Fate Happens

7 Jan

Thank you all so much for your advice with regards to telling my family about my blog.

Before I tell you the decision I made, let’s just go through my Wednesday!

I woke up around 9 to eat breakfast (as I posted) & then lounged around until lunch at 1 with two of my best friends from high school. We went to Panera and I got the BBQ Chopped Chicken Salad with an apple on the side (4 carb, 3 fat, 3 protein)- DELICIOUS. I LOVE this salad!!

It was fun to catch up with some friends too πŸ™‚ When I got home, I got on my computer. My Mom was on the couch and after like a minute of silence she said, “Shelley, I know about your blog.” I honestly just started laughing! I was so relieved that she found out, and I instantly knew telling her would have been the right decision. I am a believer of fate and am so glad the decision to tell her was made for me.

She said she was using my computer yesterday since I left it downstairs and my blog was up when she went on it. I am so happy I told her. Her and my dad are both so supportive of it! They think it is a great outlet for me and are impressed with it. I’m excited and even though I know it isn’t a huge deal, I feel like a weight has been lifted off my shoulders.

I decided to save my afternoon snack for later because I had to eat an early dinner at IOP at 5:30. At IOP I had a dinner which consisted of a turkey/cheese sandwich, graham crackers, peanut butter filled pretzels, veggies, & a pink lady apple (5 carb, 2 fat, 3 protein). I guess I eat a lot of apples? haha

It was family night so my parents came. It was a pretty good session and I liked hearing from some of the other parents. They showed us a pretty cheesy video though. I wanted to laugh the whole time but resisted πŸ™‚

After IOP, I met my friend for a movie… we saw Princess & the Frog– yup! proud of it:) i’m really a 5 year old at heart. LOVED IT. Classic Disney.. I forgot how amazing it is!

During the movie I snacked on a peanut butter cookie larabar & some grapes! (= 2 carbs, 2 fats, 1 protein)

Afterwards, I stopped at Target right before it was closing because I was in desperate need of hand lotion but I also scored some s’mores goldfish (can’t wait to try these) & a really cute heart shaped bowl for oats, yogurt messes, etc. I felt like a creep being the last person in Target, but what can ya do?

Later I had my other snack (even though ‘Gertrude’ was saying not to!). I had to get in 2 fats, 1 protein, and 3 carbs. I kind of freaked because it seemed like so much for a snack, but I decided to once again, push away Gertrude, & just eat! Anyways, I was actually kinda hungry!

I had a peanut butter & jelly panini– yumm. With a side of some s’more goldfish πŸ™‚ hehe. This was amazing. Why didn’t i grill a pb & j sandwich sooner?!

I have really started to recognize Gertrude’s voice more & more (i feel so cheesy saying this- but it is true). Gertrude was saying, ‘You don’t need this snack. It is too big ! Just put 1 Tablespoon of peanut butter.’ But i am SO HAPPY that I was able to shut that voice up, and follow my meal plan. My meal plan= my prescription and if i don’t follow it, i’m really not recovering.

I woke up this morning and guess what?! I didn’t feel HUGE for eating that snack. In fact, I felt fine. For once, I didn’t wake up hungry!

Nonetheless, I made a delicious breakfast in my new heart-shaped bowl from Target!! Loveee it. This was honestly the best bowl of oat bran i’ve ever had. I put 1/2 cup kefir with 1/2 cup of water, 47 grams of whole foods bulk bin oat bran, cinnamon, raspberries, & 2 tablespoons of cinnamon raisin swirl with a littttle bit of crumbled up graham for crunch πŸ™‚

Not sure what the rest of my day entails- hopefully something funn. Possibly bowling tonight with some friends?

β™₯β™₯β™₯β™₯

Yesterday, I had an appointment with my therapist at IOP. We talked a lot about exercise because I am struggling with not being able to. One of my triggers to make me feel “fat” or “gross” is hearing about others exercising since I can’t. She said something that actually really stuck with me. She said that whenever I see someone running or working out, I should always say to myself I really hope they are doing it for fun.” That way, it takes the focus off their body/thinness & more on the fact that one day, I Hope to be able to have a healthy relationship with exercise where I am truly doing it for fun and not as a chore.

