Off to Madison & 50th post!!

17 Jan

Hi lovebugs!

First off, this is my 50th post!! I can’t believe I’ve already done 50- love blogging ๐Ÿ™‚

I’ll admit it, I’m a Real World follower– proud of it! ha. I can’t get enough of that trashhh, I remember watching Vegas & loving it and i was way toooo young to be watching haha.

I was pleasantly surprised when, while watching the Real World DC, a real and important issue was discussed. One of the roommates, Ty, told Callie (another roommate) that she wasn’t skinny enough to be in playboy. Callie deals with self-image issues like so many of us do. This brought up the issue of body image and how messed up it is that people have to feel like they must be so thin in order to be accepted. I was impressed that Real World brought attention to this issue- yay!

Did any of you watch this? What did you think about it?

Anywho, onto what you foodies really care about… the food! ha ๐Ÿ™‚

Lunch yesterday was pretty standard & consisted of a flat out wrap with turkey & cheese, almonds, pretzels, pears, & apple straws & carrots- a very large (in volume) lunch!

My snack was kashi truly vanilla hot cereal with peanut butter & granola- this is hard for me because thsi snack is as big as my old meals, but it is in my meal plan & so it is what I need.

Dinner was with Gardner’s parents & my parents- it was a good time. Our parents bonded with some drinks haha.. Our Moms may or may not have done a sake bomb..yep! Now, I was sort of freaking out because the roll I ordered ended up having fried stuff in it- but I ate it anyways and it felt so good to just ignore that terrible, Gertrude voice telling me not to eat anything fried. I felt like i ate alot but after talking it out with Gar, i realized it wasn’t too much… it was what I need.

I got miso soup, a chicken salad, & a roll that i ate like 3/4 of. It sounded soo good because it said it had acorn squash in it but the acorn squash was fried ๐Ÿ˜ฆ delicous nonetheless

We eat a lot of sushi…. multiply this by two


Me & Gar were awesome and played Mario Party for the rest of the night – I won, duh. I am always Mario & he is always Yoshi. It’s what we do.

Today I started the day off with a deliciousss breakfast that consisted of oatbran, banana, hazelnut spread, cinnamon raisin swirl, 1/4 cup egg beaters, & some goldfish s’mores!! so good

I had my last day of IOP and it went well. I feel like I am in a good place now ย & I am ready to move on into the next step of my recovery.

My afternoon snack featured this bar

& fruit

This bar was really, really good! So flavorful- cinnamon raisin flavor โค

My Mom got ticketes to the OSU v. Wisconsin basketball game so we went to dinner at Longhorn Steakhouse (where I could look up nutritionals and make it fit my plan) & then to the game!! It was a fun night & a great way to end my winter break.

For dinner I got a cup of shrimp and lobster chowder, 7 oz salmon filet, & a sweet potato. It was good but i felt really nauseous later- not sure if it was from something I ate?

The game was a good time! Even though the Badgers struggled…

โ™ฅโ™ฅโ™ฅโ™ฅ

So here I am, going to sleep before going back to school tomorrow for my second semester. I am so incredibly lucky to have gotten through my low point and be able to go back. I am determined to stay on the right track so that I can stay in school and live my life the way I want to. Life will never be perfect. There will always be struggles, victories, failures, successes, disappointments, surprises, and troubles but getting through those times (good or bad) and being stronger because of them is what life is all about.

“See” you all in Madison!!

In my next post I will update you all about meal plan/ed stuff/etc. but I need to get some zzzzzzzzzzzs.

Have a great Sunday!!!

oh, & if i apologize in advance if i slack on commenting the next day or two- I will be busy getting settled at school- I will try my best to comment and read ๐Ÿ™‚


xoxoxox,

Shelleyโ™ฅ

68 Responses to “Off to Madison & 50th post!!”

  1. Allison R. January 17, 2010 at 12:58 am #

    you go to Madison?!

    • Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth) January 17, 2010 at 8:46 am #

      yes i do ๐Ÿ™‚

      • Allison R. January 17, 2010 at 10:02 am #

        so do I!!! Go Badgers ๐Ÿ™‚

      • Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth) January 17, 2010 at 10:04 am #

        that is awesome! do you have a blog?

