xoxoxoxoxox

Shelleyβ™₯

79 Responses to “College Life”

  1. Lauren @ BIOCHEMISTA February 8, 2010 at 1:24 am #

    CONGRATULATIONS on the new pants!!!! They’re sooo cute! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ Love the zipper!

    You make me miss being an undergrad so much!! haha

    • Erica February 8, 2010 at 9:41 pm #

      Totally agree you have a lot of good things in this- trying to do the same and figure out my way through life as a “young professional”. Terrible- you are so lucky

  2. Lauren @ BIOCHEMISTA February 8, 2010 at 1:28 am #

    In college, I used to think in terms of calories rather than overall health. A vodka/soda was about as low calorie as they get so I would usually drink those (or rum/diet).

    But today (in grad school) I’ve become much more healthy (eating a clean diet rather than counting calories) and I’ll take a nice glass of red wine over a vodka soda any day!!!

    I also am a lover of tequila. My roomies and I have tweaked Bethenny Frankel’s Skinny Girl Margarita recipe to make it a little bit more tasty and still all natural. You should give it a try sometime! http://www.biochemista.com/2010/01/skinny-margaritas.html

    I think as long as you take it easy on the liver and can wake up in the morning to keep up with your studies, a drink (or few) here and there is nothing bad! πŸ™‚

  3. Anna February 8, 2010 at 1:36 am #

    Hey love! I am glad you had so much fun this weekend. The favorite thing I did this weekend was go visit some people at my friend’s apartment!
    My honest opinion about alcohol in college is that it is engrained in the culture. For a lot of people it is a source of bonding and fun times. However, terrible, awful things arise from alcohol abuse, especially when people look to it as their only source of fun. Even though I do drink in college, I tend to go out one night per week. I have a blast when I go out and let loose with friends, but I also love going home for the weekend and taking it easy. And heck, we’re young, how often can we get away with it? haha πŸ˜‰ but yeah I am not opposed to drinking, I do it myself, I have fun doing it, but I have great times without it as well.

  4. Marina February 8, 2010 at 2:06 am #

    I’m glad you were able to have fun. I know how it’s like when your friends are all for party, and you’re feeling too tired. I actually always fall asleep while my friends are at my place, stupid.
    I love to drink :)) I mean, I do it rarely, and it’s usually little because even a little makes me sleepy. My bf makes cocktails at our apartment, so that’s pretty cool, and sometimes I go for a beer or drink a glass of wine. A little bit of that al can’t be bad πŸ™‚

  5. Sara K February 8, 2010 at 2:19 am #

    Yayyyy for the weekend! And isn’t it SO NICE to have energy and be able to stay up late on the weekends with your friends? Damnnnn that’s what I regret about my freshie & soph years- but I’m definitely doing it now ;)…sounds like we bother had some late ‘influenced’ nights this weekend!
    Also congrats on the new jeans- they look supaaaa sexxxxy…I love skinny jeans with the zippers, they fit super well in boots!
    Best thing I did this weekend was my Friday night- party hopping, tons of amazing food, 2am eats/drives around town (not me driving obviously)…and just good times with good friends & lotsa dancing!
    xoxo

  6. justjac February 8, 2010 at 2:32 am #

    I agree increased cals= increased energy…and definitely an (important) aspect of college life…just have to keep reminding myself that!
    I had a pretty good weekend too but I ended up going to a superbowl party and drinking a little too much *punch which left me feeling kind of sick, passing out lol and neglecting some homework… oh well happends sometimes i gues?

    Shelley i’m so glad you are happy and loving life! You and Gardner looks so cute together! Anyway it’s great to see and very motivating! Take care girl πŸ˜‰

  7. justjac February 8, 2010 at 2:33 am #

    I agree increased cals= increased energy…and definitely an (important) aspect of college life…just have to keep reminding myself that!
    I had a pretty good weekend too but I ended up going to a superbowl party and drinking a little too much *punch which left me feeling kind of sick, passing out lol and neglecting some homework… oh well happends sometimes i gues?