I understand that exercise is for health & it isn’t always fun. However, I think this is a really smart way to think about it. If people aren’t exercising for fun, then it really isn’t necessarily the best thing when you really think about it.

Questions:

+ How do you keep your relationship with exercise a healthy one?

+ Any exciting plans for the weekend?


xoxoxoxo

Shelleyβ™₯

66 Responses to “Fate Happens”

  1. Melissa S. January 7, 2010 at 11:07 am #

    Ah, I’m glad to hear that you’re mom and dad are very supportive of your decision to write the blog! and i love the comment about when you see others working out…great!

  2. theemptynutjar January 7, 2010 at 11:08 am #

    Shelley, I just think you are so great. I know I say it again and again…but every single word you give on every single post…it just…stuns me…i dont even know where to start actually – so much to say and comment on…i will spare u instead…i could go on and on a write you a letter here πŸ™‚
    Have a good day…u deserve it.
    Oh, and I haven’t run for a year now…and nothing even close to it for another year…no gym either for last year, ongoing..
    as a former competitive and accomplished runner…it has torn my identity from me..and probably the biggest battle in my mind to overcome…

  3. Whitney @ Lettuce Love January 7, 2010 at 11:09 am #

    Awe I am glad you parents are supportive — it is the best feeling. As for exercise, I just focus on what I enjoy. I like running and yoga. I try not to obsess about either — it is all a balancing act for me.

  4. psychoj1 January 7, 2010 at 11:10 am #

    That is the cutest heart shaped bowl!! I love it! Mmm, a melted peanut butter and jelly looks delicious!

    I think realizing the thoughts of Gertrude and being able to tell her to shut up is so amazing! You go girlllll!

    ❀ jess
    xoxo

  5. Morgan January 7, 2010 at 11:15 am #

    Glad your parents are so supportive of you. It sounds like you have a lot of strong, amazing people in your life who are behind you!
    I’ve just gotten to the point where I exercise to do what I enjoy and will make me feel good. My focus is on how it makes me feel. The stair climber makes me miserable, so I stay away, but I love yoga and what it does for me mentally and physically, so I do it when I can!

  6. Jessica @ How Sweet January 7, 2010 at 11:16 am #

    I am so glad your parents were supportive! Even though my blog is mainly recipes, I was nervous about telling my family. When they were ok with it, I was so relieved!

  7. blueeyedheart January 7, 2010 at 11:18 am #

    I thought you meant the glittery red heart bowl — I saw it in Target too and love it! πŸ˜‰

    It’s awesome that your parents are so supportive of your blog.

    My relationship with exercise isn’t the healthiest, probably… I need to do it or I feel like I’m going crazy!! Hopefully one day I’ll be able to differentiate between that and actual enjoyment.

    ❀ ❀

  8. Casey January 7, 2010 at 11:21 am #

    YAY that your parents support your blog!! That’s great Shelly :). Your bowl is super cute!

    I agree, it totally should be fun. Sometimes, I reeeally don’t want to work out, then I remind myself that I have never, ever regretted a workout. So I go and turn up my IPOD superloud and picture myself crossing the finish line for my half-marathon in 1:58!! πŸ™‚

  9. Casey January 7, 2010 at 11:23 am #

    Sorry….it’s Shelley isn’t it? I’m a bad speller πŸ™‚

  10. *Andrea* January 7, 2010 at 11:34 am #

    that’s definitely a great way to look at exercise.. i try and look at everything i do now as ways to be healthy – ie being social, eating in moderation, exercising in moderation, hangin out with family more etc.

    have fun bowling!!!

  11. Molly January 7, 2010 at 11:35 am #

    yum, all your eats look so good! especially that PB and Jelly panini! I need to see that movie too…I hope it was like the old disney movies back in the day (like beauty and the beast ect.) I havent been impressed with the other ones lately!

    Glad your parents know and that you are able to be that open with them…means a lot!
    Have a good day girly!

