Banana Diet & Pumpkin Oats!

13 Jan

After breakfast yesterday, Gardner, my Mom & I ventured out to Costco. Gar & I were pretty excited to stock up on stuff for school & omg Costco is huge! I was in awe haha… amazing πŸ™‚

We had some funnn…

ha Gardner thinks he looks like a dork with the apple sauce- I think he looks cuute πŸ™‚

Ha- oh Costco heavenn!

Lunch was eaten at panera (no picture because I had the same bbq chopped chicken salad!)

I had a therapy appointment at 4 followed by nutrition group with the nutritionist, Sonja, from 5:30-6:30. I brought this dinner

Flat out wrap (multi grain with flax), turkey, cheese, mini pretzels, apple straws (bought at costco!!), mango/grapes, & veggies. These 5 carb dinners are killin me! haha

Afterwards, Gardner came over & we decided to go to campus & get some red mango because we’d never been! We sampled every flavor but both got original! I put pomegranate seeds on it and graham cracker crumbles. I love froyo, I really do.

Then, spontaneously, we decided to go to a bar & get a drink πŸ™‚ I knowww, i’m underage but sorry if this offends anyone- we do find our ways in college nowadays haha. I just had a glass of wine & he had a beer. He turns 21 in May- I can’t believe it! I almost didn’t want to post this because I was afraid people would judge me for drinking, but this is my blog, my space & I want to use it to remember fun times.

When we came home, we were soo tired. He fell asleep on me and it was really cute… He definitely was hardcore sleeping because he woke up several times and said some of the most random things EVER (i think he was sleeping when he said them). These included.

“There aren’t many Cleveland fans here….”

&

“You are my little freezer pack”… okkkkk ??? hahhaa.

This morning I had my first bowl of pumpkin oats EVER. Bah, it was sooo so good! I have been missing out for sure. I love being home because I have plenty of room for experimentation.

In this mix: about 1/2 cup oat bran made with 1/4 cup egg beaters and a little less than a cup of water. Then 1/2 cup of pumpkin stirred in at the end, cinnamon raisin peanut butter, bananas, and some cocoa roast almonds.

I’m meeting my friend in a little bit at pita pit because he goes to Ohio State and so hopefully that is good! I’ve never had it.

What is on your agenda today?

β™₯β™₯β™₯β™₯β™₯β™₯

On another note, I want to bring up an observation that really irked me. After my dad’s standard Sunday grocery trip, I went to eat a banana. I couldn’t help but notice….

that stupid sticker. lose weight on the dole banana diet. Really??? I’m sorry, but I can’t help but notice how prevalent weight loss is. It is everywhere. When you watch commercials, I’d say at least 1/4 of them are about losing weight. For someone like me and many readers who struggle with weight issues, it is really triggering to see all these ads about losing weight. I hate how they make something as simple & delicious as a banana into a weight loss ad!

On top of that, I decided to look at the website and they are recommending a 1200 calorie a day diet… that just makes me so angry! That is really not adequate fuel for anyone.

Now, generally, I am not one of those ‘activist/feminist’ type of people– i really don’t like to make trouble, i just kinda like to live life. Usually i’d be annoyed if I heard someone ranting about something like this. But this is the last straw for me. It has been making me soo annoyed that I decided i’m going to do something about it. My mom & I are going to make stickers that say “you are beautiful the way you are” and put them next to these stickers at local grocery stores on the bananas.

What do you think? Do you think this is too much? Annoying? Or do you think it is a positive thing? I really appreciate your honesty in answering this question.

I think i’m going to do this tomorrow though, if the feedback I get from you all is positive!

Thanks for the insight

β™₯β™₯β™₯β™₯β™₯β™₯

Be on the lookout for a giveaway- i’m trying to put one together to thank you all for being so supportive!!!

β™₯β™₯β™₯β™₯β™₯β™₯


Hope you have a wonderful day πŸ™‚


xoxoxoxo,

Shelleyβ™₯

82 Responses to “Banana Diet & Pumpkin Oats!”

  1. whydeprive January 13, 2010 at 12:34 pm #

    First of all I LOVE Costco! Its so fun.
    Second, I fully agree. There are too many diet ads. The one that really got to me was a gum ad that said it was a great 5 calorie snack. Gum is NOT a snack. They are flat out promoting starvation as far as Im concerned and that is just not ok. Its no wonder so many of us struggle with eating disorders.
    I love that you’re making your own stickers! Such a great idea.

