Rule 76: No Excuses. Play like a Champion!

6 Jan

Wednesday already?

I feel like no matter how hard I want things to just slow down sometimes, time always flies. I have been truly working on living in the moment, appreciating the things I am doing right now, and focusing on my blessings. It is crazy how a little change in your mindset can make a worlds a difference.

Tuesday started off with breakfast (obvi) after a pretty lame-tastic sleep. Meaning, I couldn’t really sleep. Lack of sleep= crabby Shelley = not a pretty picture haha. But nonetheless I had a delicious bowl of fage 2%, granola, banana, cinnamon raisin swirl, & strawberry rhubarb jelly from a local farm (yumm.. so sooo good)!

I used to avoid granola (high calorie content, high fat content, yadayadaa) but lately i’ve emraced it & it is freakin’ good! WHAT was I thinkin? Stupid Gertrude.

I was legitimately determined to follow my meal plan, 100%, no excuses πŸ™‚ I guess you could equate my motivation to Wedding Crasher’s Rule 76: No Excuses. Play Like a Champ.” πŸ˜‰ & I DID.

After breakie, I decided I wanted to relax (shocker, right?) and I watched some episodes of Glee! I love it. i’m officially a Glee fan πŸ™‚ I had a doctor appointment at 1:45 so before we left, I made lunch which consisted of a turkey, avocado & cheese wrap on a Mission tortilla with apple, carrots & quaker ranch oat cake things. I bought mission wraps because they have two servings of carbs instead of one like la tortilla factory.

Doctor appointment went well. Pretty standard stuff. Then me & my momasita went grocery shopping & I snagged some good buys including peanut butter pretzels, sweet potato chips, sweet potatos, kefir, etc.

When I came home I was feeling particularly bloggie (is that an adjective? Hmm.. in my world it is) & since it was snacktime, I made my first smoothie (I mean, i’ve had smoothies obbvss but never homemade)

It consisted of frozen strawbs, 1/2ish of a banana, dark chocolate dreams PB, and a cup of kefir. This was amazing!! I looved it. More smoothies in my future? Yep!

Perfection in a cup. I had a support group at the place I go to IOP from 6:30-8. I really liked it. It was nice to be in an environment with other people going through the exact same thing & just talk about whatever was on my mind. We talked about the media, body image issues, resolutions, etc. It was awkward at times, but overall very helpful.

I came home & ate such a fantastic dinner! Thanks Mom πŸ˜€ It consisted of a turkey burger with some cheese on a whole grain bun with acorn squash, a sweet potato with some better n’ peanut butter, & a half serving of pretzels (this = 5 carbs, 2 fats, & 3 proteins).

I’m not going to lie, after this meal I instantly started calculating the calories I had consumed so far in the day in my head which caused a minor inner panic attack until I realized all I had to do was tell Ed to suck it because I was feeding myself the nutrients I need πŸ˜€

4 of my guy friends from high school showed up at my house unannounced haha & so it was a nice surprise. I ended up hanging out with them all night & taking them to *drum roll please* taco bell (BARFFF!) They got..

times like 12. no joke. Boys can eat. It was nasssty. I, of course, got nothing. Taco hell is just not my thang. Nonetheless, they came back over to my house & we watched some will ferrell comedy, played some mario kart, & caught up while they continued to eat my food. It was a good time.

After they left (at like 12:30..), I had my evening snack (despite temptations to not). It was something different but I had to get in 2 carbs, 1 protein, and 2 fats so I figured i’d switch it up! I had a little over 1/4 cup 1% cottage cheese, some blueberries/raspberries, cocoa roast almonds, some cereal, & a bit of pb loco cookie dough peanut butter.

I didn’t mix in the peanut butter (that would be pretty gross…) but this was delicious! I missed cottage cheese πŸ™‚

Today I am meeting two friends for lunch at panera at 12:45, but I started my day off with an AMAZING combination, inspired by Allie. I took 6 oz of fage 2% and topped it with 6 oz of plain, low fat kefir & added banana, raspberries, honey sunshine, almonds & some peanut butter.

I highly recommend you try this if you haven’t! Kefir is basically like a thinner greek yogurt & tastes amazing. I will definitely be repeating this combination ASAP.