    Shelley i’m so glad you are happy and loving life! You and Gardner looks so cute together! Anyway it’s great to see and very motivating! Take care girl πŸ˜‰
    http://www.justjac.wordpress.com

  8. sara February 8, 2010 at 2:49 am #

    hi! what size jeans are you now? you look awesome btw! healthier and healthier each day!

  9. julia February 8, 2010 at 2:59 am #

    Yeah for having fun, I’m soooo happy for you and so proud!
    And for buying that beautiful jeans, told you it would feal great, doesn’t it?!
    Stay strong lovely girl!

    xxx Julia (Taste of Living)

  10. Stef @ moretolifethanlettuce February 8, 2010 at 3:05 am #

    so glad you’re motivated to recover this time and have been working hard to follow your meal plan! and it’s great that you have more energy nowadays, and that trying on jeans ended up going well :). i love rent! i get those songs stuck in my head too lol

  11. lunchiemunchies February 8, 2010 at 3:38 am #

    It’s so great that you’re following your meal plan to a T and felling super about it- rightly so, you’re getting more happy and healthy πŸ™‚
    As for alcohol, sadly there seems to be no such thing as moderation at uni here- everyone has to get as trashed as possible BEFORE going out to be able to have fun which I link is really lame and so unhealthy the amount they drink. I definitely don’t condemn alcohol when it’s a few drinks for a giggle with friends but when people have to get “off their faces” to make being out bearable I think there’s a problem and don’t partake.
    E xoxxo

  12. Megan February 8, 2010 at 5:38 am #

    Those jeans are cuUte! Where did you get them from? πŸ™‚

  13. Jessica @ How Sweet It Is February 8, 2010 at 6:40 am #

    I loved late nights out with friends in college. They are some of the best memories I have!!

  14. Taylor February 8, 2010 at 6:58 am #

    I spent a great Sunday with my boyfriend, I watched him win at football then in the evening we cuddled up by candlelight and watched a DVD.

    When I was a college everyone was out getting drunk and getting into trouble. I was ill with my ED during my college years and still lived at home. I would stay in my room studying or exercising, I was more or less a hermit by that time. I do feel like I missed out on the whole college experience and if I hadn’t have been ill would’ve loved to have moved away to college and experience everything.

  15. seekmyself February 8, 2010 at 7:49 am #

    Shelley, it’s so great to see you enjoying your weekends and college life! You continue to be incredibly inspiring in your recovery, and constantly remind me that the struggles are worth the reward. Thank you, hun ❀

  16. Gabriela @ Une Vie Saine February 8, 2010 at 7:53 am #

    Yay for new jeans…glad you found a great pair on sale! The hockey game sounds really fun!

    I have a similar opinion to yours on drinking in college; I do it to have fun and because I don’t have too many responsibilities holding me back! That being said, I sometimes drink when I don’t feel like it just because others are, which is never a good way to be. I’ve been trying to only drink when I really want to, and I honestly enjoy it more then! This weekend I had an awesome night with my best guy friend and BF- just getting tipsy at a bar together. So fun!

  17. Abby February 8, 2010 at 7:58 am #

    Love the jeans.. super cute!! As for alcohol.. cant drink now BUT in college, I had a blast. lol. Honestly every pic I have of me and my friends Im double fisting something or other. Certainly, not drinking in moderation is in no way shape or form healthy BUT I wouldn’t trade those yrs for anything.. Im still alive πŸ˜‰

  18. gateauxbellehelene February 8, 2010 at 8:18 am #

    It’s so good to see that you had a great weekend. Those jeans look great and it feels so good when things fit! I agree that enjoying life with your friends is the great thing about college and one that I’m missing now I’ve left uni. Over here in the UK there is a huge drinking culture and many people can’t go out without having a drink (or 10!). I don’t mind drinking in college / uni but feel that it needs to be controlled more. People should balance drunk nights out with more relaxed ones. Helen x

  19. Ada February 8, 2010 at 8:24 am #

    Aww I can’t get over how adorable you and Gardner are! I’m glad you’re living college life to the fullest:)

  20. Sarah (Running to Slow Things Down) February 8, 2010 at 8:26 am #

    The new jeans are so cute…love the color! πŸ˜€

    Oh, and I totally agree with your review on When In Rome. My thoughts exactly. It was a cute movie for a “thoughtless night” out and worth seeing once. πŸ˜€

  21. merittothecarrot February 8, 2010 at 8:32 am #

    So insanely proud of you for buying jeans!!! And even happier for you increase in energy. Marvelous!

