Ready to Move on.

31 Dec

It’s almost a New Year πŸ™‚

Can you believe the new year is approaching so soon!? I honestly remember 2000 like it was yesterday… but I was only 8 years old… weiiird.

Yesterday I had a delicious breakfast featuring Bear Naked banana nut cereal (soo good) with fage 2%, banana, and cinnamon raisin swirl PB

I was kind of annoyed because I meant to buy the granola version, not the cereal, but nevertheless it was delicious & had banana chips in it (which automatically makes it a winner in my book)

Then I spent the day with Gardner. To be honest i’m not really sure what we did which means probably not much at all haha. typical.

For lunch I made a wrap with the rest of TJ’s tuna and ate it with these parmesan cheddar soy crisp things, an apple, & carrots.

I had IOP & an individual session yesterday as well. I wasn’t myself- I’ve been feeling low on energy lately despite my increased intake in food. The people at the center said it could be because my body is using a lot of energy to restore the nutrients? I don’t know. But nevertheless, IOP was fine and I was able to work out some of my anxiety with new years eve & what not.

For dinner, I brought this frozen meal I bought because it basically had all my exchanges in one!

I had never had Cedarlane frozen foods before so I wasn’t sure what to expect but this was soo good!! Very nutritious, all natural, and satisfying! I also bought a burrito dish that I am excited to try.

For a snack later I had a Green Superfood Chocolate Bar (yumm..it’s growing on me!) & I hung out with one of my best friends from high school which was fun!

Today I started off with a classic breakfast of mine but it was what I was craving

Go lean, Banana, blueberries, cinnamon raisin swirl & fage 2% (obviously)

Then I had to go get fitted for my bridesmaid dress!! If you don’t remember, I am going to be my cousin’s bridesmaid in July.. i’m so excited πŸ™‚

Lunch was really good today! I made a turkey sandwich on a whole wheat sandwich thin with 1 light laughing cow wedge, some mozzarella cheese and onions. Then I stuck it on the panini maker… it was amazing!! I love the taste of those laughing cow wedges. I also had some cheddar sun chips, an apple, carrots, and a few unpictured almonds (gotta get my 2 servings of fat!)

I finally have a plan tonight for new years haha. I am going to dinner at a restaurant called Haiku with Gardner & 6 other friends who are couples at 6:30 and then we will probably go hang out at one of our friend’s houses on campus (Ohio State) & then go to a party. It should be a fun night!

β™₯β™₯β™₯

I’ve been thinking a lot about New Year’s Resolutions (as most other bloggers have been) & though I have so much to work on, right now I need to just go easy on myself and let my GOAL be to just stay on track, get healthy, and be the best friend, girlfriend, daughter, sister, and student I can be.

To be honest, I couldn’t be happier about the start of a new year. Though 2009 had several positives and blessings, I have gone through a lot this past year (more than I have shared on this blog) and I am ready for change. I am ready to embrace my new life and journey with open arms and I want to be able to look back on 2010 next year with a smile. Maybe then, on the brink of 2011, I will be able to have a great recap post of my year, but right now I can’t do that for 2009. I’d prefer to move on and look forward. I’ve loved reading other blogger’s recaps, but for me it is best to move on from this year, accept what I have learned and know that 2010 will bring much happiness, health, and love.

What doesn’t kill you makes you stronger.

2009 was hard, it brought challenges and it brought failures, but at the same time I learned so much about myself. I learned that I can get through more than I imagined and I learned that I am so lucky to have people in my life who I love and who love me.

Have an amazing night tonight! I’ll be thinking of you all πŸ™‚


xoxoxoxoox

Shelleyβ™₯

57 Responses to “Ready to Move on.”

  1. homecookedem December 31, 2009 at 4:55 pm #

    Everything you’ve been eating looks so yummy!! I’ve had those soy chips before… they are pretty tasty!

