Oh I just can’t wait to be (freeee) :)

19 Dec

1 more exam, then i’m headin’ home!

hope you enjoyed the little Lion King reference in the title πŸ™‚ Love just can’t wait to be King! & i’m so ready to be free from school/free from gertrude/etc.

After consuming a delicious yogurt mess for breakfast Thursday, I was headed to study allll day. Pretty much my life the past few days, actually. Study, eat, study, eat, study, eat, sleep. yep.

When i got bored and my tummy was a rumblin’ it was time for lunch πŸ™‚ I had a delicious sandwich which consisted of turkey, soy american cheese (surprisingly good!), & avocado (& some veggies) on an earthgrain thin bun.

Had it with an apple & these rice crackers I got at Whole Foods! They are really good and 120 calories for 36 chips! Recommend em’

While at the library, I snacked on some pistachios (my favorite nuts everr as a child!!)

& Gardner, being the lovely boyfriend he is, insisted I take a break & have dinner with him! So we went to Uno’s.

We both started with Kabocha Pumpkin Soup– & omg it was sooo good! I was impressed with Uno’s wide selecton

& for my main course I got the roasted vegetable & feta wrap after seeing it on Missy’s blog so many times. It did NOT dissapoint.

Loved every bite. Couldn’t finish all of that AND the soup though, I was stufffed.

Then, I went to study at my NEW favorite coffee shop- Steep n Brew! They serve the coffee in these really cool cups if you are staying there. I love finding new local hang-outs

& I could not pass up buying a couple of their seasonal coffee flavors! I can’t wait to try these when I get home. Gingerbread & Dark Chocolate Mint..yummm

I also fell in love with this place after seeing this sign:

yumm!! I want to try πŸ™‚

This morning I woke up to a yogurt mess featuring my favorite (& probably most expensive) non-greek yogurt

Complete with Kashi Wild Blueberry Clusters, a Banana, & cinnamon raisin swirl! It was quite the blueberry mess & this yogurt was perfect πŸ™‚

<333 it’s love! I gotta use all my dairy products before I go home tomorrow night because otherwise I’ll have to throw them out! & I still have half of my kefir left & a peach chobani…. haha guess i’ll be eatin well!

I went and studied for a while, made a new friend (lovee making random new friends in the lib!!) & then ate lunchh which involved a turkey sandwich with swiss cheese, sabra pretzel crips/hummus & an apple

After lunch I had an appointment with my psychologist. We talked about my upcoming outpatient progress and some things i’m struggling with currently. She is very helpful and it is clear she knows what she is talking about which really makes it easier to trust her, if you know what I mean.

One thing I addressed was how I am worried that the other girls at my outpatient program might trigger me/make me feel ‘fat.’ I hope that isn’t the case. Do any of you girls who have been to a group-type of program have any advice/insight into that issue?

I snacked on a deliiccious white chocolate macadami luna at some point πŸ™‚ [best luna bar ever-fyi]

Dinner was at a restaurant called the Nitty Gritty because some girls in my pledge class had a SECRET SANTA πŸ™‚ It was fun and I talked to some people I hadn’t seen for a while– yay, always fun!

I ordered a strawberry & pistachio salad which was amazing!! It had strawberries, pistachios, feta cheese, grilled chicken, dried cranberries, & balsamic vinaigrette- i was impressed.

Well, I should be studying but instead i’m blogging.. typical, right? I have my Marriage & Family exam at 2:45… hopefully it goes well!

I have a crazy next few days because I have to rush to Cincinnati to go to this convention for a youth group I was a part of in high school (because I was President) & then I start outpatient therapy on Monday!

I’ll post when I can πŸ™‚ Hope you all are enjoying your breaks/the holiday/snow or whatever it may be.

Any Saturday night plans, loves?

xoxooxox

Shelleyβ™₯

58 Responses to “Oh I just can’t wait to be (freeee) :)”

  1. VeggieGirl December 19, 2009 at 2:10 pm #

    You’re almost done (me too)!! We’ll get through finals soon enough πŸ™‚

    Plans tonight = avoiding the snow and finishing up some studying.

  2. rebecca lustig December 19, 2009 at 2:14 pm #

    Ooh, I took marriage and family!