  22. theemptynutjar February 8, 2010 at 8:32 am #

    oh my…where to start πŸ™‚
    1) it really annoys me too….i eat these HUGE snacks that are bigger than most other people have for a meal…it bothers me….and it shouldnt it…comparing is so odd…its wrong and i need to stop
    2) i love ALL your eats…your cafeteria offers good stuff…when i was in university living in dorms i lived on cereal, bagels, salads, and the chocolate chip ice cream
    3) drinking and late nights …yes…nothing wrong with it unless u do it 24-7 πŸ˜‰ …..i always had tons of fun and i pulled off great marks , a part-time job, extracurricular activities, and was on a university varsity team putting hours into training and travelling on weekends….its vital to have fun and experience…just be smart at the same time! The best are the drunk-eats πŸ˜‰
    4) you are too amazing….i see people conquering challenges left right and center and i sit in my spot unmoving in life or anything…the future is so so scary for me
    5) yay for the jeans
    6) i just read and watched tv this weekend …i suck….sounds like an alright movie if u want to zone out that “when in rome” one….like a good chickie novel πŸ™‚

  23. Simply Life February 8, 2010 at 8:40 am #

    my favorite thing this weekend was watching the superbowl with good friends!

  24. Cassie February 8, 2010 at 8:43 am #

    I LOVE that you LOVED buying those new jeans! Such a big step, girl – hope you realize that!

    My honest opinion: I was a PARTY GIRL in college…and I don’t regret it one bit. πŸ™‚ Of course I know drinking isn’t healthy, but we all have our vices, right?

    I still got excellent grades, had amazing relationships with my professors, and rarely missed class (well, due to partying, anyway…my ED caused some class problems, but that’s a different story).

    I say, get the FULL college experience! πŸ˜‰ I LOVED class, learning, academics, all of it (and still do)…but the times I had doing the college-drink thing? Priceless. (I mean, c’mon. Purdue’s bars open at 7 am on home football game Saturdays for “Breakfast Club” where everyone dresses up like it’s Halloween…do you know how much fun that was?! Plus, we were still drunk from the night before!!!)

    Oh, college. I miss you.

  25. Emily (http://funnyemily.wordpress.com) February 8, 2010 at 8:44 am #

    what a fun weekend! i have never been to a hockey game, i’m thinking under the influence is the best way to go πŸ™‚
    my favorite thing i did this weekend was probably baking cookies with my sister.
    as for drinking & college, i think its a personal choice and no one should look down on people based on their choice. sure it goes too far a lot of the time, but i think it is a person’s responsibility to control that.
    happy monday beautiful! way to go on the jeans!!
    xoxo

  26. Morgan February 8, 2010 at 8:50 am #

    Yay for RENT!
    I miss my college drinking days. I used to take stuff from bars all of the time for some reason!
    So exciting about the jeans and your mindset, I feel proud of you!

  27. blueeyedheart February 8, 2010 at 8:51 am #

    Congratulations on buying new jeans! They’re super cute πŸ™‚

    When in Rome looks like just the type of mindless movie I’d love… that’s kind of the point of movies, if you ask me. If I want to think, I’ll just read a book!

    ❀ ❀

  28. Lauren February 8, 2010 at 9:00 am #

    as for drinking in college I don’t personally for two reasons:
    1. (this is stupid), but I can’t drink calories unless it is something I know my body needs (milk, etc…)
    2. Drinking to excess is also against my religious beliefs as is breaking the law (aka, I’m not 21 yet)
    I think there are other ways to have fun. Thanks for answering the questions about food and college though, that is def something I struggle with!

