Mucho Motivation :)

5 Jan

Hi Hunnies!!

First I’ll give you a play by play of my day. It was quite a snowy day here in Columbus, Ohio. Can’t complain though… even though I hate being cold, I am a sucker for the snow πŸ™‚

Breakfast featured my first attempt at overnight oats! I was pretty excited and I have absolutely no problem conforming to blog-like behaviors because they are just oh-so delicious!

I put a contianer of oikos plain 0% with 1/3 cup of oats and 1/3 cup of light vanilla soy milk overnight. In the morning I added a banana, blueberries, a tbsp cinnamon raisin swirl & dark chocolate dreams, and some warm cinnamon heart to heart cereal. I really liked this combination, but I couldn’t taste the oats as much as I might have liked… did I not add enough? any suggestions?

I loved this though- I ate it up in what felt like no time. Will be doing this again asap.

I went shopping with mi madre and got some great deals at forever XXI. I was able to return aΒ hideouss sweater my aunt bought me for the holidays (not that I wasn’t appreciative) in exchange for some freakin’ amazing deals!!

I got a pair of jeans for under $10. i’m sorry, I have plenty of expensive jeans and I think it is ridiculous how much some companies can charge for a pair of jeans when these 10 dollar ones are equally good quality! & I also got a couple cute tops & some adorable head bands.. I love ribbon head bands πŸ™‚

We also bought Glee Season 1!! Can’t wait to watch it.

We had lunch at the food court at the mall and I had Chick-Fil-A for my first time ever. It was delicious- impressive for fast food. I got the cool char-grilled chicken wrap, a small chicken noodle soup & a fruit cup (I had to make it fit my meal plan and I missed my morning snack!)

I had a nutritionist appointment at 4:30 so when I got home I had to leave right away. IOP is also from 5:30-8. The nutritionist appointment went well because I told her about my issue with fitting in my morning snack and she altered my plan so that I have a bigger lunch/afternoon snack & no morning snack.

For dinner at IOP i had strawberry chobani with a 1/2 cup of bare neaked pure protein granola, a banana, some teddy grahams, and veggies dipped in mustard.. delicious!

It isn’t weird to take pictures at IOP because they all know about my blog & think it is really cool.

I came home and it took FOREVER because the roads were terrible. When I got home I didn’t feel like making plans so instead I watched The Bachelor with my mom & we also watched the first episode of Glee- I love it already. My family always bets on who will win the Bachelor from a picture of the entire cast before it airs… no matter how trashy that show is, we always do it. Last year Gar & I picked Ed & he won!!

My evening snack was a glass of bolthouse farms mocha cappuccino (it had most of my exchanges so I bought it) & some cocoa roast almonds.. yum!

So I have been HONORED to have been awarded the ‘Happy 101’ award by the lovely lexi, stellar stef, rockin’ ruby, and ecstatic emily.. thanks girls, you are all fabulous!!

Rules:

1. List 10 things that make you happy

2. Try to do at least one of them every day

3. Tag 10 bloggers who brighten your day

So here it goes, there are lots of things that make me happy but I’ll try to think of just 10!

1. Being with Gardner. I know this is obvious but he is the best support system I could ever ask for and I truly feel the most myself when I am with him. & I love that we can be completely goofy together- this is us last year on our cruise- tradition in my family to rock the mullet wigs!

2. Having a GREAT Mom (& family) and spending time with her. I speak about my Mom in particular (and not the rest of my fam) because I used to totally take her for granted until I realized how lucky I am to have a Mom who is “cool” and who really is fun to be around & one of the most giving people I know. Not to mention- she is hilarious.

3. Singing in my car when I drive and not caring how stupid I sound. Yep, I admitted it. I LOOVE singing in my car. Especially Everything by Michael Buble lately haha.

4. SUSHI!!!! I love Sushi more than life. Though I don’t eat as much as I ate pre-ed, I still enjoy it. I am working on letting myself indulge in some of the special rolls I wasn’t afraid to order pre-Ed but it’s still a work in progress.

