Livin my Life

23 Jan

I’m alive πŸ™‚

School has been crazy- i am not used to school work, and I am already a little bit behind. Zoology 101 is going to be so tough for me- i am not a science person at all 😦

I feel like it’s been so long since i’ve posted and so i’ll try to recap what has been going on as best as I can πŸ™‚

Wednesday I woke up and ate this breakfast which was 2 packets of instant oats, raisins, banana, cinnamon, peanut butter, slivered almonds & chocolate milk- what a messsss.

I didn’t take food pictures for the rest of the day because I ate with friends and stuff- nothing wrong with that :). I was actually really proud of myself. My friend invited me over for dinner. I had eaten my snack an hour before so I kind of started freaking out because I didn’t want to eat so close together and I didn’t know what she was making (note: this girl is known for trix yogurt, fried chicken, and pizza hahah). I decided, though, that I would go, eat a little and get a real meal in later!

I went and she made a chicken, veggie & rice stir fry. I had a little bit, was there for a couple hours, and then got a real dinner! yay πŸ™‚ I was so happy I chose not to isolate myself and instead enjoy a meal with my friends.

Thursday I started the day with a yogurt mess featuring vanilla oikos. It also had a cup of cascadian cinnamon crunch cereal, peanut butter, raisins, & walnuts..yummm.

I was so excited to find that I had a package waiting for me in the mail- CHOBANI SAMPLES!!! Thank you so much Chobani!

For lunch I had turkey, swiss & avocado on a tomato basil tortilla wrap with an apple and G2!

I had my appointment with my therapist and it is right by Whole Foods! I couldn’t resist going in and I picked up my afternoon snack. I had a macrobar & synergy drink! Both were really good.

I had never tried synergy before but i LOVED it. I was shocked by the taste but thought it was delicious πŸ™‚

Then I came home and relaxed & did some work. I ended up eating dinner with the boy in the cafeteria! I brought my own sunshine veggie burger and had some cheese with it on pumpernickle rye bread, an apple, soy vanilla milk (YUM), and a salad!

Then I went to a party that was a lot of fun..it was great to catch up with friends…. view my transportation of choice πŸ˜‰

bahaha. just kidding- this didn’t last long! Anyways, it was a fun, gertrude-free tonight. In fact, I have been feeling GREAT lately. I feel energized and I love it!

I have Friday classes this semester- booo- so I woke up at 8:30 for my 9:55 class and ate breakfast. I tried Chobani Plain 2% in my yogurt mess. It froze because I put it in the wrong fridge (oops) but i actually lOVED it frozen!!! it tasted so good. Thanks again Chobani πŸ™‚ I added peanut butter bumpers, dark chocolate dreams, raisins, craisins, and a banana.

class was ok but ahhh I was so lost in zoologysomeone helllpp!! haha. Lunch was rushed. I went to Gardner’s and made a quick wrap, grabbed some cheddar bunnies & pretzels (unpictured) & then took an apple and some veggies to go. I had to go to my 1:20 discussion and it is in the most confusing building ever. I literally ran around the whole building before I found the room. This is all I pictured of lunch by the wayy.

After class I relaxed, did some work, & then went over to Gardner’s and napped! After I left his place, it was snack time!

Even though I had greek yogurt for breakfast, I really wanted to try the strawberry banana flavor! I loved it. Usually i’m not crazy about flavored greek yogurt, but this one was amazing. Strawberry banana flavored things are my favorite! I added some granola, cereal, & peanut butter and put it in my fav bowl. love it.

Then I got ready, socialized, all that stuff & ate dinner before going out for the night! I had a baked potato with butter & ketchup, an apple & a kashi red curry chicken frozen meal… the frozen meal was amazing! Kashi never disappoints πŸ™‚

I had a good night! I hung out with people I don’t usually hang out with and it was a lot of fun.

