Collections

10 Jan

Hello All!

I’m going to break this post up into two parts. The first is my typical recap & the second is dedicated purely to collections. (I’ll explain why later)

After breakfast Friday, I literally did nothing all day. It was pathetic haha but I did accomplish 1 thing.. finishing Season 1 of Glee! yesss.. I am officially in lovee with that show!

For lunch I ate a veggie burger that I purchased at the grocery store with my mom at 12:30 the night before.. hahaha. It was portabello mushroom veggie burger

I ate it on an arnold whole grain thin with peanut butter pretzels, regular pretzels, a pear, and a laughing cow wedge = (4 carbs, 3 fats, 3 proteins)

For a snack I had yet another green monster smoothie– I admit it.. i’m in love ❤ This one had 1 cup of 2% milk, frozen strawberries, frozen grapes, cinnamon raisin peanut butter, & spinach with some ice/water. Drank it up in this awesome snow man mug haha

Ok, not really green… kinda brownish ?? haha. still tastes yummy!

When dinner time rolled around, I went with my family to the country club for dinner. I tried to not get anxious and make the meal fit my meal plan. I ordered a salad that had some blue cheese/bacon & veggies, dressing on the side and got a salmon filet on top. I also ordered a baked potato to get in some carbs.

I finally got to pick up Gar from the airport! I missed him soo much. It was only 5 nights but it felt like soo much longer. I was with him all night. The next morning I had IOP. We eat lunch there and this was it:

IOP went fairly well. I only have one week left until I go back to school which really surprises me. It has gone by really fast and I’m really glad I did it because I feel like it has benefitted me so much even though sometimes I don’t realize it. I talked to the nutritionist about my anxiety with regards to my lack of movement and increased calories & she reassured me that it is what I need. It made me feel a lot better surprisingly. it’s funny how even when people tell you things you know deep down, it can still really help.

After IOP I hung out with Gardner! I made another Green monster smoothie for a snack & he tried it and liked it. Last night I also went to campus with my friend who was in town & got dinner. It was great to see her and dinner was delicious (no pictures though!)

This morning’s breakfast was a big old yogurt mess with fage2%, 1/4 cup granola, 1/4 cup honey sunshine, a banana, some raisins, & cinnamon raisin swirl. I lOVE these kind of breakfasts!

After breakfast, My Mom and I were feeling a little hyper haha. We have a lot of icicles that are outside the windwos of our house, so we had some fun…..

Those could kill someome, i swear!

Lunch was with my boyy and I grilled up one of these & panini’d it in a sandwich with spinach & onions! Ate with an apple, carrots & sweet potato chips

Tonight i’m going to the Blue Jacket’s ice hockey game with Gardner & my parents..should be a fun time! I love going to hockey games.

♦♦♦♦

Recovery Update:

Still been following meal plan. My weight has gone up. Part of me is happy & part of me is scared but I know I must stick with this. It will only make things more difficult if I back down. I Just have to keep remembering that every pound is a pound of health & is getting me inches closer to a “normal” & happy life!!

♦♦♦♦

The second part of my post is dedicated to collections. Growing up, collections were a huge part of my life. My mom told me it is because her Mom (who I am named after) had a lot of collections. I started realizing this lately and thought i’d share with you some of the many collections in my households. Though some are weird, random, & odd I think it is importnat to have individual collections/interests/passions that make you unique. In a way, it is kind of like blogging 🙂

I collect snow globes. Ever since I was a kid, whenever I go on vacation (or my Dad goes somewhere), I always ge ta snow globe!! I have soo many. Gardner always gets me one if he goes on vacation too [he’s a sweetie]

Gardner got me that one on his last trip!

My mom has many strange collections..

& then there’s the cows..

& the dice…

Also, My Grandma (who I am named after & who passed away before I was born) collected salt & pepper shakers.. My mom has kept it up

& My grandmother also collected bakelite jewelry

& even my dad has his collections

& My sister has a collection of tiaras? Not sure why.. haha

Well, there ya have it! My little tidbit about collections. I think they say a lot about people!

Do you have any collections? What do they mean to you?


