The media & being thin

28 Dec

Hi Bloggie Friends =]

I want to thank you all once again for your amazing support! Even when I feel like i’m struggling, it motivates me so much to get encouraging comments from you all- you have no clue how far the little things go with me πŸ™‚ Also, be sure to check out my friend’s new blog which I talk about at the end of this post.

Dinner with the cousins was actually a lot of fun Saturday night! We have so much fun together & my family may or may not have done family sake bombs

The family ordered sushi animal-like amounts of sushi,Β but I was determined to stick to my meal plan Saturday to a T so I made a FABULOUS dinner of tofu/veggie stir fry with a hint of soy-vey teriayki sauce & a sweet potato complete w/ 1 TBSP butter & 1 TBSP peanut butter- this was honestly AMAZING. peanut butter + sweet potato= lOVEβ™₯

My family played boxers & briefs forever- has anyone heard of this game?! It is so much fun. It is like a wayy better version of apples to apples

Sunday morning started with a delicious bowl of oat bran with some TJ’s blueberry flax seed, dark chocolate dreams, cinnamon raisin swirl, & banana

Gardner came over & we were super lazy- we watched the movie “A Beautiful Mind” and it was soo amazing. I loved this movie!! We also played some ping pong & stuff- haha we are dorks. When lunch time rolled around I made myself a grilled turkey, cheese, & hummus wrap on a tomato basil wrap with some gensoy tortilla chips, an apple, & unpictured carrots.

After a late lunch, I didn’t do too much (i know, my day must be thrilling you all haha) & then I went for a late dinner with my parents at a place called Hoggy’s (bbq food=my nightmare) but I found a delicious salad with sauteed mushrooms, onions, & green peppers, feta cheese, & grilled chicken. It was served with corn bread that was SO good. I ate the whole piece πŸ™‚ Haven’t had cornbread in wayy tooo long.

On the way home, we noticed there was a dog who had been outside for like 2 days straight!! It was snowing so my parents felt really bad, we guessed that maybe her owner’s went on vacation and accidentaly left her outside? We brought her food & she was STARVING so we ended up taking her to our house and decided we would call them and let them know we had him. She was sooo cute!

Luckily, we reached his owner’s and they got home around 11 tonight. They were thankful we took care of her πŸ™‚ she was named Candy- so sweet!

Moving on….

I wanted to bring up an issue that has been kinda bugging me. In my IOP, we talked about how the media can influence us because it presents an image of the female body that girls are supposed to live up to. At the time, I didn’t really think much of it. However, the more I thought and observed, the more I realized how absurd the whole thing is.

WHY does the media make girls feel as though being thin is so important?? Essentially, the want to be thin is at the core of all eating disorders.. but Why do so many of us girls let the need want to be thin get in the way of just living our life?

If there is one thing i’ve learned, it’s that being thin/losing weight WON’T (usually):

+bring happiness

+let you live a long, healthy life

+make you friends

+make you feel great about yourself

+make others think you are more beautiful

+make all your problems go away

But yet so many problems seemed to be presented as being solved by losing weight- just look at the magazines we all LOVE to read. How many “quick fixes” can really be healthy ways to lose weight. Being healthy & happy is important, being extremely thin should not be.

I even noticed in the movie Avatar that the main female character who was supposed to be portrayed as the most beautiful of her kind was the thinnest.

Gardner agreed. It really bothered me that even a cartoon is sending subtle messages to girls about what the ideal body is supposed to be. Despite knowing this, I still have the urge to be thin. I still feel the pressure (from myself, from the media, from whatever) to be thin. I hope that by recognizing this unreasonable, unhealthy, & unnecessary desire, I can change my thoughts into more positive ones. When I can truly believe that being thin is not an important part of life, then I will know that I have recovered.

What do you think about this issue? I’m curious to think how you all think the media influences girl’s views on their bodies?

I also wanted to help my friend from IOP, Brandi, out in starting her new blog!! She just is getting started and would LOVE to have some readers- check it out & feel free to give her any advice for getting her blog going πŸ™‚ just click here!!

