Ladybugs for good luck

26 Dec

Happy Saturday? haha i don’t know. I wasn’t sure how to start this post!

Since we last spoke, I have been doin great. I woke up Christmas morning, ate breakfast & went over to Gar’s.

Breakfast was huuuge- i think I overestimated my meal plan which was a bad idea because I ended up not eating enough because of it. But regardless, it was delicious & I had fage 2%, kashi mighy bites (obsessed), a banana, some bluberries and 2 tbsp of cinnamon raisin swirl peanut butter

We exchanged gifts. He LOVED his garmin forerunner 305 I got him πŸ™‚

He already used it & I am jealous to be honest haha.

& I got his dog, pooch, a snuggie!!!! She was sooo cute in it πŸ™‚

But he got me the cutttest gift! It is a Tiffany’s lady bug necklace. The reason he got me the lady bug is because my 2nd cousin passed away a few years back and had this thing with ladybugs. She loved them! I told him about her love for lady bugs about a year back and he remembered πŸ™‚ It was really sweet.

& his mom got me this adorable bracelet & scarf!!

About 4 hours later, my parents picked me up and we went to see Blind Side! I loved it… definitely would recommend it. My mom packed me a lunch too which was really nice. I had a flat out wrap with chicken, cheese, & avocado with everything slims, an apple, and carrots.

Then I basically lounged around all day until enjoying some dinner which consisted of:

&

I ate about a third of the pizza & a cup of butternut squash soup- i also had some grapes on the side!

This pizza was amazing- kashi is so good!

Today I have been sooo good with my meal plan!! I had IOP from 930-1 followed by an individual appointment, so it was a lot. But i started the day with fage 2%, 1/2 cup cereal, banana, & 2 tbsp of peanut butter. Then I had my snack with lunch which was at Cosi! I had a sesame ginger sandwich with a small smoothie. Both were very delicious. I had a pretty good time at IOP & even really like a few of the girls in the group! One is thinking about starting her own blog πŸ™‚ I hope she does.


I had a snack around 4 that was the
cashew cookie lara bar & an apple I ended up eating grapes πŸ˜€

Well, i’m off to take a quick cat nap before my fav cousins come over for dinner later. Hope you all have great Saturday nights and a relaxing day-after Christmas πŸ™‚

Questions:

1. What is your favorite lara bar? I liked cashew cookie, but my favorite is pb&j for sure!

2. Sweet potatoes or baked? I used to be all about the baked but lately i’ve been into sweet… maybe the blogging world has something to do with this? hahah


xoxoxox

Shelleyβ™₯

53 Responses to “Ladybugs for good luck”

  1. Jenny December 26, 2009 at 5:27 pm #

    Shelley, you are doing SO WELL sweetheart! Honestly, I just want to give you a million hugs right now!! Keep it up, girl!

    Aw, the boy is such a gem! It’s clear that he cares about you SO MUCH! (rightfully so, you are such a treasure!) Having someone so special that we care about so much makes this process a lot easier, as I’m sure you know. Hold on to him, babydoll πŸ™‚ He’s great!

    fav. larabar? PB&J.. otherwise, I’m not really a fan of them *gasp!!*

    sweet potatoes — esp. slathered with PB πŸ™‚

    *muah!*

  2. One Healthy Apple December 26, 2009 at 5:37 pm #

    Your guy is so thoughtful and sweet! You are doing such a great job with your meal plan sweetie! Don’t give up!

    Have a great weekend!

  3. One Healthy Apple December 26, 2009 at 5:39 pm #

    Oh- and I like the chocolate kind of lara bars! Yum yum!

  4. daintyvegan December 26, 2009 at 5:40 pm #

    Love the necklace and scarf!

    I think it’s great that you’re making friends with some of the other girls in the group. That would be awesome if she started her own blog! Blogs are amazing in so many ways.

    Unfortunately I haven’t had the chance to try too many Lara Bar flavors but of the one’s I have tried, I REALLY like the Cinnamon Roll.

    As for potatoes, I like baked. One day I’ll like sweet potatoes.. one day.

  5. Molly December 26, 2009 at 5:40 pm #

    cutest necklace and bracelet! I LOVE them! Such a sweet story behind them too. Im glad you had a great christmas πŸ™‚
    Have a good rest of your weekend!