Happy & relaxing Sunday, lovies!! Thank you all for your genuine & supportive comments. They make my day!!



xoxoxoxo

Shelley♥

69 Responses to “Collections”

  1. theemptynutjar January 10, 2010 at 6:16 pm #

    Hey,
    girl you a beaming ray of light. You really exude LIFE. You are beautiful…and your mom looks so sweet, pretty and fun…no wonder you are so cool!
    I love your enthusiasm for food , life, everything…no worries about doing nothing…i do …nothing 🙂
    Its actually really pathetically bad how little i do !
    Wow – all the collections are so cute…i love snow globes, i have none…but they always appealed to me.
    I dont collect anything i dont think..other than books…and guilt, worry and anxiety…(but hopefully they will be a collection of good riddance .) Have a great night shelley.

  2. Abby January 10, 2010 at 6:29 pm #

    What a fabulous post.. LOVE your family’s collections (esp your snow globes)!! I collect music boxes and get one every yr for my birthday.

    All your eats look great.. good for you for buliding up that bod of y0urs.. soo important. Im really happy to hear you are happy! Keep doing what you’re doing, hun! )

  3. Jessica @ How Sweet It Is January 10, 2010 at 6:32 pm #

    I LOVE collections! My mom has collected many things. As for me, my grandmother has always given me gorgeous glass perfume bottles. I have about 15 now and still going. They are all so pretty!

  4. homecookedem January 10, 2010 at 6:47 pm #

    Oh my gosh those icicles are crazy!! Don’t ever walk under any of them!!

    Adorable collections!! Love the S&P collection!! I used to collect Princess Diana memorabilia. I still have all of it at my parent’s house. Now the only collection I have are my gingerbread decorations for Christmas. It runs in my family also… my mom collects angels and my aunts both collect nativity scenes. 🙂

  5. merittothecarrot January 10, 2010 at 6:57 pm #

    You and your mom know how to live it up woman! And I share an equally strong & passionate love for Glee. It is fantastic.
    You never cease to make me smile 🙂

    It’s great to hear how strong you’ve been and that your recovery is moving along exceptionally!

  6. Jenny January 10, 2010 at 7:02 pm #

    props to Gardner for liking the GM! I try to get Gingie to try my bloggie inspired meals all the time, to no avail. I did convert him to a PB&Co mighty maple lover though … baby steps!

    keep on keeping on, sweetie. You are doing so well and gaining more health and strength each and every day!! 🙂 I can’t tell you how proud you’re making me!!

    Collections are wonderful! when I was younger I had the most RIDICULOUS collection of beanie babies.. I was so obsessed. Now I suppose I collect peanut butter 🙂 yummy hobbie, no?

  7. Lexi January 10, 2010 at 7:02 pm #

    Hey lovie. All of your eats are amazing. I love seeing what you have to show us every time you post! OK I need to try a green monster now, you’ve got me tempted with all of yours!! Great job with dinner at the country club, sounds like you amazing working with your meal plan. Seriously, with the exchange system, literally anything can fit into your meal plan. I love working with exchanges for this reason. It makes going out to eat so much easier. Glad your boy is back!! And I’m proud of you for following your meal plan and gaining! Trust me, each pound is worth it. Looking back, when I was going through the gaining process (time and time again) it was so scary. but now that I’m here and finally maintaining it for a long period of time, I just feel SO happy and positive it’s amazing. I know you will get here too.

    Have fun at the BJ game (hahaha bj). I could seriously write you a novel in this comment, but I’ll stop now lol.

    So proud of you!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Love,
    Lex

  8. katie January 10, 2010 at 7:04 pm #

    I heart this post just like I heart you!!!! Your mom and you are so funny!! Wow those icicles could be a weapon!!!

    I love green monsters and the combo you are making sounds good, going to have to try it!!!!

    I am proud of you for doing so AMAZING!!! You are amazing, sweet , and beautiful and you will only keep doing better : )

    I collect Hello Kitty stuff!!!!!

    My mom is obsessed with Wizard of Oz stuff and shot glasses from different states : )

    I love your snow globe collection!!!! So awesome!!!

    Have fun at the hockey game with your boy and family!!!!

    : ) xo

  9. Morgan January 10, 2010 at 7:07 pm #

    I’m seriously so glad I started reading your blog, because your posts always make me smile. Keep up the great work with your health!
    I collect rubber duckies. Lots of them. I also have a thing for measuring cups, not sure why!

