milk and cookies

30 Dec

Hope your week has been great!

Thank you all for your input on my last post regarding the media. I really enjoyed reading the thoughtful comments I received. It is a sad, unavoidable issue but one that can be negated & discussed, which I believe can help solve many of the problems it presents. I love my trash tv still, but I think it is important to recognize what we are seeing, how it may be affecting us, & then take steps to not let it affect us too negatively.

Yesterday I was feeling like makin a lil change to breakfast! I figured out how to make it work with my exchanges and tried a bowl that consisted of 1/2 cup of oatmeal with plain oikos, peanut butter, jelly, & a banana. I liked the oikos/oat mixture!! It had a very interesting taste & texture to it. Next time, i’ll use a little less oikos but I liked the thick consistency it gave the bowl.

Then, my Mom & I went shopping!! I accomplished a lot (gifts for some people I need to get, etc.) & I got some really comfortable sweat pants. I also got some chocolate peanut butter coffee at Harry & David!!! I can’t wait to try it. I”ll definitely be letting you all know what I think.

We had lunch at cosi & I had the asian sesame ginger salad with some beef & veggie soup, & half the cosi flatbread!

I came home & got ready for IOP. I brought dinner there and didn’t snap a picture. It was a pretty emotional IOP and it was so sad to hear about some of the struggles some of the girls were having. I talked to one of the leaders about how i’d been struggling internally and she really helped motivate me to follow my meal plan more closely (mainly with respect to snacks) & so far today i’ve done great.

Then, last night, my mom, Gardner and i decided last minute to go see Avatar in 3d..it was hilarious/so much fun.

yep, that’s gar… in his 3d glasses… hahaha. love it.

This morning started off with pumpkin pie yogurt (not my favorite, but we had it in the house), 1/2 cup go lean cereal, a banana, and 2 tbsp cinnamon raisin swirl peanut butter

Then I went to the mall with my sister! She had to go to her trainer so I went to trader joe’s & nordstroms while she worked out (soo hard for me, i want to work out :[). Anyways, i bought this bar because it fit all the requirements for my snack in one bar (2 carbs, 1 protein, 2 fats)

It was definitely different and the inside was green (as the name implies) but I actually liked it a lot and it really kept me energized/full!

My sister & I got manis & pedis– it was very relaxing! Then we picked up some things at the grocery store & went tanning. Nothing like some sister bonding time πŸ™‚ She’s on the left in this picture- this was June of last summer.

I am really glad my sister and I have gotten closer lately. Growing up, we fought a lot. I’m not sure why, but we did. She really helps ground me now. Though she is younger than me, I often feel that she is mature beyond her years. Today, I was doubting if I needed to gain weight and expressed this doubt to her. Instead of sympathizing, she said “Shelley, you look sick. You need to gain weight. You need to believe you need to gain weight.” & it really hit me and shook me out of my doubts. What helps ground you when your thoughts wander off track?

In that picture, I am at my new goal weight. I realize looking at that picture that I look healthier and better. Looking at pictures from this time really helps remind me that gaining some weight health is for the best.

When we got home it was time for lunch, so I used some tuna (so soo good) I bought from TJ’s to make a tuna wrap on a tomato basil la tortilla factory wrap with cucumbers/lettuce, carrots, pretzel crisps, & a pear!

deliciouss- i love tuna πŸ™‚ & I made my sister a wrap with tofu, hummus, mozzarella & cucumber. She loved it!

After lunch, me, my sister & my mom were watchin Into the Wild [great movie] on the couch with…

Charlie!! He is such a baby πŸ™‚

Tonight I went to noodles & company with my best friend growing up & got pad thai with shrimp… deliciouss!

Then we saw Sherlock Holmes & we are two girly girls so we weren’t very into the movie. Nevertheless, it was probably a good movie, don’t ask me for my opinion haha- i was more in the mood for a chick flick πŸ˜›

When I came home I made myself eat my snack because I know I must stick to the meal plan πŸ™‚ I had a back to nature Cranberry Pecan Granola cookie wiht a glass of 2% milk. Nothin like some milk & cookies!

I’m still trying to figure out New Years plans.. I can’t believe it is only two nights away!!

QUESTIONS:

+What is your favorite ‘healthy’ cookie?

+What are your new years plans??


xoxoxoox

Shelleyβ™₯

53 Responses to “milk and cookies”

  1. Stef @ moretolifethanlettuce December 30, 2009 at 12:49 am #

    You look stunning in that pic! I’ve heard Cosi is great but i’ve never been to one. Sorry that IOP was kind of intense, but sometimes those really emotional ones are the most helpful. Hope you figure out something good for New Years!