  6. Jessica @ How Sweet It Is December 26, 2009 at 5:47 pm #

    So glad you are doing well, girl!! πŸ™‚ Your Christmas looks fabulous! πŸ™‚

  7. Lizzy December 26, 2009 at 6:01 pm #

    aww love the poochy snuggy!! and GORGEOUS necklace…your man has taste! I hope you have a great weekend! xoxo!

  8. eliza December 26, 2009 at 6:05 pm #

    love that photo of you! you are gorgeous, most beautiful smile ever :)!
    ahh great gifts! love the lady bug necklace!!! ❀
    and ahh i have that same TJ soup, had it the other night! so good!
    favorite larabar is cashew cookie and gingersnap…a tie ;)…have you tried the new PBJ lara, its SO good!!!
    and baked sweet taters definitely! πŸ™‚

    love you babe
    xx
    Eliza

  9. Stef @ moretolifethanlettuce December 26, 2009 at 6:30 pm #

    that is so sweet about the ladybug necklace, really shows he listens and cares! omg they make dog snuggies? haha!! i had butternut squash soup yesterday for xmas lunch! my lara bar rankings are the same: pb & j and then cashew cookie πŸ™‚ so great that things went well at IOP, it’s really nice to connect with some of the girls, you can all support each other

  10. homecookedem December 26, 2009 at 6:48 pm #

    I love the ladybug necklace!! How sweet!! πŸ™‚

    I love sweet potatoes – in fact, I just baked myself some sweet potato fries!! πŸ™‚

  11. Averie (LoveVeggiesandYoga) December 26, 2009 at 6:57 pm #

    You sound so upbeat and great! Love it!
    Fave lara? My own. Dates and nuts. 2 to 1 ratio. Blend in Vita or Food Proc and never pay $ for those things again πŸ™‚

    Your gifts look awesome! Garmins. I have never really understood them but lately I think I just have to have one b/c everyone else does LOL πŸ™‚

  12. merittothecarrot December 26, 2009 at 7:25 pm #

    That was incredibly sweet of him! That necklace is precious…
    So SO SO glad to hear that the meal plan is going well. It makes me overjoyed to hear how well things are going for you Shelley. Glad that you had a great Christmas.
    My fav. lara(s): cherry pie, banana bread, apple pie… It’s so hard to choose…

  13. Naomi(onefitfoodie) December 26, 2009 at 7:28 pm #

    hey beautiful! you are doing so amazing I am so veyr happy that you are enjoying your time at home and I can tell that you are truly so very happy. LOVE the lady bug necklace what a thoughtful gift!! the snuggie is SO cute on his doggy!!

    favorite lara bar would have to be the banana bread and cinnamon roll!
    SWEET potatoes all the way!!

  14. devan December 26, 2009 at 7:40 pm #

    you are doing so so well ❀
    honestly. your ambitions and strides going forward.. i am so envious. i wish my mom was as supportive.. i know she IS supportive.. but she is just "tired of this, and cant deal anymore" (her words)
    your meal plan looks great too πŸ™‚

    favorite lara= cashew coookie!
    sweet potato= i really do like them baked! but then again, i havent really had them any other way πŸ˜›

    your necklace..STUNNING! and i love the photo of you and the puppy in the snuggie. way too cute<3

  15. devan December 26, 2009 at 7:41 pm #

    oh. question.. in outpaitent.. do they provide therapy as well? and a nutrionist?? what all does it consist of.

  16. psychoj1 December 26, 2009 at 7:56 pm #

    I used to love baked but now I DEFINITELY prefer sweet potatoes!

    What an adorable necklace! That’s a very thoughtful gift πŸ™‚

    ❀ jess
    xoxo

  17. kbwood December 26, 2009 at 8:32 pm #

    aww so sweet your mommy packed u lunch!! i LOVE the doggie snuggie and that necklace! seriously-TOO cute!! im so glad you are doing great!!