  10. Naomi(onefitfoodie) January 10, 2010 at 7:09 pm #

    first of all I am SO happy about how well you are doing!! everytime I come in here it just gets better and better and I am so very exited for you!! 🙂

    all of your meals look so balanced and great! I ove the idea of the grilled panini with the chicken sausages (which are SO good btw)

    you and your mom are so cute with those icicles! they really can kill someone LOL love your goggles!

    the collections are great thank you for sharing them! when I was younger I collected glass animals, my mom used ot as well and had a few for me to start my collection but I have a ton now! I havent gone looking recently but if I am somewhere where I see one I snag it!

    love u!

  11. brianna January 10, 2010 at 7:24 pm #

    Glee is amazing! My sister and I got a bunch of itunes cards for xmas so we keep on purchasing more episodes of glee… my fave to so far is the one with the football players doing the single ladies dance. Hockey games are amazing they get pretty rowdy here in vancouver. I used to collect china dolls then I realized they are really creepy and stopped that collection in its tracks!

  12. Emily (http://funnyemily.wordpress.com) January 10, 2010 at 7:48 pm #

    i so wish glee was the story of my life. i love love love it.
    shelley you rock. pure and simple. i know gaining isn’t easy, but girl you are doing such a great job. all your eats look amazing & i can tell you’re working on being more flexible with more real world eating experiences. you inspire me every day girl.
    i’ve always tried to collect things but then i get distracted by something else…my mom used to collect frogs haha
    happy sunday love! enjoy the hockey game, i’ve never been to one, they seem so intense!!
    xoxo

  13. The Candid RD January 10, 2010 at 7:51 pm #

    It looks like you and your mom have fun together, similar to my mom and I! I love being around her because we always laugh and laugh and laugh. I can tell you guys were doing just that 🙂

    I’m so glad your appointments with the nutritionist are helping, that’s so fantastic. And, right before you go back to school, so good. Hopefully you will still have contact with her when you go back?

    Hope you had a blast at the hockey game! My brother and dad LOVE to go to the Blue Jackets games. I’ve been to a couple, but they just aren’t my thing. I can never see the pick, then I freak out when they score!

  14. Rachael January 10, 2010 at 7:54 pm #

    How was the veggie burger? I’ve seen it at the market a couple times and always consider giving it a try.
    Wow… Those icicles are terrifying! It seriously took a good minute for it to register in my brain what they were. Then again I’ve never been in the snow so I wouldn’t know an icicle if it hit me in the head… And hopefully one never will. 😉
    I love your snow globe collection. Our apartment is too small to really collect anything, but I have pages and pages of quotes, song lyrics, etc. that I’ve written down. Does that count?

    Rachael*

  15. crazylittlethingneela January 10, 2010 at 7:59 pm #

    aww shelley you are so freaking adorable! i loved your collection spread 😉
    sadly i don’t have any collections. my dad has like OCD so everything in our house is insanely neat and organized. so no collections whatsoever. but my family collects buddahs i guess. considering that we bring back one after every trip to an asian country. and plase mind they are live-sized about 5-6 feet. yeah a really weird collection 😉
    xoxo

  16. Emily January 10, 2010 at 8:50 pm #

    I love all your collections, they are so fun 🙂

    You and your mom are too cute with those icicles.

    It’s great that you have been sticking to your meal plan and making progress! Congrats.

    xoxo
    Keep fighting!

  17. Sara January 10, 2010 at 9:03 pm #

    Hey Shelley,
    I just started reading your blog a few days ago. It looks like you are handling recovery so well, and all of your meals look great!

    I’ve been really down lately about my own recovery, and this post just made my day! I need to work on being more positive like you…the weight gain has been really getting to me..i’m at a healthy weight now, just uncomfortable. I know it is just ED talking most of the time though…it’s just hard to block it out…i have my first appt. with a counselor and nutritionist on Wednesday though, so i hope things will get better..

    Congrats on recovery again,
    ((HUGS)) Sara

  18. Molly January 10, 2010 at 9:09 pm #

    aw I LOVE your collections.
    I guess you could say I collect quotes. They put my emotions on paper, and in a way, if someone else has felt this same way…kinda makes you feel less alone, ya know? I have billions saved on my computer and books filled with pages of them.

    Hope you had a wonderful weekend. Stay strong, I am so proud of how well you’re doing! 🙂

    xo- Molly

    http://www.givinganythingbutup.wordpress.com

  19. Lily @ Lily's Health Pad January 10, 2010 at 9:19 pm #

    I loved looking at your family’s collections. When I was in middle and high school, I collected Sanrio stationary (the creators of hello kitty-i was obviously way too cool), and my friends and I wrote notes on it. Now I don’t have any collections, unless you count my abundance of tea.