    Good luck, lovely lady and have a safe trip home πŸ™‚
    bec xo

  3. Jessica (jesslikesithot) December 19, 2009 at 2:15 pm #

    Um, Lion King is probably my favorite Disney movie…EVER! No joke πŸ™‚

    Dark chocolate mint coffee sounds great–can’t wait to hear how it tastes! And the wrap?? Oh my gosh…looks so good. It’s hard to mess up anything with roasted veggies and feta though!

    Just remember–do NOT compare yourself to others. Everyone is totally different and I know it’s easier said than done, but you just can’t base your perception of yourself off of other girls. Focus on that life you’re getting back, your health and happiness! Have a great day girlie, I always appreciate your sweet comments XOXO

  4. traynharder23 December 19, 2009 at 2:19 pm #

    GOOD LUCK ON YOUR TEST! don’t compare yourself to others…i do that all the time and its not healthy! i’m getting over it tho@
    XOXOOXO

  5. Emily (http://funnyemily.wordpress.com) December 19, 2009 at 2:25 pm #

    i totally want to try siggi so bad, so glad you like it! maybe one day i’ll fork over the major cash and get it πŸ™‚
    for the outpatient thing, i’d say you spend time preparing for it with affirmations and never fail to remind yourself that this is about you, not them.
    cincinnati??!! ahh that is totally my current spot!!
    i think i’m spending my saturday getting my nails done πŸ™‚
    happy weekend, you’re almost!! done!!
    xoxo

  6. homecookedem December 19, 2009 at 2:27 pm #

    hehe, I love The Lion King too!! πŸ™‚ Good luck on your exam… almost there!! πŸ™‚

    That kabocha pumpkin soups looks amazing and delicious!! So does the wrap!!

  7. Taylor December 19, 2009 at 2:45 pm #

    I keep seeing those sandwich thins all over the blogworld I really wish I could get them here, me being a sandwich fanatic an’ all.
    Good luck for your last exam and then freedom πŸ™‚

  8. quarterlifewellness December 19, 2009 at 2:51 pm #

    Your lion king reference is too funny. The other day my bf was showing me a picture of this bumble bee and I just sang “Be Prepaaaaaaaaared!” haha. He was like WHO RANDOMLY QUOTES LION KING?!?! haha. Priceless! Glad to see I’m not the only one!!

    xoxo

  9. Jessica @ How Sweet It Is December 19, 2009 at 3:07 pm #

    Is that yogurt good? I see it all the time at WF but haven’t tried it yet.

  10. diane doesn't diet December 19, 2009 at 3:22 pm #

    Coffee in a mug that closely resembles brew? I like πŸ˜€

    Try not to compare yourselves to others…you are healthy and gorgeous, what’s there to complain about? πŸ™‚

    I hope you did well on your final & have a safe trip home!

  11. Michelle December 19, 2009 at 3:41 pm #

    YAY almost done with school! πŸ™‚ Good luck with outpatient therapy!!

  12. laurasworthlesswords December 19, 2009 at 3:46 pm #

    Ohh pistachios are my favourite nut as well! Them and almonds.
    I havent been to any such patient program so I dont know exactly what its like. Just prepare yourself to meet lots of people in various stages of recovery and try not to compare or judge yourself to them. Focus on the most important person, you!

    Good luck with your studying, xox

  13. theemptynutjar December 19, 2009 at 3:54 pm #

    Wow. wow. wow.
    You are really embracing life, you know that?
    Like you are not just going through the motions and surviving…but you are embracing life, and living it.
    Meeting people, trying new restaurants, hanging with the boyfriend, relishing family.
    Its beautiful to see that in someone. Amazing to see.
    Oh, and all I do is sleep, eat, read…etc… πŸ™‚
    Good luck on the exam.

  14. kbwood December 19, 2009 at 3:56 pm #

    SOO glad you are almost done lover!!! that is so sweet yall went on a date to UNOS- i love unos (their mini sundaes are off the chain) and i love your positive attitude towards all this-one of the main things of recovery is focusing on YOURSELF and not comparing..everybody is different! its hard not to compare, but its something we all do even though we shouldnt. (girls are bad about comparing themselves anyway) i cant wait to hear about outpatient therapy.. so proud of you girl!

  15. Molly December 19, 2009 at 4:09 pm #

    That yogurt looks awesome, Ill have to try it! Glad that you’re almost done!!! Good luck with everything!
    (I am so glad you have found someone you can talk to that you can trust, and really open up to. That is so important!)
    Happy holidays girl πŸ™‚ & good luck with everything! Im rootin for ya!