      • Allison R. January 17, 2010 at 10:08 am #

        no! i have been meaning to start one FOREVER though…soon! ๐Ÿ™‚ maybe sometime you could help me get one started? perhaps over coffee ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. merittothecarrot January 17, 2010 at 1:02 am #

    That’s SENSATIONAL. SO glad to hear that you’ve finished IOP feeling secure. You have been doing such a marvelous job in your recovery, you should be very very proud of yourself.

    Scrumptious eats, of course ๐Ÿ™‚
    Much love!

  3. Averie (LoveVeggiesAndYoga) January 17, 2010 at 1:27 am #

    I am sooooo proud of you for weathering thru these challenges and for getting back into your school groove, that’s wonderful!

    “This bar was really, really good! So flavorful- cinnamon raisin flavor <3"–thanks for the review & info, I will pick those up sometime, when ever i find them that is ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Little Notes January 17, 2010 at 3:07 am #

    Well done for getting to the end of your IOP program ๐Ÿ™‚ you certainly have made amazing progress recently, be proud of yourself!
    Your dinner out looked amazing, Im glad you able to talk about your thoughts to Gar and work through them. Sometimes letting someone else know your struggling helps you to get through it.
    All the best for going back to school ๐Ÿ™‚
    xoxo
    Laura

    Btw this is Laura from worth less word, I set up new account, just incase you wondered who it was!

  5. Marina January 17, 2010 at 3:51 am #

    Good job girl, I’m glad you’re doing so well.
    I love playing Mario, I played it so much when I was a kid.
    Your eats sound wonderful, specially that sushi

  6. lunchiemunchies January 17, 2010 at 4:23 am #

    Way to go girl, you are truly fighting the good fight, showing ed way to go and living your life, having fun! Hehe parents out with the boyfriend’s parents, that must have been fun, sounds like it went well ๐Ÿ™‚
    Your breakfast looks so decadent…mmm
    Good luck with going back to school, i know it will be great just stay strong.
    xxxxxxxx

  7. Lexi January 17, 2010 at 5:59 am #

    I watched the Real World this week and was appalled by Ty’s comment to Callie. I honestly think she has a great body, and I feel so sad that she has such terrible body image issues. Basically, the episode was really focused on the fact that NO ONE is happy in their skin, which made me feel extremely sad. I want to break that trend… truly love my body, and not hate what I look like! I am working harder every day to do this. I know you are too!

    I am so proud of you for working through your recovery over break. You have done amazing! Keep it up when you get to school, you will only get happier and feel freer!

    Love ya girl! Let me know when you’re back in C-bus!

  8. seekmyself January 17, 2010 at 7:36 am #

    Shelley, you’re doing so amazing; I’m sure you’ll have a great time in school this semester ๐Ÿ™‚ Your eats look fabulous, as always, and it’s great to see that you were able to shut out that voice in your head that is trying to keep you from enjoying life. Never feel guilty, girl! None of us deserve that. Life is too beautiful to waste time feeling guilty over food.

    Congrats on your 50th post ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. Gabriela January 17, 2010 at 7:59 am #

    Miso soup and sushi are my fave combo ๐Ÿ™‚ I don’t know if this helps, but whenever I feel “guilty” about eating something fried or just unhealthy, I remind myself of something Jenny from pbandjenny posted awhile ago, that there are no “good foods” or “bad foods,” just good diets (ways of eating, not losing weight) and bad diets. Clearly, you eat very healthfully most of the time, so don’t sweat it girl! That’s what makes life fun. You’ve come such a long way in the past month, I’m so happy for you! Have a safe trip back!

  10. julia January 17, 2010 at 8:16 am #

    Yeah for going back, you can do this, I’m always there, you know that right?!