    I think your plan to just stay on track is perfect. New Years resolutions aren’t for everyone. Keep doing what you’re doing and that is more than enough. Don’t let all of this talk of New Year’s resolutions make you think you need to adopt some as well. You’re awesome the way you are!! πŸ™‚

    Have fun tonight!! πŸ™‚ Happy New Year’s!!

    P.S. Thank you so much for your very sweet comment on my last post. It means a lot! πŸ™‚

  2. Lo December 31, 2009 at 4:55 pm #

    i agree that resolutions should be simple and healthy, not guidelines to be strict with anything. just try and smile everyday and make life fun always! cheers tonight!

    xoxo
    lo

  3. Jessica @ How Sweet It Is December 31, 2009 at 4:59 pm #

    Your goals are wonderful girl! Have a great New Year!!! πŸ™‚

  4. The Candid RD December 31, 2009 at 5:02 pm #

    Oh now I feel old! I was a senior is high school when the clock stuck 12 in 2000. Yikes. No, I’m not old, I’m not serious about that. But like you, I do feel like it was just yesterday!

    I love those soy crisps you show in your picture. They are some of my favorite chips.

    Love the NY resolutions. Happy New year to you!

  5. psychoj1 December 31, 2009 at 5:03 pm #

    Marvelous goals!! Love them πŸ™‚ Fabulous foods as well! Delicious!
    ❀ jess
    xoxo

  6. Jenny December 31, 2009 at 5:15 pm #

    I have no doubts that 2010 will bring you so much growth and happiness, sweetheart! The New Year provides such a beautiful opportunity to really commit ourselves to our goals (in our case, recovery). I’ll be here for you every step of the way, love! Here’s hoping that 2010 allows you to confirm your blog title “find happiness and health” πŸ™‚ Love ya!

  7. kbwood December 31, 2009 at 5:15 pm #

    GREAT GOALS love!!
    you are so wonderful, and so positive
    i know what you mean on the low energy thing-dont let that discourage you girl! even after i increased my food i had decreased energy..your body is just using all that energy to speed up your metabolism! it will level out soon πŸ™‚
    have a great new years eve!

  8. blueeyedheart December 31, 2009 at 5:19 pm #

    Happy New Year, Shelley! πŸ˜€

    I’ve also experienced that decrease in energy when upping my intake — it just takes a little while for your body to catch up!

    ❀ ❀

  9. Gina G December 31, 2009 at 5:25 pm #

    wonderful goals girl! have an amazing new year! =)

  10. Jenna December 31, 2009 at 5:29 pm #

    Eats look great as always shell!
    Love your new years resolutions and have a great night!!
    Jenna

  11. Lexi December 31, 2009 at 5:32 pm #

    Love!!! This post is amazing. I see so much strength, positivity and motivation for the new year πŸ™‚

    I love cheese sandwiches, and that enchilada meal! I’ve had a few from that brand, and haven’t been disappointed.

    Sorry you’ve been feeling low energy lately — it could be because IOP/recovery stuff can be pretty mentally exhausting. take naps! I love me some naps.

    Have a GREAT TIME tonight! I absolutely love Haiku, best sushi in columbus in my opinion.

    Love you, will message you back tomorrow about a time and place!!

  12. rebecca lustig December 31, 2009 at 5:35 pm #

    Beautiful post, per usual. wishing you a very happy safe and healthy new year, lovely lady– you deserve it.

    rebecca ❀

  13. candice December 31, 2009 at 6:11 pm #

    Ooh, those soy crisps look yummy! I love the texture πŸ™‚ I hope you regain your energy soon, after your body is re-nourished. I tried one of the Green Superfood bars, too (also the chocolate kind), and I really didn’t like it. Tasted too fake/grassy for me…

    I always make my New Year’s resolutions pretty general so I don’t disappoint myself. I’ll be rooting for you to stay on track, girl! And YES—all the hardship and struggles we’ve endured all make us stronger people! We won’t be as easily killed now, anyway. πŸ˜‰ Happy New Year, Shelley!