I have a bit of advice to ask you all:

I’ve been thinking a lot about sharing this blog with my Mom. We are really close and I hate having secrets. I think she would support the blog but part of me is unsure if I should tell her. For one, i’m not sure if I want her reading all of the things I write and two, i’m worried she might think that food blogging is bad for my eating disorder. On the other hand, I could see her thinking it is great and I really don’t share anything on here I would hide from her? you know? Blogging is something I am excited about & proud of, so it is hard to keep it from her but I’m not sure what the right decision is.

What do you all think about this? Do you share your blogs with your family/loved ones?


Hope your day is wonderful!!

xoxoxoxoxo

Shelleyβ™₯


Oh & by the way, Check out my Guest post on Melissa’s of melissanibbles blog!! I’m so excited she asked me to do a guest post- Thanks so much!!

53 Responses to “Rule 76: No Excuses. Play like a Champion!”

  1. Chrysta January 6, 2010 at 12:12 pm #

    Hey girl! First off I want to say congrats on your progress. You are rockin! Feeding your body the nutrients it needs will make it ssoo happy. I know what you are going through as I struggled with this too. But honestly your body feels so much better with good clean foods! So you are doing amazing!! Hard call to show your mom, Id say go for it personally. I dont think it can hurt any! Plus maybe good to get things all on the table anyways? Totally your call! But personally Id say go for it. I hope you are having an awesome day! And keep up the great work!

  2. Gelareh @ Orange Truffle January 6, 2010 at 12:19 pm #

    Loved your guest post. I will be passing it on to a couple friends that I know will enjoy and benefit from πŸ™‚

    As far as telling your mom, I can see it either way.. you know your relationship with her better, but I have to say keeping secrets are hard… If you decide to tell her about it tell her why you started it, what are the benefits of it for you and why you enjoy it! As far as stories you write trust me parents know A LOT more than we think. They pay attention.. I could never keep anything from my mom cause she always had a way of knowing.. lol πŸ™‚ Keep up the good work!

  3. izzy January 6, 2010 at 12:35 pm #

    Oooh your eats look A MAZE ING! I really wanna try the exchange program vs. calorie counting. It seems so much more freeing πŸ™‚

    Also, definately gonna try kefir for the first time ever now!!

    izzyy
    xoxoxx

  4. Casey January 6, 2010 at 12:40 pm #

    I just stumbled across your blog…and it’s fabulous! You know what, I think you should tell your mom. Because honestly, I think having a blog makes you eat healthier. It’s like we’re all holding each other accountable, you know? People can openly comment that you’re not eating enough or whatever, and so you naturally don’t want that, so you try to monitor what you eat accordingly.

    I think your mom could be a great support system through the blog, especially if you two are close. πŸ™‚

  5. Sara K January 6, 2010 at 12:41 pm #

    Hey!
    I just found your blog and I love it!!! Your eats look INCREDIBLE (sweet potato w/ PB…who woulda known!) and I’ve been dying to try Kefir since I’m a huge fan of Greek yoghurt and of drinking lassis (indian drink made with yoghurt) so I think I’ll be grabbing a litre of that!
    As for the blog/family thing, I think if you’re comfortable go ahead and tell your mom- it seems like this blog is helping you a lot with recovery/support and as long as you explain to her that (and you’re sure that) it isn’t making you more obsessive about food/eating etc (I know my mom might misinterpret and think that if she saw my blog and the pics I take of food etc).
    Sara

  6. psychoj1 January 6, 2010 at 12:46 pm #

    Way to go with eating that nighttime snack!! I get what you are saying, taco bell kinda grosses me out! And their commercials are so stupid!

    Awesome buys and even awesomer (a word?) eats! I love cinnamon swirl!
    ❀ jess
    xoxo

  7. Elise January 6, 2010 at 12:55 pm #

    if you think your mom wouldn’t approve of the blog…….maybe the blog isn’t the best thing for you right now… just a thought.

    maybe it is, but when i realized how i’d be so embarrassed or worried if any of my friends or family were to find out about it, i realized it wasn’t a good thing for me.