Have amazing weeks- hope everyone’s Mondays are bearable!!

xoxoxoox

Shelleyβ™₯

53 Responses to “The media & being thin”

  1. Stef @ moretolifethanlettuce December 28, 2009 at 1:46 am #

    It’s funny, I always ignored the argument about the media perpetuating unhealthy standards of beauty, weight, etc. until I started getting treatment for anorexia. Then all of a sudden it was the opposite, therapists leading groups were so gung-ho about it, it was almost like anti-media propaganda lol! I really agree though, there is pressure, even through suggestion by the weight of a cartoon character, and things need to change!

  2. Rachael December 28, 2009 at 2:31 am #

    Aaaw that dog is adorable, and a basset just like mine! Poor baby. I’m glad she was lucky enough to run into a girl as sweet as you and get back to her owners πŸ˜‰
    I’ve never heard of Boxers or Briefs before but it looks awesome!… Like the PG-13 version of Apples to Apples. Ah I looove A Beautiful Mind. SO GOOD but SO sad. And don’t even worry about feeling like your days are boring. I was actually just thinking to myself about how much I love and look forward to reading your posts.

    Rachael*

  3. Karin December 28, 2009 at 3:39 am #

    This is such a wonderful post! I couldn’t agree with you more on the media issue. It’s so absurd if you think about it but still makes so many people miserable. I used to feel crap when I read those magazines but still couldn’t stop wishing that I was as thin as that gorgeous celebrity or the other stunning starlet. It took me a long time to realize what the media’s doing with us. Now I see it from a different.. angle.. I don’t take these things that serious anymore.
    Anyway, I love A Beautiful Mind as well. It’s a wonderful film even though it’s also so sad. I noticed that too in Avatar but Zoe Saldana (who is really skinny) plays Neytiri so I guess this is why this character is so thin.

  4. Lexi December 28, 2009 at 5:23 am #

    I, too, am irked by the media. You’re totally right when you say thinness takes away a lot of the good things in life. Whenever I’m feeling down about my current healthy weight, my mom asks me: “did being really really thin EVER make you happy?” and I always say NO! it didn’t! I can’t remember one good thing it brought to my life. With the weight, I lost my self. And to have found my self again is amazing. Stay strong girly.

    That’s so interesting about Avatar too. Why does thin = beautiful!? Blah! Anyway, I love sushi, and sake bombs – so fun that you did one with your fam! I’ve never played boxers or briefs but it sounds like a lot of fun.

    Talk to you soooon!
    Love ya,
    Lex

  5. tatiannalives December 28, 2009 at 6:49 am #

    You inspire me so very much girl πŸ™‚ I am impressed with your ability to follow your meal plan so perfectly, you are doing an amazing job!

    I totally agree with you on the media – It’s as if everyone knows that it is wrong to put so much emphasis on being thin, but no one seems to do anything about it. There are the few attempts out there to stop this (such as the Dove pro-age campaign etc), but at the end of the day, beauty is still equated with waist size.

    Personally for me though, I found my struggles came mainly from people in my everyday life rather than the media. Being bullied, or constantly comparing myself to “more beautiful” (aka thinner) people/friends drove me to diet in the first place. It didn’t have much to do with the media at the time, but now I notice it when I am watching TV or reading a magazine and it makes me extremely frustrated! Whoot.. sorry this post is a novel, I guess I feel kind of strongly about this πŸ˜›

    xox
    Tat

  6. followxyourxbliss December 28, 2009 at 6:52 am #

    I’m soo jealous of your meals! omgg! they all sound and look amazing!! haha
    anyway– i totally agree with you about the media thing.. honestly everywhere i go i look at girls in magazines or whatever and im like “oh wow i want her legs,” when instead i should be saying “uh b, youre too damn skinny.”
    its such a strange thing and idk if youve ever gotten to this point (and im SO sorry if i upset you whatsoever :(), but its like Ed is a completely different person than Brandi, but he’s sharing my body.. sometimes i’ll say or think things and realize that was Ed and its actually scary.. but thats why i loathed IOP! all it did was bring all of my negative feelings and thoughts to my conscious, but amy never went deep enough into whats wrong with me and the stuff that bothers me.. ya know?
    so now that i just went on that rant… thank you for writing about my blog! πŸ˜€
    Love, B.