5. Sippin’ coffee while reading blogs, watching tv, etc.. Enough said- it is so relaxing

6. BLOGGING in general & reading your comments. Starting a blog was by far the best decision i’ve made this year (or at least one of them). I love the supportive comments, the blogs I read, and the fact that I am able to document my life (it will be so cool to look back on these entries in the future!).

7. Hanging out with my true friends. Friends are so valuable and I am so blessed to have plenty of great ones!

8. Running. Though right now i’ve put that on hold for health reasons, I love the release I feel when I go for a run and the accomplished feeling after a great run.

9. Going to the movies. I love going to the movies… i don’t know what else to say about that!

10. Watching the sunset. I love a beautiful sunset- there is nothing more amazing to me ❀ Don’t care how cheesy I am πŸ˜€

Now i’m going to tag some fabulous bloggers- this is hard becuase all the blogs I read make me smile! BUt here is 10 that I am picking somewhat randomly?

Michelle, Naomi, Neela, Jenna, Ada, Bekah, Katharina, Molly, Cassie, and Lizzy


I am feeling so inspired and motivated lately. With my adjusted meal plan, it is my goal to follow it 100%, no excuses πŸ™‚ I keep thinking about how amazing it will be to reach that goal weight and though the journey is difficult, the destination is so completely worth it!! Health & Happiness is worth it. I will not give up and I will not let myself believe that I will be worth any less with some more poundage (haha). It’s gaining health and that is all there is to it.


xoxooxoxox

Shelleyβ™₯

52 Responses to “Mucho Motivation :)”

  1. Averie (LoveVeggiesAndYoga) January 5, 2010 at 1:58 am #

    “5. Sippin’ coffee while reading blogs, watching tv, etc.. Enough said- it is so relaxing”—Oh this would be something right up my alley too!!!!! Love this. It’s like the best thing ever isnt it!
    Love your list Shelley!!

  2. Marina January 5, 2010 at 2:50 am #

    It is really nice to read such an uplifting and happy post!
    I love your list too, and agree on most of the stuff πŸ˜€

  3. Julia January 5, 2010 at 3:38 am #

    Yeah for the motivation, you go girl! And it’s so funny, I recognize many of your points in myself…like the car singing for instance;)

    xxx Julia (Taste of Living)

  4. Lexi January 5, 2010 at 5:43 am #

    I am so glad you’re feeling super motivated lately. Good stuff! Don’t you just LOVE overnight oats? They are so creamy and fluffy, delish. And I love the bolthouse drinks. The vanilla chai is also delicious!
    Have a great day, it is super snowy again! Blah! Drive safe πŸ™‚

    Love ya!
    -Lex

  5. tatiannalives January 5, 2010 at 5:50 am #

    You are such an inspiration! Every time I read your blog I seem to smile – You are making amazing progress every single day. You make me feel like recovery is not only possible, it is probable.

    Thank you ❀
    xox
    Tat

    Ps. I recently discovered my love of sushi as well πŸ™‚ Yumm..

  6. candice January 5, 2010 at 5:58 am #

    I’m too cold to try overnight oats, and too rushed in the morning to make oats… ahhh, what to do?! 😯 Oh well, girlie, those eats look awesome! πŸ™‚ Glad you’re letting yourself have sushi—it’s awesome πŸ™‚ Eel sushi and sashimi are especially delicious…

    I love your positive comments and posts! You’re a nice counter to my pessimistic outlook πŸ˜‰ Thank you!