    1. Pb cookie
    2. sweet taters!

  18. glidingcalm December 26, 2009 at 8:39 pm #

    you have some amazing and delicious eats!!! pizza and soupy! love that!!! and i love the BYOF (bring your own food) to the movies. def. the BEST way to go!! the lady bug necklace, bracelet, and SCARF (I LOVE SCARVES) are sooo sooo cute!!! adorable picture of you with the puppy too!!

    HAPPY SATURDAY BACK ATCHA! have a great evening and a great sunday Shelley!!!!!! πŸ˜€

    i love the banana cookie Lara, the pb an j, and the pb cookie!! im dying to try the coconut one though!! ive heard amazing things

    SWEET POTATOES ALL THE WAY!

  19. Allie (Live Laugh Eat) December 26, 2009 at 8:49 pm #

    Awww I love that ladybug story!!! You got some cute cute gifts, Shelley! My mom wants to see The Blind Side so we’ll probably be seeing it this week–so excited. That soup is amazing too!

  20. Rachael December 26, 2009 at 9:31 pm #

    Should I be worried that I’m jealous of the dog?… I want a snuggie! They look so warm and cozy!
    Even though I don’t “know” you I’m so incredibly proud of how well you’re doing. You’re such an inspiration is so many ways. Words can’t describe so I’m not going to make a fool of myself trying. πŸ˜‰

    I haven’t tried enough larabars to really have an answer… Guess I’ll have to do some more taste testing!
    Sweet potatoes for sure.

    Rachael*

  21. Jenna December 26, 2009 at 10:08 pm #

    Such a pretty necklace!

  22. Katey December 26, 2009 at 10:17 pm #

    YAY! I am soo happy that you are keeping up with your meal plan! it seems hard at first, but gets easier with time! πŸ™‚ Looks like you had a fab. christmas! πŸ™‚

  23. jsmith6 December 26, 2009 at 11:05 pm #

    Shelley-

    I just discovered your blog (through some other food blogs, no surprise there) and am inspired by your commitment to a healthy plan, and your blogging to help others!

    I think the necklace is adorable, and even better because of the thoughtfulness behind it.

    As for the potatoes, HUGE fan of sweet potatoes! I like them with either cottage cheese, or lite Laughing Cow slices. Then I eat the skin with peanut butter for a sweet dessert πŸ™‚ LOVE IT!!!

    Janice

  24. Katie December 26, 2009 at 11:41 pm #

    Such a lovley necklace! Love that scarf, too. πŸ™‚

    I also loved Blind Side…such good one, I want it when it comes out on DVD for sure! Glad you had a great day!

  25. blueeyedheart December 26, 2009 at 11:53 pm #

    Such sweet gifts! πŸ™‚

    Apple pie = favorite Larabar, but I think I prefer Jocalat… and of COURSE sweet potatoes!! πŸ˜‰

    ❀ ❀

  26. Melissa S. December 27, 2009 at 12:05 am #

    You are doing great beautiful!!!

    I’m not surprised you are obsessed with Mighty Bites; they are freak’n awesome. AWESOME. πŸ™‚

    And the gifts look wonderful! I love the ladybug!!!

  27. Gina G December 27, 2009 at 12:19 am #

    keep it up girl! your doing amazing! Your gift was awesome and your necklace is beautiful =)
    my fave larabar…hmm thats really hard, as of right now i love the chocolate coconut pie, I loveee the jocolat chocolate coffee!
    sweet potatoes! =)

  28. whydeprive December 27, 2009 at 12:30 am #

    Wow . . . that necklace is such a sweet gift. He is clearly one of the good ones!
    I LOVED The Blind Side too . . . such a good movie!

  29. traynharder23 December 27, 2009 at 2:28 am #

    i’ve tried the pb banana one. it was good. nugo bars are awesome! =D

    love your gifts. i did have an enjoyable xmas! as did you! =D

  30. laurasworthlesswords December 27, 2009 at 2:52 am #

    Aww that necklace is beautiful, your a lucky girl to have such a nice guy. You look stunning as well πŸ™‚
    Seems like your doing really well, your pushing yourself so hard, Im really proud of you and you should be to.
    That pizza looks delicious :-), as for larabars we dont get them here so I have only managed to try a few, I wasnt really overly impressed by them but out of what I tried I liked the cinnamon apple one, it had a nice strong flavour.
    Enjoy the rest of your weekend, xox

  31. Janie December 27, 2009 at 4:44 am #

    to answer…
    1. Gingersnap and Cashew Cookie. I was sorely disappointed with PB&J and it’s strange because I looove Gingersnap and Cashew; I don’t really care for larabar in general.
    2. Sweet potatoes. I have never liked regular potatoes unless they’re fried or mashed, heh

  32. Janie December 27, 2009 at 4:45 am #

    And I love that scarf!!