  2. Lo December 30, 2009 at 1:05 am #

    omg cosi is amazing. that bread is seriously to die for! BTW u and ur sis are sups gorgeous πŸ™‚ Hope NYE is fun for you and you fig something out!!

    oatmeal raisin cookies by far my fav.

    xoxo
    lolo

  3. kbwood December 30, 2009 at 1:23 am #

    aww you are so blessed w. your awesome sista!
    your boy is TOO cute-i hear that movie is so good!
    pb cookies=FAV
    i loveee tuna too! tuna+hummus is AMAZZE

  4. Jessica (jesslikesithot) December 30, 2009 at 2:13 am #

    Hey girll–first of all, let me just say thank you so much for all your sweet comments! And secondly, check out that HOTTTTIE from last summer! Sometimes the people close to us can be the best reminders when it comes to getting healthy. And since our mind tends to play tricks on us, it’s always nice to have a family member tell us when our vision is skewed, or when we’re not properly taking care of ourselves.

    Just keep pushing yourself in every way you can!! The more you stray from those controlling habits, the anxiety, and “rules”…the closer you’ll get to that goal weight, and a clearer, happier state of mind πŸ™‚

    Love the pb & j oatmeal! I made a very similar version about a week ago, but with using the “overnight” method–you gotta try it!

  5. devan December 30, 2009 at 2:54 am #

    you and your sister are SO gorgeous!

    Peanut butter cookies. yum
    and gingerbread.
    no new years plans for moi:|(

  6. Kris | iheartwellness.com December 30, 2009 at 2:55 am #

    Haha!! My fave healthy cookie is one of my own baked goods πŸ˜‰

    I love that you always try these new bars I have never seen!!

    XXOO

  7. One Healthy Apple December 30, 2009 at 3:29 am #

    Glad you had a good time with your sister- you look so beautiful in that picture. Sometimes siblings know best even if we don’t believe it!

    My fave cookie is underbaked chocolate chip. We are going to a friend’s house for nye and will keep it mild since we are old married farts now!

  8. tatiannalives December 30, 2009 at 5:58 am #

    Chocolate Peanut Butter coffee!? Holy… I cannot wait to hear about this one =)

    I admire your ability to persevere and stick with IOP (and you meal plan!) I can’t imagine how hard it must be to be in a room full of people with whom you can totally relate, yet still feel totally helpless. Each time you talk about it, it sounds as though you have gained positive knowledge to help you along in your own journey. You are amazing πŸ™‚

    xox
    Tat

  9. Lexi December 30, 2009 at 6:16 am #

    Have you ever had overnight oats?? I think you would really like it if you enjoyed the oikos/oat combo. I love overnight oats, I’m sure you’ve seen them in the blog world but if you need a recipe, let me know!!

    My brother keeps begging me to see avatar. I hate super long movies though! We’ll see, maybe I’ll break down and go see it.

    Yes health cookies!! I’ve been dying to try the kashi variety. You’ve inspired me!

    Love ya girl!

  10. Jessica @ How Sweet It Is December 30, 2009 at 6:51 am #

    You and your sis are so cute!

  11. determinedtoshine December 30, 2009 at 7:31 am #

    Shelley you look completely gorgeous in that photo (and so does your sister!) – thats such a motivating image to have! I have no doubt you will look & feel just as amazing as you did back then πŸ™‚
    And your sister sounds so great. Sometimes we need people on the outside to give us little reality checks like that, right? My little sister is the same.

    All your eats look gooood! And I’m so glad your doing well with your new meal plan πŸ™‚

    Hannah xo

  12. Simply Life December 30, 2009 at 7:50 am #

    oooh I love cosi! I try and make healthier cookies but haven’t found a favorite yet that’s store-bought!

  13. solclare December 30, 2009 at 7:59 am #

    I always love your wraps! Healthy cookie… Oatmeal Raisin cookie ftw!

    Btw, your sis and you look pretty in the picture!

  14. Cassie December 30, 2009 at 8:00 am #

    First of all, chocolate and peanut butter coffee?! Oh. my. goodness! Can’t wait for that post! What, did someone think to themself ‘Hmmm. I think I’ll take the three most delicious things in the entire world and combine them.’?!

    Also, I’m so happy that you have your sister to give it to you straight, but also to love and support you. My roommate Morgan is that person for me. When I was struggling with the idea of quitting work and school to focus on my health, I was so scared of what it would mean for my future. But Morgan simply said, “Cassie, if you don’t take time to get better, what future do you have?” I knew she was so right. Keep up the good work – sounds like you are doing GREAT!