  2. MAJ January 13, 2010 at 12:48 pm #

    Check out operationbeautiful.com πŸ™‚

  3. Lizzy January 13, 2010 at 12:51 pm #

    LOVE how cute you two are in Costco!! and YAAAA for stockin’ up before the semester begins!! I have also been noticing the damn LOSE WEIGHT advertisements EVERYWHERE! ughhhh it’s so innoying! I was thinking it’s just me that keep’s seeing 126464 add’s a day about weightloss…thanks for pointing it out that you’ve been noticing it too. I feel like there is A LOT more emphasis on weightloss this new year than there has been in past new year’s! I hope you’re having a great hump day and getting pumped for going back to school! πŸ™‚
    xoxo!
    ~RED MANGO=LOVE!!! πŸ™‚

  4. Gabriela January 13, 2010 at 12:54 pm #

    You and Gardner are such a cute couple…he seems like such a keeper! No judgment on the drinking at all…I mean, how many people actually wait until they’re 21 to start drinking? Not many.

    I agree about the weight-loss thing…it’s so prevalent in our society. There’s a fine line between promoting HEALTH and promoting an unhealthy lifestyle. With the obesity epidemic, I agree we need to encourage people to make better choices, but “weight-loss” advertisements aren’t the best way to do it. How about a sticker that advertises the nutrients in bananas, instead, right?

    Have you checked out operationbeautiful.com? The creator has a really similar message as your sticker idea, and it’s such a great cause!

  5. quarterlifewellness January 13, 2010 at 12:54 pm #

    You and your man are the cutest couple!

    Thats sooooo funny about his random comments. Once, Joey fell asleep while I was still watching tv, and he came to during this mini wheats commerical (you know the ones where the little mini’s talk to each other). He woke up, pointed at the tv and yelled “TWO TATERS!!!” and then immediately fell asleep again. I almost wet my pants I was laughing so hard. hahaha.

    As far as the diet stuff goes, it does get really annoying, but remember, a LOT of americans are overweight so although the weight loss products are not always the healthiest, people are just trying to get through to all those overweight sometimes (dont get me wrong, I HATE lose weight quick diets!!)

    xoxo

  6. Eliza January 13, 2010 at 12:59 pm #

    I LOVE YOU! and i love that banana sticker idea of putting love yourself stickers on banana’s amazing idea lovie and i shall join you hear in NY πŸ˜‰ hehe Maya and i will do it too! i also hate that a banana would have a sticker on it, i had a nana the other day and it actually said 100% perfection and then the other day it said “i am fat free” and then on the biggest loser i remember them saying bananas were “weight gain fruits” wtf!!!

    well you are doing so so amazingly and with your program lovie i am so proud that you are stickin with it so well, and Gardner is adorable omg with the applesauce, so cute πŸ˜‰ !! and what he was saying in his sleep was frickin hilarious to read you made my morning with this post, your personality is amazing, and i find you so inspiring!

    ohh agenda for today blahh 3 lined up doc appointments! T…then psychiatry then eye doctor urg! lol…then perhaps something fun πŸ˜‰ we all need a bit of fun in our lives!

    xx
    Eliza

  7. mayapamela January 13, 2010 at 1:00 pm #

    I hear you on talk of weight loss. It’s particularly irksome in January. Many women struggle with their self image, and I’m finally making peace with mine yet I am bombarded with such messages. People also feel the need to comment on other’s appearances like it’s no big deal–this woman who covers for me after my receptionist hours has told me multiple times that I look like I’ve lost a lot (emphasis in her voice on a LOT) of weight since I’ve school. I was by no means overweight in school, nor am I unhealthy now, but I have lost a bit of weight since school. What bothers me the most is how often she has said this to me. I think people should focus on saying things that aren’t directly weight related”You look great!” as an alternative. That would have much less trigger potential for me personally.

  8. Steph January 13, 2010 at 1:02 pm #

    I was 18 when I started drinking at a bar! So a glass of wine won’t be judged πŸ˜‰

    It’s a great idea for the sticker! Weightloss is everwhere. A lot of it is spurred on by our media and societies driven need to be “thin” but our nation has also become one of the highest obesity rates…so where do we draw the line?

    Can we make a message to the overweight about the benefits about being healthy without making the healthy feel like they need to be stick thin??

    It needs to be less about “thin” and more about “being healthy”.

  9. Tina January 13, 2010 at 1:07 pm #

    I’m new to your blog but had to pop out to say that I love the sticker idea!!! The prevalence of losing weight is too much.When did just focusing on moderation and doing things for your health become not enough? I am with you on that rant! And also – no worries about the college ways of getting drinks. I think a lot of us have been there. I know I have! My friends and I would get into bars with Blockbuster cards! LOL

  10. Mitri January 13, 2010 at 1:29 pm #

    You two are so cute together x) Applesauce is worth any potential dorkiness.

