Random Facts

26 Jan

Ready for some Randomnessss?! πŸ™‚

So breakfast was a delicious bowl of oatmeal- 2 packets of instant oats, 1 banana, 4 strawberries, 2 tbsp of peanut butter, and 1 cup of skim milk.

Random Fact: Oats probably grew first in the colder regions of Europe, and were widely raised as animal food by the time of the ancient Greeks. Oats were brought to America during the 17th century, and today the United States is the greatest oat producer in the world.

this fueled me for my walk up Bascom hill. Bascom hill is a hill in Madison that leads to a majority of the buildings my classes are in. On the one hand, i like having to walk up it every day because it makes me feel like i’m getting some form of exercise haha but on the other hand, i’m tired!!

Random Fact: if a student climbed Bascom Hill once a day, five times a week, 30 weeks a year, for four years, he or she would make the trip 600 times. Multiplied by 850 feet, the total hike equals 510,000 feet, or the equivalent of 17.59 times the height of Mount Everest, almost 97 miles.

Lunch was none other than… a turkey wrap… sorry guys, I bore. 1 whole wheat wrap with turkey & swiss, some kettle chips, veggies & an apple.

Random Fact: It takes 3 pounds of potatoes to make one pound of (American-style) potato chips.

I snuggled with the boy for a while Monday afternoon and then I had chapter for my sorority. We eat dinner at 5:30 and I was kinda freakin out because that meant that I would have to eat dinner way earlier than i’m used to- no fret- I figured out how much I had to eat to make it fit my plan and then I ate two snacks later.

The food was actually pretty good– naan bread, curry chicken, sweet potato, and veggies/salad!

I came home, watched Bachelor, & then ate my snack which was 1 container of peach chobani, a cup of cereal, 12 almonds, and a tbsp of peanut butter.

Random Fact: There is a 33% chance that a peanut grown in the U.S. will end up as peanut butter

sick of the random facts yet? toooo bad! i am not stoppin here πŸ™‚

I woke up this morning and made another delicious bowl of oats for breakfast… I tried to go with a cinnamon raisin apple theme… hence: 2 instant oat packets, apples, bananas, cinnamon raisin swirl, raisins (& cinnamon after being photographed). Also had some skim milk on the side
I then walked up Bascom Hill (lovely) to go to my horrific econ 101 class. Sorry to be a negative nancy, but I cannot stand this class! The teacher is so disorganized and I can’t understand a word he says. Not to mention a girl two seats away from me would not be quiet… I kind of wanted to say something but hesitated.

Then I had my relaxation class. I wasn’t relaxed today haha but we spent like 2/3 of the class stretching and then did our standard relaxation at the end..lovely πŸ™‚ I then went to the university health services for my weekly weigh in- gradual gain (don’t know the weight) so yayy i’m on the right track.

Met my looovee for lunch in the cafeteria πŸ™‚

I was then off to my therapist for my sesh- luckily Gar let me use his car to get there (he had class). The appointment went really well and I made some great realizations (will talk about them later). (note: whole foods being next to my therapist’s office=bad for my money haha. don’t worry parentals, i’m using my debit)

Random Fact: If you are right handed, you will tend to chew your food on the right side. If you are left handed, you will tend to chew your food on the left side. (omg this is true! I am chewing my gum on the right side as we speak!!)

Snacktime was here before I knew it! I tried pomegranate chobani

review: get this flavor. now. it has the most delicious pomegranate taste to it and was very satisfying. Thank you again Chobani!

I added in a cup of honey sunhine, some almonds, & dark chocolate dreams.

after I ate this I headed to the sorority for a spring rush event- the girls seemed nice!

I came back and socialized with the roomie and a friend for a bit as they chowed down on pizza.

Random Fact: 3 billion pizzas are sold annually, that’s 46 slices each for every man, woman and child in the country.

& then ate dinner with Gar! I was in the mood for a salad, I truly was. So i went with it. Still had to get my 5 carbs in! The salad had feta, eggs, ham & dressing and I had baked lays, apple, & izze clementine flavor (SO SO good)!

Random Fact: chewing gum while peeling onions will keep you from crying….

So that’s that- now i am procrastinating instead of doing reading.