    P.S. Charlie is adorable! My dog is soooo the baby of the fam, too!

  15. Diane Doesn't Diet December 30, 2009 at 8:01 am #

    You and your sis are so pretty!! Sisters are the best.

    Yay for milk & cookies…you totally suckered me into this post with that title πŸ˜‰ haha

    I don’t have NYE figured out either!! I can’t believe it’s tomorrow night. All of my friends want to do different things, so who know’s where I’ll end up, haha.

  16. The Candid RD December 30, 2009 at 8:44 am #

    OH I tried one of those bars the other day! The person who gave it to me said she hated them, and when I tried it I thought it was pretty darn good. I had the peanut butter flavor.

    My favorite healthy cookie would have to be no back cookies (healthy because when I make them I use Smart Balance margarine and Smart Balance peanut butter!) Plus they have oatmeal, which has fiber πŸ™‚

  17. theemptynutjar December 30, 2009 at 8:49 am #

    you and your sister are beautiful
    love your posts shelley – i know i say that all the time…cannot help it πŸ™‚
    everything is terrific and i am proud of you…so great for you to conquer and live life…
    have a beautiful day.

  18. Naomi(onefitfoodie) December 30, 2009 at 8:56 am #

    you and your sis are SO beautiful! I know it must be hard for you to not work out, but just think how amazing you are doing and what progress you are making…you are putting yourself and body FIRST πŸ™‚

    gardner looks so cute with those glasses on LOL…ahhh cosi, so good! wish we had one closer here in Boston!
    xox

  19. Emily (http://funnyemily.wordpress.com) December 30, 2009 at 9:00 am #

    delish eats my dear! you and your sister look gorgeous! your sister sounds amazing, its great she is there for you to help you through this!
    mm i love the kashi cookies, right now i have trailmix which are really good, & the oatmeal raisin are good too πŸ™‚
    oh new years, i have now clue what i’m going to do…
    happy hump day!
    xoxo

  20. Katey December 30, 2009 at 9:12 am #

    I love the kashi dark chocolate oatmeal! soo good! totally recommend it πŸ™‚ Into the wild is so good! Yes yes yes! I am so happy that you are sticking to your meal plan! It will bring you all the health in the world!

  21. tropicaleats December 30, 2009 at 10:35 am #

    that granola cookie does sound yummy πŸ™‚ 3d movies are always awesomeeee. I’m glad you had fun!… i saw harry potter and the dark knight in 3D and I was just in awe the whole time lol.

    My fave healthy cookie are Fig Newmans. They’re really addicting!

  22. imaginenamaste December 30, 2009 at 11:09 am #

    You are your sister are beautiful–inside and out! I’m glad that she can be honest with you! I’m sorry I OP is challenging, but I have recently reminded myself that when things like that get hard–it is hard for a reason and is really challenging me.

    Chocolate peanut butter coffee….that sounds fantastic….

  23. Lyss December 30, 2009 at 11:33 am #

    i love that picture of you and your sister. keep going strong, you are doing great! you’re a great role model for recovery, i hope you know that!

  24. homecookedem December 30, 2009 at 12:01 pm #

    Awww, I’m so glad you and your sis are closer now! Sounds like she’s giving you honest and heartfelt advice. YAY for sisters!! πŸ™‚ My sister and I used to fight all the time when we were younger too – and like you said, I have no idea why! But finally we’re friends and it’s awesome. Sister are forever friends. πŸ™‚

  25. Abby December 30, 2009 at 12:21 pm #

    OOH yum.. everything looks delish, honey! You and your sis are gorgeous.. hope you enjoyed your mani and pedi.. what a fun day! πŸ™‚

  26. chocolate pickle December 30, 2009 at 1:01 pm #

    It’s so great that you have a sister that you can count on!! I have 2 sisters and love them to death!

    Yum, I love Cosi but there isn’t one very close to us….Milwaukee= lacking in so many things!

    Hope you have a great new year’s eve!!:)

  27. traynharder23 December 30, 2009 at 1:16 pm #

    ahhh you are soo pretty! =D
    hmmmmm. favorite cookie? possibly a healthy oatmeal cookie or chocolate chocolate chip. =D

  28. Biochemista December 30, 2009 at 1:43 pm #

    Hey girl!

    I have noticed that eating ‘clean’ let’s me focus on proper nutrition then dieting. I have noticed that diet foods keep me counting calories, etc. but when I’m planning a meal of whole balanced foods I am thinking of what nutrients I’m getting.