  16. Devan December 19, 2009 at 4:14 pm #

    GINGERBREAD COFFEE?? I am coming over tomorrow morning… kay.. so have an extra mug out.

    I love finding new cool local hangouts πŸ™‚ So fun. That place looks awesome! That soup.. yum!

    Hope all is well ❀ love you

  17. Jenna December 19, 2009 at 4:52 pm #

    eats look great as always! gluck on your last final, you will rock it!!

  18. Meg December 19, 2009 at 5:05 pm #

    Hoooly deliciousness! Good luck on your exam – you’ll do amazing!

    Happy almost holidays!

  19. eliza December 19, 2009 at 5:27 pm #

    hey lovie!
    great eats, that soup and wrap look and sound amazing! πŸ™‚ you are so inspiring lovie, love the title of this post, i just cant wait to be free as well! ahhh, you will be my love, promise! πŸ˜‰ and also free from school! ha i love how you call your Ed Gertrude! hehe so cute and original πŸ˜‰ !!
    about the group thing…i have been in many groups, outpatient programs and inpatient programs…it can be a bit triggering at times…mostly in IP though, because the girls are usually the sickest weight wise there, and in the worst place mentally as well… but in groups like support groups i have been to, have been pretty good, some times things other girls say or do, can be triggering or give you ideas etc…but it also has been really helpful and SUPER supportive, met loads of amazing girls who i am still friends with, and learned a lot in all the programs/centers and support groups i have gone to, good luck lovie!
    love you to bits
    xx
    Eliza

  20. determinedtoshine December 19, 2009 at 5:29 pm #

    oh wow… that soup and veggie wrap combo looks AMAZING! that boy of yours does look after you well doesnt he? i approve πŸ™‚

    good luck with your exam hun! and wooop for nearly being done with school!

    lots of love
    hannah xo

  21. Nelly December 19, 2009 at 5:33 pm #

    almost done πŸ™‚
    Kind Giveaway and just posted my new do !
    Good luck with the last days!

  22. Lexi December 19, 2009 at 5:47 pm #

    Hey girl! First off, I love your eats. So healthy, nutritious and delicious! I love that luna bar! mm! Ok, so your question about the program: first of all, it can sometimes be triggering to be around other girls with small bodies ( I know you know this ) but you’ve really gotta get your game face on and stay strong ( easier said than done ). just know: they are in the program for the same reasons you are, and they, too, are doing the same things you are doing – gaining. as for other girls in the program thinking you look fat: first of all, I’ve seen pictures of you and just to reality check- you’re not. not at all. I promise. plus, people with eating disorders have dysmorphia – meaning they’ll see you as skinnier than you really are, and probably be jealous of how you look…. sorry this comment is kinda long and honest, but that’s just how it is.

    I know you’re going to do well in the program, because you are so motivated and positive. you’ll be a really good addition to the group. SO, be as strong as I know you are and you’ll be fine. and I’m always here if you need to talk. love ya girl.

  23. Melissa S. December 19, 2009 at 6:24 pm #

    you’re almost done! yay!!!

    and i’m sure you’re going to do so great in that program and it’s going to make you so much better. you are stronger than you know!

  24. Anna December 19, 2009 at 6:33 pm #

    Good luck on the last exam, love! You can do it!

    My Saturday night is a date with the couch πŸ™‚

  25. Anna December 19, 2009 at 6:34 pm #

    Good luck on the last exam, love! You can do it!

    My Saturday night is a date with the couch πŸ™‚ I’m snowed in tonight.

  26. Nicole December 19, 2009 at 6:56 pm #

    Go into the group with an open mind and heart, that’s all you can do.

    Your eats look really good…lots of variety!

    Saturday night…hmm. Treadmill workout while watching college basketball, and then cuddling up with a Red Box impulse rental — The Ugly Truth!

    Good luck finishing up your exams! I remember how terrible finals are!

  27. Jenny December 19, 2009 at 7:22 pm #

    I knew your post title was referencing the Lion King immediately. I don’t know if I should be proud or ashamed…

    I have never been in a group setting with other ED sufferers, but even just through blogging I think the most important thing you can do is to NOT compare yourself to others. Focus on you, and the amazingly gorgeous and strong girl that you are!

  28. traynharder23 December 19, 2009 at 7:27 pm #

    omg. you HAVE to get your paws (lion king reference) on this MIX! you have to! it’s bomb diggity!