What has gotten into me? I need to get more organized asap. I am all over the place right now.

CJAR

I want to talk about the realization I discussed previously. While talking with my therapist, I talked about how I feel like I get treated poorly at times even though most of the time, I am nice to everyone.

I realized a few things:

a) I am not the only one these people are rude to, I just take it more personally. So i’m sensitive? I need to either learn to brush it off and accept those negative comments as faults in that person’s personality or just avoid people who treat me badly if i can’t brush it off.

b) I need to stop people-pleasing so much. By being so nice to everyone, I end up getting walked on at times (sidenote- this is not usually me… it is just me when trying to make lots of friends in college). So i’m going to do more things for myself and be more myself.

c) I need to do what I want to do more often and not worry so much about what others are doing. I am a nice person, people want to be my friend, so if i’m me and do what makes me happy, others will want to be around me!


Now it’s your turn

1: Give me a random fact!!

2: What is a realization you have made lately?


xoxoxoxox

Shelleyβ™₯

PS- IF I HAVEN’T COMMENTED ON YOUR BLOG IT IS BECAUSE BLOGGER WON’T LET ME!! BOO.

70 Responses to “Random Facts”

  1. **Lauren (BiochemΓ­sta)** January 26, 2010 at 11:27 pm #

    Hey girl πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    What a great post! Love the facts!!! What a cute idea! πŸ™‚

    xx

    Lauren

  2. **Lauren (BiochemΓ­sta)** January 26, 2010 at 11:29 pm #

    Yeah, Blogger totally stinks today!!! 😦

  3. Sara @ Activegal January 26, 2010 at 11:29 pm #

    Random fact…hmmm… I need to stop letting some people walk all over me. I need to learn to stand up for myself with the time is right. Also, I need to learn to keep a positive attitude! That is so important and sometimes I let other things get in the way of that.

  4. merittothecarrot January 26, 2010 at 11:52 pm #

    I feel so much smarter now, thank you Shelley!
    1. I hate mushrooms
    2. Positivity is the greatest factor in any situation. Without it, I’d be doomed.

    Much love!

  5. Averie (LoveVeggiesAndYoga) January 27, 2010 at 12:04 am #

    random fact. I hate garlic.

    I have realized that the only person i can truly count on is my husband. That sounds awful but it’s the truth. 11 yrs later, still going strong πŸ™‚

    I love your a, b, c. I think that you are a total sweetheart and rude people proba think you’re an easy target. You may be sensitive, I am! More so than most, but that can be a good thing in other situations, embrace it sweetie and let the crap roll off!

  6. adrienmelaine January 27, 2010 at 12:08 am #

    Random Fact: I switched my major for the first time from marketing to interior design after two weeks in econ101- and I dropped it on the last day I had to. Then I had to take it again 4 years later- ugh, I feel your pain!

    Random fact number 2: I think you’re wonderful and what you’re doing is amazing!

  7. Allison R. January 27, 2010 at 12:25 am #

    Can’t wait for Harvest tomorrow night!!! πŸ™‚

  8. The voracious Vegan January 27, 2010 at 12:45 am #

    Thank you for the gum chewing preventing onion tears fact! I cook with onion all the time, I love it, but I hate crying like crazy when I’m cooking dinner.

    All of your food looks delicious, as usual. I’m always thrilled when you let us know how well you coped with a change in your schedule without batting an eyelash – that is seriously awesome. I hope you are super proud of yourself!

    I hear you about being more sensitive than most people. I get soooo down when people are short or rude to me, even when I know that they are just jerks. It is hard, isn’t it!?!

  9. funfashionista January 27, 2010 at 1:23 am #

    hey shelley! i love your blog. you’re so great for staying in school and recovering at the same time, you’re an amazing girl! but i loveee the pomegrante chobani ❀ im obsessed. random fact? how about… stressed is desserts spelled backwords :-p lol love it.

    Amy<3

  10. Stef @ moretolifethanlettuce January 27, 2010 at 1:30 am #

    love the randomness of this post! hmm..i heard that flamingos can only eat with their heads upside down. i’m glad that’s not the case for humans!! imagine the hair debacles we would have to deal with. so cute that you had lunch with your man in the caf! i can understand that mean-spirited people would treat you badly bc you are such a nice person, but there’s def a way to still be that nice and kind shelley without getting hurt, i know you’ll find the balance!

