Home Sweet Home

23 Dec

Hola Chicas!

My title of this post comes from the fact that I have been really LOVING home. It has been relaxing to enjoy the comfort of my home πŸ™‚ Since I last posted, I started my meal plan schedule and had my snack last night. It was delicious and consisted of strawberry chobani, 1/2 cup of heart to heart, some peanut butter, and about 12 almonds. This is a large snack, but I realized it makes sense because my meals aren’t enormous by any means according to my plan.

Hope you all had fabulous Tuesdays/starts to your week!! Today was probably one of the most relaxed days ever (and I desperately needed it).

I woke up (at 11:45… :-D) and made breakfast according to my meal plan. It had to include 4 carbs, 2 fats, and 2 proteins. (i’ll explain what counts as one of each at the end of this post because I got a few questions). I made a 1/2 cup of oat bran with a full banana and two tablespoons of cinnamon raisin swirl peanut butter. I love how the peanut butter melts into the oat bran- you can barely see it in this pic!

My schedule was kind of messed up because i’m usually supposed to do breakfast, snack, lunch, snack, dinner, snack but since I woke up so late I didn’t really have time.. I had lunch around 4 hours later.

I finally used my panini maker!! I grilled up a turkey sandwich with muenster cheese, lettuce, and tomato. I know, not THAT creative, but delicious nonetheless! I also had sunchips, carrots, and a huuge apple. I’m supposed to have 4 carbs, 2 fats, 1-2 vegetables, and 2-3 proteins.

Then i honestly just relaxed all day and worked on a paper I have to turn in for a final tomorrow (I know, STILL finals..crazy!). I felt kind of anxious about being so sedentary, but realized that rest is exactly what I needed!

I went out to dinner with two of my best friends from high school at a sushi restaurant and it was amazing! i ordered a california roll, avocado roll, and a side of steamed veggies. Then they wanted to go to get ice cream. This is where i’m kind of upset with myself because instead of enjoying ice cream with them, I chose not to get any. I just wanted to stick to my plan and I was full/didn’t feel comfortable eating it. I know i’ll get to that point though very soon!

Then, they all came back to my house and we decided to make some quick/easy sugar cookies for fun! They were by no means something to brag about, but it was a lot of fun!

I know, i’m Jewish, but Hanukkah is over!

We also made some gingerbread” houses out of graham crackers.. because we are that cool. haha

Mine:

& my friend made a “white house” & was really proud of it..

& my friends disabled Santa

it was fun to see some old friends πŸ™‚ I love doing goofy kid-like things like this. It was a really enjoyable/relaxing night. I laughed a lot and realized how much I really do like my high school friends!

Anyways, i’m going to answer a few questions regarding my new meal plan that I received on my last post:

1. I was asked if this would be something I would do at school as well.

The answer is yes! I plan on following my meal plan when I go back to school and based on where I am in the next month, the nutritionist will help me figure out if the meal plan should be adjusted.

2. What counts as 1 carb? 1 fat? 1 protein?

1 carb is 15 grams, 1 fat is 5-8 grams, and one protein is 7-10 grams. To put this into perspective, a slice of whole grain bread has approximately 15 g, a tablespoon of peanut butter counts as a fat, and 2 oz of deli meat or 3 oz of chicken is a protein. The exchange system is kind of difficult and I have had to look at nutrition labels a lot to figure it out, but I really think it will get easier! For the plan she set a total of how many of each i should get in a day, and she even broke it up by meals and snacks. I have a packet explaining how to figure out what a serving is which is really helpful!


Tomorrow I plan to get up, finish my paper (blehhh), hopefully do some last minute shopping for some gifts (i know..so bad!!), and then i have the IOP program from 5:30-8.

lots of loveee

xoxoxooxox

Shelleyβ™₯


ps- any suggestions for a gift for my sister? I want to get her something she’ll like! She is a pretty ‘typical’ girl so any girly things you might think of, let me know πŸ™‚

PPS– look how cute my doggieee is! i’ve missed him


42 Responses to “Home Sweet Home”

  1. Hillary December 23, 2009 at 1:44 am #

    I’m glad you had a fun night with your girlfriends. I had a sushi lunch date with mine today too – enjoy home!