  7. Simply Life December 28, 2009 at 7:25 am #

    I’m glad it sounds like you’ve learned the biggest and more important factors of this! I really think it’s all about living a healthy lifestyle – in the food you eat, getting exercise, the people you surround yourself with, and what you choose to do with your time that are key!

  8. Marina December 28, 2009 at 7:27 am #

    Really nice of you to take care of that cute doggie.
    I don’t understand why we all fall under that media influence. I mean, I realize that actually, thin people aren’t pretty. I just don’t like seeing thing legs on women, I like when they’re bursting with life and confidence.But I still want to be thin. And when somebody else says I am,I don’t believe them. It really bothers me,because I know that I’m being superficial, and thinking that the way I look is a measure of how good I am. I try to fight that, and I hope I will succeed.

  9. crazylittlethingneela December 28, 2009 at 7:37 am #

    you are such a wonderful and kind person for caring for that dog. it’s such a shame some people don’t look enough after their animals 😦
    and i completely agree with you on the media and thiness. it’s so so sad. but it’s so hard to stop them. all we can do is to remind ourselves that we know the consequences of being so thin. we understand the importance of nutrition and what our bodies need. we will live happier and healthier in the end πŸ˜‰
    loads of care
    xoxo

  10. determinedtoshine December 28, 2009 at 7:43 am #

    Shelley! This post was exactly what I needed to red this morning, so thank you πŸ™‚

    I’m not sure I agree with the idea that the media is what “causes” eating disorders. I’m more inclined to believe that its something that some people are genetically predisposed to, and then certain experiences/emotions/situations in life trigger the ED to develop. But I DO however believe that the media makes it x10000000 harder to recover from an ED with the amount of emphasis that is placed on being thin and losing weight. When I read some of the diets that are in trashy magazines all the time, it makes me wonder whether society actually cares at all about HEALTH?!
    It also makes me sad that young children are now aspiring to be skinny rather than aspiring to do well at school, or go to college or become doctors or whatever. Somewhere along the line our priorities have been seriously messed up.

    Anyway, I’ll get off my soapbox now πŸ˜‰ Keep up the great work my love!

    Hannah xo

  11. Jenna December 28, 2009 at 8:17 am #

    I totally agree with you on how the media pressures women to be thin and it really is a problem!
    Eats look fab as always shell πŸ˜‰
    Jenna

  12. Katey December 28, 2009 at 8:36 am #

    I love the whole topic of the media. I completely agree with how they influence all us girls! Its so unfair

  13. Vanilla December 28, 2009 at 8:46 am #

    Hi!

    Wonderful bowl of oatmeal πŸ™‚

    And honestly, I think that the Avatar girl is very ugly xD
    I would not like to have blue skin…

    xo
    Vanilla

  14. theemptynutjar December 28, 2009 at 8:55 am #

    I am always busting with things to comment on with your posts cause they have so much good stuff in them!
    Sweet potato with pb…i must try!
    Great thoughts on the media and image. Personally, that is not my “issue”…but it is for several…meantime…airbrushing, ???
    either way, its pretty sad…and it brings a person back to that point of “focus on me..me…me…i am an individual…and no else is me and i am not them..etc)…staying in your own HEAD and body is always best
    i admire u shelley…i struggle 24-7 with eating so much…and moving…not at all 😦
    love your courage…its not the food i mind…its the sitting and guilt associated…i suppose since i used to be a competitive athlete, it just makes it harder
    keep chugging girl…you help a lot of your readers here..:)

  15. Jessica @ How Sweet It Is December 28, 2009 at 9:06 am #

    I hate how the media portrays thin – one who comes to mind is Jessica Simpson – they just constantly bash her. It’s so terrible.

  16. blueeyedheart December 28, 2009 at 9:07 am #

    I tried sweet potato with peanut butter… just didn’t do it for me! 😦 Oh, well.

