Kefir Kraazy & Sake Bombs

16 Dec

Morning Loves!

i’m beyond elated right now! i’m done with psychology. While I loved the course, psych 202 is like the most rigorous course at my school and it feels sooo good to be done πŸ™‚ yay. Now I just hope i did well!

Also, I just got back from a meeting with my nutritionist here on campus. She is the one who weighs me and all that jazz. It went so well! My weight is significantly higher than the last time she saw me, which was about a month ago, and she also gave me a structured meal plan. This meal plan works in a way that I am very comfortable with. I just have to make sure I get the appropriate number of carbohydrates, fats, proteins, dairy/milk, extras, etc. each day. She said i’ve been doing a great job with what i’ve been doing and also that I can probably just drink one ensure plus a day =) i’d much rather eat delicious food so that made me happy.

My eats have been muy delicioso the past couple days.

Monday began with a standard yogurt messs

hit the spot!

Lunch was a winner on Monday for sure! I finally switched things up a bit!

First of all, it featured Kefir. I wanted to try this after hearing bloggers like Allie and Missy talk about it! I added some equal and strawberries to it. LOVED IT πŸ™‚

Also, my cafeteria was serving vegan boca burgers! So i got a boca burger and put it on an earth grain thin & I added mushrooms, tomatoes, & spinach. I also had some pretzel thins with hummus–> yum

It was extremely satisfying/filling.

For a snack I tried a new bar that I bought at my last Whole Foods adventure πŸ™‚ I had to buy it when I read the flavor- apricot pumpkin!

This bar was very moist. I actually liked it alot though, despite its strange texture! I could taste the pumpkin seeds and it was really good/unique.

Dinner was quick because I was studying but I got a REALLY amazing grilled whole wheat wrap with turkey, feta, and lots of veggies.

i also had an apple & some Food Should Taste Good Buffalo Chips!

These chips were good, but spicy!! I am so happy I found out my cafeteria has grilled wraps. They use PAM and stick it in a panini maker thing… and the warmth makes the wrap so much better πŸ™‚ I also had diet snapple green tea– it was really good.

Tuesday I needed a lift in the morning because I was feelin’ a bit stressed about psych. So what did I do? Obvs made my breakfast smile!!

2 packets instant plain oats, a banana, peanut butter, and chocolate chips! yumm. perfection. so filling & happy haha.

For lunch I had a grilled wrap with turkey & swiss cheese. I ordered it online & they messed it up by using a plain tortilla.. oh well, some simple carbs won’t kill me! I also had some sunchips and an apple

My snack featured KEFIR again πŸ™‚ I had some kefir topped with cascadian’s cinnamon crunch cereal & added cinnamon

i’m officially a kefir loverr. I like how it is like a smoothie version of greek yogurt! Highly recommended πŸ™‚

Me and two of my girl friends decided to celebrate our psych exam being over by going to a japanese restaurant called Takara and doing some sake bombs! I know we should be studying, but hear me out, I have one exam left and it is on Saturday!

I ordered a chicken teriyaki meal that came w/ miso soup & salad.

Sake bombs were so fun!

and then we went to a bar and were definitely the only ones there… it was pretty hilarious.

so that’s my life right now. the next few days are studying & Β then exam Saturday & then home! Can’t believe it.


I’m getting super excited for break & all that is ahead of me! I feel like I am doing pretty well and things should genuinely start to go up from here. I’m ready to fight the Gertrude despite the fact that i’m very close to a 18.5 BMI.

Also, the lovely Jenna was kind of enough to award me with this

I feel so honored πŸ™‚ Thanks hun!

Here are 7 random facts about me, in case you were wonderin’

1. Sushi is my favorite food ever. Pre-Gertrude you could easily find me downing 3 rolls & a salad.

2. I tend to say embarassing things like “the bomb dot com” and “whatevs”

3. I am kind of irritable- i hate when people chew loudly– especially gum or popcorn!

4. Gardner and I are having our 2 year in March!!

5. I played field hockey in high school & I was strictly left forward.. loved to get goals off the post πŸ™‚

6. Running is a newfound passion- hated it when I had to do it- love the release it gives me.

7. Jack Johnson = life. He is amazing!

& I’m supposed to pass this on to 7 others so here it goess:

Lexi, Sam, Lo, Hillary, Bekah, Diane, and Emily!