    ~ Hillary @ http://www.nutritionnut.wordpress.com

  2. diane doesn't diet December 23, 2009 at 3:44 am #

    Aw I’m glad you’re doing so well on the plan!! That’s awesome πŸ™‚ Your gingerbread houses are presh…I’ve never made one in my life, haha. I want to, but I have a feeling it would be sloppy πŸ˜‰

    My little sister is also REALLY girly…I filled up a stocking with stuff from eyeslipsface.com (because everything’s $1! The eyeshadow is pretty crappy, but brushes and nail polish are good) and got her a dress from lulus.com. Maybe you could give her a gift card to get a massage/facial/mani-pedi?

    That was such a long paragraph about gifts haha–have a great night, love!!

  3. Lexi December 23, 2009 at 5:52 am #

    Great job with your meal plan so far! You’re doing awesome. Yes, exchanges can be a little annoying to keep track of at first, but over time – your meal plan will become automatic, and you’ll get to know what almost every food counts for. exchanges also make it easy when going out to dinner. it really helps to structure what you’re going to order. for example, you know you need carbs, protein, and fat, so it’s easy to look at the menu and pick something that has a good representation of all of the macronutrients!

    your doggie is so cute! Glad you’re having so much fun at home and with hs friends. I’ll message you on fb so we can set up a time to meet!

    Love,
    Lexi

  4. Nelly December 23, 2009 at 6:27 am #

    Wow I dont think I could do that with how much I am on the go! Props to you and relax for Christmas! Try not to worry about it! You are doing great πŸ™‚
    Merry Christmas girl!

  5. Jessica @ How Sweet It Is December 23, 2009 at 7:00 am #

    Congrats on your meal plan, girl! Great job following!!

  6. Simply Life December 23, 2009 at 8:22 am #

    I love using our pannini grill – it adds such a fun touch to any sandwich or wrap! πŸ™‚

  7. The Candid RD December 23, 2009 at 8:25 am #

    Glad you are enjoying your time at home. I’d like to know more about this diet you are following, and why. I guess I missed that information….it sounds interesting and I’m just curious.

    Your gingerbread houses and cut-outs are so festive and fun! Yum. Enjoy your time off. I wish I had a good recommendation for a gift for your sister, I always like makeup, clothes, purses, and fun accessories.

  8. Taylor December 23, 2009 at 8:25 am #

    Great job on following your meal plan. Don’t feel bad about the ice cream, you’re doing great and as you said you will start to feel more comfortable about it. The sushi meal sounds wonderful, you know I love sushi πŸ™‚

  9. Karin December 23, 2009 at 8:31 am #

    It’s so great that you’re following the plan so dilligently!

    Love the cookies that you made πŸ™‚

  10. jenna December 23, 2009 at 8:36 am #

    Shelley! I am glad you are doing well! It is okay you did not get ice cream with the girls, as long as you know one day it will come:)
    I have a new found love for sushi and I am super jealous you got some the other night even though I just had some this weekend πŸ˜‰
    Glad you got to explain your food exchanges and I know it is probably a pain but like you said it will get easier!
    Stay strong chica!
    Jenna

  11. Emily (http://funnyemily.wordpress.com) December 23, 2009 at 8:37 am #

    you’re puppy is adorable! so glad you’re enjoying your time at home πŸ™‚
    sounds like you’re doing great following your meal plan, everything looks super delicious!
    hmm maybe you could get your sister some special bath things, or yummy smelling lush soap…
    happy wednesday dear!
    xoxo

  12. VeggieGirl December 23, 2009 at 8:38 am #

    LOVE your dog! πŸ™‚

  13. theemptynutjar December 23, 2009 at 8:41 am #

    I think its great you are finding a plan that works for you. Its fantastic. I try to not think about choices and right matching and stuff anymore. If I have a meal of 100% carbs, then I live with it πŸ™‚
    Every time I read your posts I get so teary almost…you are so so living life…like you really live it…you enjoy it, you don’t dwell…you don’t just give up and say “no, not gonna be positive”…wow wow wow….your friends and family are lucky to have a girl like you…amazing

  14. blueeyedheart December 23, 2009 at 9:06 am #

    Great job on the meal plan!! Exchanges confuse me… πŸ˜‰

    I always found that girls are easier to shop for than guys… especially if they’re “girly girls,” because you can always just default to jewelry.