    =D

    XOXOOX

  29. Katey December 19, 2009 at 8:00 pm #

    Thank you so much for your lovely comment, :). I’m sure you can get them at whole foods. It’s the back to nature brand πŸ™‚ they do come in individual packets. I LOVE THEM!! wayyyy better than teddie grahams πŸ™‚

  30. Emily December 19, 2009 at 8:01 pm #

    Your salad looks amazing, but that veggiefeta wrap looks TO DIE FOR! πŸ˜€ Good luck with your last one!

  31. merittothecarrot December 19, 2009 at 8:11 pm #

    I had no idea Uno’s had such fantastic looking fooooood! Dayum.
    I would wish you good luck on your last exam, but I know you don’t need it πŸ˜‰ Your smart and beautiful!
    Smart enough to know that you are beautiful, and NOT fat. You are nourishing the machine that keeps you going, that allows you to do everything you do. You are nourishing your soul, making yourself a more joyous person. You are getting so much stronger. In what way, shape, or form is that “fat”? I know how you feel though… we just have to remember the facts. You’re a stunning slim bombshell!

    ❀

  32. monicaonthego.com December 19, 2009 at 8:18 pm #

    I just found your blog and read your story. I am a recovered bulimic. It is amazing how quickly it can get out of control. Good luck on your journey.

  33. nattietan December 19, 2009 at 8:37 pm #

    Good luck on your final exam! I’m squirming in excitement for the end of your last paper!! Hehe.

    I used to attend a day program when I was an in-patient and then for about a month longer after I was discharged and while I learned a lot, I have to admit that at times, it was triggering. However, I realise that triggers for me tend to occur when I am feeling psychologically and emotionally weaker, which is why the last time I was faltering, my doctor suggested I attend day program again but I declined. Thankfully I managed to turn things around.

    I think being amongst other ED patients can have its benefits and disadvantages as well but it all boils down to each individual and how they choose to perceive the situation they are in.

    I hope you make the decision that you think suits you best! x) And I’m sure you will!

    Mega-love to you gorgeous!!

    xx

  34. The Candid RD December 19, 2009 at 8:49 pm #

    mmm, such wonderful foods on this post! I love the idea of kabocha and pumpkin soup. I’m very into soups like that, yum. I also think that veggie and feta wrap looks FANTASTIC!

    HAve a great evening.

  35. tatiannalives December 19, 2009 at 9:05 pm #

    Hope all goes well with your exam.. You will be on holiday before you know it!

    Thanks again for the wonderful support you have given me. Reading through your blog reminds me of the life I know I will be gaining back as I slowly nourish myself back to health.

    Your eats look fabulous =)
    xox
    Tat

  36. Angelalovesfood December 19, 2009 at 9:21 pm #

    yummmm, everything looks good. I’ve been wanting to try that flat 100 calorie buns for some time now. But I am so stuck on eziekiel haha. Have a great weekend!

  37. katie December 19, 2009 at 9:56 pm #

    yay for almost being done!!!!! Girl where did u get that coffee? Gingerbread!!! I bet that is going to be so good!!! I love Uno!!! That place is so good, great pick too, veggie wrap!!! Have a great night!!! xoxoxo

  38. Melinda December 19, 2009 at 10:03 pm #

    Those Christmas coffees look yummy!

    My Saturday night is watching t.v. with the hubby πŸ˜€

  39. jocelynsteiber December 19, 2009 at 10:05 pm #

    Definitely don’t miss that about college! I hated studying. I have such a short attention span I never understood those people who could spend days in the library! Good luck with your final exam.

    Happy Holidays : )

    xo

    http://peacelovenutrition.wordpress.com/

  40. burpexcuzme December 19, 2009 at 10:33 pm #

    Lol, you are just too much like me..I was blogging and watching TV shows late into the wee morning the day of my final exams…sigh…

    I didn’t know Uno’s had such great food! Cool!

  41. Rachael December 19, 2009 at 10:39 pm #

    Lion King reference? … Girl, you know the way into my heart! Not gonna lie, I’ve def. got that tune on my ipod πŸ˜‰
    It can be really difficult to stay focused on yourself and not get triggered. Try your hardest to look past their physical appearance and remember the unhappiness and anxiety that comes with how they look. And most importantly, that at the end of the day regardless of how everyone else is doing, what you’re doing is what really matters… And that’s kicking some major Gertrude butt!

    Rachael*

  42. blueeyedheart December 19, 2009 at 11:00 pm #

    It’s definitely hard to avoid focusing on other people, but just try to remember why you’re doing this… it’s for you.