This morning I ate yet another yogurt mess. My meals might be a little repetitive but honestly it is only because I am too busy to take a lot of time planning new, exciting meals. I think this is probably a good thing though because as long as i’m following my meal plan I don’t necessarily need or want to spend so much time thinking about food! I’m just livin my lifee 😎

This featured vanilla chobani. I loved it. It was thick and had a really good taste- I could definitely eat it plain. I’d recommend it πŸ™‚ I added cinnamon cascadian crunch, bananas, dark chocolate bunnies (yumm) & almond butter I bought at Whole Foods!

so that’s that. I’ve been following my meal plan to a T and it feels really good. I actually am starting to truly just feel ambivalent about the whole thing. I mean, to be honest, I usually am hungry enough to eat the food on my meal plan- so why not enjoy it, you know?

There is another thing I wanted to bring up. Lately i’ve been struggling with feeling like I always have to be the one to initiate plans when I want to hang out with people. I got kind of down about it yesterday but then after I complained and whined, at 6:30 three different people called me. Of course people like me and want to hang out with me, I just am way too stressed about being on a schedule and was being way too insecure.

This made me realize that as important as a schedule is for things like eating and following my meal plan right now, I don’t always need to know what i’m doing for the night hours in advance. It isn’t how the world operates and it isn’t how other people operate. Spontaneity is such a fun part of life and I need to just slow down.


Questions:

Do any of you struggle with letting your need to be on a schedule stress you out when others don’t?

What foods can you not get enough of? For me it is yogurt messes & turkey wraps πŸ™‚ I think you all know that haha.



xoxoxoxox

Shelleyβ™₯

69 Responses to “Livin my Life”

  1. Stef @ moretolifethanlettuce January 23, 2010 at 12:57 pm #

    i struggle with that insecurity too, but you’re right, people DO like you and want to hang out with you, and spontaneity is what life is all about! OMG wow check out that chobani haul, lucky girl!

  2. traynharder23 January 23, 2010 at 1:00 pm #

    i feel like that- i always try to do stuff with people but they just don’t give me the vibe that they want to too! ugh!

    but hey, i have to think that they might be busy and that’s why..not that they hate me or what!
    CHOBANI hollahh! isnt strawberry banana pretty darn good! i thought it’d taste horrible because i’ve had teh yoplait version on airplanes (DOES ANYTHING TASTE GOOD ON AIRPLANES?! NO!) but it was AWESOME! i love vanilla chobani with cinnamon puffins. JUST SAYIn’. =D hugssss

  3. merittothecarrot January 23, 2010 at 1:01 pm #

    You are amazing, it’s so fantastic that you are comfortable with your meal plan.

    I always feel like I MUST know what I’m doing, with my friends or whomever, when we hangout… but then I stop, think, and realize that spontaneity is what produces the best memories.

    Sam

  4. Lily @ Lily's Health Pad January 23, 2010 at 1:02 pm #

    Oh my gosh. I’m exactly like you about having to be on a schedule. I think it drive my boyfriend a bit batty.

    When I was in college, I had the same problem. People would be solidifying plans at 10 p.m. I wanted to know what the plan was the day before!!

  5. Megan January 23, 2010 at 1:03 pm #

    I always like to have a schedule and know what I’m doing for the day.. it does kind of stress me out when something happens that doesn’t go according to plan, but I’ve learned to just relax and that things can even turn out better than expected!

    And girl, we are TWINS!! I cannot ever get enough greek yogurt messes… I eat one for breakfast practically every day and when I don’t have one for breakfast, it has to make an appearance somewhere else in my day!

  6. **Lauren (BiochemΓ­sta)** January 23, 2010 at 1:08 pm #

    Hey girl πŸ™‚

    Congrats on making so much progress! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    The foods I allllllways need around are stuff for protein smoothies, almond butter, beans (I love them added to anything), apples, and greek yogurt. Oh and red wine πŸ˜‰

    Sometimes when I get stressed about what others think or expect of me I stop back, relax, and ask myself “What do I truly want to do right now?”. Sometimes I also have to remind myself that if I choose option A rather than B (or vise versa) I will still get to the destination I want. And if I choose option A 7 hours before I need to make the decision, I’m still making decision A.