  29. kbwood February 8, 2010 at 9:02 am #

    what a fun weekend! that is such a cute picture of you and your boy!! i love it!! i wana see that movie too-thanks for the review. your comments are always SO sweet girl. YAY for new jeans! thats SO awesome! i bet they look so great on you! amen to that-its something to be PROUD of to buy new jeans.
    hmm alcohol in college-well many people think that you dont have ANY fun if you dont drink but me and my friends dont drink at all and we have a blast-so i dont really see the need for alcohol. i dont judge people who do it but i would much rather stay sober and truly live in the moment..thats my opinion and i know everybodys differs!

  30. Dana February 8, 2010 at 9:17 am #

    my snacks are bigger than people’s meals too πŸ™‚ you just have to embrace it! ive come to realize how GOOD food is and to just ENJOY it (no matter how big the portion is that i need to eat)…serve me up a massive yogurt mess any day and id be happy to enjoy! ive really just recently come to realize this and embrace the fact that im A LOT HEALTHIER than i was even just last month…both mentally and physically. keep it up girl you are doing such a good job and you dont even know how much of an inspiration you are to me! im very indifferent towards alcohol because i dont really drink but a lot of my friends are huge partiers from home and it doesnt matter to me because either way you have fun in my opinion!

  31. Ashlei February 8, 2010 at 9:19 am #

    What an awesome looking weekend! So glad you had a blast πŸ˜€
    And super cute jeans too!! Maybe post an outfit with you wearing them!

    Hope you have a great week!

    xoxo

  32. Naomi (onefitfoodie) February 8, 2010 at 9:36 am #

    HEY LOVAH!! awesome purchase with the jeans! theya rgoing to look SLAMMIN on your hot new self! I cannot wait to see them on you! (not in a creepy way lol)

    the food looks awesmoe as always, I have wanted to try the wallaby yogurt, it looks so good!

    you and Gar are so cute too!! are your home towns close??

    long islands in mason jars…awesome!! we used to go to a place in college and get scorpion bowls in these awesome bowls that we caould take home too!

    I think you should make oats in that jar! just sayin…

    oh and alcohol in college?? its allll good in moderation and when you can control yourself. It can get ugly if you have no self control and don’t know your limit. But in moderation and proper amounts, I say its allll good!!
    love you girl!

  33. Danielle February 8, 2010 at 9:37 am #

    It sounds like you had a really fun weekend πŸ˜€ I totally agree with your answer in regards to alcohol. Everything in moderation, but embrace being young!

    Those jeans are really cute by the way. So glad to hear your positive attitude

  34. Megan February 8, 2010 at 9:45 am #

    Awesome weekend girl!! It looks like you had a blast and didn’t let anything get in the way… and I love those jeans!

  35. Nutritious Foodie February 8, 2010 at 10:03 am #

    Thanks for you review of “when in Rome” Luckily my husband is pretty sweet and suffers through my chick flicks with me πŸ™‚

    1- Favorite things this weekend… baking.. I baked cookies for a cookie sale that I am holding on Wednesday at work to raise money for MS.

    2- I think social drinking is fine, but most kids in college don’t drink socially they drink to get drunk and I am not a fan of that… I had my first alcoholic drink when I turned 21 and even after that I have been a social drinker πŸ™‚

  36. candice February 8, 2010 at 10:18 am #

    YES for new, fitting, ultra-glamorous jeans for your healthy body! So proud of you, girl. Our bodies were created to suit us and only us, and we have to accept and love them. :] You look like you had a LOT of fun this weekend! It’s just amazing how much more we can accomplish when we fuel ourselves properly. πŸ˜€

  37. daintyvegan February 8, 2010 at 10:41 am #

    My opinion on alcohol is the same as yours – enjoy it but don’t become dependent on it to have fun. Sounds like you had a great Saturday! =D

    I want to see When in Rome! Haha.. looks cute. Speaking of cute, nice jeans!