    Yeah, I saw those banana stickers, too. It’s stupid. I think I would smile if I saw your stickers nearby. πŸ™‚

    Don’t feel bad about having a drink. C’mon! You are young and living your life. No excuses necessary πŸ˜‰

  11. Meg January 13, 2010 at 1:29 pm #

    Hey Shelley- I’m a new follower of your blog, and having recovered from anorexia not too long ago, I admire you so much for creating a blog devoted to staying healthy and your recovery journey. Regarding your comment about the sticker on the banana to lose weight, I understand your frustration (I had similar frustrations while I was recovering as well), however, we can’t forget that obesity rates in the U.S are also increasing over time. I think what food companies/labels should do as opposed to endorsing “weight loss” campaigns is that they should direct their advertising more towards “healthy living.” Again, I love your blog, your honesty, and I really feel connected to your story. Hope everything continues to go well at school and at home! xoxo Meagan

  12. Marina January 13, 2010 at 1:31 pm #

    You two look really cute πŸ™‚
    I love bananas, and I hate when people say that because of high GI they are bad for the weight. It made me think I shouldn’t eat them, thank God I came to my senses πŸ™‚

  13. Sara K January 13, 2010 at 1:37 pm #

    Sticking those stickers sounds like Operation Beautiful post-its! I think it’s a great idea- that’s so stupid that they have weight loss stickers on banana…it’s like really, society- NOT EVERYONE wants to or needs to lose weight! It’s just a stupid advertising tactic since companies try to appeal to people’s insecurities…so the banana company probably thinks by putting those stickers easily swayed people will buy their bananas.
    Mmm PS I LOVE FRO YO too πŸ™‚

  14. Casey January 13, 2010 at 1:43 pm #

    No judgement here girl :). Enjoy EVERY DAY of that college experience! πŸ˜‰

    LOVE Red Mango!! I have to get the Cinnamon Toast Crunch topping…best thing ever. YUM!

    I eat tons of bananas! I think anyone who says they make you gain weight doesn’t know what they’re talking about.

  15. Gabriela January 13, 2010 at 1:43 pm #

    Oh, Shelley!
    You have NO IDEA of how happy you made me.
    You know, by commenting on my blog πŸ™‚
    I always felt lonely on this road…
    Gaining weight+health.
    Is SO nice to feel supported!
    So, thanks so much! Really.
    And about therapy… You made me think.
    And I think IΒ΄ll give another try.
    CanΒ΄t be bad, right? ItΒ΄s all about helping me to get over my eating issues.
    YouΒ΄re right πŸ™‚
    Oh! And, just so you know, I REALLY think you should spread these stickers at your local grocery store. Banana diet is REALLY not a healthy way to loose weight! Nobody should listen to this kind of advertisement.
    Go, girl!
    And thanks again πŸ™‚
    Brazilian kisses,
    G.
    http://www.froyolover.blogspot.com

  16. Gabriela January 13, 2010 at 1:45 pm #

    Oh, Shelley!
    You have NO IDEA of how happy you made me.
    You know, by commenting on my blog πŸ™‚
    I always felt lonely on this road…
    Gaining weight+health.
    Is SO nice to feel supported!
    So, thanks so much! Really.
    And about therapy… You made me think.
    And I think IΒ΄ll give another try.
    CanΒ΄t be bad, right? ItΒ΄s all about helping me to get over my eating issues.
    YouΒ΄re right πŸ™‚
    Oh! And, just so you know, I REALLY think you should spread these stickers at your local grocery store. The banana diet is NOT a healthy way to loose weight! Nobody should listen to this kind of advertisement.
    Go, girl!
    And thanks again πŸ™‚
    Brazilian kisses,
    G.
    http://www.froyolover.blogspot.com

  17. Amelia January 13, 2010 at 1:45 pm #

    First off, I’ve been lurking for a while and I really admire your efforts–you are such an inspiration to me, and I love what you’re doing here.
    I think those banana stickers are triggering and irritating too, but I’m actually ambivalent about your idea of counter-stickers. Because, let’s face it, some people aren’t physically beautiful, and when I see those good-hearted but completely impersonal “Project Beautiful” type things I can’t help but see it as condescending, like a white lie. Sure, inner beauty is the most important, but outer beauty (which you and cute Gardner totally have btw!) is not something you can just slap onto a person with a sticker, and I think most women realize this. Maybe it’s just me and my insecurities, though. And if it will help you in your recovery, go for it!

  18. The Candid RD January 13, 2010 at 1:46 pm #

    Seriously? The banana website recommended a 1200 calorie diet?! That’s absurd. I agree with you, since when is it ok to make a fruit into a weight loss ad?! UGH!

    As for your drink, you have a right to post whatever you feel. I was drinking much more often than you were when I was in college, and I’m totally ok to admit that. It’s college, those are the years to do what you want, and have fun! If you want to drink, do it, as long as it’s in a responsible manor. I like your honesty, and I hope you enjoyed the wine πŸ™‚

  19. Michelle January 13, 2010 at 1:46 pm #

    I just had Red Mango (original with Pom seeds and kiwi!) the other day…very yogurty and delicious! Glad you enjoyed! I’ve always wanted to try Pita Pit, so you’ll have to let me know how it is!