    ❀ ❀

  15. Ada December 23, 2009 at 9:09 am #

    Aww those graham cracker gingerbread houses are adorable! What a great idea:)

  16. Molly December 23, 2009 at 10:19 am #

    all your eats look great! I need a panini maker NOW…that wrap looks sooo good!
    and I cant even remember the last time I made a gingerbread house. I need to do that asap

    Your dog is the cutest thing ever.
    How old is your sister? I got mine a sweatshirt from Victoria Secret and a bracelet from AE πŸ™‚

  17. Naomi (onefitfoodie) December 23, 2009 at 11:00 am #

    thanks for clarifying the meal plan! sounds great and I know you will ROCK this πŸ™‚ that wrap looks so good with the grill marks from your new panini maker!!! love it!

    omg the gingerbread house is aweomse! we should have something like that in judiasm, like an edible menorah haha how funny would that be?

    hmmm gifts for your sis? what about a cute scarf and matching hat? or a make up bag? or pop into sephora and get her some great body lotion things and makeup? gift certificate for a mani/pedi??

    xoxo

  18. Dana December 23, 2009 at 11:03 am #

    I am SO jealous of your panini maker! Grilling wraps and sandwiches makes it so much better πŸ™‚ and I’m jewish too but loveeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee christmas! (i bought a ginerbread making kit to do up at school haha) stay strong with the meal plan girl i know you can do it you are amazing!!!!!! truly an inspiring person and you are someone i look up to so much…you have such an amazing attitude!!! happy hannukah/merry xmas πŸ˜‰

    ps. my best friend just started a blog…check it out!

    http://snacksandfield.wordpress.com/

    today will be her first post!

  19. merittothecarrot December 23, 2009 at 11:19 am #

    Don’t worry, there will be plenty more opportunities to get ice cream with your friends πŸ™‚ It just takes time. But when you get there, it will be the best tasting ice cream ever.

    My utmost congratulations for comfortably transitioning into the meal plan. You are doing so great!

    Much love.
    Sam

  20. kbwood December 23, 2009 at 11:21 am #

    aww girl i am so glad you are loving it!
    dont worry about the ice cream-next time you know you will regret it if you dont get any so you will learn from it πŸ™‚
    so proud of you for all of this!
    im glad you are loving your panini maker..that wrap looks GOOD girl!

  21. homecookedem December 23, 2009 at 11:25 am #

    That panini looks so good! πŸ™‚ I should have asked for one for Christmas! πŸ˜‰

  22. candice December 23, 2009 at 11:49 am #

    All of us need to recuperate before the full-on pounding until the end of the year. :] Rest easy; that’s what I’ve been telling myself. I’m sure your grilled wrap was warm and delicious! Don’t fret too much about not enjoying ice cream—they’re plenty of opportunities later on, and besides, there are nice, warm desserts (like those sugar cookies!) to be enjoyed in the cold. πŸ˜‰

  23. lowandbhold December 23, 2009 at 12:18 pm #

    Glad you’re having so much fun and getting a chance to relax!

  24. The Candid RD December 23, 2009 at 2:22 pm #

    Thanks for the information about this diet! It sounds like you need a copy of the dietary exchange system. Do you have one? You can find them online. Sounds like a great plan to me, especially those calories, not too shabby πŸ™‚ Good luck! Feel free to ask me any questions, although it sounds like you have good help.

  25. julie December 23, 2009 at 4:21 pm #

    awww sounds like you had such a fun night with your friends πŸ™‚ it’s always fun to get together with old friends and act all goofy!

  26. elleneatsbeats December 23, 2009 at 4:57 pm #

    Girl, it will get easier to do things like eat ice cream with friends. When I was recovering it scared the crap out of me being put in situations like that, but the further you get into recovery, the easier it is. Your friends are there to support you, so let them know how you’re feeling. Mine were such a huge help in my recovery.

    I reeeeeeally need to get myself a panini maker!