    I also also read a quote in Runner’s World by Alanis Morsettte saying that she was eventually able to overcome her issues with food when she started treating her body like an instrument rather than ornament. I really like that thought.

    Hope that helps!

    -Lauren
    http://www.Biochemista.com

  29. lowandbhold December 30, 2009 at 2:17 pm #

    You look gorgeous and radiant in that pick!

    I love 2% milk πŸ™‚

  30. blueberrymuffins December 30, 2009 at 2:43 pm #

    I honestly just want to relax at home on new years in the warmth- it is super cold here!

  31. Gelareh @ Orange Truffle December 30, 2009 at 2:47 pm #

    My sister is 6 years younger than me and we never got along. We are still working on it, I think partially becuase when I was in HS she was in elementry.. when I left for college she was in middle and by the time I moved away to go to grad school she was in high school… now I am marriend and she is single.. lol so she wants to party and I want to go to bed early.. haha.

    I love Charlie’s pic.

  32. blueeyedheart December 30, 2009 at 2:48 pm #

    You look amazing in that picture!! πŸ™‚ I know how hard it is not to work out, believe me … but you can be so proud of yourself for doing what you need to do to get healthy.

    ❀ ❀

  33. laurasworthlesswords December 30, 2009 at 3:02 pm #

    I know its really hard to watch others work out but at least thats something you can look forward to and aim for, once you get back to your goal weight you can to. That picture of you from last year it just beautiful, your a knockout and Im not just saying that. You look so happy, healthy and beautiful. Sometimes I actually find that looking back at pictures of me before pre ed when I was happier can help to motivate me to, I can rationalise with myself a bit better by saying, ‘ you were x weight in that picture and look how fine you looked and how happy you were’, little things like that help me at times. I also find someone from the outside pointing things out helps me to, sometimes my mum gives me that reality check I need.
    Im so pleased your taking these steps to get better, I really cant wait for you to reach a healthier weight and get back to that lovely girl above πŸ™‚

    I love tuna to! Your lunch looks totally delicious πŸ™‚

    Keep up the great work, xox

  34. psychoj1 December 30, 2009 at 3:05 pm #

    You are your sister are so cute!! πŸ™‚ I’m glad y’all have gotten closer. I wish I had a sister! Especially a younger one. But I have two younger brothers who I love so much!!!

    Greatttt eat! Yours eats are always good πŸ™‚
    ❀ jess
    xoxo

  35. julie December 30, 2009 at 3:33 pm #

    aww i’m glad you’re having such a great time with your sis! it’s so fun when theres a good sister bond! trader joes and nordstrom beats out the gym any day in my book πŸ™‚

    my fav holiday cookie is ANYTHING with mint chocolate chips in there!

  36. Nicole December 30, 2009 at 4:07 pm #

    I think listening to your family is always wise — they probably know you best.

    P.S. I love Cosi!

  37. ~Jessica~ December 30, 2009 at 4:36 pm #

    You do look utterly gorgeous in that pic and will certainly still look beautiful when you get there this time πŸ™‚ I know it’s hard not to work out when others are but your sister is a great role model and obviously at a slim, toned yet *healthy* and ideal weight.

    I’m not a big cookie person but give me a Cashew Cookie Larabar (or five!) and I’ll be smiling for hours after I’ve eaten it.

    Take care

    xoxo

  38. whydeprive December 30, 2009 at 6:45 pm #

    Its great you have a good relationship with your sister! Your family are the people you can really count on.

    I actually havent tried any healthy cookies. I really should, some of them look delicious!

  39. Jenny December 30, 2009 at 8:51 pm #

    wow. my jaw is on the floor. You and your sister are absolutely BREATHTAKING! hot damn – you got hooked up with some BEAUTIFUL genes πŸ™‚ Your sis sounds like such a special person and I am so happy you have her to put things in perspective and keep you moving forward it recovery! We all need our motivation — it sounds like she’s yours πŸ™‚

    great job with the meal plan today, sweetie! *hugs!!*

  40. Jenna December 30, 2009 at 8:59 pm #

    Oats and your yogurt look great!
    Good job on eating out!
    Glad. you are sticking to your meal pan and glad you and your sister have gotten closer, that is really great to hear!
    Jenna

  41. Allie (Live Laugh Eat) December 30, 2009 at 9:01 pm #

    You are eating so well my dear. I’m proud of you. I know it may be scary but you are doing a stellar job. Go you! I LOVE LOVE Greens+ bars!!!!