  8. peanutbutterfingers January 6, 2010 at 1:03 pm #

    totally random comment… but that BUN on your turkey burger is calling to me. gosh i love buns. πŸ˜‰

  9. katie January 6, 2010 at 1:08 pm #

    Hey girl, so proud of you and how well you are doing!!! All those yummy eats look so good and cinnamon raisin swirl PB is the best!! My jar is almost empty!!! u know what that means, Oats In A Jar!!!! yay!!

    As far as telling your mom, only you know in your heart what is best for you and if it is best telling your mom, choose what you think is best and follow your heart love!!!!

    Love ya!! xoxo

  10. Emily (http://funnyemily.wordpress.com) January 6, 2010 at 1:14 pm #

    major props on following your meal plan all the way πŸ™‚ girl you are such an inspiration!!
    as for your mom, if you guys are close i say you let her read it. my mom does, its nice cause i can put things on my blog that i don’t want to say out loud, but she can still know and help me with. i just get made fun of a bit for taking silly pictures, but that’s no big πŸ™‚
    happy hump day!!
    xoxo

  11. Jessica Zara January 6, 2010 at 1:22 pm #

    ‘Wow’ is all I can say. This post illustrates your commitment to recovery and shows some totally commendable progress. There are so many delicious and nourishing foods there (sweet potato+nut butter, granola, acorn squash = mouth-wateringly yummy) that you’re so right to tell your ED to suck it.

    In my opinion, this blog shows how far you’ve come and paints you in a very positive light. However, if you feel that you’d need to censor what you say if your Mum was reading then it might not be the best idea to tell her because we all need our personal spaces in which we can feel free to bear our soul without worrying about hurting loved ones etc. To me reading a blog is similar to reading a diary and I’m sure you wouldn’t feel guilty for not sharing that. But you’re such an open and honest person that I can see why you’re feeling conflicted about this. I’m sure that, whatever decision you make, it will be the right one because you have excellent judgement πŸ™‚

    Take care

    ~Jess~

    xoxox

  12. Naomi (onefitfoodie) January 6, 2010 at 1:22 pm #

    I am so so so happy for how well youa re doing with your meal plan and not only that you are making SUCH TASTY MEALS! πŸ™‚ can I come over for a tuna and avo wrap?! that looks so good and pretty too! your night time snack that you had is what I love to have as my ‘dessert’ cottage cheese just happens to be one of my favorite foods on this planet and I have some everynight with some berries and depending on how decadent I feel, some PB too!

    i think you should totally tell your mom about your blog! Ithink she will think its great and amazing to see how well you are doing and teh support you are getting from all of your readers. You seem super close with her (as I am with mine) and I know she will appreciate it, and not see it as a bad thing!

    xoxoxo

  13. Lexi January 6, 2010 at 1:33 pm #

    Girl, I love that you have your game face on and are following that meal plan 100%! I’ve never had Kefir, but definitely want to now!

    I think its totally up to you whether you share your blog with your mom. Like I said, my parents know about mine, and like to read it. They think it’s really therapeutic for me to write every day and process my thoughts. Hope that if you decide to share, your mom feels the same way πŸ˜€

    I used to go to support group at the center a lot. I really like the environment too. It can get a little awkward at times, but for the most part I do feel like its really helpful. Although, I do feel like the blogging community is a bit like a support group itself, it’s nice to have face to face interaction.

    Have a great Wednesday love!!
    -Lex

  14. Whitney @ Lettuce Love January 6, 2010 at 1:35 pm #

    If you think your mom will be supportive, then go for it. I was terrified to tell my parents and sister about my blog and once I did, let me tell you, it felt great! My mom was so proud that she immediately told all of our friends and family. It is very scary to put yourself out there but once you do you will learn that people support you more than you ever knew πŸ™‚

  15. blueeyedheart January 6, 2010 at 1:42 pm #

    You are doing so, so great! πŸ™‚

    Personally, nobody in my family knows about my blog… but we’re not that close. If you are close with your mom and you think that having her know will help you, then go for it! πŸ™‚

    ❀ ❀

  16. Emily January 6, 2010 at 2:10 pm #

    YUMmmy stuff! I guess I shouldn’t be reading this when I just got back from the dentist and my mouth is numb, so I can’t eat. I hope it goes own fasttttt!!