    The media irks the hell out of me, too — yet I also fall prey to it! It drives me crazy. But I don’t think the media cause eating disorders, per se, even though it definitely does have a hand in it (Fiji, anyone?). I think it’s just that when there are so many stresses in life that need to be dealt with, it’s just easier to revert to something concrete; and what’s more concrete than your weight? Most people won’t develop hard-core eating disorders, so they’ll always have weight loss as a goal, which gives them constancy, I guess. Of course, this is all pure speculation on my part!

    ❀ ❀

  17. Averie (LoveVeggiesandYoga) December 28, 2009 at 9:10 am #

    Great post, Shelley! And I was sooooooo happy to read on my blog yesterday that you were going to do yoga. Whether you would “suck” as you wrote, or be a seasoned master, it doesnt matter, hon. Yoga is about you, where you are at this moment & space in time, independent of any other pressures.

    The same can be said for the media. It will always be there. I read food blogs but in the past 5 yrs pay very little attention to social media outlets like tv shows, magazines, gossip rags, etc…b/c they 1. dont serve a purpose for me and 2. do tend to perpetuate ideals and values which I do not hold.

    Keep on your own path my friend, you’re doing great πŸ™‚
    xoxox

  18. Emily (http://funnyemily.wordpress.com) December 28, 2009 at 9:12 am #

    shelley your positivity never fails to impress me, you motivate me to do better, thanks so much girl!
    i love a beautiful mind, such a good movie!
    all those eats look fantastic, especially the sweet potato πŸ™‚
    as for the media i think i try to tell myself that it doesn’t trigger me, that i’m stronger than it and its only me telling me to do this, but i’m kidding myself i want to be accepted by media’s standards. which is ridiculous. i’m beginning to worry about my younger sister you randomly makes little comments about things she shouldn’t even think about.
    hope you have a wonderful monday dear!!
    xoxo

  19. Ashlei December 28, 2009 at 9:20 am #

    Nut butters liven up sweet potatoes so much ❀ almond butter + sweet potatoes is my fave! πŸ™‚

    I really like the end of your post, about the media influencing us to be thin. The list of things you made about what being thin doesn't bring is so true. Being too thin can bring all sorts of other problems and what is important is being healthy and happy with yourself.

    Best of luck! πŸ™‚

  20. Kristie December 28, 2009 at 10:43 am #

    Aww that poor dog. That is so kind of guys to feed him and take him in. I can’t imagine him being stuck outside in the WINTER with no food or warmth! 😦

    As for the media, it is such a frustrating issue. Thin is everywhere. It definitely doesn’t make life better or make everything perfect but despite the fact that we all know that deep down, its influence is still SO strong that we just can’t escape it or seem to go beyond and ignore its messages. Hopefully someday (sooner rather than later!) that media portrayal will start to shift towards something a lot more positive.

    Happy Holidays Girly!

  21. merittothecarrot December 28, 2009 at 10:43 am #

    You are so incredibly thoughtful taking care of Candy. To think of a dog out in the snow for 2 days breaks my heart…
    And yes, sweet tater & pb is the definition of a foodgasm.

    I entirely agree with your stance on the media. Preach it girl!

    Much love!

  22. homecookedem December 28, 2009 at 11:55 am #

    Awwwwww, Candy looks so sweet! I hope her owners just made a mistake in leaving her outside for so long!! 😦 I’ve always wanted a bassett!! Such lovely faces and adorable droopy ears, hehe! πŸ™‚

    I must try a sweet potato with PB on top!! I bet it’s amazing!! πŸ™‚

    P.S. Thanks for always leaving such sweet comments on my blog. It really makes my day! πŸ˜‰

  23. metabolism food December 28, 2009 at 12:16 pm #

    wow great post
    thanks for share i want visit your site in next time

  24. kbwood December 28, 2009 at 12:27 pm #

    blahh the media is so lame. i think they are getting better at trying not to portray thinness as much.. i got the Victoria Secret magazine the other day and some of the girls actually have a NORMAL body, and that made me glad!!

    your tofu stir fry looks AWEESOME! and that sweet tater! keep doing a GREAT JOB girl!