  42. Hillary December 30, 2009 at 9:05 pm #

    I’m having a girlie night with my BFF for NYE : )

    ~ Hillary @ Nutrition Nut on the Run (don’t miss my GIVEAWAY!)

  43. april December 30, 2009 at 9:39 pm #

    You and your sister are stunning!!

    And your breakfast sounds yummy! Yogurt in oats is really good. Have you ever tried overnight oats? They are much thicker!

    And my favorite healthy cookie is probably oatmeal pumpkin!

  44. Bekah December 30, 2009 at 11:31 pm #

    As I was looking at that picture, I was thinking, Wow, Shelley looks great! Honestly girl, you’re beautiful. πŸ™‚ And Gardner is such a cutie! heh heh

    Mmmm oats+oikos is one of my favorite combinations. haha its funny I had it this morning, and it was on the liquidier side of my liking, I was wishing it was thicker. Oh well.

    Bahh for no new years plans. Too bad all of us bloggers can’t all be in one place and meet! Then we’d have something to do.

  45. Rachael December 31, 2009 at 12:22 am #

    I so understand how much it sucks when someone is working out and you can’t. Tonight my mom was pedaling away on her stationary bike in the next room while I ate dinner and I was on the verge of tears the whole time.
    I’m so glad your sister is there for you when you need a “reality check.” You truly look beautiful in that picture. I’ve yet to find that grounding something, so if you have any recommendations feel free to shoot them my way!
    You go for sticking to that meal plan πŸ˜‰

    Rachael*

  46. Melissa S. December 31, 2009 at 12:58 am #

    hey honey! catching up on your posts and i just wanted to tell you you’re not along on the whole media influence. I’ve been trying to ignore their messages for years since i got my eating disorder and it’s still hard but i think your words hit it just right, about the things that being skinny won’t bring us.

    and i love that you’re able to go to your sister now and talk to her. my brothers have been close to each other their whole lives because they’re twins, but only since i went off to college have they become two of my greatest friends ever.

    have a great nye tomorrow!

  47. Averie (LoveVeggiesAndYoga) December 31, 2009 at 4:51 am #

    I will be staying in b/c girl….
    I’ve been up for 26 hrs. I am truly insane. Get home after 3+ weeks away, go groc shopping at 1am, unpack everyone, do the mail, and then crack the google reader. Yes, I love my bloggie friends πŸ™‚

    As for your sis and you, I am impressed with her honesty and am impressed with you “taking it” and accepting what she said and trying to make changes…mazel tov girl!

    Greens + == I’ve heard nothing but greatness bout those, thanks for your thoughts on them πŸ™‚

  48. Lily @ Lily's Health Pad December 31, 2009 at 9:53 am #

    Way to go with sticking to the meal plan.

    Sisters are the best. You are lucky to have such a wise one.

  49. BiochemΓ­sta December 31, 2009 at 11:35 am #

    Great post!

    I think what you are doing is amazing! Keep up with the good work πŸ™‚ And btw, the pic of you is beautiful!

    My fav healthy cookie, is the bfast cookie (by Fitnessista)

    http://www.biochemista.com/2009/12/day-o-rest.html

    Have a great day!!!

    -Lauren
    http://www.Biochemista.com

  50. Ada December 31, 2009 at 12:15 pm #

    Aww you and your sister look so cute together! Have a great New Year’s celebration:)

  51. chrysta December 31, 2009 at 1:28 pm #

    You both are so stunning! Gorgeous pic girl of you and your sis!! Great job so far too! I made the same assesments too! I have re worked my goal weight and am working on health as my number one goal! That coffee sounds amazing too! Avatar just ROCKED. Probably one of the best movies Ive seen in a long time. I hope you enjoyed it! Anyways have a wonderful and super day girl. Happy new years!!!!!

  52. Peanut Butter Bliss December 31, 2009 at 2:51 pm #

    aww girlie that is great that you and your sister have such a great bond. Sisters will always tell you the truth, but in a loving way πŸ™‚

    mm Cosi sounds SO good! i’ve never been to one but heard they are fab!

    have a happy new year πŸ™‚

  53. daintyvegan December 31, 2009 at 4:21 pm #

    You’re doing GREAT with your meal plans! I love seeing how dedicated to getting healthy you are. πŸ™‚

    As for the cookies… if it looks like a cookies, is called a cookie, then I’ll like it. I’ve yet to find a cookie that I don’t enjoy.

    For New Years I’m going to a party for a bit.. I’m not feeling the party at all but I figure that it really wouldn’t be too hard to put in an appearance, even if it’s only for an hour or so.

Leave a Reply