    Live up those college years girl! And sometimes that means a drink or two πŸ˜‰

  20. Gabriela January 13, 2010 at 1:49 pm #

    Oh, Shelley!
    You have NO IDEA of how happy you made me.
    You know, by commenting on my blog πŸ™‚
    I always felt lonely on this road…
    Gaining weight+health.
    It is SO nice to feel supported!
    So, thanks so much! Really.
    And about therapy… You made me think.
    And I think IΒ΄ll give another try.
    CanΒ΄t be bad, right? ItΒ΄s all about helping me to get over my eating issues.
    YouΒ΄re right πŸ™‚
    Oh! And, just so you know, I REALLY think you should spread these stickers at your local grocery store. The banana diet is NOT a healthy way to loose weight! Nobody should listen to this kind of advertisement.
    Go, girl!
    And thanks again πŸ™‚
    Brazilian kisses,
    G.
    http://www.froyolover.blogspot.com

  21. adrienmelaine January 13, 2010 at 1:50 pm #

    oohhh fun! I’m heading to costco today after class with a couple friends– snack patrol!
    Happy Hump Day!
    xo

  22. Lexi January 13, 2010 at 2:00 pm #

    I love those bulk stores, so good!

    Girl, I love your spontaneity in this post. You’re doing amazing! Great job going out and getting a drink. That is so awesome! Glad you’re having a fun time lately with Gar πŸ™‚

    Haha, thats so funny that he talks in his sleep! I’ve dated guys who snore really loud, and one guy farted in his sleep once which was so bad lol. anywaysssssss love those pumpkin oats!!!

    I say this everyday, but you are amazing. Keep fighting the good fight. You’re winning!
    Love,
    Lexi

  23. determinedtoshine January 13, 2010 at 2:14 pm #

    ahh ok i really shouldnt be commenting right now as i have a million things to do, but i just have to because you’re too amazing shelley πŸ™‚

    i LOVE your idea of spreading positive body image to counteract the awful message being sent out by the diet industry. it makes me so angry to see how an innocent banana is being exploited in this way! what has our society come to?

    oh and i am a little bit in love with gardner. he is too adorable!
    but i am even more in love with you…. thank you SO much for all the help you’ve given me recently shelley, its been invaluble to me and i cant thank you enough. you are such a wonderful girl ❀

    xo hannah

  24. peaceinchaos January 13, 2010 at 2:23 pm #

    No judgement from here;) College is meant for funn right??
    I really like your idea of posting signs. People need to be reminded that they are beautiful and worthy! I don’t feel the sticker is necessary, but knowing that about 60% of americans are overweight..i feel like we are the minority. Also I bet it is used as bussiness tactic. Just as I am more inclined to buy the box of cereal that says organic and all-natural..More people will by a banana with that sticker than without….But, yes the sticker is completly not needed.

  25. Missy Maintains January 13, 2010 at 2:28 pm #

    No judging for the drinking of course!! I’m sure we all drank underage (especially me!) Your fro-yo looks great! I agree about the bananas!

  26. sarahdbelle January 13, 2010 at 2:40 pm #

    I’ve never heard of Red Mango, but your yogurt looks delicious. Yeah, I get so annoyed with diet ads too. I think there are even more of them lately with it being the New Year. You just kind of have to ignore them, you know?
    xoxoxo
    Sarah
    http://www.sarahdbelle.wordpress.com

  27. Susan January 13, 2010 at 2:43 pm #

    That stupid banana sticker! I hear you on the diet products, it seems like every time I go grocery shopping there is a “diet” version of almost everything! How is any one supposed to buy normal food and not feel guilty? Drive me nutzo!
    I think what you are your mom are doing is great – I was considering writing a letter to Dole myself : )

  28. Lo January 13, 2010 at 2:45 pm #

    girlie, coming from the blog “alchy” bwahhaha I think you can have some wine. Shit, I had like 5 beers on monday. It was fun! who cares. u are LIVING. go with it.

    lo

  29. Melissa January 13, 2010 at 3:06 pm #

    I hate that people just think about losing weight. I was trying to convince my coworkers that it’s better to focus on being healthy and happiness. Weight is a number.

  30. Stef @ moretolifethanlettuce January 13, 2010 at 3:18 pm #

    ugh all the diet talk plastered everywhere esp in january for everyone’s weight loss resolutions is so triggering! i’m glad you are going to do something about it!!! funny about what gardner said “my little freezer pack.” haha

  31. Amy January 13, 2010 at 3:22 pm #

    I can’t believe Dole is doing that! I agree with some earlier comments- hopefully it’s just stemming from the holiday hangover/January stuff that happens every year. And can I just say, I’m still sickened by the Drive-Thru diet…

    It’s just being sensible, people!

  32. Abby January 13, 2010 at 3:30 pm #

    You and your boy look cute together!! I love how you took pics in costco.. lol

    Your eats look yum.. sooo glad your getting those carbs. Im a carb fiend. .not a happy gal without em!!