  20. Averie (LoveVeggiesAndYoga) January 10, 2010 at 9:44 pm #

    I love your collections, they are awesome and adorable and what a great memory to have!!!

    Your recovery. So happy for you that you’re on track and things seem to be on an uptick for you, Shelley 🙂
    xoxox

  21. Jenna January 10, 2010 at 9:46 pm #

    Veggie burgers and sausages look great in you meals!
    Good job at going out to eat and making sure you got the extra carbs in for your meal!
    Glad you are enjoying those green monsters! I have yet to try them!
    Jenna

  22. tatiannalives January 10, 2010 at 9:51 pm #

    You are so full of positivity girl! I love it 🙂
    I hope you are enjoying the rest of your time off 😀 Too bad it can’t last forever eh?

    … I think your snowglobe collection is precious 🙂 I collect novels. If I like a book that I read, I simply HAVE to buy it. I have shelves full 🙂

    xox
    Tat

  23. Gina G January 10, 2010 at 9:58 pm #

    im so glad it’s been going good for you with your nutritionist, don’t ever give up on yourself, you can do this! i understand what you mean completely with working out, i wanted to go on the treadmill tonight cause i felt like i kinda overdone it today but my mom really did not want me too, and you know what? i didn’t go on it! and i’m actually fine with it =) its one step at a time

    p.s.i love your collections! i actually have a collection of snowglobes that my grandparents would give me every year on Christmas. and i also have (i know its kinda cheesy) a collection of the collectable barbie dolls and spice girls put away in the basement, saving them if i have little girls when im older, haha

    have a good night girl

  24. psychoj1 January 10, 2010 at 10:05 pm #

    I think your snow globe collection is awesome!! I love it! So cute! I love all your collections 🙂

    Mmm, panini’s are SO good! I love the ooey gooey cheese! Congrats on your weight gain–I know it’s scary but you can do it!
    ❤ jess
    xoxo

  25. Gelareh @ Orange Truffle January 10, 2010 at 10:13 pm #

    You had tons of good eats.. the grilled salmon on top of the salad looks real good.

    Those are some big icicles… it looks like you and your mom had a blast with them.

    Great to hear you are working towards your health and are so positive… remember that as you become healthier your body will thank you over and over.

    Thanks for sharing all of your collections… I love snow globes as well but don’t have a collection.. my husband got me into ugly dolls.. every time he goes out of town he brings me a new ugly doll.. each comes with a story… 🙂

  26. janie January 10, 2010 at 10:29 pm #

    so cool, i loved seeing all you and your family’s collections!!! i wish i had the patience to collect things… when i was a kid i had a few porcelain dolls, and of course uh, barbies and my little ponies… 😉 i was more an (unofficial) collector of books just because i loved to read — had all the babysitter’s club and sweet valley series! :p

  27. kbwood January 10, 2010 at 10:43 pm #

    so sweet about your collections shell!! i LOVE that you and your momma are so close-that makes me so so so happy!! my momma and i are the same way! yay for your boo being back! its always nice to have them back after theyve been gone 🙂 youve done such a great job this break love..this is only the beginning of a BEAUTIFUL journey! so proud of you!

  28. onehealthyapple January 10, 2010 at 10:45 pm #

    I’m so glad to hear you are doing so well! You and your mom are so cute together. Of course it’s a good idea to play with icicles!

    I collect absolutely nothing…I used to collect pretty stones when I was little though (like amethyst rocks and different kinds of quartz stone). My husband used to collect all the quarters so I got into that for a while!

    Thanks for sharing all of yours- I love the jewelery and the snow globes 🙂

  29. Sara K January 10, 2010 at 10:47 pm #

    Wow lotsa awesome collections- I especially love the salt n pepper shakers! I collect airline barf bags…I know that’s super weird, but I’ve been doing it since I was a kid and I probably have some from around 100 different airlines- it’s cool because they’re all in different languages/different logos/illustrations etc. My mom on the other hand collects anything with apples on it.
    It sounds like you’re progressing well in your recovery- and the reassurance definitely does help- I know I needed (and still need) to hear it sometimes. The weight gain is a difficult process, and it does take time to adjust when you reach your goal weight, but once you do you realize how much better it is and how much more alive you feel. I never thought I’d say that I TRULY don’t even want to lose weight…nope not even a little…it’s pretty awesome 🙂

  30. devan January 10, 2010 at 11:08 pm #

    you are so fantastic, my dear Shelley!
    You really are so positive, and radiant!

    haha. I love the pictures of you and your mom !:D So much fun!!