  11. melonshot. January 27, 2010 at 1:58 am #

    blogger is being super lame

    haha I so love your random facts πŸ˜€
    made my day!
    your oats look delisio.

    You give me hope and faith girly. That each day will be easier. You are so beautiful. xoxo

    Random fact. The 57 on Heinz ketchup bottles represents the number of varieties of pickles the company once had.

    • lhatala January 28, 2010 at 8:28 pm #

      funny you commented on this my first blog post ever written was about this…. check it out πŸ™‚

      http://lhatala.wordpress.com/2009/11/23/random-fact/

      So Max asked today : β€œWhat does the β€˜57β€² stand for in Heinz’s famous slogan, β€˜57 Varieties?’” –
      I decided to check it out and see so in case you were wondering :

      the Heinz company’s official Web site states: β€œWhile riding a train in New York City in 1896, Henry Heinz saw a sign advertising 21 styles of shoes, which he thought was clever. Although Heinz was manufacturing more than 60 products at the time, Henry thought 57 was a lucky number. So, he began using the slogan β€˜57 Varieties’ in all his advertising. Today the company has more than 5,700 products around the globe, but still uses the magic number of β€˜57.’”

  12. xtaylorrxo January 27, 2010 at 2:28 am #

    if you freeze an onion like an hour before you cut it, you wont tear up. LAME fact (:

  13. justjac January 27, 2010 at 2:40 am #

    haha love the random facts
    ..and the repeating wraps. hey, if it’s working, work it!! :] take care girl.

  14. One Healthy Apple January 27, 2010 at 2:42 am #

    Great post and great job on being flexible!

    Random fact: black licorice is probably the only food I truly hate!

    Hope blogger fixes itself! I miss your comments!

  15. julia January 27, 2010 at 3:26 am #

    Great facts! And you made some valuable realizations today, please remember them! And also remember that there ARE people who appreciate you being nice and your lovely self, like I do:)

    xxx Julia (Taste of Living)

  16. gateauxbellehelene January 27, 2010 at 5:21 am #

    I feel as if I’ve learnt something today, great facts!
    My realisation is similar to your 3rd one. I don’t have any friends in the area I’ve moved to with my BF and my close friends all have busy lives. I often felt down that I just stayed in every night with him and we don’t go out like all my friends at work do. But recently I too have realised that I need to not worry so much about what others are doing. It doesn’t matter what other people do, if I’m happy with my life then thats all that matters! x

  17. Jessica Zara January 27, 2010 at 5:23 am #

    Those are some brilliant random facts. I particularly enjoyed the one concerning peanut butter πŸ˜‰

    I am the same as you in the respect that I have always been a victim and let people treat me like a doormat my entire life. Slowly I am learning that standing up for yourself does not equate to rudeness and being more assertive really does do wonders for your confidence and sense of wellbeing. If something makes you unconmfortable, it’s okay to say ‘no’ to people. I think that that’s the hardest thing ever and I’m still trying to learn to do it rather than just agreeing to everything in order to keep people happy.

    Your oats always look so lovely. I can never get instant oats to taste right…do you cook them in the micro and with milk or water?

    Thanks for the comment about my own breakfast creation…I’m not sure what you meant so I’m a bit confused as to how to answer your question as the topping was just slices of banana…I’m probably being dense here and just not understanding what you were asking. I’m such a ditz.

    ❀

    ~Jess~

  18. Lexi January 27, 2010 at 5:45 am #

    Thanks for all of the random facts!

    Love your eats girlie, esp. the indian food!! My favorite!

    Random fact::::I eat 2 apples everyday! And barely ever get sick! I think an apple a day really does keep the doctor away (knock on wood)

    Realization::::The size of my pants does not define who I am as a person. Numbers don’t mean sh!t

    Have a great day lovie, miss you!

  19. crazylittlethingneela January 27, 2010 at 5:47 am #

    random fact of the day from me:
    you’re so freaking adorable shelley!
    i love your upbeat spirit! you’re eats look amazing and i am so happy for you that things are going well
    xx

  20. tatiannalives January 27, 2010 at 6:09 am #

    Heh.. I absolutely loooved the randoom facts πŸ™‚ You are way too cute!
    I am really glad you learned a lot from your therapy session. I can relate a lot to being a ‘people pleaser’ and sometimes I need to learn not to let people walk all over me.