    Have a happy Wednesday! πŸ™‚

  33. laurasworthlesswords January 13, 2010 at 3:33 pm #

    Yummy looking eats, you have such a cool meal plan πŸ™‚

    No judgement at all on having a drink, theres nothing wrong with that in the slightest. I do, however, have problems with the whole banana dieting thing. That really bugs me that even a dieting label gets snapped onto a piece of fruit. Dieting isnt something we can escape from though, the majority of people around me seem to be on one!
    As long as you keep looking after yourself though, thats what matters.
    xox

  34. Jenna January 13, 2010 at 3:51 pm #

    Costco looks great-don’t have them around here!
    Dinner looks great completed with some red mango! Yummm.
    Glad you loved pumpkin oats! I gotta try those as well!
    Ya that bothers me too- the stickers on the bananas. Weight loss is every where and if is so annoying!
    Jenna

  35. Whitney @ Lettuce Love January 13, 2010 at 3:58 pm #

    Isn’t Costco the best place ever! I could wander around there for days finding such random stuff. Those banana stickers are mega lame! I wish people cared more about being healthy and happy and less about trying to be a certain number on the scale — it makes me so mad!

  36. julia January 13, 2010 at 4:11 pm #

    Crazy bananas…IGNORE!

    And loving that froyo! Can’t get it anywhere here…so sad…I think I have to emigrate;)

    xxx Julia (Taste of Living)

  37. tatiannalives January 13, 2010 at 4:25 pm #

    Shelley!
    Could you look any cuter in those pictures? I didn’t think so πŸ˜‰

    … I am SO glad you are being pro-active and doing something about those evil banana stickers πŸ˜› I think it’s awful how much stress our society puts on us, and something definitely needs to be done to change it.

    xox
    Tat

  38. katie January 13, 2010 at 4:27 pm #

    Loving the pics of you and your man : ) and he looks sweet holding that applesauce for his girl! : )

    I have never been to Costco before, we have a Sams Club which is the same concept : )

    Loving the froyo and I need some in my life soon, hmmmm that or Coldstone, I love me some coldstone but froyo rocks my world just as much!!!

    That birthday cake pic was coldstone that I had, yum!!!

    Banana diet is a big crock of you know what, lol!!!! Oh all those fad diets, its sad really : (

    Have a BEAUTIFUL day girl!!!! xoxoxo

  39. Michelle (Snacks and Field) January 13, 2010 at 4:33 pm #

    ahhh so many things to say…
    1. LOVE Costco- amazing.
    2. You and Gardner are so freakin’ adorable
    3. Red Mango is delicious- I got pumpkin with graham cracker crumbles on it during Thanksgiving time (not too pumpkiny but still super delicious)
    4. Pumpkin Oats are my favorite- Sometimes I add Trader Joe’s Pumpkin butter if I don’t melt a banana in- Super flavorful πŸ™‚
    5. You’re a college student- It’s not like nobody else our age drinks! lol- and exactly like you said- it’s YOUR blog- you post whateverrrr you want, girl!
    6. Ahh the banana diet- i was contemplating putting it in my post the other day; I am completely against it as well- it’s so dumb how everything in the media is surrounded around losing weight as opposed to loving our bodies (why I LOVE the Dove campaigns)- But idk about the sticker thing, it’s a little drastic: I recommend that you and your mom write a well-thought-out letter to Dole/Whatever banana company it is- and tell them how you feel; I think that would make a greater impact and mean a lot more!

    Let me know what you think πŸ™‚
    Michelle

  40. Gina G January 13, 2010 at 4:45 pm #

    i love that idea Shelley!

    and don’t ever worry about offending us, live your life girl! =)

  41. lowandbhold January 13, 2010 at 4:46 pm #

    I definitely think you should post an Operation Beautiful note by the Banana Diet sign. That is soooo ridiculous, I completely agree with you.

    Also, no judgement here about the drinking πŸ™‚ I definitely had my ways before I was 21 also.

    Those things he said while sleeping seriously cracked me up!

  42. Brynne January 13, 2010 at 4:56 pm #

    Your froyo looks seriously DELICIOUS! It’s so depressing to have noooo froyo places around here in CT :0( Have you heard of Operation Beautiful? Go here: http://operationbeautiful.com/ and check it out!! It’s basically a campaign leaving notes like the one you want to put by the bananas all over the world! Have a great night love!

  43. Molly January 13, 2010 at 5:03 pm #

    your dinnner looks bomb! especially dessert.
    Im glad you went out to the bar and let loose for a while πŸ™‚ Its always good to go out and have a good time!
    (and no worries, there is no way in hell I could judge ya on that one! hahah)

    Enjoy the rest of your day deary

    xo- Molly

    http://www.givinganythingbutup.wordpress.com

  44. kbwood January 13, 2010 at 5:12 pm #

    COSTCO!! oh my gosh. so fun. i would go CRAZY in that store. you and your boy are so freakin cute πŸ™‚ how long have yall been dating again? my bf turns 21 in march..cant believe it either!!

    those 5 carb dinners arent killing you..they are doing the opposite!! hehe πŸ™‚
    LOVE the pumpkin oats!
    im going to pita pit tonight too!