    I really reeeeeally recommend that you (and everyone) read the book The Power of Now. It has seriously changed my life and it seems like many of the questions you are asking yourself, is what I struggled with.

    Hope you have a great weekend!!!! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    xx

    Lauren

  7. Bri January 23, 2010 at 1:09 pm #

    I have the same problem with sticking to a schedule its truly horrible. Honestly should I just move to where you live and we could sync our schedules so we would always have someone to hangout with haha? I’m learning/trying to be more spontaneous but its hard because I’m a pretty type A person when it comes to schedules 😦

  8. katey January 23, 2010 at 1:12 pm #

    heyyy girl! I’m so happy everything is going well for you at school… πŸ™‚ I have a couple questions for you though! (feel free to shoot me an email if it’s easier for you)

    1) Do you making all your food yourself in college? How do you manage that living in the dorm?

    2) I’m on a similar meal plan, and I have a question. If you use a slice of cheese w/ 5g of fat, and 7g of protein, do you count it as a protein.. or a protein AND a fat.. or do your fats have to be added? (like PB, MAYO).. i’m just curious! πŸ™‚ thanksss

    • Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth) January 24, 2010 at 11:03 pm #

      hey! sorry i’m so late in responding!!! Good questions.
      For one, i do not make all my food myself in college! I go to the cafeteria a lot except there is a grocery store around the corner so I stock up on greek yogurt πŸ™‚ I usually make my own breakfast but go to the cafeteria and eat it and get a banana, coffee, etc. from there. I almost always eat lunch and dinner in the cafeteria too. Since the new grocery store opened, though, I am able to make my own stuff more!
      As for the exchanges, i count a slice of cheese as 1 fat and 1 protein. i’m not sure how your plan is though because some dietitians don’t let you count it as two things.
      hope this answered your questions πŸ™‚

      xoxo
      shelley

      • katey January 25, 2010 at 9:11 am #

        Yeah- it did! thank you πŸ™‚ I’m just going off to college next year, and I was just wondering. Your meals look so good, and I was just curious if your caf served real looking food… haha thanks!

  9. Emily (http://funnyemily.wordpress.com) January 23, 2010 at 1:13 pm #

    schedules are the story of my life. i am always the girl wanting to know what’s going on nearly days in advance. i am not good at the whole spontaneity thing, definitely something to work on. because you’re right it just about living your life.
    mm the food looks so fab! you’re doing so great πŸ™‚ & there’s no shame in things getting repetitive…i think it’s kind of a fact of college.
    happy weekend beautiful!
    xoxo

  10. tryingtoheal January 23, 2010 at 1:15 pm #

    I used to have problems with needing to always know what I’m doing, my ED playing the devil and not letting me go out and enjoying myself, but after a while i just had to accept that letting lose would let me have more fun and enjoy myself. ti’s been hard, even after college, but the spontaneity is fun now!

  11. jenna January 23, 2010 at 1:17 pm #

    i am SO with you girl! i will never get sick of yogurt messes and turkey sandwiches/wraps!
    i agree with you shelley! who care if you hae yogurt messes every morning (i do) and they are quick and easy and if they fit into your meal plan, then why change?!
    love the heart bowl, is it from targettt?!
    jenna

  12. theemptynutjar January 23, 2010 at 1:31 pm #

    You can do no wrong…you are amazing and oats and cereal are great with chocolate milk! I LOVE wraps and bread-sandwiches you have – terrific. Veggie burgers on bread with avocado are great! Love your breakfasts — packed with goodies- the way it should be…no chobani in canada 😦
    Girl…so proud of you pushing yourself about isolation…u know a lot of people would NEVER do that…u r truly making the most of what you have . Thinkin of ya Shelley – πŸ™‚

  13. Julie @savvyeats January 23, 2010 at 1:38 pm #

    The raspberry Chobani is my FAVE. Though I pretty much like all the Chobani yogurts.