    You are such an amazing person, and standing up for yourself is only going to make your confidence shine brighter πŸ™‚ Don’t worry so much about what other people will think; you are amazing and people will love you just the way you are. (I know I do!!)
    xox
    Tat

    ps.. the eats are looking great as always πŸ™‚ Keep up the amazing work.. !

    1: Give me a random fact!!
    The smile is the most frequently used facial expression. A smile can use anywhere from a pair of 5 to 53 facial muscles!

    2: What is a realization you have made lately?
    I have realized how important it is to listen to my body and take proper care of myself. Things like taking naps when I am tired, and eating when I am truly hungry are so important and make me feel great πŸ™‚

  21. Jessica @ How Sweet It Is January 27, 2010 at 7:00 am #

    Blogger sucks for me too!!

  22. katie January 27, 2010 at 7:00 am #

    Love the random facts you added in the post, such a cool idea!

    All your breakfast yummies never get old to me, they always look so good!!!

    Isn’t the pomegranate chobani the best!!! I love that flavor too!!!!

    Random Fact – I am very sensitive, so when people do hurtful things to me, it really breaks me down, I am alot stronger though than I ever have been in my life : )

    love ya girl!!!

  23. Jenna January 27, 2010 at 7:41 am #

    Ya blogger has been acting weird the past few days- I think it is going under some construction!
    Liked the random facts and great eats- good job at your weigh in! Keep it up girl! I know it’s tough but you gotta do it and you are doing awesome πŸ™‚
    Jenna

  24. Aimee January 27, 2010 at 7:56 am #

    Hi there – just wanted to say how much I enjoyed you post today – especially the random facts – what a fun post – it totally put a smile on my face!!!!
    Love all of your eats – you are an inspiration to keep trying each and every day!!!!! Thanks!!!!
    My realization – after reading your post – i too am a “people pleaser” – i need to think about what I want rather than what other people EXPECT from me!!
    Thanks for opening my eyes to this!!
    Have a great WEdnesday – xoxo aimee

  25. Abby January 27, 2010 at 7:57 am #

    Fabulous post.. all your eats look incredibly yummy.. especially that din din plate with naan and sweet taters!! πŸ˜‰

    Enjoy your Wednesday!

  26. Gabriela January 27, 2010 at 8:00 am #

    1. Elephants are the only mammals that can’t jump.
    2. I realized recently that I don’t have to tell other people what they want to hear in order for them to like me. I’ve always altered my personality a little to the people I’m around- which sounds fake, but I do it subconsciously and usually it’s because I don’t want people to think I’m disagreeable or mean. Just like you, I’m realizing I don’t need to please everyone!

    I love the cinnaraisinapple combo!

  27. Ashlei January 27, 2010 at 8:22 am #

    I love Indian food! You’re making so much progress πŸ™‚

    Those are some great realizations you’ve made…I am pretty sensitive to stuff like that too..sometimes it’s hard to just brush it off, but doing more for you and to please you is great! πŸ™‚

    ❀
    Ashlei

  28. MelissaNibbles January 27, 2010 at 8:39 am #

    Your oats in the first picture look amazing.
    Relaxation class sounds fun πŸ™‚

  29. Shelleysveryproudmom January 27, 2010 at 8:41 am #

    LOVE this post Shelley!
    RANDOM FACT: I LOVE YOU!!!!!!!!

    Mom
    xo

  30. theemptynutjar January 27, 2010 at 8:49 am #

    Shelley…can I come eat with u? You and Amanda have the most awesome looking eats! (needs more dessert though πŸ™‚

    Seriously…you do so well…it makes me ….sad and mad at myself…

    anyway, your 3 Realizations are SPOT-ON…perfect…

    1. Random Fact: Shelley is amazing πŸ™‚

    2. Realization: I do not need a fancy job, a written book, money to do courses, money to take yoga, etc to be a good person…I just need me …i just need me…and if i have me, then i am good enuf…i have to stop attaching my IDENTITY to those things like job and athletics….I dont have those anymore (well – not a job I like anyway)…so I have to be MORE….I must be good enuf without any attachments.