  25. Anna December 28, 2009 at 1:34 pm #

    Wow. You’re point about Avatar is verrrry introspective. The media’s messages can be SO subliminal. When I was in recovery, my therapist and I would actually talk about this a lot. Like how recovery is so hard because this is how we think we are supposed to look. Even in magazines, the “healthy eating plans” are usually 1300 calories a day! Which might be fine for someone wanting to drop like 10 lbs, but certainly not for young women who have faster metabolism and want to maintain and DEFINITELY DEFINITELY NOT for people who need to gain. A few months before I did outpatient stuff, I tried to do some self healing, so I would eat how magazines told me to eat, and I thought I was doing a good job because I wasn’t starving myself, but all it was doing was maintaining my unhealthy low weight. But overcoming the media pressure, even thought I might still think about it, NOT giving in is such a mental victory for me, even though some days it can still be a battle.

  26. The Candid RD December 28, 2009 at 3:35 pm #

    Oh I could go on for hours about how annoyed I am at our media. I almost don’t want to have children, especially girls, because I know that ten years from now it will be WORSE than it is today. It gets worse and worse every year. I never thought I would let the media influence me, but it’s almost impossible not to. The worst thing is that men start to think that they MUST find a women that has that perfect body, which is unrealistic. Then when their gf doesn’t have that perfect image I always feel like we aren’t good enough for them…..it’s awful, I hate it.

    I also HATE when stores put their clothes on manichans and they have to fold the pants over and clip them so they fit!! HELLO maybe you should make a NORMAL SIZE manichan!!

  27. Ada December 28, 2009 at 3:36 pm #

    Thanks for such an insightful post! I totally agree with you, the media portrays such unrealistic images of beauty. In other cultures, models weigh more and are still regarded as beautiful, that’s how it should be here as well.

  28. Emily December 28, 2009 at 4:33 pm #

    I agree…the media has messed up the minds of so many girls making them feel like they just aren’t good enough…

    I have never played that game but I LOVE apples to apples so it sounds right up my alley!

  29. Bekah December 28, 2009 at 5:00 pm #

    It’s so weird to me too! Like a cartoon is stick thin. Kind of like a Barbie too. Sigh. I don’t know how it got to be soo bad, it really sucks though. Sometimes girls just want to live their lives!

  30. blueberrymuffins December 28, 2009 at 5:13 pm #

    Better than apples to apples? Wow I will deff try that out!

  31. Naomi(onefitfoodie) December 28, 2009 at 5:53 pm #

    i couldn’t agree more with you about the whole media and being thin. Its crazy that even in a kidsmovie, thinness is underlying there! I just have learned to keep on reading and not pay attention to those ad’s!

    your eats look fabulous and good for you for eating the WHOLE piece of corn bread!! i am sure it was amazing wasn’t it? I LOVE cornbread! that salad from that same restaurant looks great

    xox

  32. Peanut Butter Bliss December 28, 2009 at 6:34 pm #

    im with you!! screw the media – there is SO much more to life than how we look/how thin we are. It is stupid to base our self worth on that.

  33. MelissaNibbles December 28, 2009 at 6:40 pm #

    The images young girls have now are so different from the ones I had in high school…and I thought they were skinny! The girls on my 90210 look chubby next to the girls on the 90210 that teens and young women watch now and it makes me sad. It just gets worse and worse. I think it’s important that teens don’t look up to models and actresses, but rather real people in their everyday lives or people like Michelle Obama or Hillary Clinton or a woman in the armed services. People that are out there making a difference in the world, not partying in clubs and carrying around small dogs you know?

  34. Allie (Live Laugh Eat) December 28, 2009 at 6:42 pm #

    I took a psychology of body image and appearance class my sophomore year and wrote my final paper on images in fashion/fitness magazines that influence negative body image. Unforch, it’s what people want to see. It’s sad that magazines with skinny models sell more. If the public demands something else, the media will follow suit.

  35. Cassie December 28, 2009 at 7:43 pm #

    I think the degree of media’s influence on a person has a lot to do with the individual. I certainly believe the “thin ideal” can have negative effects on people, but I also believe there are other factors at play when a person develops an unhealthy relationship with food. Great post!

  36. daintyvegan December 28, 2009 at 8:55 pm #

    Saki bombs! I did those with a couple of friends, it was fun but I wasn’t too fond of the taste.