    I’m totally with you on the scheduling thing and feeling like I have to be the one to initiate. I’m always so proud of myself when I let myself ‘go with the flow’ — you should be, too!

    Although, I do know you have a pretty exciting dinner date on the schedule for Wednesday, around 8:30 I think? πŸ˜‰

  14. Lexi January 23, 2010 at 1:39 pm #

    Foods I can’t get enough of lately: Peanut butter!

    I love all your eats girl, and I’m so glad you’ve just been livin your life! Amen!

  15. kbwood January 23, 2010 at 1:43 pm #

    girl GOOD for you for not isolating yourself! isnt that such a freeing feeling?! and that is an awesome meal your friend made for you girl!!
    i love all your yogurts! isnt it so good frozen? u should try freezing the fruit flavor for like 2 hours before you eat it..SO good!!!
    i cant get enough of PB..ever!:)

  16. Ashlei January 23, 2010 at 1:45 pm #

    I am totally addicted to those Synergy drinks <333

    I cannot get enough of those, coconut water, and anything else involving coconut (yogurt, ICE CREAM!!) πŸ˜€

  17. Jessica Zara January 23, 2010 at 1:45 pm #

    I am completely OCD about my schedule and used to panic like crazy when I wouldn’t be able to cross off everything on one of my many ‘to do’ lists for the day. I am getting better with it though: life just does not run to a rigid schedule and I’m slowly starting to accept that.

    Obviously I can’t get enough of PB but I particularly love my protein oats at the moment too. Oh, and tangerines! They’re the only thing stopping me from getting a horrible cold, I’m convinced of it πŸ˜‰

    Good for you for getting out and living life : ) That photo of you in the shopping cart really made me smile…you look so carefree and happy!

    ❀

    ~Jess~

  18. Caitlyn (Letters from the Oasis) January 23, 2010 at 1:46 pm #

    I love the Synergy kombucha juice… it helps with so many things! Whenever I feel sick I drink one to use as defense against colds.

    I could live off of Peanut butter toast on honey oat bread, and pasta… πŸ™‚

  19. homecookedem January 23, 2010 at 1:46 pm #

    YAY! Glad you got the chobani samples!! I think they taste even better than the ones I buy in the stores… I can’t figure out if that’s a mental thing or if they really are fresher!!

    I can’t get enough of apples, yogurt, pb, and oatmeal!! πŸ˜‰

  20. Kristine January 23, 2010 at 1:48 pm #

    I have recently developed a love for pumpernickle bread!
    I’m so sad to hear about your struggles, but stay strong because I know you will conquer this!!!
    Thanks for your honesty, too!

  21. Morgan @ Healthy Happy Place January 23, 2010 at 2:10 pm #

    glad you had a good day πŸ™‚ I wish I had food options other than cafeteria food while I was in college!!

  22. Abby January 23, 2010 at 2:16 pm #

    I took Zoology in college, too and remember it not being as easy as I anticipated!

    Your eats are looking great, Shelley.. it truly seems like you are doing quite well!!! πŸ™‚

    I cant get enough apples, almond butter, and pita bread.. Im weird. lol

  23. tatiannalives January 23, 2010 at 2:21 pm #

    Shelley!
    So glad to see you are back and updating πŸ˜› I was beginning to miss you girl! … In a way I am incredibly happy though that you were too busy to blog – you are getting your life back! Socializing? Not always thinking about your next meal? Eating with friends? Keeping busy and having fun? These are all things that you have been working towards and they are all starting to come to you naturally!