  7. Naomi (onefitfoodie) January 5, 2010 at 6:25 am #

    your lunch from chick-fil-a looks awesome! can you believe I have NEVER been to one befoer?? I just dont knwo where one is around me! I am so thrilled that you are sticking to your meal plan adn doing an aamzing job! I am sure the other gals in there love the idea of your blog because you get so much support from all of us! πŸ™‚ in addition to the support form your friends and family!

    how amazing is the bachelor, I think some of the ladies this season are a bit odd and somewhat vapid, but regardless its geat entertainment

    THANK YOU FOR THE AWARD!!! I will post it later today!! xoxoxo

  8. Jessica @ How Sweet It Is January 5, 2010 at 6:54 am #

    I love those fun headbands!! They are so cute and I have been eyeing them for a few weeks, too. πŸ™‚ So glad you are doing so well girlie!

  9. Lily @ Lily's Health Pad January 5, 2010 at 7:08 am #

    Those headbands are adorable. I also like the shirt with the beading on the back.

    I love reading your blog. πŸ™‚

  10. Cassie January 5, 2010 at 8:13 am #

    First, the last paragraph of your post…brilliant. Love you and love your attitude, girl! You are kicking Ed’s ass!

    Also, mi madre (love that you called her that, too!) is my very best friend ever – agreed on #2.

    #3 – I am TOTALLY a sing-in-my-car person. I sing loudly and horribly…and I love it.

    #5 – Ditto.

    #6 – Blogging is changing my life. Love this one!

  11. blueeyedheart January 5, 2010 at 8:49 am #

    I don’t really taste the oats in overnight oats either, but what do oats really taste like?? Don’t they just kind of take on the flavor of whatever else is in the bowl?

    I love your list! And the pictures accompanying it πŸ˜‰

    ❀ ❀

  12. Emily (http://funnyemily.wordpress.com) January 5, 2010 at 8:54 am #

    i love your ten things soo much! going to the movies, my mom, blogging, all so happy πŸ™‚
    glad you adjusted your meal plan girl, your going to rock it. & i need to listen to you, gaining health all the way!
    you must tell me what kind of sushi rolls to try, i’ve never really had it and i really want to try it!
    happy tuesday!
    xoxo

  13. Emily January 5, 2010 at 10:12 am #

    First trip to chik-a-fil!? Awesome! They have it at our school caf. in the student union and I love going there to get a nice salad! Those wraps are rockin’ too, but they don’t offer them at school…humph!

    I love your list. I am actually sipping coffee while reading blogs right now! πŸ˜€

  14. Molly January 5, 2010 at 10:17 am #

    love this post! those jeans and shirt are SO cute! πŸ™‚ and that wrap!? YUM! I didnt know they had those!
    Have a good Tuesday girly!

  15. kbwood January 5, 2010 at 10:53 am #

    YAY for feeling inspired!! you freakin go girl!
    i LOVE FOREVER 21!! those buys are presh.
    and i love chik fi las wraps πŸ™‚ yummm!
    have a great tues love, keep doing great!

  16. Whitney @ Lettuce Love January 5, 2010 at 11:02 am #

    Love your list! I totally agree with #6 — starting a blog was one of the best things I did in 2009. And #3 and #7 — you read my mind πŸ™‚

  17. Jessica Zara January 5, 2010 at 11:29 am #

    Your purchases all look so fantastic ~ I love ribbon headbands too but any pressure on my head triggers migraines so I can’t wear them 😦 You’ll look fabulous in them though, I just know it.

    That’s also a lovely list of things which make you happy, none of which have anything to do with appearance. Though that’s not an issue for you anyway, because you’re naturally beautiful…extra ‘poundage’ accentuates your beauty because it adds the extra glow of health to the mix. I agree wholeheartedly with numbers 6, 8 and 10 in particular.

    So happy you’re doing well.

    ~Jessica~

  18. The Candid RD January 5, 2010 at 11:29 am #

    It sounds like you are really on track, and truly motivated to stick with your health/nutrition goals! I’m so sorry I forgot you went to Wisconsin, and that you were form Columbus. I KNOW you told me that before, I just sometimes loose track of where people are from, and I apologize for that!