  45. daintyvegan January 13, 2010 at 5:23 pm #

    DO IT!! Those stickers are an amazing idea and I don’t think they would be annoying at all.

    And no worries about the underage drinking, I think we all do/have done it. πŸ˜‰

  46. Nelly January 13, 2010 at 5:31 pm #

    HAA I love it….I def need at least 2000 calories a day…I dont see how anyone could have 1200 and be active! Your boy falling asleep on you is adorable!

  47. ktangel1088 January 13, 2010 at 5:35 pm #

    ur are soo inspiring! i luv ya!

  48. itsxsammx3 January 13, 2010 at 5:41 pm #

    heyy shelly(:
    mmm i think i’m gunna need to try pumpkin oats soon because those look amazinggggg.
    i think it would be really cool for you and your mom to do that with the banana stickers! i agree weight loss is advertised wayy too much and it can be reallly triggering so i’m all for the positive banana stickers(:
    good lucky girllyy!

  49. merittothecarrot January 13, 2010 at 5:45 pm #

    You and your fine fellow are a smashing, absolutely stunning. Looks and sounds like you’ve been having fun together πŸ™‚
    SO happy to hear that you finally had pumpkin oats! Oh, the infinite possibilities that await you….

    Love you!

  50. Jessica Zara January 13, 2010 at 6:15 pm #

    You and Gar both look so cute in Costco. And you’re looking particularly stunning, might I add. If five carb dinners are giving you such a beautiful glow, then I say stick with them.

    Pumpkin oats are indeed the food of the Gods…as long as they’re paired with banana.

    Speaking of bananas, when I read your post title I thought ‘now there’s one diet I might be able to follow’ in a joking sense πŸ˜‰ Bananas are my favourite food…if it was the ‘PB & Banana’ diet I’d be there. But seriously, it’s pathetic the way that weight loss sells everything nowadays. There’s a programme on UK television at the moment advocating a 1200-calorie diet and it made me throw the remote at the TV. I’m sick of seeing ‘drop X pounds’ etc. plastered everywhere too and I do find it deeply misogynistic, although I’m not a feminist either. Companies are totally unscrupulous and will do anything to make a product more marketable. I suppose they’re trying to counter the ‘bananas are fattening’ crap that shows like The Biggest Loser have been feeding their viewers. Such things don’t cause EDs, but they can turn what could have been a positive day into an anxiety-filled one with constant reminders, subliminal or otherwise that weight loss=success. Err, wrong.

    I wish you luck with your beauty endeavour, though I agree that complaining to DOLE would be a good idea too πŸ™‚

    Have a fabulous day

    ❀

    ~Jess~
    xoxox

  51. homecookedem January 13, 2010 at 6:46 pm #

    That froyo looks awesome!! Love that you put pom seeds and graham cracker on top… yummy!! πŸ™‚

  52. Averie (LoveVeggiesAndYoga) January 13, 2010 at 7:02 pm #

    you and the boyf= beautiful people!

    the lose weight on the dole banana diet stickers. yes, have seen and soo annoying.

    the stickers you and your mom want to do….AMAZING IDEA, go for it girl!!!

  53. Caitlyn (Letters from the Oasis) January 13, 2010 at 7:10 pm #

    shocking that someone would actually recommend 1,200 calories. I’m all for people being healthy… and health doesn’t always have to do with weight… It’s a shame that’s what it’s turned into though…

    Spread the good news, girl!

  54. Cassie January 13, 2010 at 7:29 pm #

    OK I seriously laughed SO HARD at Gardner’s sleep-talking. Like, literally laughed out loud really hard three separate times. Nope, four times. Just laughed again! Hahahahaha.

    Did you like Pita Pit? We had one at Purdue and I loved it!

    Oh, and the stickers you and your mom are making for the bananas is an awesome idea! Very Operation Beautiful. πŸ™‚

  55. Simply Life January 13, 2010 at 8:00 pm #

    ha, wow – I’ve never seen that sticker before but I guess it’s better to encourage people to eat fruit instead of crap to lose weight πŸ™‚

  56. Melissa S. January 13, 2010 at 8:09 pm #

    I’m with you on that add being annoying and really, pretty inappropriate. I’ve seen this add all the way from california to florida about how to lose weight by calling this number…blah blah blah…makes me so mad! i always want to climb up on the billboard and spray paint all over it! arg!

    but i’m glad you realize how it’s not geared towards us and we know what is best for us and our bodies!