    Hope your final went well!

    ❀ ❀

  43. julie December 19, 2009 at 11:02 pm #

    awww sounds like you’ve had some great eats! i definitely wanna give unos a try especially after seeing this veggie wrap so much! enjoy you’re night girl πŸ™‚

  44. The voracious Vegan December 20, 2009 at 6:03 am #

    I LOVE The Lion King, that is one of my all time favorites, isn’t it great?

    Congrats on being almost done, how exciting!

    ALL of your food looks scrumptious but that thick and creamy pumpkin soup is calling my name!!! Looks lovely!

  45. Missy Maintains December 20, 2009 at 9:58 am #

    Yay so glad you liked that wrap at Uno! I almost went there last night again! I must try that soup next time! Hope you did great on your exam!

  46. Naomi(onefitfoodie) December 20, 2009 at 11:16 am #

    i have got to get to unos! I can’t believe they have kabocha soup!! wow, they have really stepped up their game since I have last been there! and I have seen that wrap on missy’s blog too, looks great, i am glad you enjoyed it πŸ™‚

    local coffee shops are the best, teh coffee is great and so is the atmosphere and hellooooo insane oatmeal flavors!

  47. Biochemista December 20, 2009 at 11:29 am #

    Good luck on your last exam!!! I LOVE the feeling of being completely done with exams πŸ™‚

    Oh, I recently ate at Uno’s and had their soup….amazing!!!

    -Lauren
    http://www.Biochemista.com

  48. Karin December 20, 2009 at 12:06 pm #

    Oh I love that you quoted Lion King! It’s my favourite Disney movie πŸ™‚
    Your eats look amazing, I SO want to try sabars hummus ;).
    Good luck with your last exam!

  49. candice December 20, 2009 at 2:25 pm #

    “The Lion King” is definitely one of the best animated Disney films ever. Such a classic story, and great music, too πŸ˜‰

    There’s kabocha soup at Uno’s?! That’s something I never would have expected. Icelandic skyr is delicious, but yeah, I don’t buy it very often because it’s not sold in huge tubs πŸ˜•

    Happy Sunday love :]

  50. Simply Life December 20, 2009 at 2:55 pm #

    I like that you used the thin bun – I’ve never tried those!

  51. imaginenamaste December 20, 2009 at 5:25 pm #

    Congrats on no more finals….I hope you have a good break….

    ….my only advice for others around you….I’ve asked myself the same questions and I’ve had to remind myself that they are probably wondering the same things and the things that are going through my head are probably or have done through theirs! But, it is hard–be honest there about your concerns!

  52. Heather December 20, 2009 at 7:24 pm #

    Hey sweetie!

    The key to recovery is focusing on YOUR mind, YOUR body, and YOUR soul. People will always be there to tackle you down. There will always be “frenemies” in your midst. It is up to you to muster up all that strength that I know you have and take control of your life. When I was in outpatient therapy, I thought the same thing. How will I NOT relapse with all these thinspos in my midst? But in the end, it all came together because of my faith, committment to health, and committment to exercise. You can do the same Shelley! [:

    Love,
    Heather

  53. Jess December 20, 2009 at 10:28 pm #

    Awesome variety of food! It all looks so good!

    YAY for being done (I’m assuming!) Congrats!
    ❀ jess
    xoxo

  54. Bekah December 21, 2009 at 1:51 am #

    Oo I love Siggi’s! Super expensive, but the amount of protein/thickness in those little tubs is outrageous. Have a safe trip home my dear, and I hope your last final went well!

    xoxo

  55. Laura December 21, 2009 at 8:20 am #

    That soup looks OUT of this world!!

  56. Deirdre December 21, 2009 at 11:12 am #

    I ❀ the Lion King! Well, all things Disney, to be honest!

    I am in a somewhat same situation as you are- potential Partial Hospitalization, but I'm not sure what good it will do for me as I just spend my days comparing myself to others… I need to learn how to worry about myself! Easier said than done.

    ~Deirdre

  57. lowandbhold December 21, 2009 at 11:47 am #

    Good luck with your outpatient therapy girl! I’ll be thinking about you.

    All of the eats in this post look killer, but I’m in LOVE with that coffee shop. So cute!

  58. Ada December 21, 2009 at 5:05 pm #

    Congrats on almost being done!!! All of your eats look fantastic, by the way:)

Leave a Reply