    I collect anything with Elephants.. i adore them.. such large yet gentle creatures, with amazing minds, and tender hearts.

  31. angnxd January 10, 2010 at 11:22 pm #

    oh my gosh those icicles are scary!! Sounds like you are doing so well and you are so right about every pound gained is a step closer to living a happy healthy life! 🙂

  32. Allie (Live Laugh Eat) January 10, 2010 at 11:54 pm #

    Our family collects shot glasses–I’ve been meaning to feature it on the bloggy! We get one everywhere we travel. Those icicles are HUGE!!!! OMG.

    I need to watch Glee! I hate watching shows out of order though so I’ll have to wait for the DVDs.

  33. Stef @ moretolifethanlettuce January 10, 2010 at 11:55 pm #

    LOL you and your mama are so cute, those are some crazay icicles! it’s like in that episode of grey’s anatomy…except a lot less gory 😉 hooray for midnight grocery store runs! and glee!

  34. Ashlei January 11, 2010 at 12:12 am #

    Wow lots of collections! My grandma collects salt & pepper shakers too! And magnets anytime she goes to a new city – I started doing this too and keeping them on the fridge. Kinda cool. 🙂

    You are so strong, with what you’re going through. Green smoothies are delicious and so healthy, and it’s great that you’re on the right track to become healthy again! Keep at it 😀

    xoxo
    Ashlei

  35. candice January 11, 2010 at 1:23 am #

    You’re nutritionist is right—this is exactly what you need right now. Keep at it! You’re doing awesome. I love yogurt messes for breakfast, too, but only in the summer, since I’m basically freezing to death in the mornings in the winter. I collect… bar wrappers. Yeah. It’s the only thing I’ve managed to build up a decent collection for, since I eat so many… lol.

  36. Karin January 11, 2010 at 3:58 am #

    Oh your collections are so amazing! I sadly don’t collect anything but it would be fun to start one. Why have I never thought of that? (Well maybe because my apartment is so pathetic and small that I don’t have any space for it ;)). Well I have about 3 shot glasses so maybe I should start a collection there ;).

    I am so impressed with your meal plan. You’re doing such an amazig and impressive job. Keep it up! 🙂

  37. seekmyself January 11, 2010 at 7:47 am #

    Hi Shelley,
    Thank you for stopping by my blog and your kind comments. Your progress in recovery is very inspirational 🙂 Stay strong, hun, you’re truly doing amazing…

    When I was a child, I use to collect a lot of things (stickers, rocks, marbles, etc.) but now my main collection is Disney movies… I’m trying to get my hands on all of them 🙂

  38. Casey January 11, 2010 at 9:39 am #

    GLAD to hear you are doing well, Shelley! It’s so great that you recognize that even though it’s hard, you’re doing the right things….and attitude is about 80% of the battle anyway, and you’ve got that down!!

    Enjoyed your blog today as usual :). Have a fabulous day!!

  39. Melissa January 11, 2010 at 11:03 am #

    Your family’s collections are SO cute, and funny. Loved the pics of you and your mom with the icicles. Even though they’re a little scary!

    I’m really glad you love Glee as much as I do…and that you’re gaining weight and getting better. It’s more important to feel great. Don’t get hung up if the scale goes up. You’re getting healthy! 🙂

  40. julia January 11, 2010 at 11:14 am #

    Good to hear about your recovery in that update and you know what? You must stick with this, like you said…it’s the only way and it’s the right way! You’re doing great:)

    Love those pictures with your mom!

    xxx Julia (Taste of Living)

  41. Missy Maintains January 11, 2010 at 11:36 am #

    Glad your appointments are going well. Sounds like you are on the right track! Your salmon salad looked great! Loved seeing all of your collections 🙂

  42. Chrysta January 11, 2010 at 11:59 am #

    Cool collections girl!! I think the only collection I have is shot glasses! Ha! What a thing to collect! But every time we go somewhere we grab one from the gift shops there. Great job on your recovery too girl!! Your body will feel ssooo much better. Im so proud of how awesome you are doing. Keep on rockin!!!