  14. Stef @ moretolifethanlettuce December 31, 2009 at 6:13 pm #

    have a great night, it’s awesome to hear that you’re headed in to the new year with such an optimistic spirit, ready and willing for change!

  15. Nelly December 31, 2009 at 6:23 pm #

    fage 2%…love it! Try it as a snack with cinnamon and dark choc chips….delicious!
    Happy New Year and you are doin great girl!

  16. Emily (http://funnyemily.wordpress.com) December 31, 2009 at 6:28 pm #

    have a happy new year girl! i’m with you its time to look forward to the great things to come! wonderful goals!!
    hope you enjoy dinner & osu πŸ™‚
    xoxo

  17. Lizzy December 31, 2009 at 6:45 pm #

    beautiful words from a beautiful chica!!! goodluck to you in 2010, you can accomplish everything you set your mind to!! xoxo!

  18. Averie (LoveVeggiesAndYoga) December 31, 2009 at 7:18 pm #

    What a beautiful post, Shelley!
    “know that 2010 will bring much happiness, health, and love”–with an attitude like yours, it’s bound to be a sealed fate πŸ™‚

    And some days are just low energy. It’s winter. It’s a season when our bodies if we pay attn to natural rhythms are in hunker down and rest mode. I wouldnt necessarily over-read into that…you could just be….well, tired. Happens πŸ™‚

    xoxo

  19. Missy Maintains December 31, 2009 at 7:24 pm #

    Great goals for the New Years! Have a great night girl!! Best of luck in 2010!

  20. monicaonthego.com December 31, 2009 at 8:05 pm #

    I love cederlane, they make yummy food. Great outlook on 2009, you always learn from the roughest time. I hope 2010 is the best year for you yet.

    *Check out my Yummy Boomi Bar Giveaway, who doesn’t love free stuff!*

  21. quarterlifewellness December 31, 2009 at 8:26 pm #

    I gasped when I read you were 8 in 2000, I am old!! haha.

    Hope you have a great night and love the goals girl!

    xoxo

  22. Megan December 31, 2009 at 9:36 pm #

    wooo happy new year!! i hope 2010 is a great year for you girly.. have fun tonight!

  23. Nicole December 31, 2009 at 10:16 pm #

    Happy 2010, hope you have a fun NYE!

    I love Bare Naked granola – yum!

  24. theemptynutjar December 31, 2009 at 10:31 pm #

    You are just too too amazing. The Bear Naked cereal looks great…I adore all your breakfasts…sun chips, good…the frozen meal looks good also…
    I do believe that actually the more you feed the body, the body does get more tired…its finally resting up as it learns you are actually going to nourish it…so its not worried or freaking out any more…now it wants to rest for a bit while you give it lots of wood for the fire…but with consistency of big eats and bold choices, you will get it all back again…
    i have the lowest energy of my life…so i struggle daily…tho a lot of it is mental side also…exhausting πŸ™‚
    your NYE plans sound fantastic…gosh you are such a great gal..i also think your goals are fantastic…kind of wish I had just said something like that on my blog versus the things i did…i felt i needed something structured to make me feel …worthy…i struggle alot…but you achieve lots daily…
    luv ya gal…see ya in the new year πŸ™‚

  25. Ashlei December 31, 2009 at 10:42 pm #

    Good luck with your goals!! Happy New Year!! πŸ˜€

  26. eatmovelove December 31, 2009 at 11:10 pm #

    Love your goal – short, sweet and simple. It doesn’t have to be complicated does it. Or over-thought. People who over-think have toooooo much time on their hands.
    Happy New Years Chick!! See ya next year πŸ™‚

  27. burpexcuzme December 31, 2009 at 11:17 pm #

    Great post, Shelley. I loved your resolutions. It may sound simple, but it’s the best, because you’re trying to be the best within this present moment, within your present relationships and situation.

    Happy, Blessed, Joyful New Year!!