  57. BiochemΓ­sta January 13, 2010 at 8:16 pm #

    Great pics! FroYo looks amazing!

    Ps…you and Gar are so cute!

    -Lauren
    http://www.Biochemista.com

  58. theemptynutjar January 13, 2010 at 8:17 pm #

    You are amazing girl. So proud of your eats. Its like you dont second-guess..you just DO it..
    nice idea for the bananas!
    You and your guy look so sweet and cute i love it.
    Shelley, when I went to university, I went to the bars FAR earlier than was legal…its possible πŸ™‚
    And had the best times ever…used to leave the club super early in the morning and me and all my friends would head back to the dorm room and order pizza and all that stuff…
    life was so different then…not thought twice about stuff..funny how things change
    …for u though it can only go up and up !!

  59. devan January 13, 2010 at 8:29 pm #

    i love your sticker idea<3 beautiful!

  60. Meg's Gut January 13, 2010 at 8:53 pm #

    Love pumpkin oats!!!
    Now I’m craving them…ahhh!

    I love the banana sticker idea.
    I hate seeing all the adds for gaining weight. What about the commercials and adds for gaining weight!?!? I would love some of those.

  61. Jenny January 13, 2010 at 9:15 pm #

    ah amen, girl. OF COURSE bananas are a healthy food.. they’re a fruit for pete’s sake — but why is it necessary to boast them as “weight loss” mechanisms. If I didn’t love them so much I would totally boycott bananas — but i’m slightly obsessed and my bowl of oats just wouldn’t be the same without ’em. I love your sticker idea and I hope you and your mom make a profound impact on so many lives! You’re wonderful, girl πŸ™‚

  62. Ashlei January 13, 2010 at 9:25 pm #

    lol love Gardner’s sleeping thoughts about the ice pack! πŸ™‚ haha

    Having struggled with weight issues, I hate seeing ‘weight loss’ stuff everywhere also – on bananas, on tv, “100 snack packs”, everything! they should make “be healthy” stickers instead.

  63. Gelareh @ Orange Truffle January 13, 2010 at 9:44 pm #

    I LOVE YOUR IDEA… that is such a great idea…

    You had a busy day. My first underage drink was bought by a State trooper.. huh.. I was 2 months away from my 21st birthday and was leaving for Cali for an internship so my friends husband who was over 21 of course.. bought me a drink.. lol

  64. psychoj1 January 13, 2010 at 9:49 pm #

    I HATE how they put that on the banana stickers. I am eating them because they are delicious and are good for me, not because they are going to help me lose weight–GRR!!

    Your day sounds just about perfect. I mean, Costco+Panera+Froyo!!!?

    ❀ jess
    xoxo

  65. D January 13, 2010 at 11:38 pm #

    I agree that weight loss advertisements are too prevalent, but unfortunately this isn’t really the fault of companies. These companies only serve what the public wants, and people WANT this type of information. People don’t buy diet books order diet gimmicks from infomercials because they are there – these products and diets exist because people want them. I think we need to take responsiblity for ourselves and not blame “the media” for certain ideas. If we don’t think they are right, we don’t need to accept it. Triggers exist because we let them – something inside of ourselves responds to an outside force in a certain way, but if we don’t have the issue in the first place, no amount of outside information can trigger a reaction. I don’t have an ED, but I’ve definitely had the same struggles as a lot of women. I choose not to let myself get “triggered” by certain things. Do I think it’s “triggering” to see gossip magazines with diets on the front? Yes. But, it is only triggering because of my own insecurities and if they didn’t exist, I would find something else. I feel like it is easy to LOOK for triggering things, and it’s a common female problem. We look for things to upset us, or read into something until it offends us. We need to take responsibility and admit when we are overanalying something, and don’t give it any more meaning. The truth is, plenty of people do need to lose weight. The majority of the US is obese, and so it’s not unreasonable to have diet information everywhere. I’m not saying it’s done in the best way, but people don’t always need to just be told that they are okay the way they are. Sometimes weight loss is just about that – weight. It isn’t saying anything about the worth of a person or that they will be better for losing weight, but it is just about losing weight for health. Is 1200 calories enough for everyone? Maybe not. But there are plenty of people out there who have no idea where to start and don’t have the extensive knowledge of nutrition that people in the blog word have, and 1200 is a medically recognised number to start out with. And for those that are clinically obese, it IS enough when you are losing weight. Anyway, just my opinion! Interesting topic, I’ll be reading!

  66. Hillary January 13, 2010 at 11:52 pm #

    Pumpkin oats are yummy. Love to make them in the fall. Giveaway? Can’t wait! Thanks =)

    ~ Nutrition Nut on the Run

  67. crazylittlethingneela January 14, 2010 at 12:09 am #

    aww this stupid diet jazz everyday! it’s mad! now its even on bananas. but sweetie remember it’s just advertising and marketing strategies for companies to earn money. they actually really don’t care what happens to people as long as they make money! so damn sad!
    but we know better than this right??
    xoxo

  68. Karin January 14, 2010 at 5:16 am #

    Go girl! That’s an amazing idea! I can’t believe that they are doing this to helpless little bananas ;). But you’re right, weight loss ads are EVERYWHERE! No wonder we all struggle with weight issues!