    I just bought some Dark Chocolate Dreams at Target for $3.69! SCORE!

  17. Abby January 6, 2010 at 2:16 pm #

    Great guest post.. I read it all! πŸ™‚

    Keep your head up, girly! Enjoy your Wednesday.. half way through the week! yaa πŸ™‚

  18. kbwood January 6, 2010 at 2:28 pm #

    yayaya shelley!!! you are doing so great. i KNOW boys can eat so much and its discusting what they eat sometimes!! haha my boy can down like 3 burritos and 2 tacos at taco bell..my tummy would HATE me if i ever did that!! keep trucking love! have fun w. your girls!

  19. Averie (LoveVeggiesAndYoga) January 6, 2010 at 3:01 pm #

    “I have been truly working on living in the moment, appreciating the things I am doing right now, and focusing on my blessings. It is crazy how a little change in your mindset can make a worlds a difference.”–so true and glad you’re making it happen!

    And if 4 boys/men etc showed up unannounced on my doorstep, even as a grown woman, that would still make me be like what??!!! And i agree no Taco Hell. Ick. Processed foods are just not good things to that degree.

    As for your mom…think carefully about this. Dont share unless youre 100% certain b/c you cant unshare and if this is your outlet, you place of freedom and you think it would cramp your style, you may wanna hold off. Sometimes we only think sharing something would be great b/c we think our loved ones will “love it” right along with us. But if they don’t or disagree or think it’s lame (my extended family) then giving them your URL…you always wonder are they reading? what do they think? etc etc and it’s changed the way i blog.

    Just think about it. And whatever you do will be the perfect decision for you at this point πŸ™‚

  20. laurasworthlesswords January 6, 2010 at 3:02 pm #

    You are really pushing yourself so hard, that was brilliant coping with the unexpected visits and twists to your eating :-). Some delicious looking eats there as well, this really does show how much progress your making and its such a joy to see it!

    Hmm blogs are great place to let your thoughts out and get a little extra help, maybe tell your mum you have a blog and just let her know about it. As for letting her read it I`m not so sure, you dont want to end up feeling like you cant always say what you want because your afraid your mum might be reading it, this is a good space to say things you wouldnt otherwise get a chance to. Just something to think about.
    xox

  21. julia January 6, 2010 at 3:33 pm #

    Great job girl, stay strong…you’re worth it!

    And maybe tell your mom about the blog and listen to her reaction. If it’s all nice and positive, you could maybe show a view posts first?

    xxx Julia (Taste of Living)

  22. Dana January 6, 2010 at 3:44 pm #

    you are such an inspiration, and i literally just had yogurt/kefir/fresh berries/walnuts/cinnamon while i was reading your post and it was amazing πŸ™‚ allie is a genius for this discovery. honestly, if it really is upsetting you holding this from your mom (it seems like you have an amazing relationship with her) then tell her, and if she reacts negatively, show her the positive, supportive comments you get and the reasons why you love it. you seem to be doing so well, keep it up! i have to gain 15 pounds and it is hard, but blogs like yours help me through it. thank you so much for sharing your struggles, insights and motivation. no excuses πŸ™‚

  23. Jenna January 6, 2010 at 3:51 pm #

    Turkey burger looks tasty abs I am glad you told ED to shut it when you started calculating up your cals for the day!
    I am also proud you got in that midnight snack even after your friends left despite it was late!!
    That is a tough call on whether you should tell your mom or not! I debated with the same thing to and I ended up telling my mom but now I really wish I didn’t:/ I can’t wait to hear what you decide on!!!
    Jenna

  24. Stef @ moretolifethanlettuce January 6, 2010 at 3:52 pm #

    i have the same dilemma about sharing my blog with my mom, i think deep down you’ll know if you feel ready to share it! i’m not ready yet ;). so cool that your guy pals stopped by, my guy friends adore taco hell too, no thanks! sorry you had a lametastic sleep, hope you get some rest tonight!

