Stronger

12 Dec

Wishing you all a VERY Happy Chanukah!!

My favorite Chanukah memory is watching Rugrats Chanukah every year as a child πŸ™‚

what a classic!

Well, I am beyond ecstatic to report that my camera charger finally arrived VIA UPS. I have literally been bugging the front desk people every day about it because it was sent like a week ago! I guess the 17 inches of snow caused slow down in deliveries.. haha.

I don’t really know where to start with this because i have some old eat pictures & no new ones yet so i suppose i’ll share with you some of my old ones that were delicious!!

This yogurt mess featured this babyy

complete with pumpkin butter, dark chocolate dreams, kashi go lean, & bananaa πŸ™‚ perfection

I also had a DELICIOUS dinner at my favorite restaurant in Madison, or at least one of them, Sunroom Cafe!

It was grilled salmon with steamed veggies & potatoes!!

& froyo was eaten at some point.. complete with raspberries & chocolate chips

& other then that.. wayyy too much time has passed to even begin to fill you all in, but here is an example of what my hall looked like for the hall decorating competition!

i had very little to do with the decorating, but i definitely enjoyed it!

Well I am pumped to become a regular blogger again now & I will be sure to have a normal post again very soon! But I am busy because I have my psych final Tuesday.. soo scared..it’s hard.

Ok, so i was thinking about blogging, my blog, life, etc. (haha i know very broad) & I realized I have a goal that I think will kind of help me in my recovery.

One day, I want to say bye-bye to this blog! I know, it is so early to say that because I just started. But… hear me out. I want, one day soon, to be recovered & then, when that day comes, to leave this blog behind & start a new one! I read so many blogs of women who are so inspirational with their healthy & well balanced lifestyles, and I really am going to strive to be like that. Nutrition & fitness are two things I truly am interested in and I want to one day be a role model to other girls in how to live a healthy, well-balanced lifestyle. I know I can achieve this and with each day I feel like I am getting stronger. This journey is incredibly difficult & just beginning, but as I have learned.. time truly flies. I know one day I will look back at this with bittersweet feelings. Bitter, because this disease is terrible & truly changed my life. But sweet, because there is so much to be learned from something like this.

It will make me stronger.

I hope you all have AMAZING Saturdays & I will be posting again soon!! Tomorrow is going to be a day of studying… & more studying.. & then a birthday dinner at Frida’s for my roommate… & then more studying… haha

xoxooxoxo

Shelleyβ™₯


Question: What have you gone through in your life that has made you stronger even if it was difficult at the time?

34 Responses to “Stronger”

  1. solclare December 12, 2009 at 4:41 am #

    Wow the grilled salmon looks so good! I’d love to have some, :D.

    Tak, I’m so looking forward to your new blog! That’s a really awesome “goal” of yours. Jiayou (means ‘all the best’ in chinese, haha)!

  2. tatiannalives December 12, 2009 at 6:18 am #

    Thank god for UPS πŸ˜› Your yogurt mess looks deeeelish. I am very jealous you have that flavor x_x We have nothing like that here in Canada!

    I think a ‘transformation’ of your blog is amazing incentive to get better. I read a lot of the healthy lifestyle blogs out there too, and one day I hope to make the change!

    As for my strength, experiencing the loss of my so-called best friend at the time was completely heart-wrenching and I still emotionally struggle with this. However, it made me stronger and more independent. I know now that I can stand on my own two feel and count on myself.

    xox
    Tat

  3. Lauren December 12, 2009 at 6:47 am #

    Hey girly! OMG, I LOVED that Ruggrats episode! πŸ™‚

    And I have the same yogurt in my fridge right now waiting to try. I’m glad you liked it because I wasn’t sure. I wasn’t a big fan of the Stonyfield farm Pumpkin Pie flavor (weird, I know because I LOVE anything pumpkin) so I was hoping this one would be better!

    Have a great weekend hun! πŸ˜‰

  4. julia December 12, 2009 at 6:57 am #

    A new blog is a wonderful goal…hope you’ll have that really soon:)

    xxx Julia (Taste of Living)

  5. VeggieGirl December 12, 2009 at 7:24 am #

    Happy Chanukah!

  6. Katey December 12, 2009 at 7:50 am #

    I went through pretty much the same thing you did! It has made me so much more aware, and let me to my future career! have a happy Chanukah!

  7. Jessica @ How Sweet It Is December 12, 2009 at 8:02 am #

    A new blog is a great goal, girl!!

  8. Nelly December 12, 2009 at 8:04 am #

    You will get there girl! The whole thing is eating to live and eating in moderation. Exercise is good for your health and to be enjoyed πŸ™‚ Make it fun and NOT a chore.
    Life is a journey and you are on the right track.
    in the meantime you got SYNERGY coupon coming πŸ™‚

  9. MelissaNibbles December 12, 2009 at 8:19 am #

    I think that’s a very reasonable goal. I’m sure you’ll reach it very soon.

    The pumpkin pie yogurt mess? I die!

    Happy Chanukah to you!

