First Blogger Meet Up!

4 Jan

Happy 2010!!

I took a little break from blogging because I have been busy (which is always a good thing I guess) and even though it’s only been a few days it seems like forever.

2010 has started out well! I had a fun new years. Went to a few parties and there was no drama which is always a good thing.

Gardner came over for breakfast the next morning & he wanted to make me it. Ed wanted to say “no, eat one of your safe breakfasts” but instead I decided that I would let him make me it & figure out how to make it fit in my meal plan! He made me a delicious egg and cheese breakfast sandwich with an apple & a glass of juice… it was really delicious & nice of him πŸ™‚ i’m a lucky girl, i try not to take him for granted

I had to run some errands and I ended up meeting Gardner for lunch at California Pizza Kitchen (I have other friends I promise hahah). I ordered the half veggie salad with grilled shrimp & started with a really good split pea soup! I checked nutritional info beforehand so I could make it fit my meal plan.

They were both really good. I hadn’t eaten there in soo long!

The rest of the night was spent watching some football with some friends and just relaxing.

On Saturday I started the day out with a delicious yogurt mess before IOP. It consisted of a deep chocolate vitatop, 1/2 cup go lean, fage 2%, raisins, & cinnamon raisin swirl peanut butter. This was delicious… def a winning combination.

Then I had IOP where I ate my snack and lunch. IOP went well, I like that it isn’t too frequent but yet is enough to keep me on the right track.

Then, I had my family’s annual Hanukah/Holiday (not all my family is Jewish) dinner that night (Better late than never)!! It was a lot of fun and we always cater the food from this local deli that is soo good called Katzingers. This is my plate from the night

Turkey on challah bread with cheese, a salad, and some of Katzinger’s famous pickles πŸ™‚ I LOVE pickles, haha don’t know why.

I always love my family get togethers… I am really close with one of my cousins so it is great to see her and catch up.

Sunday was a fairly relaxed day. I started off by going to a farewell breakfast with a friend who is going back to school at UC and my other friend who goes to college in California. It was a lot of fun and I didn’t get a picture but I had wheat toast with sugar free jelly, scrambled eggs, fruit, & turkey sausage.

Then I had my FIRST blogger meet up πŸ˜€ I met Lexi from starlightdinerr! I was so excited to be able to meet someone from the blog world & especially Lexi because her blog is amazing! If you haven’t checked it out, you definitely should because she is a fabulous writer and has beautiful pictures, a beautiful layout, and really interesting things to say.

We went to a tea place called Zen Cha Tea Salon and I ordered a citrus winter blend tea. She got a honey lemon tea. We tried each other’s and they were both so good.

I am so glad I got to meet her! We could have talked for hours & she is such a beautiful, nice & energetic person. I hope we get to hang out again soon. She is doing so well in recovery & it was really inspirational for me to talk to her. The picture below is hers πŸ™‚ Hope you dont mind that I used it lex!

After I met with her I did some grocery shopping (always fun… at least for me haha) & at some point snacked on a bar and some fruit. When I came home I caught up with the fam & then made a quick & easy dinner of a turkey wrap (leftover from Katzingers), swiss cheese & veggies with pretzels, an apple, carrots and some unpictured chocolate soy crisps (so good!)

Tonight I went to one of my best friend’s house & hung out with her, watched Desperate housewives, caught up, etc. It was a lot of fun because we haven’t chilled in forever!! It is always so nice to catch up with friends πŸ™‚ Desperate housewives was only ok though :-\ I was kind of disappointed because I was looking forward to it all week (yep, i’m cool like that).

When I met with Lexi we talked a lot about how much we love blogging. I really do love it & I thank you all so much for reading my blog and giving me positive, encouraging comments. Blogging is such a great hobby & I think it is amazing to be able to get your thoughts out & be able to look back on your posts & remember good (or not so good) times.

What is your favorite part of blogging?

I have been doing well Ed wise. It is sometimes hard for me to fight off the ed talk but lately I have really been focusing in on it and trying to recognize the negative thoughts. By recognizing these thoughts, it really helps me to figure out how to ignore them.

Anyways, tomorrow is going to hopefully be a pretty chill day. I have a meeting with my nutritionist and then IOP but other then that, not many plans yet! Hope you all have great starts to your weeks… first Monday of 2010!


xoxoxox

Shelleyβ™₯


ps- I tried overnight oats tonight! I hope they turn out well. But i was wondering, what are your favorite overnight oats recipes?!

oh, & check out this video! I’m not a huge rap/pop fan but this mix is sweet.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iNzrwh2Z2hQ

44 Responses to “First Blogger Meet Up!”

  1. Ashlei January 4, 2010 at 1:33 am #

    My favorite part of blogging is definitely the people I get to meet and connect with through my blog πŸ™‚

  2. Averie (LoveVeggiesAndYoga) January 4, 2010 at 2:34 am #

    awesome meetup!!!!! i love meeting other bloggers, it’s like wow, these people are “real”, they really do exist, and it reinvigorates my desire to blog and make the personal connections. fun stuff!