    I love the picture of you and your bf in the mullet wigs, classic! Also, I loved Ed last season on the Bachelor too. I was so mad when rumors were spreading that he was unfaithful. But, him and Jillian were cute last night.

    Have a good one! Keep up the great “meal plan” work. πŸ™‚

  19. Jenny January 5, 2010 at 11:48 am #

    aw aren’t those little spurs of inspiration and motivation amazing? hold on to that honey! It will be your saving grace in recovery!! those things you listed as your sources of happiness are what life is all about — focus on THOSE things when you’re feeling weak against ED. You are amazing!!

    p.s. as far as overnight oats, I actually cook my oats in liquid the night before then once they’re cooked I mix them with the yogurt. It makes them more voluminous and you can taste the oats a lot more πŸ™‚ hope this works for you lovepie!

    *hugs*

  20. Chrysta January 5, 2010 at 12:00 pm #

    Forever XXI is awesome! Love that store. Looks like you picked up some really cute finds! Congrats on that cool award! I loved reading all the happiness facts! Godd luck with all your amazing strides you are making with your nutritionist. You are doing awesome girl!!! Have a beautiful day!

  21. april January 5, 2010 at 12:04 pm #

    Overnight oats are so delicious but for some reason they don’t keep me as full as hot oats! haha.

    And cocoa roast almonds are the best kind of almonds there are! yum!!

  22. sarahdbelle January 5, 2010 at 12:09 pm #

    Love all your cute finds from Forever 21! And I’m so glad you liked Glee. It’s my favorite!
    xoxoxo
    Sarah

  23. determinedtoshine January 5, 2010 at 12:12 pm #

    shelley! your motivation is so inspiring to me, and your positivity is contagious πŸ™‚ so glad you’re working out an eating plan that works for you. so important – your nutritionist sounds great!

    enjoy your day
    xo

  24. Lizzy January 5, 2010 at 12:37 pm #

    huge thank you for nominating me! love you girl!!!! i’m so happy that your happy!!! your upbeat positivity is so heart warming!!!!!

    I’m totally loving your forever 21 finds! i adore that store and i totally agree with you on the whole jeans situation. i have somewhat expensive jeans and then i have the pairs from forever and i totally love those just as much if not more!!!!!!

    love u girl! πŸ™‚

    http://saladdiva.wordpress.com

  25. Missy Maintains January 5, 2010 at 12:49 pm #

    Glad you are nice and motivated! Love your list too! You and your mom are adorable! Oh and I sing in the car just like you and don’t care who’s watchin πŸ™‚

  26. Michelle (Snacks and Field) January 5, 2010 at 1:15 pm #

    Umm… LOVE Forever21, definitely the store I shop the most in, the clothes you picked out are so cute! And ohh man- my roomates and I are obsessed with Glee, it’s hysterical, you’re gonna love it, I’m always listening to the music from it.

    And for the overnight oats- maybe try 1/2 a cup oats? I don’t know what your meal plan allows but I think that would give it a good texture!

  27. Katharina January 5, 2010 at 2:08 pm #

    I love all those deals at F21!! Those headbands especially – they are so freaking CUTE πŸ˜€ I love little things like that, that add flair to an outfit.

    And your top 10 things! The second one I really relate to you on that one. I use to get so annoyed by my mom and we were just not on the same page, but now I realize that is my best friend and there’s no one in this world that will love me the way she does. I just embrace it and I love her. She’s a great strong woman and she’s become a role model in my life. And that is soo cool about blogging – that you can look back on life. It’s like as storybook πŸ™‚ Let’s just hope computers are not going to be ancient by the time we have grandchildren lol. We’ll have blogs instead of family albums hahaha.