  12. Sara K January 7, 2010 at 11:44 am #

    PB&J panini looks gloriousssss!!!! Isn’t it incredible when you start recognising “Gertrude’s” voice, you really realise how ridiculous a lot of the stuff she says is and how subtle a lot of it is! Sounds like you’re making amazing progress :)!
    That’s so funny about your mom finding out like that- but I’m glad it turned out all good!
    As for exercise- I know I sometimes feel like I “should” be exercising more from hearing that we’re supposed to get 60 mins/5x a week or whatever blah blah blah…but I personally just do it when I feel like it haha…and my idea of exercise is: a) shopping (thats a lot of walking around and gasping at good prices), b) taking a walk with my mom, c) playing tennis…nothing crazy. I also do dumbbells/lunges/squats etc every other day- but I enjoy doing it because it is literally adding strength to my body (Which is oh so awesome!).
    Sara

  13. molly b January 7, 2010 at 12:03 pm #

    I read your blog all the time, but hasven’t commented before. i just want to let you know that you are true inspiration. I have been in recovery for over 9 years, and I still can’t always think as clearly and in a way that is as “free from e.d.” as you can. Keep it up because it is worth it!

  14. Nelly January 7, 2010 at 12:06 pm #

    I look at it as my outlet. Especially when I teach classes, I feel like my enthusiam about fitness rubs off on them and they enjoy it better. And the feelings after you have a good sweat! Yoga just feels good…..I also LOVEE walking with my friends and mom and sister. Best way to chat it up!
    Those bowls loook delicious!

  15. Melinda January 7, 2010 at 12:09 pm #

    So happy that your Mom found out about the blog so you don’t stress about it πŸ™‚

    I love apples too and I’m super jealous of that pb cookie larabar!

    Oh, and I’m having a giveaway on my blog- check it out! πŸ˜€

  16. ktangel1088 January 7, 2010 at 12:24 pm #

    omg ur allowed to have diet crack..i mean coke to drink at iop?! coool. all the places i was at they would insist on milk or juice. excersise? ehhh..thats still tricky for me. in fact my mom is doing her tae bo tape right now. but we must remind ourselves that we can too once we are healthy. but i plan to do more relaxed forms of excersise that are FUN to me..ha what a concept. excersise…fun? lol like hiking and horsebackriding and pilates and yoga
    i luv u girl!
    xoxoxo

  17. katie January 7, 2010 at 12:33 pm #

    You are just a sweetheart girl!! Glad your parents are supportive of the blog and you are doing so great girl!! So proud of you!! I will tell you that everyday!!!!!

    I LOVE the heart bowl, I was at Target last night and saw heart plates and the bowls, I so need to get one!!!!!!!

    Goldfish Smores yum!! Need to try those!!!!

    My relationship with exercise, I like to work out alot, but not because I feel I need to because of weight or anything, just because it makes me feel good, gives me lots of energy to for the day, but I listen to my body, when I need rest, I rest!!!

    xoxoxo

  18. Stef @ moretolifethanlettuce January 7, 2010 at 12:37 pm #

    OMG i am laughing so hard about your mom telling you she knows about your blog when you were just debating telling her yesterday! such fate. i love what your therapist told you about what to tell yourself when you see people exercising, that is so important to keep perspective!

  19. The Candid RD January 7, 2010 at 12:38 pm #

    I’m so glad you were able to tell your parents about the blog, and everything was “A OK” πŸ™‚ I bet your mom will start reading it and loving it like we all do!

    I like that Panera salad a lot too. In fact, I love all of their salads, and soups. I am a huge fan.

    It really sounds like you have a fantastic therapist/RD to help you. From reading your blog you always have so many great stories to tell us about her. I love what she said about exercise, and it’s a great thing to think about. I used to be so obsessed with exercise, I did it twice a day. I was so exhausted…it was awful. I’ve finally found peace with it, and one day, you will too. Until then, I’m glad you’ve found a great “mantra” to help you out!