This is totally random… I TRULY love all you bloggies the samee!


Have a great hump day

xoxooxox

Shelleyβ™₯


46 Responses to “Kefir Kraazy & Sake Bombs”

  1. Jessica @ How Sweet It Is December 16, 2009 at 11:33 am #

    Great job on your eats!! πŸ™‚

  2. Diane Doesn't Diet December 16, 2009 at 11:49 am #

    Aw, thank you so much for tagging me! You’re such a sweetheart. I’ve never done sake bombs before…new goal? Hahaha. CONGRATS on getting your weight up and being so positive lately! We all love ya and have faith in you πŸ™‚

  3. Emily (http://funnyemily.wordpress.com) December 16, 2009 at 11:51 am #

    eee thanks so much passing to me πŸ™‚
    i may follow you on the kefir train dear, looks like a great snack! hopefully i’ll get to whole foods soon to get some
    wonderful eats!
    big hooray for the gain girl! and i really love that you aren’t letting it stop you from fighting gertrude! you are the bomb (total reference to the sake bombs, haha)!
    happy hump day!
    xoxo

  4. VeggieGirl December 16, 2009 at 12:04 pm #

    Congratulations on finishing and getting healthier! πŸ™‚

  5. julia December 16, 2009 at 12:11 pm #

    Good job girl, don’t forget to keep going/pushing/challenging yourself, you’re doing great!

    And did I see the carrot/ginger dressing on that japanese salad? My favorite!;)

    xxx Julia (Taste of Living)

  6. katie December 16, 2009 at 12:23 pm #

    I am so happy you are doing so well and staying so positive, this post made my day!!! What amazing eats!! I love the oatmeal smiley, so cute!!!!

    Sake Bombs rock!!!!

    I LOVE sushi too!!!!! I can down three rolls and I love me some seaweed salad!!!

    I love Jack Johnson!!!!!!!!! omg!!! Better when were together is my fiance and I’s song!! It fits us!!!!

    Yay for sushi and Jack Johnson!!!!! Hahaha!!!

    Have a great week girl!! You will be on break soon!!!!!!

  7. MelissaNibbles December 16, 2009 at 12:33 pm #

    I love sushi!!

    Glad to hear the meeting went well with your counselor at school. Keep your head up!

  8. Jenny December 16, 2009 at 12:34 pm #

    aw baby you are such a star! I am so ridicously proud of your amazing progress πŸ™‚ and yay for no more ensures! I loved when I was able to swap out my boosts for foooooood. Go you!!!!

    congrats on finishing up pysch, gorgeous! Enjoy what’s left of your week πŸ™‚

    p.s jack johnson makes me melt!

  9. quarterlifewellness December 16, 2009 at 12:36 pm #

    I LOVE food should taste good chips, they def don’t last long at my house!!

    I am having a girls sushi night tonight too! I’m super excited.

    And you should feel really lucky about some of that food at your cafeteria, it’s a VAST improvement from the dorm food I had just 6 years ago in college (OMG I was a freshman 6 years ago, thats insane!!) ha.

    Have a fabulous day dear!! Congrats on making it through psych!

  10. Molly December 16, 2009 at 12:40 pm #

    I put keifr right on top of my oats. Its SO good! Tryit!

  11. chocolate pickle December 16, 2009 at 1:07 pm #

    Those buffalo chips look so good! I have been meaning to try them and think I’ll pick them up when I finish my current back of FSTG chips:)

    Happy Wednesday!!

  12. theemptynutjar December 16, 2009 at 1:26 pm #

    Congrats on the exam girlie.
    Your cafeteria offers you wonderful food, you are very fortunate!
    Glad you had a good nutritionist appointment, I have always had poor-success with nutritionists and basically gave up on them personally. But wonderful that you are finding what works for you πŸ™‚
    so jealous you can run 😦
    I have been walking for a year, and the “road is long” as the song goes in terms of how long I will be walking before any “real” exercise beyond a walk….suck it up and move on I suppose. Have a good day πŸ™‚

    • shell625 December 16, 2009 at 1:28 pm #

      i can’t run!! but hopefully soon i can πŸ™‚

  13. Angelalovesfood December 16, 2009 at 1:31 pm #

    I love your post, youre making me hungry for something nutritious. I’ve been wanting to try Kefir, but I always always convince my self not to buy it. I saw the Branberry Brulee Kefir the other day, but didn’t get it!