  3. Lexi January 4, 2010 at 5:46 am #

    Girl you are so sweet! I had an amazing time meet you yesterday! I’m so glad we got to chat about the blogworld/recovery and can’t wait to hang out again! We seriously could have talked forever!

    It’s so sweet that gardner made you breakfast! You guys are so cute. Love your eats and your positivity as usual! πŸ™‚

    Have a great day!
    Love,
    Lex

  4. Jessica @ How Sweet It Is January 4, 2010 at 6:43 am #

    What a fun bloggy meetup!!! πŸ™‚

  5. determinedtoshine January 4, 2010 at 7:22 am #

    So exciting that you got to meet up with Lexi! You girls are both so beautiful πŸ™‚
    I’m so glad I found blogging too. I can’t imagine my life without it now! My favourite part of blogging is probably the fact that sometimes emotions are too difficult to say, but easier to write – so it provides a way of expressing myself πŸ™‚ I also love the fact that so there are so many of us going through the same thing, we can all offer each other support!

    Enjoy your day Shelley!

    Hannah xo

  6. Cassie January 4, 2010 at 7:23 am #

    My favorite part of blogging? Um, all of it. πŸ˜‰ LOL. Honestly, I can’t even pick a favorite part. Starting my blog has changed my life.

    Your California Pizza Kitchen lunch looks soooo good! I’m definitely picking that place next time I have to pick a restaurant.

    You’re doing so well, girl! Tell Ed to shut the eff up! He’s a bastard! πŸ™‚

  7. crazylittlethingneela January 4, 2010 at 7:53 am #

    aww what a wonderful blogger meet up! it’s alsways so wonderful to see when two people who want to make this life a better place come together to bring together their positive energy.
    i hope this energy will stay with you throughout this year
    xoxo

  8. Abby January 4, 2010 at 8:00 am #

    What a fun meetup!!! You girls look adorable!! πŸ™‚
    All your eats look super yummy, too!
    Enjoy your Monday, hun!

  9. Nelly January 4, 2010 at 8:10 am #

    Aw fun..I wanna find bloggers in Indiana! haha
    The 2% is a normalcy for me here now!
    Try the morningstar veggie crumbles. They are great to stirfry with onions…my new go to!

  10. The Candid RD January 4, 2010 at 8:20 am #

    I’m sorry I have to ask, as I feel like maybe I haven’t been paying attention, but where are you at school? Are you in Columbus? I ask because I thought we were the only city with Katzinger’s deli. I am pretty sure we also have a Zen Cha Tea Salon…. If you do live in C-bus, I had no idea!!

    I’m glad your 2010 is starting off in a positive fashion. Your foods for the year so far look great! I love pickles too πŸ™‚ I used to eat them all the time when I was a kid, literally, ALL THE TIME. I still love them, but not quite as addicted. Thankfully!! Bad breath anyone??

  11. julia January 4, 2010 at 8:33 am #

    Happy new year! Great to be back in this blogging world and read a new post of you:)
    I’m proud of you for making progress and for having the boyfriend-breakfast…because ED didn’t wanted it, but YOU (and everyone else!) of course wants to have a breakfast made with love by your love:)

    xxx Julia (Taste of Living)

  12. theemptynutjar January 4, 2010 at 8:43 am #

    yeah, so…i love you πŸ™‚
    you are just too cool my dear
    great for a blogger meetup…lexi seems sweet…and you two look beautiful
    i know – desperate housewives wasnt all that great afterall…
    anyway, great days Shelley…wish I could “talk” to you more for real….so much i struggle with at times…but we all do…and its all to stop overthinking right??
    oh,,,blogging…definitely meeting people…although food blogs can have very bad influences…i am trying to find and read those that will be a positive thing for me
    have a sweet day

  13. Megan January 4, 2010 at 9:47 am #

    Yay for blogger meet ups!! They’re always so much fun.. and I love vitatops + yogurt!

  14. Melissa January 4, 2010 at 9:56 am #

    Blogger meetups are so much fun.

    I think one of my favorite parts of blogging is reading comments from other people. It means so much that someone took the time to respond to my posts! (So thank YOU for all of the nice things you’ve said) πŸ™‚

  15. Michelle (Snacks and Field) January 4, 2010 at 10:43 am #

    Ohmann the yogurt with the Kashi and Choco Vitatop looked phenomenal!- I’ve never tried a vitatop before (probably because I’ve never seen them in stores, but i may just have to look harder!)