  25. lowandbhold January 6, 2010 at 3:52 pm #

    Haha, I don’t blame you for not eating the Taco Bell. It’s definitely not that great.

    Only one of my family members and a few friends know about my blog. I don’t know why I’m so embarassed to tell them and I wish I could just be open about it. If you feel comfortable enough to tell her I think you should!

  26. homecookedem January 6, 2010 at 4:15 pm #

    Great job on the guest post!! πŸ™‚

    I definitely think sharing your blog with your mom will only help your recovery. Being honest and up front with her about it can only bring the two of you closer together. My mom, sister, husband, dad, grandma, and aunt all read my blog. I think it’s important to keep close family members in the loop, but that is of course my own personal preference. If it makes you feel uncomfortable, then you may want to keep it private. But I’d say go for it. I know she’d be so proud of you! πŸ™‚

  27. chocolatepickle January 6, 2010 at 4:25 pm #

    Haha, LOVE Wedding Crashers! Great job sticking to your meal plan:) I should really try Mission wraps instead of my usual La Tortilla Factory! Did they taste a lot better too? I’m curious now:)

  28. Jenny January 6, 2010 at 5:16 pm #

    what is it with boys and their tacos? the other day I went with Gingie and I saw him hammer down 10 hard tacos. I am still in awe. Oh boys!

    I used to be super iffy about sharing the blog with my mom as well. To me, it seemed like something weird and strange. Surprisingly enough, when I told her about it – she already knew!! (mom’s are so crazy with their instincts) and she was SUPER supportive! If your mom is even half as sweet and wonderful as you (which I’m sure she is) I’m sure she will understand the blogging life and it will be such a relief for you! Let me know how it goes, sweetie!

    xoxo

  29. feetinmotion January 6, 2010 at 5:34 pm #

    Love your blog! And I absolutely love glee!!! So obsessed πŸ™‚

  30. Molly January 6, 2010 at 6:13 pm #

    I hear ya about things slowing down…I wish that upon myself ALL the time.
    As far as sharing your blog, it has major pros and cons. I used to have another blog that was more just my ramblings and less of food, I shared with my best friend (and at that time, my BF) who knows everything about me anyway, so I figured, what could it hurt? Well turns out I found I was writing the blog more geared towards him, and sensoring myself a lot more than I would if I was just writing to a bunch of people who didnt really “know” me. Im glad he knows whats going on in my head, but I have to wonder if Im not cheating myself (and him) because I worry too much about what Im writing down.
    Just something to think about.

    Happy Wednesday girly πŸ™‚

  31. merittothecarrot January 6, 2010 at 6:18 pm #

    I know this must be redundant, but it’s so marvelous to hear how well you’re doing with your meal plan πŸ™‚

    As I live with my mom, she has seen me taking pictures of my food for some time, thus resulting in her knowledge of my blog. Your mother loves you and will support you no matter what, so this is a call on your judgement, because everyones mom is different and can react so… So I’d hate to give any advice that would be detrimental to either your relationship with your momma or your blog… but as an avid reader of your blog, I can’t see how she could possibly be upset over this masterpiece of a web space πŸ™‚

  32. Michelle (Snacks and Field) January 6, 2010 at 7:01 pm #

    That’s great you were able to adjust your meal plan and work everything out… It looks like you are doing really well, so keep up the great work! And wooo! for Shakes, I’m so obsessed.

    And if you thing blogging HELPS you with your ed, then I think telling your mom could benefit you. It could allow you guys to strengthen your relationship and connect on a different level. But that’s if you feel comfortable enough having her read what you write, and your every day feelings, ’cause it is kind of like a diary in a way… But I think your mom would like seeing it- like giving her a sense of security in a way, knowing that you are OKAY and getting through your ED might worry her less… I hope this helps! Keep us updated on what you decide!
    Michelle

    ps- thanks for the tips about adding others to my blogroll, it was super helpful:)

  33. Hillary January 6, 2010 at 8:04 pm #

    I would never be able to keep my blog a secret from my family. It’s such a huge part of my life and they are my biggest fans. Go for it!

    ~ Hillary @ Nutrition Nut on the Run

  34. solclare January 6, 2010 at 9:02 pm #

    Great eats, especially the smoothie! I shall attempt a smoothie myself too.