    And 50th post, what a coincidence!;)

    Gertrude can tell you more bull****, sometimes fried stuff is so jummy and believe me: not bad sometimes! Pass on the french fries:)

    xxx Julia (Taste of Living)

  11. Gabriela January 17, 2010 at 8:17 am #

    Thatยดs amazing, Shelley!
    Youยดre going back to school! Thatยดs a big step ๐Ÿ™‚
    Awesome pics, as always. And now I can really see that youยดre winning the battle against Gertrude.
    Good job ๐Ÿ˜‰
    Youยดre amazing. Have a nice trip to Madison!
    Brazilian kisses,
    Gabriela

  12. candice January 17, 2010 at 8:27 am #

    I feel so proud of you after reading this post, girl. You’re beautiful and incredibly strong for pulling out the rational side of yourself against Gertrude. An acorn squash roll sounds amazing, despite fried-ness! Through tempura, I’ve learned to embrace deep-fried (though never oily!) vegetables. โค

    Keep making your bod happy, and have a wonderful Sunday! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  13. theemptynutjar January 17, 2010 at 8:29 am #

    You do so well…it brings me to tears to be honest. I think you are so amazing Shelley, I just can never ever believe each post. It is stunning. I miss Mario nintendo games.
    I will miss you when you go back to school and get to busy to keep up with your 100+ followers ๐Ÿ™‚

  14. katie January 17, 2010 at 8:35 am #

    Love ya girl!!!!

    Sushi yum!!! You were right when you told me that your family crams sushi too!! Love it!!!! Im so glad you enjoed it, and you have a wonderful boyfriend it seems who is there for you and supports you!!!

    I hope you have a safe trip back to Madison girl!!!! xoxoxo

  15. Molly January 17, 2010 at 9:16 am #

    I watched that real world last night! It really hit home that ALL girls struggle with something like that. and I also realized that people have EDs for millions of reasons (sometimes it has nothing to do with how you look…whether it be to control something, for attention ect.) Got me thinking A LOT about it…so much so that I couldnt sleep.

    Your sushi dinner looks AWESOME tho! Have a fun time back in Madison. Live it up girl!!!

    xo-
    Molly

    http://www.givinganythingbutup.wordpress.com

  16. *Andrea* January 17, 2010 at 9:20 am #

    good job girl!!! you’re making all the right steps – keep it up ๐Ÿ™‚ i love your breakfasts they look soooo yummy, decadent yet 100% healthy!

    when i order sushi i always get sweet potato tempura – which is obviously fried a little – i think everything in moderation’s ok.

  17. *Andrea* January 17, 2010 at 9:22 am #

    oooh also i am addicted to the real world too haha. my college roomies keep telling meit’s “so the 90s” but i don’t care ha! i was mad at Ty for what he said, but clearly he’s just insecure and ignorant (the gist i get from his other comments about religion too)

  18. Becca January 17, 2010 at 9:33 am #

    congrats on finishing IOP! that’s awesome! i’m so glad you are ready to move forward and this post had so much positivity that illuminated from it in and of itself. congrats as well on being able to go back to school! you made it, and you deserve it :]
    stay strong girlie.
    love,
    becca

  19. Julie @savvyeats January 17, 2010 at 9:47 am #

    I just got back to Madison last night myself!

    Mmm… the hazelnut spread looks GOOD

  20. Abby January 17, 2010 at 9:49 am #

    You should be so proud of yourself.. I struggled with similar issues when I was younger and was not as tough as you..

    Your meals and snacks are well balanced and healthy!

    Happy weekend, hunny ๐Ÿ™‚

  21. Jenna January 17, 2010 at 9:49 am #

    Great eats girl!!
    Good luck back at school ๐Ÿ™‚

  22. Emily January 17, 2010 at 9:58 am #

    50 posts! WOO!
    That bar looks really good! Thanks for the heads up!

    Back to school..oh boy! lol Have a safe trip!

  23. tatiannalives January 17, 2010 at 10:04 am #

    Congrats on 50 posts girl… that is 50 ENORMOUS steps towards finding happiness and health =D

    It sounds like you have had a fabulous weekend! I am so glad to see that you are allowing yourself to go out to restaurants because I know how hard that can be ๐Ÿ˜ฎ … and you are even making it work with your meal plan!