    The media can be such a nuisance… especially since most of the people behind the cameras, articles, etc. probably aren’t pin-thin themselves. I would LOVE to see more average looking bodies plastered around instead of the super thin or super curvy. It’s nice when you see plus-sized models and such but.. hello, where’s the in-between? It’s like the media has to go to extremes for everything.

  37. Lizzy December 28, 2009 at 9:58 pm #

    i like apples to apples so i bet i would LOVEEE this game! i’m going to keep my eye out for it. That was soooo sweet of you and your family to help the cute doggy! I hope you have a great last week of 2009! keep up the great work with your meal plan..so far you’re doing amazing!!

  38. Nicole December 28, 2009 at 10:38 pm #

    I think your points are all spot on. Being “thin” or “attractive” by media standards will not bring you fulfillment. I think that’s something most people need to learn, unfortunately 😦 Thanks for addressing this!

  39. Caitlyn December 28, 2009 at 11:13 pm #

    I absolutely agree that the media puts a huge emphasis on thin being sexy… but when I stop and think about it, there are plenty of instances where “thin” doesn’t look sexy, the media just doesn’t highlight those. It’s “thin” coupled with “power” and “strength” that really gets that sexy label that we all crave at one point or another… The media has managed to corrupt us into thinking that our inner strength, and our power is measured by our waist size or BMI by always coupling “thin” and “strong” together. We think we are attracted to how fit someone looks, when really we are attracted to the strength they exude (yes, manichans are always thin but they also always look strong: They are well dressed, always holding themselves in perfect posture, and are always positioned above us… which allows even an inanimate object to exude strength)

    I thought the Avatar character was VERY beautiful and sexy. I wanted to be her… The whole movie I was in awe over how awesome she was!! …but not because of how thin she was, it was because of how strong she was, how sure of herself she was, and how much power she could cultivate. The media makes sure to highlight strong characters that are thin too… but I’m sure that if you put an insecure Zero inch waist next to a secure 8 inch waist (or 10 or 12, or WHATEVER!)… you would be more impressed with the latter.

    We are attracted to inner strength, don’t let the media fool you into thinking it’s a pants size.

    STAY STRONG GIRL!!!
    -Caitlyn

    PS: sorry for the long comment! πŸ˜‰

  40. whydeprive December 28, 2009 at 11:40 pm #

    I LOVE Apples to Apples, I can hardly imagine theres a game thats better! Im going to have to look into this!

    The media is a horrible influence. What they put out there as being normal, just isnt. But we still buy the magazines, we still watch the tv shows, we’re voting for it even if we dont mean to.

  41. Kris | iheartwellness.com December 29, 2009 at 1:16 am #

    Great post doll!! You are a hero for saving little candy….that is so sweet. She loves you for it πŸ˜‰

    I must try oat bran….I know I have said this before, but I will buy it next time i am out!

    It is true that the media makes everyone think they need to be thin. My honest opinion if everyone ate healthy like you and I they would be HEALTHY and that is more important to focus on πŸ˜‰

    XXOO
    Kris

  42. eatmovelove December 29, 2009 at 7:52 am #

    Love this post! Hate the Media! Agreed – did you also notice how tiny the actress that ‘portrays’ that Avatar actress is in real life – she was on “Ellen”‘s talk show and looked like a little girl – she looked cold too…haha. Still beautiful though. Anyways, PB & Sweet Potatoe ?? – Who knew? Not me! So going to try that one – I’m obsessed with sweet potatoes and squash lately – …and chocolate…and anything not good for me at all that celebrities would avoid like the plague…;) . Oye.

  43. lowandbhold December 29, 2009 at 9:20 am #

    Oh honey, I loved this post. First off, your family sounds like a blast! Love it! And second all, the media thing kills me – it’s like they are setting us all up to fail. Those who have ED are constantly triggered and given reason to believe that they should keep up dangerous behaviors and those that aren’t thin learn to hate themselves for not looking like the media tells them they are supposed to. It’s disgusting. Thanks for your insight and honesty hon πŸ™‚

  44. Katharina December 29, 2009 at 10:05 am #

    Ooo your stir-fry and sweet potato sound sooo good! Yum yum!!