    By the way those icicles are totally crazy! Ive never seen them get so big! You and your mom are just too cute=)

  43. Lizzy January 11, 2010 at 12:35 pm #

    GLEE!!! you HAVE to get the soundtrack! it’s soooo good! i like it so much I listen to it while running…hehehe! CHICA YOU ARE DOING awesome! you’re so beautiful and honest, keep up the hard work because your body deserves to be treated that way! So glad your man is back to spend time with! And I love how close you and your momma are…i’m very close w/ my mom too and I love it!! I hope you’re having a great monday! xoxo!

  44. Ada January 11, 2010 at 1:45 pm #

    Haha I love the pics of you and your momma with the icicles! So cute:)

    OMG I had a ton of weird collections growing up as well. These included snow globes as well, anything related to aliens or moose, chap stick, and water bottles.

  45. Taylor January 11, 2010 at 1:56 pm #

    We have Glee starting in the UK tonight, I’m looking forward to watching it 🙂
    I collect all sorts of things, trinket boxes, watches, hello kitty products.

  46. Foodie (Fab and Delicious Food) January 11, 2010 at 2:51 pm #

    Good job following your meal plan! You are doing so great with your recovery! Go you!

    Love all the collections, especially the snowglobes! I have a few snowglobes, not enough for a collection, but I still love them!

  47. Heather January 11, 2010 at 2:52 pm #

    I just love the icicles!!! I can’t believe how big they are:)

  48. Simply Life January 11, 2010 at 3:00 pm #

    oh that salmon salad looks great!

  49. vegfiguresk8er January 11, 2010 at 3:33 pm #

    I’m so glad you are really liking the green smoothies 🙂 and don’t worry about doing nothing all day! that’s what breaks are for girl 🙂
    I love your collections, I use to collected stamps, coins and shoe figurines oh and anything with the spice girls! lol I was so cool….
    have a great day darling!

  50. julie January 11, 2010 at 3:37 pm #

    holy weekend! sounds like your weekend was a really good 🙂 and the dinner at the country club was definitely an awesome decision! it looks delicious.

  51. oatsandchocolate January 11, 2010 at 3:38 pm #

    GLEE 🙂 the best show ever! im watching it all over again tonight ahaaha! your eats look absolutely amazing! that yogurt mess oh my goodnessss. great job sticking to your meal plan- thats so awesome, your doing great! i collect bracelets i have no idea how it started hahah i have like 40! have an amazing night ❤
    xoxo
    soph

  52. Lauren (Biochemista) January 11, 2010 at 4:12 pm #

    Heyyy 🙂

    Great post! I love the collection pics! I used to collect anything to do with whales or space….lol. Guess it was the science love at a young age 🙂

    Congrats on the ongoing recovery process! I imagine it could be anxiety-provoking but you seem to be thinking rationally and surrounding yourself with positive people…keep it up 🙂

    xox

    Lauren
    http://www.Biochemista.com

  53. Wishful Nals January 11, 2010 at 4:35 pm #

    i think collections are great! they sort of serve the same purpose as a scrapbook.

  54. Kristie January 11, 2010 at 4:50 pm #

    You’re awesome and so strong girly. Cheers to keeping up the good health!
    I watched the first several episodes of Glee Seasons 1 but then school got in the way. I really need to finish up the rest!!
    Totally intrigued by the collections too. How cute are they?! Really unique too, dice, salt and pepper shakers… never seen any like those before! I don’t really have any but when I was young I collected stamps and pogs haha. I know, so cool right? 🙂

  55. Nelly January 11, 2010 at 4:51 pm #

    I just started a collection of glasses…my favorite are at peir one! Love your eats girl!

  56. Michelle (Snacks and Field) January 11, 2010 at 6:38 pm #

    First off, LOVE Glee ahhh obsessed! My roommate and I listen to the CDs repetitively… we can’t get enough!!

    And ahh I love when you say “every pound is a pound of health” It’s so true!! Stick with everything girl, and I know it can get you anxious (not moving and increased cals) but it’s gonna be sooo good for you!

    Your salmon salad looked so yummy btw 🙂

  57. quarterlifewellness January 11, 2010 at 9:52 pm #

    You are too cute!

    Like your mama, my mom collects pig statues, weird kids! ha.