  14. rebecca December 16, 2009 at 1:38 pm #

    YOU are a rock star. Not that you didn’t know that already, hehe. CONGRATS– I know how vigorous psych classes can be, so I understand the need for some sake bombs.. P.S. I’ve never tried one! Hmm… ha.

    Where did you find Kefir? I’m interested!
    have a TERRIFIC day!
    xo

  15. One Healthy Apple December 16, 2009 at 1:47 pm #

    I’m so excited that you are doing so well! You are working very hard and kicking major Gertrude bootay!

    Congrats on your upcoming 2 years and sushi is my favorite too! I could eat it every day and be happy, but my wallet would not be!

    Good luck with finishing out the semester, amiga!

  16. Melinda December 16, 2009 at 1:51 pm #

    Congrats on the positive meeting with your nutritionist- you’re doing so great! πŸ˜€

    And I love Kefir too-you can use it for so many different things- I love putting it in my smoothies!

  17. Katelyn December 16, 2009 at 2:20 pm #

    congrats on finishing your psych course! that’s my major, so i know the material can be tough πŸ™‚
    love the food too. i currently have kefir in my fridge, and i also really like prana bars and that brand of chips. we must have good taste πŸ™‚

  18. blueeyedheart December 16, 2009 at 2:20 pm #

    Congratulations on the awesome appointment with your nutritionist — you’re amazing! πŸ™‚

    Love the breakfast smile, haha πŸ˜‰

    ❀ ❀

  19. homecookedem December 16, 2009 at 2:49 pm #

    I’ve never tried kefir, but it sure does look interesting! I wish my college dining hall had served cool stuff like vegan boca burgers!! How cool is that?!

  20. Naomi (onefitfoodie) December 16, 2009 at 2:51 pm #

    hahaha the bomb dot com=love that!!! you are doing so great shelley and really trying so many new foods, I want to try those food should taste good chips! I keep hearing about them and they come in so many delish flavors!

    how fun is sake bombing? we used to go once a week in college to this one hole in teh wall place that had them for 5 bucks each!! so much fun!

    you are so close to being done yay!

    I played field hockey in HS too, loved it πŸ™‚

  21. ~Jessica~ December 16, 2009 at 3:07 pm #

    Glad the meeting with the nutritionist went well ~ sounds like you have a very well-balanced and flexible plan and I am sure with your determination it will work out for you.

    I hate loud chewing as well…seriously! I have to leave the room when someone is doing it and if I can’t get away…well, it’s driven me to tears on some occasions!

    The things you say aren’t embarrassing ~ they’re what make you ‘you’. Nothing to be ashamed of at all and you should hear some of the quirky phrases I use..then wonder why no-one understands me πŸ˜‰

    ❀

    xoxo

  22. Allie (Live Laugh Eat) December 16, 2009 at 3:44 pm #

    YES!! Of course you would love kefir–it’s amazing!!! Now you gotta try it all the different ways πŸ™‚

  23. Katey December 16, 2009 at 4:19 pm #

    hey girl! so I was wondering.. do you eat all your foods in the caf?! I’m going to college next year.. and I’m a little worried about eating healthy in college! your meals look fab, so it would be wonderful to know if you make your own or eat theirs πŸ™‚

  24. kbwood December 16, 2009 at 4:59 pm #

    loved reading those thangs about you! YAY for 2 years!! me and my boo are having our 2 years in Jan πŸ™‚

    ok i seriously need to find Kefir ASAP.. im seeing it EVERYWHERE

    and yay to be done w. psych 202! i took that one..it def WAS NOT fun..they get so much more interesting after that

    you=amazing

  25. lowandbhold December 16, 2009 at 5:31 pm #

    That’s awesome that your meeting with your nutritionist went so well! I’m so happy for you!!

  26. Lexi December 16, 2009 at 5:53 pm #

    Thanks for the award m’dear! And congratulations on receiving it πŸ™‚ You totally deserve it, you are beautiful inside and out. I am SO proud of you for your positive nutrish appointment! You are amazing. Keep strong and continue pushing towards your dreams. you are getting closer and closer!

    And yes, we can definitely definitely meet up when you get back! can’t wait!