    I agree with you – it makes me sad to see girls feel like they are any less if they aren’t thin enough. Everybody is beautiful the way they are. Besides, truly the most beautiful people are the ones that have so much love, radiance, and happiness inside of them. But I do know that there are some girls that develop an ED and get thin because they feel being thin is unattractive and they don’t want to appeal to anyone. But here’s a snipit from an article I read yesterday on New Years resolutlions:
    β€œβ€¦ I had a Dali Lama like epiphany just before the holidays. A personal β€œcoulda had a V-8” type of moment. My a-ha? Was that neither my kneecaps nor my feet are really that interesting. Nor have they ever been. Certainly not more interesting than the hot fudge I cast aside. That was my epiphany! If I don’t care about seeing my feet, who needs that flat belly? I actually LIKE my belly now and find it is immensely useful. It comes in so handy, I’m not sure I can even remember what it was like when it wasn’t there. For instance, my cats climb it, and perch there looking at me eyeball to eyeball. Before I had to bend over to look them in the eye. The belly has made it much more convenient for them to come to me.”

    XOXO

    http://www.ohonemorething.wordpress.com

    • Katharina December 29, 2009 at 10:14 am #

      But another point I have to bring up is that it’s not just the media. I think if we learn to be content with our own lives and not take the media too seriously and aren’t so preoccupied with that – the chances of it getting to people would be way less. If we raise our children to love themselves and appreciate what is in their lives already, the outside “noise” won’t be nearly as loud. I think a lot of North Americans find it hard to exude confidence because it’s seen as being conceited. But accepting a compliment is not being conceited. Acknowledging your beauty is not conceited. That’s something that really bothers me.

      XO

  45. peanutbutterfingers December 29, 2009 at 10:16 am #

    i 100% agree about feeling pressure to be thin. all over the movies, tv and magazines are gorgeous stars that are skinny… too skinny for my personal body type… it’s unrealistic for me to be that tiny, but i still feel the pressure. i’ve tried to change my mindset from skinny to healthy.

  46. Abby December 29, 2009 at 11:16 am #

    Your din din of sweet taters/tofu-veggies/peanut butter is PERFECT!! Look delish, hun. Hope you had a really great holiday. Stay strong πŸ˜‰

  47. candice December 29, 2009 at 2:01 pm #

    Sweet potato + PB is so, so, so good. Boxers & Briefs sounds hilarious—I love Apples to Apples, so why haven’t I played this?! πŸ˜€

    Oh, the power of the media. I used to gaze at the gorgeous celebs and wish I looked as glamorous as them. Now, I think about the fact that they have stylists, make-up artists, photoshop, etc. etc… and all of the tabloid headlines crack me up so much, I’m not even focusing on the figure anymore. lol.

  48. Shannon (The Daily Balance) December 29, 2009 at 4:29 pm #

    totally agree with you re: the Media — it really is sad to see the way it influences young girls and I worry about the day I have a daughter of my own to protect from it all – it’s so toxic!

  49. psychoj1 December 29, 2009 at 7:24 pm #

    What a great post! To start off, AWESOME foods! Delicious meals! Mmm! And cornbread (the yummy, homemade/from a restaurant) is VERYYY good!

    I think the media completely portrays beauty in an unrealistic way and it influences young girls every day. If a little girl only sees thin women on tv or being portrayed as beautiful, is she not going to value being thin as well? It’s a messed up cycle that needs to be fixed! Couldn’t agree more!

    I’ll go check out your friends blog asap!
    ❀ jess
    xoxo

  50. dorothy December 29, 2009 at 11:07 pm #

    hey girly i just found your blog and you are adorable! happy holidays πŸ™‚ look forward to reading more

  51. Gregory Despain January 5, 2010 at 3:40 pm #

    I think that your blog is . I found it on . I will back often.

  52. feerlessfood July 23, 2010 at 1:41 am #

    Hey! Great blog- I just came across it and am enjoying catching up on it.
    Question: did you put butter and peanut butter on that sweet potato? I had that idea tonight but hadn’t tried it yet and wanted to see if anyone else had and if it was good!

Leave a Reply