    And yumm Overnight oats are delicious! I always make sure I put in Greek Yogurt, banana, and cinnamon… The banana overnight gets amazingly sweet (not too much- but perfect), Can’t wait to hear how yours turned out!

  16. kbwood January 4, 2010 at 10:50 am #

    awww I WANA MEET UP WITH YOU AND LEXI!!
    SO fun!!! im so glad you girls got to do that!
    your boy is so sweet for making you breakfast!! i love it!! thats awesome you let him make it girl! you freaking ROCK.
    did you like desp housewives? i thought it was SO sad!!
    when do you go back to school love?

  17. Naomi (onefitfoodie) January 4, 2010 at 11:27 am #

    yay for a blogger meet up! so fun! I wish you lived closer to meeee

    what a great b-fast from the boy πŸ™‚ hes a keeper!! hehe, im sure you hear that alot!

    you are doing SO amazing! I rememeber when you first started blogging and to compare that to where you are now is just astonishing! you rock, shelley!! πŸ™‚

  18. Rachael January 4, 2010 at 11:49 am #

    My favorite part of blogging is definitely getting to “meet” awesome girls (no guys… so far πŸ˜‰ ) like yourself! I’m so glad had a fun meet up with Lexi! You are BOTH so inspirational and beautiful, I’m sure the entire tea place was glowing with your combined wonderfulness.
    I’ve never tried overnight oats. What’s the verdict? Two thumbs up or down?

    Rachael*

  19. blueeyedheart January 4, 2010 at 11:56 am #

    Hmmm… I think my favorite part of blogging is being able to get feedback on things I would otherwise consider too crazy to verbalize!!

    Love split pea soup… but I haven’t had it in ages. I think I will need to fix that one of these days. πŸ˜‰

    ❀ ❀

  20. imaginenamaste January 4, 2010 at 11:57 am #

    Totally random…..I love vita tops. Haha, to an unhealthy level…. πŸ™‚ Saw your picture and decided I needed to go get some more. My store here only had the muffins (not that awesome), so was so disappointed….must find them πŸ™‚

  21. Emily (http://funnyemily.wordpress.com) January 4, 2010 at 12:08 pm #

    ah blogger meet up!! so fun! i vote you both come down to cincinnati and hang out with me πŸ™‚ by the way that tea place sounds amazinggg!!
    and let me say gardner is quite the chef, i’m so glad you let him make the breakfast, that’s wonderful!
    & i’m totally jealous you don’t go back to school today
    delish eats!
    xoxo

  22. Molly January 4, 2010 at 1:19 pm #

    My favorite part of blogging is hearing feedback from other people. I love being so connected πŸ™‚ Its like being a part of a whole different community!

  23. Caitlyn January 4, 2010 at 1:28 pm #

    My favorite part about blogging is having the opportunity to connect with people from all over the world, and being able to share silly details about your life without judgment. I like to express myself freely!

    I added more changes to my blog! Hope you like them!
    -Caitlyn

    http://caitlynclark.blogspot.com

  24. Chrysta January 4, 2010 at 1:45 pm #

    So awesome!! looks like alot of fun. I love hearing about all these bloggy meet ups. How cool! I love all your eats too. That yogurt mess looks absolutely amazing. And you are right, so fun to catch up with friends. Im glad you had a great night!! Take care and have a fabulous Monday!

  25. Michelle January 4, 2010 at 2:13 pm #

    Yay for blogger meetups! So fun! Glad you’re doing well, and YUM looking yogurt mess!!

  26. Jenna January 4, 2010 at 2:46 pm #

    I am glad you let Gardner make you breaky after all it was great! He made you a great meal that fit very well into your meal plan! Great job shell!
    Soup and salad look great and love your yogurt mess with vita tops!
    Have a great day at IOP!
    Jenna

  27. sarahdbelle January 4, 2010 at 3:31 pm #

    Sound like you’ve been having a great time catching up with friends and making new ones. I’m so happy you’re progressing in recovery too. Yay!
    Sarah

  28. Lo January 4, 2010 at 3:37 pm #

    i am so glad u got o thave a blogger meet-up. they are bomb. it is so wonderful getting to know girls outside of the computer world. i cant wait to have more this year toO!

    and CPK is my abz favorite place ever…there mediterranean salad with salmon is sooooo good!

    xoxo
    lo

  29. julie January 4, 2010 at 3:38 pm #

    awww what a great bloggie meetup! so fun when you get to hang with blog friends πŸ™‚ i love it!

    i havent been to cali pizza kitchen in forever! but your salad looks so great that i’m thinking i need to get back there prooonto!