  31. blueeyedheart January 27, 2010 at 8:51 am #

    I loved the random facts!! πŸ™‚ Here’s one: it’s impossible to sneeze with your eyes open. (It is. I’ve tried. ;))

    ❀ ❀

  32. Morgan January 27, 2010 at 8:52 am #

    LOVE the random facts!
    Let’s see…miniature schnauzers (the kind of dog I have) were originally bred as ratters…they would go down into trenches and holes and catch all of the rats and other animals. Seriously though, he’s adorable!

  33. Gelareh @ Orange Truffle January 27, 2010 at 8:59 am #

    Random fact: I met my husband the first day of grad school and thought to myself he would make some girl a perfect husband.. forgot about him until 6 months later ran into him again and he asked me out… now he is my perfect husband πŸ™‚

    Self realization…. I have an aunt who still treats me like I am 16… I need to step up and let her know tht she can do that any more.

    I am going to pay attention and see if I chew on the left side or not today… since I am lefty πŸ™‚

  34. Molly January 27, 2010 at 9:06 am #

    blah I have a problem with people pleasing too. It REALLY gets to me!

    On an other note though, I crave salad ALL THE TIME. hmmm I remember when I was “trying” to eat them all the time I HATED them. Now I just cant get enough(plus I love loadin them with all the good stuff!)

    Happy wednesday girly!

    xo- Molly
    http://www.givinganythingbutup.wordpress.com

  35. Sara K January 27, 2010 at 10:26 am #

    Your sorority dinner looks great! And I just bought the pomegranate Chobs too…can’t wait to try it!
    Yeah gotta say, it’s tough learning to assert yourself- i still have a hard time with saying no to people or articulating what I do or don’t want to do- it’s something I’m practising though πŸ™‚
    Hope you have a wonderful day and love the random facts!

  36. Karin January 27, 2010 at 10:26 am #

    This is such a lovely post! I loved all the random facts!

    1. Women blink nearly twice as much as men.
    2. goat cheese works well with fennel πŸ˜‰

  37. JW January 27, 2010 at 10:31 am #

    Random Fact- I love your blog! You are such an inspiration girl. You are doing amazing and should be proud of yourself. I am trying to recover from anorexia as well. It has been a long battle for me (9 years). I know how hard it is and I admire your strength so much! You go girl and keep on pushing!!

  38. Casey January 27, 2010 at 10:56 am #

    Love the random facts! πŸ™‚

    Realization–I don’t have to blog constantly to have a good blog. I was trying too hard there for a while, and I’m enjoying it more now that I’m only doing it a few times a week. πŸ™‚

  39. Stephanie January 27, 2010 at 11:22 am #

    Fun Fact # 1: My favorite food is sushi
    Fun Fact #2: I have three tattoos and counting…

    I’m a sensitive person too, so I tend to take things a little too personally…but as you get a little older you start to come in to your own and you’ll learn to not care as much.

    You’re a sweetheart and doing great things with your life so don’t worry so much about the naysayers. Negativity directed at other people usually stems from their own inner issues anyway.

  40. Missy Maintains January 27, 2010 at 11:36 am #

    Love all your random facts! I never knew that about chewing gum and onions! Also so true that I chew on my right side.

  41. Lo January 27, 2010 at 11:49 am #

    random fact? i can twist my left arm in a circle 360 degrees…double jointed.

    i think 2 packets of oats should be the serving side rather than the 1 listed on the original oats flavor box. I mean 1 packet is just so little and two is sooooo good, thick and filling πŸ™‚ keep on rocking your meals!

    xoxo

    lolo

  42. oatsandchocolate January 27, 2010 at 12:52 pm #

    hey shelley! loving all the eats as usual (; and i love izzes- so good. they sold them at my old school and i was ADDICTED. these random facts are so funny… okay mine is – coke was originally greennn! narsttty. and realization is that true friends will stick with you no matter what πŸ™‚ have a great wednesday! xoxo soph

  43. Whitney @ Lettuce Love January 27, 2010 at 1:00 pm #

    Great post! Love the random facts. I heard a while ago that if you are right handed you chew on the right side of your mouth. I decided to end that and now I chew on the left. So weird!