    (aka.. I am totally impressed :P)

    xox
    Tat

    Ps… Have a wonderful time settling back in at school ๐Ÿ™‚

  24. Jessica January 17, 2010 at 10:06 am #

    Way to go girl! You are doing fabulous!

  25. The Candid RD January 17, 2010 at 10:27 am #

    I’m glad you brought up the Real World issue (Yes, as an almost 27 year old, living with my 31 year old boyfriend, we DO watch the Real World still)…. I was super sad when I watched last week’s episode. Callie, in my opinion, has a lot of issues that she needs to work through. I hate it that the Real World people always choose girls with eating disorders or who have self-image issues (obviously for ratings purposes). She said she’s a vegan, and I’m willing to bet it’s a way for her to eat less without being “called out”. I don’t think it has anything to do with animal rights, or health, I think she just assumes she will lose weight on a vegan diet. It’s sad, really. I hope it gets better throughout the show, rather than worse. And the comment that that guy made about her being “too fat”…UGH! I wanted to punch him.

    Safe travels!

  26. Ashlei January 17, 2010 at 10:29 am #

    You have school on MLK day? That’s so not cool!

    Atta go girl, eating that sushi. The way the Japanese fry stuff (tempura, anyway) is slightly better than American. I love sushi and could eat it everyday and for any meal…even breakfast ๐Ÿ˜›

  27. Naomi(onefitfoodie) January 17, 2010 at 10:56 am #

    I am so happy that you finished IOP and feel awesome and secure! back to school should be a breeze! I love that your parents took some sake bombs–its the best when parents can participate in some crazy/fun times out! I have only watched a few real world DCs but I have to say they do talk about some important and serious issues and It is great how the whole how is always so diverse that everyone has their own opinons. lots of learning going on!

    xo

  28. catiechurch January 17, 2010 at 11:18 am #

    Great job eating that wrap!

    I’m new to reading your blog and I’m sort of hooked. I myself haven’t had a hard time with eating disorders. However, your blog is so awesome to read to motivate other girls that do that they can beat it!

    I saw that on real world too! I couldn’t believe he said that. And I was really happy that the girls sat and talked about it to really say that it’s wrong to say all of those things about people and you shouldn’t see yourself in such a negative way.

    And you go to Madison? My cousin goes there and I’m about 2 hours away!

  29. homecookedem January 17, 2010 at 11:30 am #

    I saw that Real World episode too. That guy is heartless. How can a guy seriously not understand that you DO NOT say those things to a girl. Sick. Maybe I’m just blessed to have always known men who are nothing but respectful to women and weight issues, but I sure wouldn’t be friends with a guy like that.

    I almost picked up that very same bar last night!! Glad to know it was good… maybe I’ll pick it up next time!

    That is the same meal I always get when I go to Longhorns!!! Their salmon is the best!! Sorry you weren’t feeling good after though! ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    Happy Sunday!! ๐Ÿ™‚

  30. chrysta January 17, 2010 at 11:32 am #

    oh sweetie. Im so incredible happy for you!! Its takes so much strength to recover and it sounds like you are doing awesome. You should be so proud of yourself!! I know I am=) Way to go girl! You are amazing!!

    Love the topic on body image. It is sssoo distorted in this country.I dont watch Real World but what a terrible thing for that guy to say. Personally I think being happy and healthy is gorgeous.

    That sushi that ya’ll ate looks fantastic! Sake bombs are the best. haha. I hope you are having a awesome weekend girl. Have a wonderful time in class and congrats!!

  31. Stef @ moretolifethanlettuce January 17, 2010 at 11:58 am #

    have a safe trip back to school! i’m proud of you for handling your snack even though it might have been overwhelming. sushi night sounds fun! and that bar has been popping up all over the blogworld, i’ve gotta try it although i haven’t liked any of the other flavors i’ve tried!!

  32. tryingtoheal January 17, 2010 at 12:09 pm #

    I am so proud of you for overcoming those obstacles this weekend! I love the way you are handling things and can’t wait to hear about the fun you’re doing to have this semester! You are going to do great!