    I am so amazed, impressed, and completely happy for you! Congratulations on breaking yet again another barrier.

    xox
    Tat

  24. julia January 23, 2010 at 2:27 pm #

    Good job girl, it will all get more and more easier, believe me!
    And maybe after a while you will notice you become a bit more ‘relaxed’, switch things without compensating/eating out more…I’m so proud of you, keep this strong girl!

    xxx Julia (Taste of Living)

  25. gateauxbellehelene January 23, 2010 at 2:37 pm #

    Hi, well done for having a meal with your friends on Wednesday. I remember when I used to turn those down so know how you must have been feeling. Congrats for doing it!
    I am like you about schedules, I have to know what’s happening. it annoys my boyfriend when I stress out about not knowing what’s going on! I am trying to ‘go with the flow more’ but it’s difficult. I’m not good at being spontaneous.
    Food I can’t live without = cheese! I love it, even though too much is not great! x

  26. seekmyself January 23, 2010 at 3:03 pm #

    Hey sweet! It’s so great to see you living and enjoying your life πŸ™‚ I’m still stuck in the isolation phase, and trying to push past it. You give a girl hope though πŸ™‚ And your eats look fantastic, as always.

    I use to be really rigid about my schedule… it made life so hard and miserable. Over time, I’ve learned to relax a bit more, and go with the flow… though I still get a bit anxious if I have to deviate TOO far from my schedule.

    I can’t get enough yogurt, almond butter, oats, and chocolate πŸ™‚

    Have a great weekend hun! ❀

  27. Gabriela January 23, 2010 at 3:16 pm #

    We seem so similar…I feel the same way! I get stressed when I don’t know exactly what’s going to happen that night, and I’m trying to learn to go with the flow, too. Ironically, I feel like I have way more fun when I just wing it!

    Synergy is delicious, isn’t it? Really weird, but in a good way!

  28. **Lauren (BiochemΓ­sta)** January 23, 2010 at 3:27 pm #

    Hey doll,

    I added you to my blogroll…Is that cool? I don’t know the etiquette as I’m new to the blogging world πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    xx

    Lauren

  29. Meg's Gut January 23, 2010 at 3:34 pm #

    I usually feel like I’m always the one to initiate plans as well…sometimes it’s annoying, right?
    Sometimes I wonder…why doesn’t she/he invite me to that or whatever. Once I do make a plan though it all comes together really well and everyone has a great time together. It reminds me that sometimes I just have to be the one to take the turn. Once you take your turn good things usually come from it. (I hope I made sense in that little rant haha).

    Right now I can’t get enough of honey crisp apples with sunflower seed butter and cinnamon…oh, and also dates with almonds. So good!

  30. daintyvegan January 23, 2010 at 3:54 pm #

    Schedules are a part of why it’s hard for me to hang out – if I haven’t planned to hang out and someone springs an invitation on me at the last minute.. I usually end up declining. I’m trying to change that now but it’s not an easy habit to break.

    I love the picture of you in the shopping cart! My friends and I love to do that. πŸ˜€ It’s always fun.. except for the one time where I was being pushed, my friend saw people coming, panicked, pushed me away in the cart and then ran off to hide in the bushes.

    I can’t get enough of.. apples!

  31. Shelleysveryproudmom January 23, 2010 at 4:09 pm #

    Keep up the great work Shell! Don’t forget to take long deep breaths and try to limit your anxiety. Go with the flow and its ok to not have anything on the agenda….that would be your time to RELAX! Have fun and enjoy life!
    LOVE AND MISS YOU!
    xxoo MOM ooxx

  32. katrina January 23, 2010 at 4:12 pm #

    hmmm fage!!!!
    btw what does pumpernickel taste like?
    ooo and also, do u still do nighttime snacks?

    so proud of u! zoology! yikes!
    xoxoxo

  33. Molly January 23, 2010 at 4:22 pm #

    yay! Im so glad you’re doing well…and you are getting out there and doing dinner/partying with friends. It’s so nerve racking (I know, trust me) but in the end the memories and the time away from thinking about things is SO much better!
    Have a good rest of your weekend!

    xo- Molly
    http://www.givinganythingbutup.wordpress.com

  34. The Candid RD January 23, 2010 at 4:48 pm #

    I just had a conversation with my mother about how I need to “slow down and not be so rigid with my schedule”. Actually, in the past couple years I’ve gotten MUCH better and not letting “Schedules” run my life. I’m much more relaxed and in the moment. She still thinks I need to work on it, but maybe I do, I guess it’s something I will always be working on.