    Stay strong girlie! I love this extra motivation boost you are feeling lately! It’s definitely a good wave to be on. You are such a wonderful person and knowing that you are feeling so inspired and motivated to be good to yourself makes me smile. Because there’s no reason in the world that you shouldn’t love yourself πŸ˜€

    XOXOXO

    http://www.ohonemorething.wordpress.com

  28. Stef @ moretolifethanlettuce January 5, 2010 at 2:11 pm #

    LOL i died laughing so hard at those mullet wigs, you are hilarious! awesome about your D changing your snack around, great that she is responsive to your needs. i love returning hideous clothing and getting something you love, totally gratifying! AHH Glee! my fave show of the moment. enjoy and stay warm!

  29. Simply Life January 5, 2010 at 2:19 pm #

    I have yet to try the overnight oats but you just reminded me I’ve been wanting to -thanks!

  30. Jenna January 5, 2010 at 4:23 pm #

    Girl! Thanks for tagging me πŸ˜‰
    I love overnight oats! You made them correct but you just can’t really taste the oats that much because they have soaked up the yogurt and make them a tad bit soggy but none the less delicious!
    I am glad you didn’t skimp at lunch since you missed your morning snack!
    I have never been to chick fil a but yours looks great!!
    Jenna

  31. daintyvegan January 5, 2010 at 5:02 pm #

    Those were so GREAT!! Ahaha.. it may have something to do with how much I just related to all of the things that make you happy.

    Those clothes and headbands are so cute! I need to attempt headbands again.. this is probably such a noob question but.. how the heck do you get them to look good? I find that when I try to put one on, it squishes my hair awkwardly.

  32. homecookedem January 5, 2010 at 5:14 pm #

    I love chick-fil-a!! Their wraps are delicious!! I like putting their fat free honey mustard on mine!! πŸ™‚

  33. devan January 5, 2010 at 5:40 pm #

    your eats look so fantastic!
    sushi. coffee.. make a very happy devan too πŸ™‚

  34. Melinda January 5, 2010 at 6:01 pm #

    ooh, I’ve been wanting some of those GG looking headbands, but I can’t find them anywhere boo!

    So happy that you finally got to try Chik fil A- did you like?

    And I love your list- such a cute picture of you and Gardner- love the wigs hehe πŸ˜€

  35. Tina January 5, 2010 at 6:04 pm #

    Heej Shelley,
    Are you happy with your altered meal plan?

    I personally also feel more comfortable with a big(ger) breakfast and no morning snack… I like to eat quantity as well as quality sometimes :p

    Good luck with it all, I know you can do it!
    xxx

  36. merittothecarrot January 5, 2010 at 6:11 pm #

    I watched the bachelor last night with my momma. It is the greatest form of comic relief for me, some of those girls are re-dick-you-LUS!

    Seeing what makes you happy makes me happy πŸ™‚

  37. theemptynutjar January 5, 2010 at 7:23 pm #

    You are so amazing…I just don’t know…I just struggle each day to be happy…I am not happy…I feel guilty all the time for accomplishing NOTHING…getting nowhere…u are just amazing…all your eats look fantastic again Shelley!! Love your list…have a sweet night.

  38. Julie January 5, 2010 at 8:44 pm #

    congrats on the award girl! i lurv sushi too πŸ™‚ haha and your matching mullets!

    so excited for this season of the bachelor! glad we’ll be watching together!

  39. Kris | iheartwellness.com January 5, 2010 at 10:12 pm #

    Love the jean part of this post! I used to say “I will only purchase and wear expensive jeans” and girl I pay $300+ for jeans…..I caved and bought 1 pair of jeans from Forever and fell in love. I rock them all the time! They never stretch out!!!

    Love it!

    XXOO

  40. Ashlei January 5, 2010 at 10:45 pm #

    Singing in the car is the best! I’ve definitely looked over and had people stare at me before…it was kind of hilarious! πŸ˜› hahaha!
    And yes, Michael Buble is amazing!…and gorgeous πŸ˜‰

    Great post. Veggies + mustard = yum
    And I agree about the expensive jeans thing…I like to get mine at TJ Maxx or Plato’s Closet (already “broken in” so to speak) since I get tired of jeans easily.