  20. ktangel1088 January 7, 2010 at 12:39 pm #

    jw, ur allowed to have diet crack…i mean coke at iop! thats pretty cool! usually they insist on juice or milk u know? luv u girl

  21. ktangel1088 January 7, 2010 at 12:41 pm #

    i totally just commented twice. sorry about that! i thought the first one didnt go thru! ahh lol

  22. Caitlyn January 7, 2010 at 12:53 pm #

    Hey! Glad your mom was supportive of your blog! I was thinking of you yesterday as I straightened my hair before going dancing… wondering what you decided.
    Exercise for me has never been about weight, but it wasn’t always for “fun” either… I had a scholarship, and once you sign the dotted line, it’s basically a job… So, I’ve struggled to find meaning in my exercise now that I’m done college. The best way to keep it fun is to do it with friends! I enjoy the social aspect, and forget I’m even working out! Then sometimes I just need the mental release. An “exercise” you probably could do is meditation. It requires more strength to sit still for 10 or 15 minutes and clear your mind of negative thoughts than it does to go to a gym. πŸ™‚

  23. Ada January 7, 2010 at 12:58 pm #

    Um, ‘Smores flavored Goldfish??? That sounds amazing!

    Haha that’s so funny about your mom knowing you had a blog all along. I’m glad that she was supportive of it:)

  24. Kim January 7, 2010 at 12:59 pm #

    Just found your blog, so I’m getting caught up!

    I felt weird telling my parents about my blog too, but they’re supportive. I’ve had to write some difficult posts related to family, but I think they understand.

    As for exercise, that’s a great thing to think: I hope they’re doing it for fun. I have very limited exercise in my life. For one, I don’t want to lose any weight and I’m not really good at increasing my calories to compensate for activity. Two, I don’t really feel good at this point if I exercise. Some easy yoga or a short, short walk is fine for me (and not both on the same day). I think one day I’ll get back to exercising in a healthy way, but I’ve become completely fine with what I do (or don’t do, rather) now.

  25. Cassie January 7, 2010 at 1:00 pm #

    So glad your parents know about (and support) your blog!

    I’ve learned to fight the urge to push myself REALLY hard at the gym, and that’s definitely improved my relationship with exercise. I used to work out so hard, I dreaded going back to the gym. Now, I push myself hard, but not so hard that I don’t look forward to going back the next day!

  26. Rachael January 7, 2010 at 1:34 pm #

    It’s so ironic that your mom found your blog RIGHT when you were contemplating telling her…. Looks like fate made the decision for you! I’m so glad your parents are supportive of it.
    Mmm… peanut butter pretzels are yummy. πŸ˜‰ Was the movie good? I really want to see it. Definitely still a little kid at heart! The bowl is super cute. I have a theory that anything would taste better being eaten in a bowl that adorable!

    Rachael*

  27. kbwood January 7, 2010 at 1:38 pm #

    girl me and exercise have been thru a ROLLAR COASTER!!!! you have to be VERY careful when u are able to exercise again that you dont become obessed with it, or overexercise, like i did. its so bad for your body! Now i can FINALLY balance it..and finally am able to take rest days whenever i want! it def took a while for me tho.

    that is SO COOL about your parents! whooo! i know what you mean about the cheesy videos.i would have cracked up!

    keep doing great girl!

  28. julia January 7, 2010 at 1:41 pm #

    So great that you’re able to recognize that stupid voice and even better and more important…ingnore it! Way to go for following your meal plean. This attitude is the best: just do it, no matter what!:)

    And I’m glad your mom found out and is so supportive!

    xxx Julia (Taste of Living)

  29. peanutbutterfingers January 7, 2010 at 1:47 pm #

    i’m sure it feels wonderful to have the support of your family. you deserve it & have a wonderful outlook!

    also, that heart bowl is adorable! :o) great target find!

  30. Emily (http://funnyemily.wordpress.com) January 7, 2010 at 2:45 pm #

    mm delish eats! pb&j panini, genius for real.
    you’re doing a great job sticking to your meal plan! you’re right its the medicine & thank goodness it’s delicious πŸ™‚
    exercise is tough for me too, i don’t go to the gym, but i definitely walk as much as i can, i always take the stairs, i take the long ways etc. and i pretty much do yoga everyday. i.e. me and rest days don’t get along well. i’m trying to change that and figure out my balance, but it hasn’t been the easiest thing.
    no real idea of what i’m doing this weekend. my goal–meet some new people πŸ™‚
    happy thursday beautiful!
    xoxo