    As for food obsessions, I got that same Chobani yogurt package in the mail from a giveaway. I’m REALLY into it!

  35. Susan January 23, 2010 at 4:49 pm #

    It sounds like you’re doing great girl! Keep it up!

    I got through phases with food. Right now I could eat sweet potato or butternut squash at every meal and be a happy camper!

  36. Averie (LoveVeggiesAndYoga) January 23, 2010 at 5:30 pm #

    I am so happy that you’re following your plan and staying on track, whatever it takes girl, whatever works, go with it!

    I never get sick of broccoli. I know, call me crazy. It’s true πŸ™‚

    xoox

  37. whydeprive January 23, 2010 at 5:39 pm #

    I was so glad to read that you’re feeling so good these days! Thats so wonderful!

    Im starting to realize that maybe its not my schedule thats the problem for me, its more my OCD. It doesnt matter what I have on my schedule if I got the good parking space outside my house, it can wait. I get serious anxiety about not getting that spot. I mean, worst case scenario I park 30 feet further away. Would I die? No. But it would make me crazy. I should really work on that.

  38. MelissaNibbles January 23, 2010 at 6:23 pm #

    I’m jealous of all that Chobani! I love the vanilla.

    Great job getting out there and enjoying life and not being afraid of what food might be there. You rock girl!

  39. Becca January 23, 2010 at 6:38 pm #

    omg so jealous of that lovely package from chobani! i love their yogurt–so tasty. congrats on staying on track girlie :] you can do this!!
    love,
    becca

  40. oatsandchocolate January 23, 2010 at 6:58 pm #

    hey shelley! yum all that chobani! i love that stuff[: its so delicious. and kombucha is amazing. that stuff is addicting, not gonna lie. schedules can be reeeaaaally helpful but they also sometimes mess me up when i want to change something you know? and its so great to see you having such an amazing time with friends and living your life πŸ™‚ my obsessions are whole earth choc nut peanut butter (peanut butter with little chocolate chunks in it!) and yogurt messes. &like you, i love turkey wraps- yum! have a great saturday night xoxo soph

  41. caronae January 23, 2010 at 7:00 pm #

    1. I’m soooo jealous of your chobani samples!
    2. Kashi does indeed never disappoint! Love it!
    3. I totally know what you mean about a schedule. I get really stressed if I’, not following my “plans” exactly. I’m working on loosening up and not isolating myself. Good for you for doing that too!

  42. crazylittlethingneela January 23, 2010 at 8:12 pm #

    girl you’re gorgeous!! you like my little sun in the blogging world!
    and if you ever need the advice of a science person, here i am!! ask me anything!! πŸ˜‰
    glad to hear you had a wonderful time with friends
    xoxo

  43. feetinmotion January 23, 2010 at 8:17 pm #

    All of your food looks so good! I wish I could eat the food you do and skip out on dorm food 😦 How do you do it?!

  44. justjac January 23, 2010 at 8:21 pm #

    Eats look great, keep up the good work…and fun!!

  45. katie January 23, 2010 at 8:58 pm #

    Hi Love!!!

    Kudos to you for staying on track!!!

    Wow Chobani !!! Lucky girl!! Now you will have plenty of yogurt for yogurt messes!!!! The strawberry banana is the bomb!!

    I love ya girl and so great you went to your friends and felt comfortable, I know how you feel, when I go to someones place for a dinner or event I always worry about the food and if there is something healthy for me to eat, so I always bring some healthy snacks, but I always end up eating a little of what they have, Im so proud of you!!!

    I cant get enough of Peanutbutter, greek yogurt, Kashi cereal, maple syrup, and apples!!!!!