  38. Karin February 8, 2010 at 11:06 am #

    Sounds like a great weekend! &I love 21!! Fab film :).
    I don’t really know what to think about alcohol/college because over here you can drink when you’re 18 which – in my opinion – is much better than 21. It just takes the thrill out of it when you can drink at that age. Well we don’t really go to universities that are super far away so we don’t live in dorms which is also probably the reason why we don’t have such crazy frat parties and such over here.. πŸ˜‰ Alcohol in moderation is always good but people sometimes don’t know their limits (especially when they are in groups).. xoxo Have a fabulous Monday!

  39. Anna February 8, 2010 at 11:17 am #

    Totally agree with going out 3 days a week being crazy…Partying wears me OUT I usually don’t get started on work until mid-later afternoon due to recuperation/hanging out/getting my life together. If that was my routine for nearly half my week I’d just feel gross!

  40. Lily @ Lily's Health Pad February 8, 2010 at 11:19 am #

    I definitely had my share of fun while in college. I wasn’t any more wild and crazy than anyone else, but I honestly regret a lot of the drinking that I did. I wish I’d been more involved with clubs, sports, and academics. If I could take it back, I’d take a more balanced approach to college life.

  41. MelissaNibbles February 8, 2010 at 11:22 am #

    Sounds like a blast!! I’m glad you’re living it up!

    I think alcohol in moderation is fine. If you’re drinking Thursday-Sunday, it might be a problem. And if you’re hungover after every night out, that’s a problem too. One or two drinks to have a good time is all anyone should really need. I think you’re doing fine πŸ™‚

  42. lowandbhold February 8, 2010 at 11:36 am #

    I loved the movie 21. The lead character is like my ideal type for a boyfriend, haha.

    I agree with you about alcohol, as long as people are doing it responsibly (i.e. not drinking & driving and not drinking every night) it’s completely normal and fun. Now that I’m out of school I drink a lot less, but miss the good old day πŸ™‚

  43. Jessica Zara February 8, 2010 at 11:53 am #

    Those jeans are so stylish! And yay for them being a healthy size πŸ™‚

    So happy you had fun at the week-end – many challenges were met and you switched up your routine, which is something that is extremely difficult for many people.

    Honestly, I don’t drink and always feel left out of every social situation because of it. I don’t mind others drinking at all, but when I’m pressurized or made to feel abnormal/excluded because alcohol isn’t my thing, I do get slightly resentful of the drinkers around me. Everyone has the right to a good time, alcohol-fuelled or otherwise.

    Hope Monday is treating you well.

    ❀

    ~Jess~

  44. Kelly February 8, 2010 at 12:29 pm #

    When I was in college I definitely drank alcohol here and there but it definitely wasn’t the center of my life or my fun. Plus I always valued working out and I wasn’t really into to putting things into my body that were going to hurt that.

  45. funfashionista February 8, 2010 at 12:31 pm #

    it sounds like you had an awesome weekend!! while i was at school i would always go out, power nap and go out again!! to bad i wasnt eating enough to keep up with that life style….:-/ and now im home! so pleaseee keep eating and stay healthy so u can have a great college experience! have a great mondayyy
    amy<3

  46. chocolate pickle February 8, 2010 at 1:19 pm #

    oh my gosh, first of all I LOVE Bop….the store and shopbop.com. It is expensive but I just love everything:) Congrats on finding a new pair of jeans….I think I still need to buy some new ones now too:)

    Secondly, Nitty Gritty….oh, the memories…I feel so old but I remember going there some years ago now when I was visiting Madison all the time:) I feel like I can relive part of my college years by seeing all the places you go:)!!

    Oh, and your snacks are just perfect! They are the size of truly normal, healthy eaters, not people who eat a small handful of nuts and call it a snack…just remember that:)! GO YOU!!

  47. Angela February 8, 2010 at 1:31 pm #

    yay for new jeans! Buying jeans is one of my favorite things to do! I can’t wait to see When in Rome sometimes a movie that you don’t have to think about too much is the best!
    Favorite thing I did this week-end was go to breakfast with my husband, we don’t do it often and we hadn’t seen much of eachother all week so it was nice!
    I think drinking in college is ok as long as it’s responsible. I personally don’t drink and never have because my Dad’s side of the family has a history of alcoholism and I just would rather stay away from it.