  31. Jenna January 7, 2010 at 2:45 pm #

    Glad your parents are supportive of your blog, that is great!!
    BBQ salad from panera looks soo good- I should have gotten it when I went there last night!
    Dinner looks great as well and you can never have too many apple. They are just great!
    Cute breaky in the heart bowl!
    Glad you had a nice appt with your therapist!
    Jenna

  32. alyssa January 7, 2010 at 2:50 pm #

    Shelley,
    I am so happy for you that your family is supportive of the blog. Honestly, I would be sad if they weren’t because you say so many things here that help myself and others! Keep it up girl!
    Now for the exercising…I can say that I LOVEEE exercising all that I want, but honestly, sometimes I would rather pull my hair out than run again, and again, and again. I took the past two weeks off exercising and ran for pleasure this morning instead of “calories”. And you know what?, it felt AWESOME! Your body will tell you when it is tired, and it will tell you when you are read for fun exercising. Don’t let it get you down..soon you will be exercising for the endorphins and loving it!

  33. Michelle (Snacks and Field) January 7, 2010 at 2:55 pm #

    I lovee the way your mom found out and I think that it must have been fate! I’m so happy that your parents are supportive, I couldn’t think of a better way for them to know!

    And ahhhh S’mores Goldfish!??! WHATTT! What an incredibly amazing idea. lol- lovee Target.
    I’m also really happy for you that you were able to push ‘Gertrude’ aside (btw- laughed the other day when I saw this, and just laughed again) and you were able to eat that delish looking panini!!

    And as for the exercise thing, I love that you wrote this. I think it’s so important that people realize exercise should be FUN, not a chore, and granted health is a huge priority- but if you just don’t feel like working out one day- don’t do it! Everyone’s bod needs some rest! I’m so happy you posted this for everyone to read:)

  34. determinedtoshine January 7, 2010 at 3:05 pm #

    oh my gosh, im a total believer in fate and the fact that your mum found your blog by accident shows its the right thing for her to know about it! thats so cool that shes so supportive. you lucky girl πŸ™‚

    and i love the fact you are consciously ignoring gertrudes voice. you are a true inspiration to me shelley! this is something i struggle with so much – most of the time i dont even RECOGNISE EDs voice, so you being able to hear it, but then IGNORE it, is amazing. keep it up girl!

    oh and i love the outlook your T has on exercise… its so true. and something else i like to think about is the fact that we have our entire lives ahead of us to exercise when we get ourselves better πŸ™‚

    lots of love!
    hannah xo

  35. Missy Maintains January 7, 2010 at 3:12 pm #

    So glad your mom found the blog when she did and was supportive of it! I know when I told my mom about mine, a huge weight was lifted off my shoulders.

    I really like what you said about exercise. I need to remind myself that it should be for fun and to feel good. Too often I associate it with losing weight.

  36. Lily @ Lily's Health Pad January 7, 2010 at 3:26 pm #

    That is too funny that your parents already knew! You’re right, it was fate. πŸ™‚

    My relationship with exercise is healthy. I think it has always been “healthy,” but in the past I exercised because I was afraid that if I didn’t, I would gain weight. But now, I exercise because I truly love it.

  37. Naomi (onefitfoodie) January 7, 2010 at 3:38 pm #

    aww girl I am SO happy that she found out and is ok with it! I am sure there is a HUGE weight lifeted off of your shoulders! now you can share with her lots of things and show her the support you get from all of your readers!
    I love yoru movie time snack…the PB lara bar is awesome! I need to get some more of those in my life asap!

    too funny you talked abotu healthy relationship with exercise bc this is JUST what I talked about today on my blog! I keep it healthy by listening to my body-always. Some days are more intense than others and some days I do nothing to let my body rest! listening is KEY to a healthy relationship with exercise!

    ❀ you!

  38. feetinmotion January 7, 2010 at 3:57 pm #

    I’m glad your parents know about your blog and support you! That’s a great thing to have. Today’s breakfast was even tastier, I’ll have to write about that all tonight! Hope your day is going well and hope it’s not too cold!