  46. Michelle (Snacks and Field) January 23, 2010 at 8:59 pm #

    All your food looks delicious (need to get my hands on some squeezable almond butter packets!), and awesome Chobani samples!! Congrats on being able to go to your friend’s to eat and getting out of your comfort zone! I’m super proud of you! πŸ™‚

  47. feetinmotion January 23, 2010 at 11:15 pm #

    I’m jealous. Our food at our school is not healthy at all! 😦

  48. Hillary January 23, 2010 at 11:26 pm #

    Answer: I can’t get enough Greek yogurt!

    Question: I am jealous of your free Chobani. Did they contact you???

  49. blueeyedheart January 23, 2010 at 11:40 pm #

    I’m totally anal about needing to know things in advance… major flaw of mine!! :/

    And I could probably live on nothing but cereal for the rest of my life. :p

    ❀ ❀

  50. sophia January 23, 2010 at 11:42 pm #

    I totally know what you mean…I don’t really like spontaneous hang-outs so much, either. I like my schedule, and that is to relax and just chill out at night, haha. Makes me sound like a lazy ass….but I just get tired and cranky at night, and I’m not an enjoyable person to be with in the evenings.

    But socializing IS a big part of recovery. It’s nice to have a schedule, and if you truly DO enjoy your nights with friends, you should totally do it.

    I’m also not a science person, by the way. Hate it, in fact.

    Can’t get enough of kabocha and grilled cheese sandwiches these days!

  51. Simply Life January 24, 2010 at 7:22 am #

    wow! What a great package to get – glad to see you’re enjoying it!!!

  52. candice January 24, 2010 at 1:04 pm #

    Hehe, I love yogurt messes, too. Nothing wrong with eating too many of those! I’m glad you were be able to enjoy being social and not let Gertrude intrude (ha.ha.ha.) on your fun πŸ™‚

    I’m not a very schedule-oriented person, so I can’t answer the first question. I mean, I make schedules, but I don’t actually follow them… lol. As for the second, I can’t get enough of a) sweet potatoes, b) nut butter, and c) BREAD! πŸ™‚ Have a wonderful Sunday, girl!

  53. The voracious Vegan January 24, 2010 at 1:41 pm #

    Your yogurt messes are the best looking thing ever! Seriously, I need you to send me about a dozen!

    I definitely stress about being on a schedule. I really like predictability and routine, the slightest variation can throw me off and make me grumpy. Sigh. I’m only 27 but I act like I’m 67.

    I’m proud and happy for you that you are learning to relax and go with the flow, and hooray for Gertrude free time! πŸ™‚

  54. Katie January 24, 2010 at 2:05 pm #

    I love Justin’s maple almond butter – I can NEVER get enough of that. Or any nut butter, really. Also, I’m all about schedules, so I feel you – it’s hard for me to be spontaneous – but it never kills me, so I guess I should be more open to it. πŸ˜‰

  55. Kelly January 24, 2010 at 3:10 pm #

    Good for you for going out with friends. That is a GREAT step!! πŸ™‚ I am a very scheduled person but what has helped me is my husband. He is a fly by the seat of your pants type of a guy and he has shown me that life can be a lot more fun and relaxing when I am not so structured all the time!

  56. Sweet Cheeks January 24, 2010 at 3:18 pm #

    You bring up a very good point. I am SUCH a planner and want to be in control and do things my way ALWAYS. And if that doesn’t happen, then everyone better watch out. I hate to admit that, but many times, that is how I am. I’m with you…I’m am going to slow down and embrace spontaneity!

    Have a great Sunday girlie!

  57. Anna January 24, 2010 at 3:34 pm #

    Gah I always need to have a plan, because if I don’t I feel like I am wasting my time. But as time goes on, I realized that sometimes I get the most out of life when things are unplanned–in the long and short term.

    Foods I love? Chocolate, FROYO, salsa, and sweet potatoes!! And oatmeal, pb, and bananas too. This list is too long!