  41. Allie (Live Laugh Eat) January 5, 2010 at 11:09 pm #

    You’re so darn cute! The tops and those pair of jeans look SO stylish. Great deal. Haha I sing so loudly in my drives to and from school I sometimes lose my voice πŸ™‚

  42. Rachael January 6, 2010 at 12:28 am #

    Rockin’ Ruby… I like it. πŸ˜‰
    Reading this post, I can’t help but smile. Your positivity and motivation are contagious like the chicken pox but a billion times better! I know if I lived near you I’d want to be friends so we could drive around singing Michael Buble and scaring pedestrians.

    Rachael*

  43. burpexcuzme January 6, 2010 at 1:13 am #

    I think you’re amazing, Shelley. I’m loving your motivation and your optimism…it’s infectious!
    And haha, no problem in conforming to bloggie fads…as long as you enjoy them!
    I don’t think you’re supposed to taste the oats too much, though, since it’s cold, and not cooked, so it doesn’t bring out that oaty flavor.

  44. Jessica (jesslikesithot) January 6, 2010 at 2:43 am #

    You are too cute for words!! But oh yes, i’d definitely add more oats! You do NOT need to be skimpin’ with the 1/3 cup measurements πŸ™‚ i’d say mix the yogurt, 1/3 or 1/2 cup water, 1/2 oats, banana and cinnamon overnight then add the nut butter/granola/more cinn, etc in the morning!! Promise you’ll love it even more!

    And cute headbands!! Have a great day girl, xoxo

  45. arielmakingstrides January 6, 2010 at 3:04 am #

    Hey Shelley! So I just started reading your blog, and I have to tell you how much I adore it. You are such a positive spirit, it’s fantastic! I’m new to the whole blogging thing but I hope you’ll take a look at mine when you get the chance. Have a great day πŸ™‚

  46. Lauren January 6, 2010 at 6:50 am #

    You totally deserve this award! I am so glad that these few things in life make you happy and I only wish you 1000 more wonderful things that bring you so much joy! πŸ™‚

    Take care Shelly. πŸ™‚

  47. Ada January 6, 2010 at 7:20 am #

    Cute Forever 21 loot girlie! I have the same problem with overnight oats, I can never actually taste the oats! I guess we just have to amp up the amount used. That mocha Bolthouse smoothie, by the way, is pure love:)

    Thanks for giving me that cute award!!!

  48. angnxd January 6, 2010 at 8:46 am #

    I love forever 21! Those headbands are so cute!

  49. katie January 6, 2010 at 8:50 am #

    love reading your posts, your a ray of sunshine!!!

    I love the 10 things that make you happy, SUSHI makes me happy too!! As you know!!!!

    Good buys at Forever 21, love that place, the headbands are cute, they have the best accessories!!

    Have a wonderful week!!! xoxo

  50. The Fit Collegiate January 6, 2010 at 9:09 am #

    I’ve been dying to dry Chick Fil A! We don’t have one in Wisconsin, but they’re all over Nashville and I can’t wait to go!

    P.S. Weirdddd…my best friend has that same headband (the one with the rose-shaped zipper flower thing). It’s so cute!

  51. Jess January 6, 2010 at 12:05 pm #

    Congrats on the award! It’s definitely well deserved πŸ™‚ Love your list as well! Cute mullet picture!

    Those overnight oats look delightful!
    ❀ jess
    xoxo

  52. Bekah January 6, 2010 at 1:04 pm #

    I love this list Shelley.. and I really wanted to make a post all about this, so thanks for passing it along!

    Coffee, reading blogs, sushi, sunsets, ahh yes. All of the above.

    And about the oats, I’ve been cutting down on my oat consumption lately, (I know, odd right, but true.) So I used 1/3 cup the other day and noticed the same thing. I used to make it with 1/2 cup allll the time, and it’s really yummy, so you could try that. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