    have a great afternoon girly

  30. homecookedem January 4, 2010 at 4:07 pm #

    Seeing that you gave into Gardner’s desire to make you breakfast totally reminded me of how I was able to get past my disordered eating a few years ago. Andrew used to want to cook for me or prepare my breakfast and I would really, really want to just stick with my safe option and sometimes even told him that, but he kept pushing and to be honest, that is how I overcame it all. I saw that this man loved me so much and one way he wanted to show it was by cooking me something. And after I ate it, I did NOT gain weight! And I enjoyed it!! πŸ™‚ Keep letting your man cook for you!! It will make both of you soooooo very happy!! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

  31. glidingcalm January 4, 2010 at 4:23 pm #

    haha i loveeeeeeeeeeeeeee that DJ Earworm mashup!!! it is so clever!

    hurrah for A BLOGGER MEET UP! those are so much fun!! and hurray for avoiding the ED talk. You are doing so well!!!

    My mom made split pea soup a couple days ago and it was SO comforting. Plus with a big hunk of bread = perfecttttttttt!!!

    happy Monday girly! hope you have an amazing week!

  32. Bekah January 4, 2010 at 5:18 pm #

    Yayyy for overnight oats! Def just a simple bowl of oats+yogurt+milk,topped with whatever in the morning like AB, PB, honey, etc. A little flavor. I also love doing pumpkin instead of milk. It’s like pumpkin yogurt, but with oats. Haha.

    I love you and Lexi’s meetup! That’s so cool! I love blogging for the relationships I’ve made, and lives that I can keep up with, and also something to do, and strive for everyday. With posting, its a constant motivator for life in general I think. πŸ™‚

  33. Lizzy January 4, 2010 at 5:36 pm #

    Yummmy food pics! your bf sounds like a great guy! I hope your having a chill monday! πŸ™‚ keep up the awesome work, your doing great and your body will love you for it! xoxo!

  34. Katharina January 4, 2010 at 5:49 pm #

    I love this post! You’re so adorable and I’m glad you had a great time with Lexi. It’s so nice to be able to talk to someone who can truly relate and is also in recovery. You both are such strong young women and an inspiration. Stay strong and keep living life the way Shelley should πŸ˜€ Not the way ED thinks you should πŸ˜‰

    Hmm as for overnight oats? I really love to soak raisins (or another dried fruit) over night along with the oats and then drizzle on some honey in the morning and you can add some of your favorite nuts for crunch. I also add in slices of a very ripe banana (sweeter!). OH!! Before I forget, crumbling on a graham cracker or something would be good for crunch too if you don’t like straight up nuts (that sounds wrong lol).

    XOXO

    http://www.ohonemorething.wordpress.com

  35. Simply Life January 4, 2010 at 8:04 pm #

    sounds like a fun time!

  36. Ada January 4, 2010 at 8:16 pm #

    Aww that was so sweet of your bf to make you breakfast! I’m glad you had fun at the blogger meet-up, it’s always nice to meet fellow bloggers:)

  37. Nicole January 4, 2010 at 10:20 pm #

    Yay for blogger meet-ups, that’s so fun! My first meet-up with a fellow bloggie, we definitely chatted it up! Eats look wonderful…as always!

  38. daintyvegan January 4, 2010 at 10:22 pm #

    I can’t wait to meet some other bloggers! Sounds like you had so much fun. πŸ™‚

    All your food always looks so appetizing.. when I take pictures of mine it just looks like.. food. Boring food.

  39. Foodie (Fab and Delicious Food) January 4, 2010 at 10:23 pm #

    That’s awesome that Gardner made you breakfast! How sweet!

    Yay for a blogger meetup! Glad you had fun!

    My favorite part of blogging is probably the blogging community – everyone is so welcoming, friendly, and supportive!

  40. Kristine January 4, 2010 at 10:40 pm #

    Yay for blogger meet ups! They are always so much fun!

  41. tropicaleats January 4, 2010 at 10:56 pm #

    split pea soup is really yummy! i never used to like it until recently.. it’s funny how our tastebuds change lol. glad you had a fun bloggy meetup girly. My fave part of blogging is getting able to see different blogger’s lifestyles!

  42. nattietan January 4, 2010 at 11:36 pm #

    It’s great to see you out and about and having fun! I love blogging because it acts as an outlet for me to pour my thoughts out. And the added bonus is getting to connect with all you beautiful bloggers who have become so integral in my recovery process while providing me with friendship!

    xx

  43. Stef @ moretolifethanlettuce January 5, 2010 at 12:06 am #

    i love lexi!!! so jealous you guys got to hang out :). awesome to hear you’re fighting off the ed talk lately, even though it’s not always easy! keep at it girl

  44. MelissaNibbles January 5, 2010 at 9:08 am #

    Love that shrimp on the salad! YUM!

    Blogger meetups are my fave part of blogging. I’m glad you enjoyed your first one!!

Leave a Reply