  58. Sarah January 24, 2010 at 4:20 pm #

    So jealous of all that chobani! You’re doing such a great job, Shelley! I’m glad you were able to eat with friend and not stress out about it.
    Love the yogurt messes too.
    Sarah
    http://www.sarahdbelle.wordpress.com

  59. onehealthyapple January 24, 2010 at 4:36 pm #

    Hey Sweetie! Yes, you are very much alive! I like being so busy that I don’t have to think about food. It means that you are living life and having fun! All good things in my book!

    I love the heart bowl and all your eats. You seriously have the yummiest meals!
    I can’t get enough of breakfast cookies, greek yogurt, and of course almond butter.

    Hope you are having a wonderful weekend!

  60. Gelareh @ Orange Truffle January 24, 2010 at 5:24 pm #

    Love you eats…

    wow you got some choboni… I have been looking for it here in TX but haven’t found it in any of the grocers… I guess I will continue looking for them.

    I am OCDed about schedule… I have all of our 2010 vacations planned… I can tell you what we are doing for almost every weekend for the rest of the year… sometimes (like today) it drives my husband crazy.. cause he want’s to lay around and watch football and I say well I had x or y scheduled for today.. poor guy

    Enjoy every second of your college experience.. college years are the best year are your life.

  61. psychoj1 January 24, 2010 at 6:00 pm #

    Talk about a fabuloussss package from the wonderful people at Chobs! I am dying to find their new flavors. YUMMM!

    ❀ jess
    xoxo

    P.S Congrats on the gertrude free night!!

  62. Lizzy January 24, 2010 at 6:08 pm #

    YAAA KOMBUCHA!! i’m obsessed with Kombucha right now, and cauliflower, ohh and coffee 😦 Looks like you are doing so well!! SUPER cute pic in the grocery cart! AND YEAAAH Chobani samples! I hope you’re having a great sunday! xoxo!

  63. imaginenamaste January 24, 2010 at 7:37 pm #

    The fun weekends/days are the best during the beginning of the semester when you wonder if you know anything about anything (haha, your zoology is my regression statistics things….)!

    ….yes, I am usually the initiator. And, I feel so bad when I cannot do something someone else initiates. also detest people being late. Why I usually tell certain people early times πŸ™‚

  64. julie January 24, 2010 at 7:52 pm #

    i suuuuuck at going off my schedule but lately i’ve been learning to just go with the flow and go with it πŸ™‚ i think it’s working out nicely!

    you did great with dinner and the feeling of not isolating yourself and enjoying yourself is so so so worth it!

  65. rebecca lustig January 24, 2010 at 11:08 pm #

    Your post RADIATES with positivity– It’s as if I can feel your joy. Don’t get too stressed (yet), it’s too early in the semester!

    Sweet dreams ❀
    bec xo

  66. MelissaDee January 25, 2010 at 7:54 am #

    I am with you 100% on needing everything to be on a schedule. I find the people closest to my consistently telling me just to slow and down and not worry so much about having a “plan” It totally causes me anxiety though. It looks like you had a full and fun weekend.

    My favorite food is YOGURT messes. I can’t get enough of them. So, I have a question for you. I’ve been dying to try Chobani! I can’t find it in any stores near me. How did you get a sample pack?

    Have a great day and just remember to try to take each day as it comes!

    ❀
    Melissa

  67. aletheiazoe January 26, 2010 at 11:37 pm #

    Hi Shelley, this is my first time commenting even though I’ve read your blog a couple of times. I’m really proud of you for taking this own with SUCH a good attitude – for someone trying to overcome ED, you definitely have an amazing head on your shoulders, girl.

    Having said that, your food looks SO nutritious – believe that it is doing your body a world of good. πŸ™‚

    Zoology IS hard. It was my hardest course last term, and I’m a 3rd year Biology major! I recommend drawing a LOT of pictures and diagrams. Flow charts for phylum and class. Try to group the organisms together. It’s easier to study them that way. Fortunately, I had a lab component to go along with the course, which helped a lot, but if I didn’t have that, I’d definitely be breaking out the crayons and markers! Best wishes xo Aletheia

Leave a Reply