    You and Gardner are so adoreable!

  69. Emily January 14, 2010 at 8:18 am #

    I think the whole weight loss thing is so prevalent (banana stickers, taco bell diet, Jill’s Diet pills, etc)right now because it’s the new year and in our overwhelmingly overweight/obese country, marketers are trying to appeal to those who made their resolutions to lose weight. That being said, I think that everyone is beautiful in their own way and it can never hurt to remind someone of that fact.

    Yay froyo! LOVE it!

  70. feetinmotion January 14, 2010 at 9:38 am #

    Definitely a good idea! And like others have stated, operationbeautiful does the same thing. πŸ™‚

  71. MelissaNibbles January 14, 2010 at 9:54 am #

    I am proudly one of those activist/feminist people and I think that’s a fabulous idea.

    No shame in being a feminist. We get a bad rep. Yes, I’m a feminist, but I also like to get my hair done, wear pink and listen to Britney Spears. We’re not that bad!

  72. Ada January 14, 2010 at 10:07 am #

    Wow I seriously need to break my Costco virginity, it looks amazing! I have absolutely no problem with you posting anything related to drinking (ahem, I’m in college too haha) but just be careful because you never know what law enforcement is lurking around the internet. I’m probably just being over paranoid though lol.

  73. Amanda January 14, 2010 at 11:21 am #

    I noticed those stickers on my bananas too and just rolled my eyes. So ridiculous! Great idea to make your own stickers!

  74. *Andrea* January 14, 2010 at 4:52 pm #

    i’ve never been to costco!!! but it looks like foodie paradise πŸ˜‰ you are so pretty!!!!! your hair looks shiny and silky like in commercials.

  75. Danielle January 15, 2010 at 8:22 am #

    Hey girl, thanks for the comment on my blog! Yeah, America is getting a little ridiculous with the “fad diets.” I know we have an obesity epidemic, but it’s like we go from one extreme to the next.
    And don’t be sorry for saying you were drinking! You’re young and deserve to experiment/have fun (as long as you’re safe) πŸ™‚

  76. imaginenamaste January 15, 2010 at 10:39 am #

    I think those stickers on bananas are hilarious–how on earth can a banana make you lose weight? Maybe if you ate only bananas, and then you would probably have a few other issues!

    Haha, I loved the sleep talking comments–my relationship (haha we aren’t really dating, but are, its complicated) does the same thing but he texts in his sleep to the last person he did before….I was like, what the heck!

  77. Lindsey January 15, 2010 at 11:08 am #

    Those apple straws look awesome! I think your dinner looked delicious, so pretty and colorful too πŸ™‚

    Oh to be a freshman in college again (i’m 25 now)….enjoy yourself!!!

  78. Bekah January 15, 2010 at 2:38 pm #

    ughh, I hate that diet/weight loss is everywhere too. Don’t get me wrong, I’m a avid watcher of The biggest loser, and I’m alll for decreasing obesity and whatnot, but there’s an appropriate place for everything, and honestly dear, I’m sick of it too! Not only is it on my mind ALL the freaking time, but its everywhere else too. And even the fat people (haha) talk about it all the time.. no joke.

    That’s one thing I struggle with with being so active in the healthy living blogosphere, is to an extent I LOVE meeting everybody and making new friends, but sometimes I just can’t handle it anymore.

    BTW.. hehe Love your Costco pics!

  79. Matthew C. Kriner January 15, 2010 at 3:31 pm #

    Hi , just read your article, I have been doing research on this, and your blog has helped.Hopefully I’ll see more of your posts on the net! I have added your Rss feed to my RSS feed reader, can’t wait to read more .cya

  80. learningtocookeatandenjoydeliciousfood January 29, 2010 at 11:17 pm #

    I personally do not think any less of you for going to a bar and drinking… i think that if you do it responsibly and dont overdo it… I dont think it should be a problem, because we are allowed to go to war @ 18, but not allowed to drink till were 21, which I think is crazy!! Have fun and enjoy college!! πŸ™‚

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Media, Weight Loss, & Being Thin – Overrated « The Vegster - January 14, 2010

    […] do a complete 180 and blog about something very near and dear to my heart. Yesterday I was reading Shelley’s post about the “banana diet” (not a real thing by the way) and about how banana’s in […]

  2. It’s all about the food people. « Beek Eats! - July 14, 2010

    […] favorite or most bizarre frozen yogurt flavor you’ve tried?Β  I know you guys like your frozen yogurt!Β  As food bloggers, do you notice your love for food impacting how you act in certain social […]

Leave a Reply