  27. jenngirl December 23, 2009 at 5:23 pm #

    Congrats on starting the new meal plan, sounds great to me! πŸ™‚

    Fun times with friends! All of the cookies and gingerbread houses are cute!

  28. Jenny December 23, 2009 at 6:10 pm #

    sounds like you had a really successful day with the meal plan, honey! I’m happy to see you enjoying the food your eating and savoring it! that’s what life is all about all, right? Keep up the amazing work!

    p.s. love the christmas spirit … it makes me smile πŸ™‚

  29. Melissa S. December 23, 2009 at 6:41 pm #

    ah, i’m glad you had a great night!

    the gingerbread looks great!

  30. crazylittlethingneela December 23, 2009 at 8:05 pm #

    merry christmas to you my love, glad to hear that the days beofre christmas are relaxing and peaceful for you πŸ™‚
    xoxo

  31. nattietan December 23, 2009 at 8:14 pm #

    Aww your day with your girlfriends sounds like a blast!! I’m glad you had fun because you definitely deserve it! I have to say that the disabled santa looks uber cute – hopefully he mends quickly to deliver all our Christmas presents though! Lol.

    Well done on the meal plan and I understand that it’s tough sometimes to deviate away from it. Just remember that whenever you do feel like having ice-cream, it’s ok to do so. Or you can just plan that as a snack if it makes it easier. =)

    You’re doing amazing hun!! I’m cheering you on and guess what?! I feel victory in my bones already!

    xx

  32. Tricia December 23, 2009 at 9:17 pm #

    Your doggie is too cute!

  33. daintyvegan December 24, 2009 at 12:45 am #

    Love the sugar cookies, where did you get those Santa heads? I had a sushi date with my sis and friend today too, it was awesome fun!

    Your puppy is a cutie. :3

  34. Kris | iheartwellness.com December 24, 2009 at 2:33 am #

    i love you pooch!! What breed is he??

    Your cookies are very tasty looking πŸ˜‰

    Thanks for the comment – yes I am probably the only one you know who squats while doing their hair! HAHA!

    XXOO

  35. tatiannalives December 24, 2009 at 6:45 am #

    I am so happy for you – it sounds like you are well on your way to working through this meal plan with absolute ease. You go girl!

    I love the cookies and the faux gingerbread houses πŸ˜› The holidays always tend to bring out the child in me as well πŸ™‚ Hehe.. I am hoping to do some baking today too!

    Continue to have an AMAZING and RELAXED holiday! You deserve it!

    xox
    Tat

  36. katie December 24, 2009 at 8:28 am #

    Hello!!!!!!! Just wanted to take the time to wish you and your family Happy Holidays love!!!!!

    I love the cookies and the gingerbread houses!!!! Dont be upset about not wanting or having icecream love, there is always next time : ) xoxo

  37. onehealthyapple December 24, 2009 at 2:11 pm #

    Hey Pretty Lady! I’m so glad to hear you are doing well at home and that you are making such a tremendous effort at your meal plan!

    I love your doggie- he is way too cute!
    Since I’m a girly girl, I would love purses, nail polish, cell phone cases that sparkle, or gift certificates!

    I hope you enjoy the rest of your time at home and get that paper done!

  38. Foodie (Fab and Delicious Food) December 24, 2009 at 5:03 pm #

    Great job with your meal plan!

    Love your gingerbread house!

    Your dog is so cute!

  39. nattietan December 24, 2009 at 8:09 pm #

    I’m back again! It’s Christmas here already so here’s wishing you a beautiful Christmas!! May it be filled with amazing memories and smile that gorgeous smile of yours because it will definitely light up the lives of all the people who know and love you!!

    xx

  40. burpexcuzme December 24, 2009 at 8:24 pm #

    I’m liking this happy, relaxed post…I’m glad that you’ve got a smile on your face and enjoying your time!
    Merry Christmas!!!!

  41. devan December 24, 2009 at 8:57 pm #

    i love all your gingerbread houses!!
    my meal plan is kind of similar to yours.

    hope all is well lovie. Merry Christmas ❀

  42. Solange December 24, 2009 at 10:16 pm #

    Merry X’mas Shelley!

    And your ‘gingerbread’ house is so cute-looking! It must’ve took some effort to do it so well! πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