  44. tryingtoheal January 27, 2010 at 1:04 pm #

    emus and kangaroos can’t walk backwards!!! πŸ™‚ hahahah!

    love all the random facts! and by goodness those oats and yogurt messes look freak’n awesome!

  45. seekmyself January 27, 2010 at 1:15 pm #

    Yay for good eats and a positive mood! Again, girl, you’re such an inspiration! ❀

    Random fact: if you put a raisin in a fresh glass of champagne, it will rise and fall continuously…

    Something I've realized lately: it's important to just stop everything and breathe when life gets overwhelming.

  46. Brynne January 27, 2010 at 1:18 pm #

    Love the random facts and LOVE your realizations! So so true!

  47. lowandbhold January 27, 2010 at 1:21 pm #

    I loved the random facts! That kind of stuff makes me happy πŸ™‚

  48. Little Notes January 27, 2010 at 1:52 pm #

    πŸ™‚ loved those facts, Im eating my dinner reading this and now Im trying to work out which side I chew with!

    I tend to be a people pleaser as well, sometimes you just have to teach yourself to be more assertive and put your foot down. It gets easier with practise πŸ™‚

    Thanks for all your support recently,
    xox
    Laura

  49. Katelyn January 27, 2010 at 1:58 pm #

    love this post! don’t know about a random fact, but i did recently realized that it’s very important not to compare your weight and health habits to other people.

  50. Anna January 27, 2010 at 1:59 pm #

    Hooray for breakthroughs!!

    My personal breakthrough is that I need to apply detachment in all areas of my life. The idea of detachment helped me get over my ED, and I feel like it will continue to help me in college life as well, especially because everything is so new and different it can be a little stressful sometimes!

  51. Kelly January 27, 2010 at 2:43 pm #

    Loved the random facts!! Especially the one about being right handed and chewing on the right side! Totally true! Although I still cry when I chop onions while chewing gum…maybe I just have overly senstitive tear ducts!! haha!

    I also liked you realizations about yourself. I, too, used to feel the need to be a people pleaser but my husband made me realize that the only person I need to please is myself. By making sure I am happy I am more liking to treat others good and that in turn makes me pleasing to be around! Ah…such a wise man I married! haha! πŸ™‚

  52. Cassie January 27, 2010 at 3:16 pm #

    Random Fact: Your yogurt + nut butter combos make me drool.

    Realization: Strong feels (and looks!) better than skinny. (Thought of the “and looks!” part on my way out of the gym this morning. :))

  53. daintyvegan January 27, 2010 at 3:27 pm #

    I loooooooove random facts! Here’s one about the ever fun kiss:
    “Kissing is good for teeth. The anticipation of a kiss increases the flow of saliva to the mouth, giving the teeth a plaque-dispersing bath.”
    So kiss more peeps because it’ll keep your teeth nice! =D

    I don’t think I’ve come to a realization.. except that.. no, I really don’t have one. Lol. Yours are great though!

  54. Melissa January 27, 2010 at 3:43 pm #

    Great random facts and even better realizations.

    You really seem like you’re growing and learning so much as you continue on this process to get healthy. πŸ™‚

    Jealous of you. I STILL have not tried pomegranate Chobani!

  55. malpaz January 27, 2010 at 4:29 pm #

    hahah wow i have learned quite a bit..

    random fact- the marrow of meat bones contains every single nutrient, mineral and viatmin the human body needs

  56. Chrysta January 27, 2010 at 4:39 pm #

    i love all your random facts. How fun!! I love just crazy random trivia. lol. It makes my day. Really great realizations too. I think they are so true. I hope you are having a lovely day!

  57. whydeprive January 27, 2010 at 4:49 pm #

    I love the random facts. I dont however only chew on the right side of my mouth. But thats more OCD than anything else. Everything has to be even – so one bite goes on the right side, and the next on the left side. Ive been like that since I was little.
    Im glad you had these realizations! They will help you so much.
    I havent had any great ones lately.
    I do have a random fact though – when we think men arent listening to us, it isnt entirely their fault. The female voice is more complex than the male voice and men have trouble listening to it. Basically theyre genetically designed to ignore us.