    And yes girl, you should share this blog with your family. Well for me, there’re certain things/times where I find it hard to speak to them about face-to-face, so in a way, my blog acts as a medium for them to know my thoughts and feelings.

    And and, lastly, I’ve got to say you’re doing so well, so much better than me! Keep it up hun! πŸ˜€

  35. julie January 6, 2010 at 9:08 pm #

    i honestly think that if you let your mom know she’ll be super supportive! especially if she sees all the love you get from everyone everyday! if she sees that your blog is helping you out and a stress reliever she’ll be happy! if you’re happy she’ll be happy πŸ™‚

  36. blueberrymuffins January 6, 2010 at 9:13 pm #

    Kefir? I must try this! Humm idk showing bloggie to your mom – I can’t see it as being a bad thing.
    Go with your gut!

  37. Meg's Gut January 6, 2010 at 10:03 pm #

    Hi!
    I just came across your blog a few weeks ago and been following since…also reading your past blogs and such. I think that your blog is fantastic!
    I have Crohn’s Disease and my blog has been a great way in healing…it seems that your blogging may be a component in your healing as well.
    I am also close with my mom and if I were in your shoes I would definitely share this with her. I think that your mom will understand what ever you are going through much better (if she doesn’t all ready). So in my opinion- yes! Tell her about it!
    I wish you luck.
    By the way, all of the foods you are eating look absolutely delicious and so healthy!!
    xx

  38. Melissa S. January 6, 2010 at 10:09 pm #

    I loved your guest post on Melissa Nibbles!!!

    and I bet your mom would be super supportive if you shared your blog with her! no worries!

  39. theemptynutjar January 6, 2010 at 10:14 pm #

    Your meals are amazing..I admire you immensely Shelley…u don’t even understand!
    About the family issue…I debate that too..probably won’t …but tempting at times…not sure what to say…go with your gut maybe?
    i really intensely admire u…amazing πŸ™‚

  40. Rachael January 6, 2010 at 10:43 pm #

    Your breakfast from this morning looks too pretty to eat… almost. πŸ˜‰
    That’s really a tough call regarding telling your mom, especially because it’s not something you can take back once you share it. Do you think if she knew about this blog you’d feel uncomfortable while writing posts, like you needed to censor yourself? Follow your instincts and intuition. They say your gut never lies. πŸ˜‰ I can’t imagine how proud of you she must be.

    Rachael*

  41. Katharina January 6, 2010 at 10:59 pm #

    My family knows I blog. In fact my mom brags about it at work lol and the VP of where she works claims she is my biggest fan ahaha. It’s really sweet actually, she went ahead and got the cookbooks I’ve mentioned on my blog. I think you’re mother would be proud of you because you are also making revelations for yourself and you have such a sweet way of writing – it’d be hard not too smile and be proud of you! I am the same way though with my mom.. I can’t keep secrets lol. Kefir is yummmmmmy! You should try the flavored kinds πŸ˜€ They have a peach one that is awesome and the pomegranate one is too. I am a granola girl for sure! I have been having granola for breakfast practically everyday since I’ve been down in Florida. I love how much flavor it has πŸ˜€ The dinner your mom made for you sounds sooo good! My eyes got really big when I saw the sweet potato. YUMM

    Keep playing like champ girlie!!

    XOXO

    http://www.ohonemorething.wordpress.com

  42. onehealthyapple January 6, 2010 at 11:38 pm #

    You have so been kicking Gertrude’s bootay! I love it! Everything you ate looks wholesome and delicious- I am so coming over for one of your wraps πŸ™‚

    I told my family, but it took me a while. I was afraid that they would think I was obsessed, but I have had a lot of support from them! Think it over and give it a try, but be prepared to share anything you write with them!

  43. Kris | iheartwellness.com January 6, 2010 at 11:59 pm #

    Hey Girl!! It sounds like you had a great day!

    Taco hell…thats funny. yea I don’t like it either!

    I think you should tell your mom about the blog if you guys are close! It is so great to get support from the fam and let them see that you are connecting with some really great people. Haha, my nana reads my blog daily and so does the rest of them!