  28. Rachael January 1, 2010 at 3:21 am #

    I hope you have a fun New Year’s Eve full of adventures… Start the 2010 off right!
    I feel the same way looking back on 2009. While full of struggles and pain I’m hopeful that these challenges will not only serve as learning experiences, but that I’ll be more appreciative of the positive things 2010 will bring.
    I’m wishing you a fabulous night and even MORE fabulous year. πŸ˜‰

    Rachael*

  29. solclare January 1, 2010 at 9:32 am #

    Happy New Year, Shelley!

    Your eats look super good too, especially your breakfast!

  30. Kris | iheartwellness.com January 1, 2010 at 12:32 pm #

    Happy New Year Doll!! All the best to you in 2010! This year is going to be the best for all of us….i can feel it.

    That bear naked granolla rocks – I love it with almond milk…..mmmmm…

    Have a great day!
    XXOO

  31. determinedtoshine January 1, 2010 at 2:01 pm #

    Love your positivity! I have every faith that not only will you achieve great things this year, but you will live to your FULL potential, free from EDs cruel constraints. I am so happy for you πŸ˜€

    Lots of love ❀
    Hannah xo

  32. Abby January 1, 2010 at 2:52 pm #

    Hope you had a super duper New Year’s hun!! πŸ™‚ I love how positive this post is.. here is to a healthy 2010!

    AND how fun about getting fitted for your dress… weddings are soo fun!

  33. BiochemΓ­sta January 1, 2010 at 3:10 pm #

    Happy New Year!!!!!

    xo
    Lauren @www.Biochemista.com

  34. traynharder23 January 1, 2010 at 6:19 pm #

    happy new year! i love that cereal. love banana chips.

    hahaha i know my fingers are CRAZYYYYYYY

    thanks re: the pictures. =D

    don’t forget to do burpees!!!

  35. onehealthyapple January 1, 2010 at 6:47 pm #

    Happy New Year! I think you have set the most important goals for yourself and I know you will do a great job of achieving them!

    Love your blog and your comments always make me smile!

  36. Michelle (Snacks and Field) January 1, 2010 at 7:06 pm #

    I definitely agree- what doesn’t kill you only makes you stronger! Good luck with your amazing New Years Resolution! Being the best person you can be is all anyone can ask for!

    p.s. the Bear Naked granola cereal looks amazing, i <33333333 banana chips!

  37. devan January 1, 2010 at 7:34 pm #

    Happiness, Health, and so much more<3
    here is too a FANTASTIC and splendous New Year, my love.
    xoxox

  38. peanutbutterfingers January 1, 2010 at 7:45 pm #

    i LOVE your outlook. your 2010 will be amazing, i just know it! looking forward to following along… πŸ™‚

  39. tatiannalives January 1, 2010 at 7:53 pm #

    Happy New Years!

    I love the positive energy coming from this post – and your goal to be the best you can be definitely made me smile! Everyone seems to have specific things that they want to work on, but I think a general effort towards living a life of happiness is the best way to plan for the upcoming year πŸ™‚

    All my love,
    Tat

  40. Cassie January 1, 2010 at 8:28 pm #

    Shelley, your posts always make me smile. I can just TELL how sweet you are…it comes through in your writing.

    “I learned that I can get through more than I imagined…” – I love that you brought this up because I believe it’s important. I think a lot of us are stronger than we realize. I remember reading a tip for ED recovery a while back…it explained that a woman with an ED teaches herself (with a lot of determination) to deal with very difficult circumstances (i.e. restricting food or bingeing and purging) and that when the woman attempts recovery, she should try to use that same determination to deal with her NEW difficult cirmcumstances (i.e. trying to make healthy choices while having to battle ED thoughts). This strategy is something I’ve tried in the past, and it helped.

    You’re doing so well, girl! Keep it up!

    P.S. I, of course, realize men develop eating disorders, too. It just started to get annoying writing him/herself and his/her…etc. Ya got me? πŸ™‚

  41. daintyvegan January 1, 2010 at 9:12 pm #

    “2009 was hard, it brought challenges and it brought failures, but at the same time I learned so much about myself. ” Ditto. This whole post is just radiating strength and I love that!