  48. Sara February 8, 2010 at 2:20 pm #

    I am so proud of you for buying those jeans girly! I need to do the same asap…
    as for your q’s
    1.Honestly didn’t do a whole lot this weekend. My favorite thing was spending time with my sister who came home for the weekend from college.
    2. As long as people are being safe, I don’t see a problem with it πŸ˜‰

    xoxox
    Sara

  49. Lauren @ BIOCHEMISTA February 8, 2010 at 3:02 pm #

    Hey shelley! πŸ™‚

    I’m going to post my first giveaway tonight around 9pm. Would you mind linking your next post to it? I think it’s a good one and I spent a good amnt of my own $$ on it πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    Thanks so much!

    -Lauren

  50. tatiannalives February 8, 2010 at 3:12 pm #

    CONGRATS on buying ‘healthy jeans’ πŸ™‚ Seriously, you are so inspirational – you actually make me excited for the time when I get to buy my first pair of healthy pants!

    As for the drinking… I think it is a part of the college experience! As long as you don’t get carried away, I don’t think there is anything wrong with it. Especially now that your body is at a healthy weight, you can handle the alcohol and you deserve to be out socializing πŸ™‚

    xox
    Tat

  51. Michelle (Snacks and Field) February 8, 2010 at 3:32 pm #

    That picture of you and Gardner is adorableeee!
    & I def feel ya with the snack being someone else’s meal- my snacks are always so huge, i love it!

    Like you said before, I think drinking, when done in moderation is fine. Personally, as and athlete, we have “dry season” during competition season and don’t drink during those months. HOWEVER, when we aren’t under those rules, don’t doubt that we go out! haha, it’s a lot of fun to go downtown and be social and have an amazing time dancing and going crazy with friends. I know that you can do that without alcohol, and don’t get me wrong, I do… it’s just fun every once in a while!!

  52. Missy Maintains February 8, 2010 at 4:41 pm #

    Love the new pants! Glad you are going out and having fun in college! You have a great attitude about drinking. Of course I feel exactly the same! College would not have been the same without it. I am shy so drinks are so much fun for me.

  53. Lauren February 8, 2010 at 5:26 pm #

    Love the new jeans. I am sure you look fabulous with your cute little behind in them! πŸ˜‰

  54. whydeprive February 8, 2010 at 5:37 pm #

    haha I love that you stole the mason jar! I have a spoon and a napkin that I may have taken from a hotel in Seattle. lol its memories!!

    My weekend was great – Whole Foods was definitely the highlight though!

    As for the college drinking issue, I never went to college (ok 1 semester but I lived at home) but I definitely did my share of drinking. For me, it was like my outlet. My ED was how I coped, and once I had that sorted out I needed something else. Im sure I over-did it, but you’re right, SO many good memories!

  55. jocelynsteiber February 8, 2010 at 6:09 pm #

    Hey babe!

    Sigh…boy do I miss college! ENJOY IT! It goes by so quickly (and get involved!!! haha)

    I had a great weekend–one of my best friends from PEnn State (where I went) came to visit me in NYC. Good times followed : )

    I think binge drinking is a little out of control at colleges. I went to a huge party school and although I didn’t drink as much as most people I was still drinking at least 2 times a week. Should be other activities to do besides binge drinking…

    xo

    Jocelyn

    http://peacelovenutrition.wordpress.com/

  56. Jenna February 8, 2010 at 7:03 pm #

    looks like a great weekend!
    congrats on the new pants chica and that yogurt snack with mallows, almonds, and DCD sounds heavenly! Mmmm.
    Now i have a question…what do you do when you wake up late and have missed your breakfast and morning snack since it was already 1pm?! do you make up for the missed calories in the rest of the day or what?! hope you could answer my question πŸ™‚
    I totally agree with you on having more energy! it is an awful feeling to not be able to stay out as late as your friends because i have no energy :/
    Jenna xo

  57. Meg February 8, 2010 at 7:09 pm #

    This is SO true Shelley! I love your insight, you’re such a beautiful person! Hooray for new pants! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    Much love, always.