    Love,
    Lex

  27. Jenna December 16, 2009 at 5:59 pm #

    is kefir like milk?! looks pretty interesting!
    your wraps and boca burgers look great and that is so cool how you can order your food online at school!
    jenna

  28. Anna December 16, 2009 at 6:00 pm #

    Woohoo you go girl! Yeah healthy BMI!!!!

    I totally am on the same page with you concerning the talented Mr. Jack Johnson; his music makes me melt!

  29. chocolate pickle December 16, 2009 at 6:17 pm #

    haha, I can’t believe you know the coastie song guy! TOO funny! I find it hilarious too- I don’t really get why people would be offended, but apparently some people have!! Crazy:)

  30. merittothecarrot December 16, 2009 at 6:30 pm #

    So glad you are doing well with the meal plan & such! That’s fantastic. As is your smiley breakfast. You make me smile!

    I think you tagged me for the BB Award, but the link isn’t working….. regardless, THANK YOU. You are so kind and I love you!

  31. Simply Life December 16, 2009 at 7:54 pm #

    yum! your breakfast looks so good! I still have yet to try kefir but it might just be time πŸ™‚

  32. The Candid RD December 16, 2009 at 8:22 pm #

    I love kefir. I drink it everyday! I put about 1 T of unsweetened cocoa powder in the bottle, with about 2 t Truvia, and shake, shake, shake. Then it’s like thick chocolate milk. Or, running ice cream (ewww). But so good!

  33. Jess December 16, 2009 at 9:45 pm #

    Congrats on the very deserved award πŸ™‚

    Love your eats, girl! That bar looks really good, as does everything else πŸ™‚

    ❀ jess
    xoxo

  34. traynharder23 December 16, 2009 at 10:14 pm #

    hey we both had yogurt messes…thus. we are BOMB.

  35. Kris | iheartwellness.com December 16, 2009 at 11:22 pm #

    You always have fancy yummy looking bars πŸ˜‰ You are my “bar girl” LOL!

    I was reading your post and love your 7 random facts!! That is really fun!

    Love you!

  36. Hillary December 16, 2009 at 11:55 pm #

    Congrats on finishing up your psych class and good luck with the rest of your final exams. Question: If you’re a freshman in college (18/19 years old?), how are you able to drink alcohol in public? Just curious.

  37. Bekah December 17, 2009 at 12:19 am #

    Ooooh sushi is my most fave too. And I haven’t had it in forever. Boo. Have not tried kefir either- something on my list to try. πŸ™‚

    Thanks for tagging me babe- I’ll think of it before my next post. Another thing, thank you so much for your sweet comment on my last post, about inspiring you. Seriously made my day.

    XOXO

  38. Devan December 17, 2009 at 3:09 am #

    i looove your smiley oats! way too cute ❀
    Sake Bombs=the shizz.
    sushi. = love.sex.magic!

  39. Angie December 17, 2009 at 7:24 am #

    Beautiful meals!!

    Sounds like you are making such good progress – congratulations!

    And, ooh- I haven’t seen those buffalo chips- I’ll have to find them!

  40. imaginenamaste December 17, 2009 at 9:54 am #

    Congrats on your finals–one paper left to turn in here! Your wrap looks so yummy–it looks like one I used to get on my campus before the place closed. It was amazing.

  41. Lauren December 17, 2009 at 12:35 pm #

    Yay for being done!! Congrats girl!

    PS- Jack Johnson is amazing! πŸ™‚

  42. snackface December 17, 2009 at 2:05 pm #

    Honey, look how amazingly you’re doing! I love hearing that your appointment went swimmingly! I totally get the preferring to eat than drink yo shake πŸ˜‰

    If you sat in my cubicle, you would go nuts. The chick next to me is the worst chewer in the world, and she LOVES crunchy food. I can tell she chews with her mouth open just by how it sounds. So disgusting.

    Hope the end of your week is FAB!!! xoxo

  43. Foodie (Fab and Delicious Food) December 17, 2009 at 8:07 pm #

    Glad your meeting with the nutritionist went well!

    Congrats on the blog award!

    So exciting that your 2 year anniversary is coming up! How sweet!

  44. Alysia Ruffin January 5, 2010 at 11:40 am #

    Cool. Thank you for this!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. It’s raining granola! « Beek Eats! - December 25, 2009

    […] of Averie, both she and Shelley in the past two weeks kindly honored me with the Beautiful Blogger award, in which every one of you […]

Leave a Reply