    Hope you had a great New Years Eve. πŸ™‚

  42. Allie (Live Laugh Eat) January 1, 2010 at 11:16 pm #

    So jealous you’re gonna be a bridesmaid! I’ve never been one but it seems like lotsa fun. You get to be on stage but don’t have the FULL attention/stress ya know?

    2010’s gonna be great!

  43. blueberrymuffins January 1, 2010 at 11:55 pm #

    I honestly don’t really get frozen food- but that looks yum!
    Tj’s tuna? I must get!

  44. Bekah January 2, 2010 at 12:23 am #

    Hope you had a splendid new years Shelley!
    Ah ten years. 3rd grade. It really doesn’t feel like THAT long ago huh?

    Keep on blogging dear. Glad to have you as a friend via the b’sphere. xoxo

  45. Tina January 2, 2010 at 6:28 am #

    Happy New Year!

    I hope you make all your hopes and dreams come true and that this is a great year for you!

    We can definitely learn from the past, but we should also look forward to the future.

    Have a nice day πŸ™‚
    xx

  46. MelissaNibbles January 2, 2010 at 8:05 am #

    I love your goals. 2010 is going to be the best year for you, I know it. You’re in such a good place right now, how could it not? Happy New Year beautiful lady!

  47. Holly (The Healthy Everythingtarian) January 2, 2010 at 10:39 am #

    HAPPY NEW YEAR GIRL!

    there are great things in store for you in 2010 – enjoy, relax and have fun at home!

  48. Ada January 2, 2010 at 12:35 pm #

    It sounds like you had a fun New Year’s eve planned:) I hope you had a great time!!!

  49. Peanut Butter Bliss January 2, 2010 at 2:48 pm #

    i had no idea that Bare Naked made cereal!! sounds delicious πŸ™‚

    hope you had a great new years girlie! filled with lots of happiness of course! happy 2010!

  50. Naomi(onefitfoodie) January 2, 2010 at 4:08 pm #

    new year! there is no time like the present to have this be YOUR YEAR πŸ™‚

    what doesnt kill you makes you stronger, this is so true and I hope you are starting off the new year with positive mind, attitude andcontinuing on to be your amazing self!!

    xoxox

  51. Sweet Cheeks January 2, 2010 at 5:33 pm #

    I hope you had a wonderful new years ever and new years day love! xoxo

  52. The voracious Vegan January 3, 2010 at 2:50 am #

    You are absolutely amazing and I always get a big smile on my face after reading your posts. What a fabulous attitude to have, I love that you are greeting the new year with open arms, optimism and excitement! Happy New Year!

  53. katie January 3, 2010 at 12:52 pm #

    omg girl!! I have been to Haiku!!!!! In Columbus right? My fiance and I went there when we went to Columbus for a weekend!!!My fiance and I loved it there, the sushi was amazing and the music /live band they had that night was amazing!!! I miss that place, its beautiful too!! Hope you had a great dinner there!!!! I am so glad you are doing well!!!! Happy New Year !!! xoxo

  54. traynharder23 January 3, 2010 at 7:12 pm #

    yeah i’m sorry about my sister too! lame.

    hahaha the eats were very good! too bad i couldn’t show my essential yogurt mess!

  55. julie January 3, 2010 at 8:21 pm #

    i am lovin all of your sammies! especially the one all grilled up to perfection πŸ™‚ i’ve already got my lunch plans on for tomorrow!

    i’m going to get fitted for a bmaids dress next weekend! the wedding i’m in is in june so you’ve got a month on me πŸ˜‰ enjoy your night girl!

  56. Marina January 3, 2010 at 8:59 pm #

    Hi! I just found your blog… I always love new food blogs! Anyways, Happy New Year!

  57. Carly in wonderland January 4, 2010 at 12:17 am #

    Love your outlook on the past year, and I have to agree. I’m liking your goals, mine are pretty similar. You’ve got this girl!!

Leave a Reply