  33. daintyvegan January 17, 2010 at 12:23 pm #

    Suussshiiiiiiii! I’m having major sushi withdrawals right now. Major. To the point where I think about eating it everyday.. haha.

    I love Mario Party! Whenever I play, I’m always Boo. ๐Ÿ˜€

  34. katrina January 17, 2010 at 1:37 pm #

    i had the stong urge to murder ty! ughhhhhhhhhhhhh what an asshole!i luved how it ended tho! in that yoga/dance class!! i want to feel that way! just let go and not care bout what anyone thinks!

  35. blueeyedheart January 17, 2010 at 1:57 pm #

    Happy 50th! ๐Ÿ™‚

    I’m glad you were able to enjoy dinner out… just keep telling yourself that you’re doing the right thing for you! Hope your travels back to school go well.

    โค โค

  36. kbwood January 17, 2010 at 2:07 pm #

    good luck getting back to school love!

  37. julie January 17, 2010 at 3:20 pm #

    congrats on finishing IOP! you have mucccch to be proud of ๐Ÿ™‚ good luck getting back to school girl!

  38. Lauren January 17, 2010 at 3:47 pm #

    Hope you have a safe trip back to school. Thinking of you always girly! ๐Ÿ™‚

  39. MelissaNibbles January 17, 2010 at 3:49 pm #

    A huge hug to you for finishing IOP. I’m so happy for you!

    The sushi sounds like it was a blast. Both sets of parents are awesome for doing sake bombs! hahaha!

    I wonder if your dinner was cooked in a lot of oil or butter that your stomach just wasn’t used to. I know that happens me to me when I eat at chain restaurants. You might want to request they cook your dinner differently next time just to avoid the belly issues. It might seem like a weird request, but I’d rather not end up with an upset stomach all night ya know?

    Good luck this semester!

  40. Melinda January 17, 2010 at 3:55 pm #

    I saw that episode of the Real World- I thought it was so insensitive of Ty to just say that- he obviously has no filter whatsoever. I do feel sad that even though she is obviously very beautiful and looked fine to me, that she doesn’t see it. And I have to say I’ve been there, with both weight and looks and not being able to see the good in myself. I think it’s a daily battle that alot of people have. I wish this would be addressed more- it’s definitely an epidemic.

    That miso soup is making me crave some now! I have some miso that I may add some veggies to ๐Ÿ™‚

  41. Michelle (Snacks and Field) January 17, 2010 at 4:19 pm #

    That episode of the Real World sounds so interesting! I might have to Hulu it:) I’m veryyyyy interested in the topic of body image- it can get so in depth, and it’s a problem that SO many people have!

    and i hate when I go to restaurants and they give me something fried that I didn’t ask for… its frustrating!!

    Have a safe trip back to school!

  42. Lauren (Biochemรญsta) January 17, 2010 at 4:21 pm #

    Congrats on your 50th post!!! You are amazing girl! ๐Ÿ™‚

    xx

    Lauren

    http://www.Biochemista.com

  43. blueberrymuffins January 17, 2010 at 4:25 pm #

    I was so impressed with the Real world- for talking about Real issues!!! I can’t wait to see where the show goes ๐Ÿ™‚

  44. Allison January 17, 2010 at 4:58 pm #

    I’m SO happy for you girl! I hope you have a safe trip back to school and get all settled in okay! You have shown such strength and determination by getting through this “low” time and grabbing life by the horns ๐Ÿ™‚ You are truly an inspiration. Keep it up girl and stay strong!

  45. glidingcalm January 17, 2010 at 6:41 pm #

    haha I have a good friend at Madison!! gluck getting settled back in !!

    those apple chips look amazing too! and sushi?! YUMO!

    yes, I saw that real world!! poor Callie! she seems like a sweetie!!

    take care Shelley!!!!!!!