  39. chocolate pickle January 7, 2010 at 3:59 pm #

    I LOVE the BBQ chopped salad at Penera too! And funnily (is that a word?) I JUST bought those Goldfish S’mores the other day too!! And all I can say about your PB&J is that I feel like going to grill one up right now:) hehe. Great eats!!

  40. sarahdbelle January 7, 2010 at 4:15 pm #

    That’s awesome about how your mom found out about your blog. So cute.
    I try to keep exercise fun by doing zumba. It feels like a giant dance party and that’s why I love it so much. I don’t really like to lift weights or run, so I choose exercises that are enjoyable to me. Great question to think about, though.
    Love.
    Sarah
    http://www.sarahdbelle.wordpress.com

  41. homecookedem January 7, 2010 at 4:17 pm #

    So glad that your mom found out about your blog and is supporting you!! πŸ™‚

    I love that Panera salad also! So tasty!! And those goldfish look so fun!!

  42. Lexi January 7, 2010 at 4:18 pm #

    1. SO glad your parents are supportive of your blog!!

    2. That salad from panera looks so good! I want it!

    3. The PBJ panini looks amazing.

    4. I’m sorry if I talked about exercise when we met! I didn’t know that was one of your triggers!

    5. To keep a healthy relationship with exercise: I only do it when I feel like it. If I don’t feel like exercising I skip. That way, I don’t force myself to do something I don’t want to. Because exercise isn’t a chore for me, it’s a privilege. All of my hard work to gain to my healthy BMI is rewarded by my ability to exercise.

    6. This weekend, I hope to cuddle up with a good book and stay snowed in!

    Love you girl, let me know if you want to get together at all!

  43. lowandbhold January 7, 2010 at 4:21 pm #

    So glad things worked out so well with your parents πŸ™‚

    “My meal plan= my prescription and if i don’t follow it, i’m really not recovering” that shows so much wisdom girl! Keep it up!

  44. leianna January 7, 2010 at 4:26 pm #

    Those smore goldfish look awesome, I need to find me some of those!

  45. Kate January 7, 2010 at 4:28 pm #

    hey! i’ve seen your comments on some other blogs so i thought i’d come by and say hello!

    i hear you about recognize your “gertrude” voice. my is darth. yups, i have to use my “healthy force” to shut him up.

    i LOVE your heart bowl. next time i am at target, i may have to pick one up!

  46. tatiannalives January 7, 2010 at 4:52 pm #

    “My meal plan= my prescription and if i don’t follow it, i’m really not recovering.”

    You are waaay to smart for your own good ;D

    I am SO happy that your parents are so supportive of your blog πŸ™‚

    xox
    Tat

  47. Jenny January 7, 2010 at 5:13 pm #

    sweet sweet relief, right?! it sounds like the convo with your mom went GREAT! It still boggles my mind how mom’s always know what’s going out! creeeeeepy.

    your therapist sounds like an absolute gem. Her words really resonate with me – thank you so much for sharing! slowly but surely I’m learning to do things because I WANT to rather than I feel I “have to”. Your always so insightful πŸ™‚

    xoxo

  48. dee (the apple hill adventurer) January 7, 2010 at 5:36 pm #

    that salad looks SO GOOD. and I ADORE your heart bowl! soooo cute! I have been tempted to try those flavored gold fish, but the kind I found had hydrogenated oil in it 😦 avoided

  49. peanutbutterdaydreamer January 7, 2010 at 6:02 pm #

    I am so happy for you! Glad that your parents are supportive of your blog. That salad is causing my mouth to droll…That such a cute bowl! Target right? My oatmeal bowls need an upgrade.

  50. Bekah January 7, 2010 at 6:10 pm #

    Wow that exercise thing was powerful. Whenever I pass a super fit woman running, or elliptically it up at the gym, I always kind of hope they’re not trying to lose more weight, because they already look so good! Rather, its more relieving to know they’re just doing it for fun/maintaining their healthy weight.

    On my good days/weeks, I have a workout routine,and to stay motivated/on schedule with everything else, working out less, but paying more attention in my workouts works best for me. Its a win, win!

    Soo happy your parents are supportive of the blog!

  51. Emily January 7, 2010 at 6:28 pm #

    So glad to hear that everything just fell into place! Your eats look divine and I mustttt try that panera salad!!