  58. homecookedem January 27, 2010 at 5:12 pm #

    What an adorable post!! I loved all of your random facts!! I’m definitely going to try chewing gum the next time I chop up onions.

    All of your meals look so good!! πŸ™‚

  59. katie anne January 27, 2010 at 5:32 pm #

    ok u ready for this?..
    i got to bed everynight with socks ON -ihave to in ordert ofall asleep!- and every morning they are thrown on my floor!

    ok realization….im not a school person. i try sooo hard to be, but it has no interest to me. i rather be doing something!

  60. Naomi (onefitfoodie) January 27, 2010 at 7:19 pm #

    booo what is going on with blogger!? so sad…anyways, your food looks delish as always! I havent tried the pom chobani yet! thanks fro the review though!
    hmmm what is a random fact that I have to share…you burn more calories in your sleep than you do watching tv!! I never knew that till someone told me!(still don’t know if its true!) lol

    I have realized on the days that I feel like a bottomless pit, I must eat more, not just wait it out and eat what i had ‘planned’ I mean, I am extra hungry for a reason, right? so thats just what I have been doing today because NOTHING seems to fill me up!!!

    have a great night love!

  61. kbwood January 27, 2010 at 7:33 pm #

    IT WONT LET ME COMMENT ON BLOGGER EITHER!! so frustrating!
    shelley-you are a ray of sunshine. i just adore you. do you have a twitter? you are doing an AWESOME job girl!! yeah , people pleasing is so hard, i used to be like that and ED was so hard on me, but then the Lord freed me of that, i was like, i am only on this earth for the Lord, and NOT people! and im so proud of you for realizing it!

  62. Sarah January 27, 2010 at 8:22 pm #

    Wonderful realizations. I think I’m quite similar at times. I try to be laid back and end up being ordered around by others.
    Love the pomegranate chobani, too. It’s SO good.
    Sarah
    http://www.sarahdbelle.wordpress.com

  63. sophia January 27, 2010 at 11:39 pm #

    Love your random facts. And the fact that U.S is the biggest oat producer! That must be why it’s more expensive overseas.

  64. Rachael January 28, 2010 at 2:45 am #

    I love the randomness of this post, but I love all things random so that’s not suprising. πŸ˜‰ I also reeeally love your eats. They all look so incredibly delicious!
    It’s not really a realization as much as a quote that really struck me, but whatever! – “Acting because of fear is cowardice; acting with fear is the courage that survives it.”

    Rachael*

  65. Lauren January 28, 2010 at 7:12 am #

    I love these facts! You are so enlightening! πŸ™‚

    ❀ you girl!!!

  66. Emily (The Experimentarian) January 28, 2010 at 8:02 am #

    Hey girl! Just wanted to say hi. I popped over from Holly’s blog, and I have to say, I can relate SO much to the things you’ve mentioned in your last couple of posts. I actually laughed out loud when I saw you refer to getting your 5 carbs in! that’s me! Also, when you talked about reaching a healthy weight and still feeling uncertain of the restoration–I am right there, too! Hang in there though!
    P.S. I use my thereapist as an excuse to stop by WF, too–I will have to pick up a kombucha next time for ya! xoxo

  67. Mitri January 28, 2010 at 9:21 am #

    The randomness is so fun πŸ™‚
    Random #1: Did you know that you are fantastic? πŸ˜‰

    I am similar to you; I think sometimes I need to be more assertive about what I do or do not want to do. This is our ONE LIFE. Do we really want to live it any other way?

  68. Holly January 28, 2010 at 12:28 pm #

    yayyyyy soooo happy to have finally met you! i had so much fun last night, and i am excited for a hot red mango date with all you ladies!

    i am a classic people pleaser too – with time, i have understood that it is not all about me. sometimes people are just having a bad day/have a lot on their plate and i need to remember that!

  69. betterwhenweretogether January 28, 2010 at 1:58 pm #

    Hey Shelley! I’ver just became a blogger liek two days ago but i loooove your blog! your food looks sooo delicous. I just bought honey sunshine cereal and i have had no idea what to eat it with but im definatly trying your yogurt mixture! Have a good day ❀

Leave a Reply