  46. Rachael January 17, 2010 at 8:00 pm #

    Naaaw I don’t read this blog for the food, I read it to hear about you! And this post in particular made me so SO happy and proud for you! You’ve come such a long way and are such an inspiration, I’m surprised my computer isn’t spontaneously exploding. I hope you settle back into school comfortably. You have the strength to tackle whatever challenges come your way. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Rachael*

  47. lowandbhold January 17, 2010 at 9:24 pm #

    I was really impressed with that segment on the real world too! I’ve followed it since Chicago and I love it too ๐Ÿ™‚

  48. Erica @ Fashion meets Food January 17, 2010 at 10:08 pm #

    Your lunch looks so good!

  49. Allie (Live Laugh Eat) January 17, 2010 at 10:11 pm #

    I didn’t know you were at Madison! I applied there and even filled out my housing selection ๐Ÿ™‚

    Sushi looks AMAZE!!! Hope settling in goes smoothly.

  50. melonshot. January 17, 2010 at 10:48 pm #

    sushi is so great! and so are sake bombs;)
    Glad you were able to just enjoy the moment and ignore eds voice:)

  51. psychoj1 January 17, 2010 at 11:27 pm #

    Congrats on your 50th post ๐Ÿ™‚ I just love how you told Gertrude to shut it and ate that yummy looking sushi!

    I love basketball games. Sounds like fun!
    โค jess
    xoxo

  52. Karin January 18, 2010 at 5:23 am #

    Oh such amazing looking meals!
    Yay for the 50th post! I hope there will be many many more :).

  53. The voracious Vegan January 18, 2010 at 8:20 am #

    Yummy food! And congratulations on your 50th post! I love reading how happy you are doing, you should be so proud of yourself. This post put a big smile on my face (and made me pretty hungry!)!

  54. Simply Life January 18, 2010 at 8:33 am #

    wow all of your food looks sooo good, especially that kashi with pb!

  55. Brynne January 18, 2010 at 9:14 am #

    I’m so proud of you for recognizing that you need the food in your meal plan. Good luck moving back to school – you’ll do great! โค

  56. Casey January 18, 2010 at 9:52 am #

    GREAT JOB staying on track Shelley!! Your meals look delicious and very healthy. ๐Ÿ™‚

    And CONGRATS on your 50th post!!! That’s so exciting!

  57. weenutbutterandrunning January 18, 2010 at 10:44 am #

    Hi, Shelley – I just found your blog! I love how positive you are. Just keep up that fighting attitude, and you’ll definitely get where you want to be and kick the stupid ED to the curb ๐Ÿ™‚

    Look forward to reading more!

    -Nell
    http://weenutbutterandrunning.wordpress.com/

  58. Gelareh @ Orange Truffle January 18, 2010 at 11:01 am #

    Good for you for being strong Shelley!

    Good luck with school, I miss it a lot. Enjoy every second of it as the real world is not as much fun

  59. oatsandchocolate January 18, 2010 at 12:45 pm #

    hey shelley! yay congrats on your 50th post ๐Ÿ˜€ all your eats look delicious. i cant wait to try the smores goldfish! i love the sushi you got too – looks so yummyyy. you are doing an amazing job & school is going to be awesome- how could it not be? have a great monday night ๐Ÿ˜› xoxo soph

  60. Eliza January 18, 2010 at 2:27 pm #

    You should add me to ya blog roll ๐Ÿ™‚

  61. Angela January 18, 2010 at 2:30 pm #

    Congrats on your 50th post! I love your blog! I also love the real world! (I also loved vegas I think I was probably too young to be watching it too!)

  62. Sweet Cheeks January 18, 2010 at 6:31 pm #

    You are doing so wonderful, girl! You just keep on enjoying those DELICIOUS eats! Who would want to live a life where you couldn’t enjoy all the awesome things having been eating? Certainly not me! ๐Ÿ˜€

    Have a wonderful night! xoxo

  63. Lauren (Biochemรญsta) January 19, 2010 at 11:53 am #

    I’m reeeeally in a soup/sushi mood now ๐Ÿ˜‰

  64. Bekah February 1, 2010 at 8:02 am #

    Congrats on 50!! Soo awesome. I swear- blogging makes the year go by so freaking fast.

Leave a Reply