    Love ya!
    Kris

  44. daintyvegan January 7, 2010 at 12:25 am #

    Hmm, my family knows about my blog but they don’t know what it’s called or what it’s about. One day I’ll share it with them but right now it’s just for ME. I wouldn’t feel comfortable with them reading it. If you, however, feel fine, then go for it. πŸ™‚ Just remember that once you tell her about it, you can’t take it back. Make sure it’s what you want!

  45. Kylee (Little Hat) January 7, 2010 at 12:37 am #

    Hi, I’ve never commented and I’m new to blogging but I felt compelled to say this: My family knows about my blog, they read it, and even comment it on occasion and I find it to be extremely helpful and encouraging. I think it also helps them understand my mindset in regards to my ED better than if they didn’t read my blog, because I’m better at writing my thoughts rather than saying them out loud. Best of luck if you do decide to share your blog with your mom! -Kylee

  46. crazylittlethingneela January 7, 2010 at 3:57 am #

    my family knows about my blog. i’m sure if you talk to your mum she won’t mind at all. if you tell her that it helps you in recovery and all the great support you get from fellow bloggers i am sure we will be happy for you to have come into the blogging world
    xoxo
    p.s maybe that way you can explain why you need to take photos of your eats πŸ˜‰

  47. tatiannalives January 7, 2010 at 6:25 am #

    Shelley,
    Thanks so much for being such an amazing role model for me. Quite often I think of you and your words when it comes time for me to make a meal choice.
    I was wondering if you got any of my e-mails? I sent two your way and I haven’t heard back. [I sent them to shell625@gmail.com] I totally understand if you are too busy to reply, I just thought I would see if you received them or not. It is so comforting to here that you are here to help, and I would love your advice.

    I support the idea of telling your mom – I told mine and she reads it. If anything, it has brought us even closer and I think it has truly helped her to better understand what I am going through.

    xox
    Tat

    Ps.. cottage cheese + pb + honey and cinnamon = incredible… you should try it πŸ™‚

  48. Simply Life January 7, 2010 at 8:02 am #

    congrats on your first smoothie – it looks great!

  49. The Fit Collegiate January 7, 2010 at 9:17 am #

    Wow…that turkey burger looks delish! So does your wrap! Yum!

    Random side note…have you heard about the new “Taco Bell Diet?” What has this country come to?! Haha.

  50. MelissaNibbles January 7, 2010 at 9:50 am #

    Taco Bell is the worst. Puts me in the bathroom for the rest of the day. Sorry, TMI?

    Thanks again for the guest posty! Everyone loved it and you really touched people.

    I think you should tell your mom when you’re ready. Then again, your blog is a place where you can reveal your innermost thoughts and it may be tough for her to read at times. I would warn her of that if you do decide to share it with her. Also, you wouldn’t want to start keeping those emotions inside. Your blog is really helping you right now and if you censor yourself, you might not be able to find another emotional outlet you know? Best of luck!

  51. Bekah January 7, 2010 at 3:17 pm #

    haha I hate Taco Bell too. 😦

    As for sharing with your momma.. I’m not gonna lie, I don’t really know what to say. I thought your mom already knew! I guess that was just my assumption. BUT, my mom knows about my blog (most of my friends and family do) but then again I don’t talk about any food anxieties I have at ALL on my blog. It’s more of just a food/life blog. Whereas I share more of my thoughts through comments. But whatever you feel Shelley, I’m sure your mom will love it no matter what. πŸ™‚

  52. Ashlei January 7, 2010 at 6:00 pm #

    Shelley, what great looking meals. I used to avoid granola too because of ED since it is a smaller portion than cereal or oatmeal with higher fat, but now I love it and it is one of my favorite breakfast items! πŸ˜€

    My best friend is a Taco Bell addict too – the boy can eat it all the time and not get sick of it. No thanks! lol

    Hope you have a great day! πŸ˜€

  53. Kre Alkalyn Pro February 1, 2010 at 5:51 pm #

    Hi, good day. Wonderful post. You have gained a new subscriber. Pleasee continue this great work and I look forward to more of your great blog posts.

Leave a Reply