    I dont collect anything besides clothes 😉

  58. Mitri January 11, 2010 at 10:36 pm #

    Haha! The photos of you and your mom with the icicles are hysterical… You have such a great family for being understanding of your blog, and you are doing so well in recovery!!! Or should I just say LIFE?

    You radiate happiness 🙂 and determination to do what is right, even when it is not easy.

    I collect quotes, if that counts. I keep a journal and whenever I read or hear an inspirational line, I write it down!

  59. burpexcuzme January 11, 2010 at 10:57 pm #

    Oh my God, girl. Love your collections…it’s like a whole museum in there! I’m not tenacious enough to keep up with collections. I once tried to collect anything horsey, but that was just a 2-week phase. Haha.

    GREAT job on the recovery front, Shelley! Remember, those are not just weight…it’s not excess weight, it’s much NEEDED weight that will make you even more beautiful, and grant you long-lasting health so that you can do whatever you need to do in life!

  60. Tammy January 11, 2010 at 11:43 pm #

    Hi Shelley! Keep up the great work. Recovery is challenging AND oh-so-rewarding! I collect Dumbos and Tinkerbells because I love Disney and they are my favorite characters/movies. I love your snowglobe collection and the salt and pepper shakers collection — cute!

  61. daintyvegan January 12, 2010 at 12:13 am #

    Glee looks so good but I haven’t seen a single episode.. lol.
    Congrats on your continuing recovery, you’re a huge inspiration! 🙂
    Those collections are amazing.. I have none. 😦 I’ve always wanted to collect things but I’m not quite sure what I want it to be yet.

  62. Diane Doesn't Diet January 12, 2010 at 12:26 am #

    The pics of you & your mom are soo cute haha. & your yogurt mess looks sooo good! I haven’t had one in forever and I’m thinkin that needs to change 😉

    I don’t really collect anything except concert ticket stubs and stuff…I’m pretty sure everyone does that though haha. Have a great rest of the week, love!

  63. nattietan January 12, 2010 at 3:00 am #

    OMG you and your Mum are the cuuuuutest!!!!

    I am so proud of all the work you have been putting in and you are so right in saying that sometimes, even when we know something deep down, it’s always nice to get confirmation from someone else. You are glowing and looking absolutely stunning.

    xx

  64. Marina January 12, 2010 at 4:29 am #

    Wow, those collections look amazing. I wish I had something like that 😦
    That’s great what you said, that every pound is a pound of health, that is so true! (well, not for overweight peaople, obviously:D )
    You and your mom look adorable 🙂

  65. A@ Please Don't Eat Me! January 12, 2010 at 9:08 am #

    i think those are adorable collections!! (not scary.. like owls.. those freak me out! lol)
    i used to collect butterfly figurines and pictures, but i have slowly gone away from collecting anything, im trying to clean out my space! ha!

  66. The voracious Vegan January 12, 2010 at 10:15 am #

    FANTASTIC post! You know, you always, always, always have the best looking food. I love the way you eat, it is healthy and fun and nutritious and just beautiful. Thanks for the constant inspiration!

    Your green monster smoothies are so thick and delicious, aren’t they the best thing ever? I have never been very good at making green smoothies, I kind of got the hang of it a few weeks ago but it seems I’ve lost my mojo again. 😦 I’m not sure what I’m doing any different. Hmmm….maybe you could just send me yours?

    Hahaha! Your mom and you are awesome! I love those pics.

    I love all the collections! Collecting things makes me happy but I don’t have that many. Books is the first thing that comes to mind, I am an absolute book worm, I’ve got more books than I know what to do with. Also Breyer horse figurines, that started way back when I was a kid. They are in storage now but as soon as I have a house they are coming out! You know, I think I’d like to also collect salt and pepper shakers, they are always so cute. I’m such a pack rat, I better be careful!

  67. Bekah January 12, 2010 at 5:38 pm #

    One word. GLEE.

    So happy you’re all caught up! Major glee gossip seshes will definitely be had when new episodes come on! 🙂

  68. Victoria Secrets January 28, 2010 at 1:08 pm #

    Just want to say your article is striking. The clarity in your post is simply striking and i can take for granted you are an expert on this subject. Well with your permission allow me to grab your rss feed to keep up to date with forthcoming post. Thanks a million and please keep up the ac complished work. Excuse my poor English. English is not my mother tongue.

    • Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth) January 28, 2010 at 1:30 pm #

      of course you can follow me! thank you for the compliments 🙂

Leave a Reply