  52. Averie (LoveVeggiesAndYoga) January 7, 2010 at 6:29 pm #

    cute heart shaped bowl!
    relationship with exercise…well, i do it for my sanity and a stress relief and just if i am never not into it, i skip it!

  53. april January 7, 2010 at 8:50 pm #

    That is so great that your parents are supportive! I was afraid to tell mine at first but now my mom is a daily reader! haha.

    And I hope my blog doesn’t make you feel guilty about exercising! I definitely exercise for fun…I think I have a healthy relationship with it!

    And I love pb & j paninis! When the pb gets all melty its so good!

  54. Brynne January 7, 2010 at 9:15 pm #

    I’m so glad your mom and family support the blog! I’m sure your mom realizes it’s something you really enjoy doing and gain support from. Love the new heart bowl and am seriously dying to try the BBQ chicken salad at Panera – that’s got to be new! And anything BBQ chicken is beyond amazing.

  55. shelleysveryproudmom January 7, 2010 at 9:24 pm #

    Shelley,
    I am so proud of you! Your blog is amazing and I can totally understand how this can really help you (and others). The encouragement from others is such a great boost! I am in awe of how successful you are! (Sorry but I have to brag) How did you pull off a 4.0 your first college semester while dealing with all of this? You amaze me!
    Thanks to everyone out there who has supported my daughter during this difficult time! I know how much all of you mean to her and I believe each and every one of you has had something to do with her road to recovery!
    Love you Shelley!
    Mom
    xxooxx

  56. sophia January 7, 2010 at 11:40 pm #

    Shelley! I’m so glad! YAY! It’s amazing and so awesome that your parents are so supportive. Now you can take pictures freely! Haha!

    Hm. About exercise…I think it come hand-in-hand with giving up control. It comes to listening to your body’s needs and cravings, instead of forcing it to run xx mile per day, or stuff like that. It takes time, but you’ll develop a healthy relationship with exercise soon enough…you’ll know when exercise no longer becomes a pressure, or a MUST, but an enjoyment. πŸ™‚

  57. daintyvegan January 8, 2010 at 12:43 am #

    Haha.. that’s awesome about your mom! Gotta love mothers. That was sort of like fate in a way. I guess they were meant to know about it. πŸ˜‰

    “The Princess and the Frog”? I SO WANT TO SEE THAT! Yes, my inner child is strong too and I’m proud. People sometimes tease me about it but whatever, they obviously have no idea what they’re missing out on.

    Cute bowl from target!

    My relationship with exercise is sometimes healthy, sometimes not. It’s a work in progress. πŸ™‚

  58. Kris | iheartwellness.com January 8, 2010 at 2:52 am #

    I am so happy your parents are supportive of the blog!! This must feel like a lot is lifted off those pretty shoulders of yours πŸ˜‰

    XXOO

  59. Kelly January 8, 2010 at 7:00 am #

    That’s great that your mom found out and your parents have been supportive. Everyone in my life has been quite supportive as well, or just ignores it completely- which is fine too.

    I agree with you/your therapist about exercise. It has to be at least a little bit fun, or there is no point!

  60. Nicole January 8, 2010 at 7:49 am #

    Hey girl! Glad your parents are supportive of your blog, I’m sure that means a lot to you! Your therapist sounds wonderful.

    When I was losing weight, I would often times exercise so that I could eat more. Looking back, that was not the right motivation to eat or workout. I have much more balance now and fit in exercise that I love when it’s convenient for me, and for all of the health benefits, especially as someone with a few unwanted pounds! : )

    No exciting plans this weekend other than watching Food, Inc. which I am so excited about!

    Have a great weekend, hun!

  61. Meg's Gut January 8, 2010 at 8:56 am #

    That’s great your parents were supportive, and that grilled pb&j sandwich looked amazing!

    On the note of exercising. If I exercise too hard, I find that it aggravates my Crohns. I love exercising though, so I have had to do many trial and errors to find a healthy balance. I find that less is more. A bit of relaxing yoga and a little walk makes me feel like I’ve had a nice workout, but doesn’t cause my gut to get mad.
    Have you ever tried yoga?