  58. schmaddy February 8, 2010 at 7:18 pm #

    Hi Shelley, just wanted to stop by say I love reading your blog…and congrats on your recovery! A little positivity goes a long way, no? I’m from Janesville, WI, and approx. 70% of my friends go to the UW…I love visiting! Such a fun school. My favorite thing I did this weekend was stay in with my roommates and watch movies (generally the six of us are all over the place…so it was super fun to just chill for a night). Anywho have a great day!

    -Maddy

  59. Lauren @ BIOCHEMISTA February 8, 2010 at 7:31 pm #

    Thanks so much!!!! πŸ™‚ I just posted the GIVEAWAY!

  60. lpskins February 8, 2010 at 7:35 pm #

    There’s nothing like a pair of jeans that make you feel hot! I don’t have any right now which is quite the bummer.I love those random nights that last till the wee hours. They are far and few between and that’s what makes them so special.

  61. crazylittlethingneela February 8, 2010 at 8:06 pm #

    good job on getting healthy and beautiful pants for yourself shelley πŸ˜‰
    that’s how life is suppose to be, we buy clothes that fit us and not theo ther way around!!
    as far as alcohol goes i am in a different situation. in singapore you’re allowed to drink when you’re 18 and can go clubbing and to bars
    xx

  62. homecookedem February 8, 2010 at 8:07 pm #

    Glad to hear you have more energy now!! I can remember feeling so cold and weak when I was undereating and then as I increased my calories, I was like WOW! This is so worth it to feel alive again!! πŸ™‚ Keep up the great work!! πŸ™‚

  63. Jenny February 8, 2010 at 8:16 pm #

    Ah jean shopping has caused me insane anxiety in the past – but you’re absolutely right.. what does that silly number on the tag signify? What’s truly important is the girl wearing them and how she FEELS wearing them. Rock those babies proudly, sweetie.. I’m sure they look rockin’ on your strong healthy bod!

  64. Chrysta February 8, 2010 at 8:35 pm #

    you are awesome girl!!!!!! Im so happy you had a really amazing weekend. Truly! It sounds like it was so much fun. Jeans shopping always used to make me nervous too until I finally accepted how I was and am happy with it. Now I look forward to it! You have such a fantastic outlook. Keep smilin hon and have a fabulous Monday!

  65. Hillary February 8, 2010 at 8:36 pm #

    Highlight of my weekend was seeing Dear John =)

  66. feetinmotion February 8, 2010 at 9:36 pm #

    Aww Shelley you are soo sweet! By the way, I absolutely love those jeans!!!! Can’t wait to see them on! I bet they will look fabulous, just like you.

  67. Erica February 8, 2010 at 9:43 pm #

    You have such good things in this- so many things we considered in college too… now trying to figure out the same sort of love happiness, life, don’t get fat and frumpy as a “young professional”. Terrible- you’re so lucky

  68. balancingfoodandlife February 8, 2010 at 10:13 pm #

    Hi Shelly!
    Sounds like you had a great weekend!
    As for the alc., personally, eventhough I am still in university – I tend to avoid it. I’ll have it every once in a while, but it just doesn’t have an attraction to me… don’t know why!

    xox Vera

  69. katie February 8, 2010 at 10:18 pm #

    Hey beauty!!!!

    Sounds like you had a wonderful weekend!!!! Loving Gardner’s face in the pic, lol!! The Long Island in the mason jar, too funny!!

    Im loving the jeans too, bet they look hot!! Yay for new jeans, I love shopping!!

    I hope you have a great night, great eats as always!!!!

    Katie xoxoxo

  70. Audrey February 8, 2010 at 11:30 pm #

    Hi! I just wanted to let you know of a giveaway I am having on my site for Glass Dharma straws. They are beautiful glass straws that are so fun in green smoothies, juices, or even just lemon water. Perhaps your readers would be interested?