  33. solclare December 27, 2009 at 4:55 am #

    I love the scarf too, it’s beautiful! And the pizza looks good good good! πŸ˜€

  34. The voracious Vegan December 27, 2009 at 5:40 am #

    Merry Christmas! It looks like you had such a wonderful day, I love all your great eats and your lovely presents.

    Baked potatoes are my favorite. Actually, I don’t really like sweet potatoes at all. I prefer my sweets to be REALLY sweet, like chocolate and cake! But potatoes should be piled high with vegan butter and lots of spices!

  35. Lexi December 27, 2009 at 7:30 am #

    Aww! What lovely gifts πŸ™‚ So sweet. I love that lady bug necklace – adorable. I love packed lunches too! I have a tendency to pack lunches and snacks to save money and time.

    to answer your Q’s

    I don’t eat larabars often, but I love the lemon flavored one.

    I love both baked and sweet potatoes!! I think I love regular baked potatoes so much because I love slathering the with salsa and sour cream… and that’s not too good on a sweet tater. my love for salsa has me choosing white potatoes regularly! but I love melty butter on baked sweet potatoes, or I like to cut them into coins and tip them in organic ketchup

  36. tatiannalives December 27, 2009 at 7:31 am #

    I am so glad to hear your positive attitude once again Shelley! Your posts always put me in such a great mindset, so thank you πŸ™‚

    I am also so glad to hear that your meal plan is working out well for you! It sounds like you have made amazing progress in such a short amount of time.

    xox
    Tat

    1. PB n J flavor totally rocks.. you cannot go wrong with a classic πŸ˜›
    2. Sweet potatoes all the way!

  37. peanutbutterfingers December 27, 2009 at 8:21 am #

    what a thoughtful ladybug gift! πŸ™‚
    i wanna see the blind side. i’m glad you liked it.
    hope you’re enjoying the rest of the holiday weekend!

  38. theemptynutjar December 27, 2009 at 8:36 am #

    Shelley, you look georgeous.
    I love your posts as usual.
    Cashew cookie is great…the cocoa coconut chew is good too…like a lot of them I guess.
    Yeah, sweet potatoes are great.
    I have to admit to some struggling today…my food quantity and quality yesterday and last night not that great at all at all…and this morning I just got up and ate normal and will continue to do so…it bothers me to do that when i feel like no hunger and pretty sick as well and nauseous(consequences) …but live and let live , right?
    It bothers me sometimes that I have to change my food desires for a moment or meal because my roommates are using the oven or maybe have a huge family get together…it doesn’t bode well for me to do what my tastes desire, or what i think i want, etc…but i guess its all a learning experience, right?
    Your positivity is admirable.

  39. The Candid RD December 27, 2009 at 9:02 am #

    Such wonderful gifts! Your dog looks great in that snuggie πŸ™‚ The ladybug necklace is so nice, and what a great story behind it.

    My favorite Larabar is any with peanut butter (I don’t eat them very often). I like sweet potatoes SO much. I make them into fries quite often.

  40. Ashlei December 27, 2009 at 9:24 am #

    Coconut Cream Pie is my favorite larabar. Though they are all pretty amazing! I have yet to try the pb&j. I will have to get on that!

    Sweet Potatoes are my favorite! I was eating 1 a day for a while. I like mine served up with a little almond butter, orange zest and pumpkin pie spice (or cinn!)

    I love the ladybug necklace! And that’s such a cute scarf! Glad you had such a great Christmas! πŸ™‚

  41. candice December 27, 2009 at 10:52 am #

    That wrap sounds delicious! Love avocado πŸ˜€ Your jewelry looks beautiful, too—the ladybug is so cute. My favorite LaraBar is either the tropical fruit tart or the PB cookie. Sweet potatoes > baked potatoes all the way for me.