  62. Ashlei January 8, 2010 at 9:43 am #

    What a great post Shelley. I always enjoy reading your blog. πŸ™‚ I’m a kid at heart too, and loved the Princess and the Frog! About time classic Disney came back. And I loved the whole Louisiana/New Orleans theme for the movie too!

    It’s funny how such simple things (i.e. grilled pb&j) are so amazing! Hope you have a great day and fun bowling if you decide to do that.

  63. Katharina January 8, 2010 at 11:07 am #

    This post is awesome!!! The news about your parents finding out about your blog made my day πŸ™‚ and it’s not even noon lol. Seriously, you are really admirable and you being able to distinguish Gertrude’s voice from yours is amazing. That is so key in recovery because you start to discover yourself again. Knowing what you want and what’s best for you vs. the mean Gertrude’s rules is important. And listening to your voice! So yesterday I went to Panera with an old friend and he mentioned the Princess and the Frog to me lol. AND I LOVE PB COOKIE LARABARS!!! AND I went to Target with him too. Lol you and I must’ve spent the day together without even knowing.

    As for exercise, I agree! Exercise should be fun and not something a person has to drag themselves to do. I think people enjoy different forms of exercise and they should respect that. For example, some people don’t like yoga but they feel they should… but if you don’t then that’s okay. Just do what you like and you’ll be hapy and you’ll benefit from exercise sooo much more. I plan on partying it up in Miami and I drive back to Richmond on Sunday. My butt is going to freeze off lol ahhhh.

    XOXOXO

    http://www.ohonemorething.wordpress.com

  64. The voracious Vegan January 8, 2010 at 12:02 pm #

    First of all I have to say that your blog is SO amazing. You are a fabulous writer and I love how open and honesty you are, you kind heart and intelligence really shines though.

    And your eats always look awesome! Why haven’t I tried grilling a peanut butter and jelly sandwich?!?! You have inspired me and I think I need to do that.

    I love that you named your ED Gertrude. I suffer from panic attacks and depression (very mild now, but it used to be quite intense several years ago) and my therapist told me to name the depression and recognize ‘his’ voice whenever I would start getting down on myself or feeling panicky. After many years of practice I can (usually) recognize when those thoughts are starting to creep up on my and then I can nip them in the bud.

    I am SO glad you are able to recognize Gertrude’s voice – HOORAY! That must be such an awesome feeling for you. I’m really happy for you and proud of you, what a strong awesome person you are!!!!

    About excercise – I’m really lucky, I’ve never struggled with disordered eating or any kind of excercize obsession. When it comes to those two parts of my life I have absolutely no guilt or bad feelings at all, it just does not occur to me. (My guilt and bad feelings usually occur about me feeling like I’m not a nice person, or I’m lazy/mean/bad/not worthy/etc.) But about food and working out I’ve always been fine.

    I love to eat healthy because it makes me feel awesome. But I also love to have a huge ass slice of double chocolate cake because it tastes ridiculously good and makes me smile. I love to work out because it makes me feel POWERFUL and STRONG (being thin has nothing to do with it) but I also love taking a day or two (or three or four….) off and lounging around the house watching tv all day.

    I’m sorry that I don’t have any solid advice for you about keeping my excercise mindset healthy, but I do know that you will definitely get there someday! Just relax, there is no rush, take care of yourself and keep yourself happy and calm, and LOVE YOURSELF. The time will come for all those other things LATER, just relax and enjoy and celebrate the amazing progress you are making NOW.

    πŸ™‚

  65. poiseinparma January 9, 2010 at 2:11 pm #

    At my lowest weight, I was at 127lbs (I’m 5’8″), but I didn’t have the energy to work out. Now that I am closer to 135lbs, I have the energy again to do the workouts that I want to. I always put weight on in my stomach area first, so whenever I’m having a “fat moment”, I tell myself that having those extra eight pounds on my frame lets me do the things that I love to do. Without it, I couldn’t do them, and therefore, would be very cranky!

  66. Foodie (Fab and Delicious Food) January 11, 2010 at 2:47 pm #

    Oh Shelley, I’m so happy your parents are so supportive of your blog! Yay! That’s awesome!

Leave a Reply