    Here is the link to the giveaway: http://justaudreyblog.blogspot.com/2010/02/glass-dharma-straws-giveaway.html

    Thanks! : )

    Audrey
    justaudreyblog.blogspot.com

  71. Holly (The Healthy Everythingtarian) February 8, 2010 at 11:30 pm #

    ummm red shed + long island iced teas = many of the reasons for my college hangovers. i love that i got to live college again through your blog. let’s resched red mango asap, because i want to see you and enjoy some froyoooooooo!

    love ya!

  72. jqlee February 8, 2010 at 11:47 pm #

    I’m happy for your jean purchase! I don’t know if you remember but I commented on one of your posts about my new jean purchases and how I’m afraid they wont fit anymore because I’m on track to gain weight. But hey…what am I supposed to do go naked w/o clothes? Lol. Plus, your jeans are relaly cute anyways. I love zipper designs.

    I’m a bag cookie/pretzel high right now so those everything pretzels look delicious. I think I might have some pretzels dipped in …Dark Chocolate Dreams…mm…

  73. Katharina February 9, 2010 at 12:03 am #

    So your post before made me jealous that you get to go to your school’s cafeteria. Lol no one ever gets why I’m jealous of that–but in your last post you mentioned the social aspect and I love that. Whenever someone swipes me in (once in a blue moon) I get so excited and kind of like deer in headlights because I’m amazed at all of the choices. So much fun!!! Hooray for a successful shopping trip and Long Island Iced Teas in a mason jar (damn girl lol).

    1. Favorite thing I did this weekend?? Making a long trek out in to civilization after being snowed in lol. Well actually maybe number one was hanging out with one of my best friends when it first started to snow and visiting her family (I call her mom, Mom #2 lol).

    2. I am pretty much with you on this. I don’t really like to drink alcohol myself though because it makes me break out (uuuugh) and I always feel like an old man the next day lolol–sore joints and all hahaha. I know some people that think they only know how to socialize when they’re drunk though and I don’t think that’s too cool. They should give themselves more credit!

    XOXO love you girlie

    http://www.ohonemorething.wordpress.com

  74. traynharder23 February 9, 2010 at 1:04 am #

    you HAVE to try mustard on salad. unless i’m funky fresh.

    anhahah i seriously only had a tasty of peanut butter! so i guessed it to be 1/8th! (it’s okya, i ate a ton at breakfast!)

  75. One Healthy Apple February 9, 2010 at 1:19 am #

    Glad to see you having such a great time and finding something that makes you feel like the hottie you are! I think moderation is key and I can look back on lots of fun alcohol nights!! You also have the boy to protect you and that is very important! Always love to see you enjoying life Hun!

  76. The Candid RD February 9, 2010 at 7:31 am #

    I think your answer regarding alcohol in college was something that I agree with. I will say, I did a lot of binge drinking in college, as I still hadn’t matured completely at that time. I did really well in school so I didn’t let it effect the reason I was there, but I did have a bit TOO MUCH fun when it came to alcohol. Looking back I know it probably effected me more than I thought at the time.

    I remember the days of saying up until 4am and sleeping until 1pm (sometimes 3…..). My roomies and I did that a little too often I believe πŸ™‚ Oh well, like you said, it’s college, it’s all about the experience, and I DEFINITELY had an experience!

    Best part of weekend; hanging out with my mom on Sunday night. We went to Whole Foods and just walked around for a while!

    Have a nice day!

  77. malpaz February 9, 2010 at 9:54 am #

    sounds like fun! i went out saturday night too to a frat party and threw back a few shots…granted im not in college this semester becasue of money but my brother is president of a frat so i am obligated to an extent to go and i stayed out forever! i live for the nigths whenre i am full of energy and just live life- like staying out all hours, sleeping in etc it is LIFE!!!

  78. Averie (LoveVeggiesAndYoga) February 9, 2010 at 10:34 am #

    Hi Shelley! I think that drinking in college is something most everyone does and although most people can’t control themselves, I actually did. I was so focused on stuyding, I didnt live life very much. My wild days actually came AFTER college πŸ™‚

    Congrats on the jeans!!!!!

Leave a Reply