    Have a wonderful day!

  42. Emily (http://funnyemily.wordpress.com) December 27, 2009 at 10:54 am #

    shelley you rock so so much. i hope you know that.
    what a wonderful christmas girl πŸ™‚ and i’m so glad you liked the blindside, i’m seeing it tuesday, i’m quite excited!!
    it is so wonderful to see that you’ve been following your meal plan, i keep slipping up, but it really helps to see that you’re keeping up with it πŸ™‚
    what beautiful gifts!!
    hope you have a wonderful day dear!
    xoxo

  43. ~Jessica~ December 27, 2009 at 11:46 am #

    Gar is so lucky to have you as his girlfriend! I’d sell my soul for a Garmin πŸ˜‰

    That doesn’t look like a big breakfast at all to me! I don’t think your meal plan should be set in stone…I hope you didn’t panic about ‘overdoing’ it because a little extra certainly won’t hurt you and it’s not ‘bad’ to go outside of it a little.

    I’m glad things are starting to settle at IOP ~ keep on fighting, because you’re doing brilliantly.

    My favourite Larabar used to be a tie between PB Cookie and Coconut Cream Pie. Now it’s Chocolate Coconut Chew all the way. I’m enslaved by chocolate in various forms.

    Sweet potatoes>baked potatoes, most definitely.

    ❀

    xoxo

  44. Emily December 27, 2009 at 12:18 pm #

    OMG~! I wanted to get my pups a snuggie, but I never got around to it! Your so beautiful! Keep up the great eats girl! πŸ˜€

  45. MelissaNibbles December 27, 2009 at 3:31 pm #

    Hey girl! You look so happy in that pic πŸ™‚

    That’s such a cute necklace and very thoughtful.

    It sounds like you’re doing great at IOP. Keep your head up and take it day by day. I’ve been keeping you in my thoughts.

    Cashew cookie and sweet taters are the bizness!

  46. determinedtoshine December 27, 2009 at 3:44 pm #

    awww shelley you are so gorgeous! and your presents look amazing, you and gar are lucky to have one another πŸ™‚

    you’re doing great with the progress you’re making lovie – with each post you get stronger and stronger! keep up the good work!

    oh and sweet potatoes all the way!

    xo hannah

  47. Nicole December 27, 2009 at 6:18 pm #

    Sweet potatoes!

    Larabara — I like the Chocolate Coconut – YUMM!!!

    I have the Garmin 305, he will LOOOOOOOVE it! It’s so much fun!

  48. followxyourxbliss December 27, 2009 at 7:49 pm #

    hey baaaabe! πŸ™‚
    would you mind telling people about my blog?! lol im not good at being “assertive” (you’ll learn in IOP bahaaa) and asking others.. and i dont quite know what to say! lol
    love youu! πŸ˜€

  49. Holly (The Healthy Everythingtarian) December 27, 2009 at 9:15 pm #

    just caught up on your last couple posts – looks like you are having a great time at home! i am glad you are not worrying about blogging…tis’ is just the season to enjoy πŸ™‚

    and your yog messes are looking fabulous! and that ladybug necklace is adorable – isn’t it just the greatest feeling when people remember those small things?

    merry belated christmas/hanukkah/kwanzaa/holidays πŸ™‚

  50. burpexcuzme December 27, 2009 at 10:49 pm #

    Oh wow! Love the ladybug necklace! So cute! My favicon for my blog is a ladybug, too! πŸ˜‰

    I hate larabars, sorry…
    And sweet all the way!

  51. lowandbhold December 28, 2009 at 1:38 pm #

    Awww what a sweet gift! I love it!

  52. Bekah December 28, 2009 at 4:19 pm #

    Aw the ladybug necklace is a really really cute gesture. He’s a keeper.

    And fave larabar? Coconut cream pie or PB+J.

    Also, is that a Coach scarf? I can’t tell.. but I work in the back at Coach and that box looks familiar! πŸ˜‰

  53. dailygoods December 29, 2009 at 11:34 am #

    a snuggie for dogs??? OMG my life is complete! need to find one asap πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