  10. Emily (http://funnyemily.wordpress.com) December 12, 2009 at 8:46 am #

    i totally grew up on rugrats, loved ever episode πŸ™‚
    happy chanukah!!
    you know i really love your goal, and i know you will be able to achieve it!
    ah the hall looks great!! so festive πŸ™‚
    happy saturday, hope studying doesn’t stress you out as much as it does for me!
    xoxo

  11. theemptynutjar December 12, 2009 at 8:49 am #

    Shelley, you are so amazing you know that?
    First off, that Rugrats show was on recently I think, I only caught a glimpse.
    Secondly, yeah, I feel the same way…when I started my blog I did not want to get personal (and I still am slightly vague), but now I find myself delving deeper into personal thoughts and affirmations….I like my blog to an extent, of course when you create something you tend to grow on the title and look, etc….but I feel like I need to write in that blog the way I am right now…and that in the future i will be different and THEN i will start a new one…
    tough challenges? This past year and this following year will be a challenge like no other…keep being positive. Its good to hear.

  12. katie December 12, 2009 at 8:52 am #

    You rock girl and are beautiful inside and out!!! Don’t ever forget that!!! I will look forward to your new blog!!!!! Mmmmm I love that Pumpkin Pie Yogurt, it’s so good, they have a sugar cookie flavor one too, I got it in my fridge but have not ate it yet!!! Have a wonderful weekend!! Glad your camera charger came finally!!!! xoxoxo

  13. blueberrymuffins December 12, 2009 at 9:03 am #

    Happy Chanukah!
    Good luck with your goals! You are a strong girl πŸ™‚
    My back injury has been the hardest! But I am getting better every single day πŸ™‚

    I have a lovely weekend!

  14. homecookedem December 12, 2009 at 9:34 am #

    I think the idea of starting a new blog is a great idea! It will set the stage for a fresh start!! πŸ™‚

    Happy Chanukah to you and your family!!

  15. anonymous December 12, 2009 at 9:58 am #

    Happy Chanukah!!! And thats a great goal!! You are so strong and motivated it is truly something to look up to πŸ™‚ Good luck on your psych final!

  16. candice December 12, 2009 at 10:01 am #

    Yay! Pictures! :] And holy cow, SEVENTEEN inches of snow?! 😯 That’s crazy! Right now, I’m just wishing for a white Christmas… Any opinions about how the Target brand of pumpkin pie yogurt compares with Stonyfield? Even though the pumpkin pie flavor for the latter is already gone… 😦

    I look forward to the day where you make a post with a link to your new blog πŸ™‚ Happy Chanukah, and keep at it!

  17. traynharder23 December 12, 2009 at 10:16 am #

    looking forward to the new blog! =D
    um hard shit in my life: going through anorexia and coming out of it without having gone through IP.

    having my dad move to live in taiwan when i was a sophomore in highschool.

  18. merittothecarrot December 12, 2009 at 10:32 am #

    Your hall blows my mind. Love it πŸ˜‰

    A new blog = Good thing. I did the same… I mean, the name is still the same, but I deleted all of the posts I had accumulated since May and took a break from blogging… and now I’m back! I don’t talk about ED at all in the blog, and it’s so liberating πŸ™‚

    Both fracturing my spine and going through my parent’s divorce definitely made me stronger.

  19. kbwood December 12, 2009 at 10:57 am #

    SO true girl- you are going to become sooo much stronger, and you already are whether you know it or not..it really is an amazing/difficult/beautiful journey.. i know this sounds weird-but try to enjoy every minute and make the BEST of it..look at all the blessings in stead of the negative aspects

    you hall is AMAZING! and pp yogurt? gota find me somea dat!!

    have a GREAT SATURDAY beautiful..love ya girlfrand!

  20. Jenna December 12, 2009 at 10:58 am #

    i hear ya girl on all the studying!!
    jenna

  21. diane doesn't diet December 12, 2009 at 11:01 am #

    Your hall looks cute!! Did you guys win anything?

    I totally agree with you on your new-blog thing, and I think it’s a great goal to aim for πŸ™‚

    Good luck with your psych test & have a great weekend!

    • shell625 December 12, 2009 at 12:01 pm #

      yeah we won a pizza party- haha πŸ™‚

  22. Naomi(onefitfoodie) December 12, 2009 at 12:33 pm #

    you are so great girl, you are motivated and dedicated and you are already an inspiration!

    happy hannukah!!! yay, are you getting anything exciting that you know of??

    have a great weekend gal xoxox

  23. Jenny December 12, 2009 at 12:45 pm #

    best rugrats episode ever!

    I love your determination and ambition in recovery, girl! You possess so much beauty and inner strength and I have no doubt that you will beat this disease!! You are a fighter, hun πŸ™‚ Love you!

  24. Melinda December 12, 2009 at 1:23 pm #

    So jealous of that yummy froyo!

    And I think the new blog is an awesome goal- something to look forward to! πŸ˜€

  25. Julie @savvyeats December 12, 2009 at 1:25 pm #

    Happy Chanukah to you too! My dad’s family is Jewish and my mom’s is Christian, so we celebrate both December holidays πŸ™‚

    I love your “new blog” goal!!

  26. laurasworthlesswords December 12, 2009 at 2:36 pm #

    Happy Chanukah!!!
    I love your ideas for a new blog later on in your recovery, since this is a blog about your recovery its only makes sense that as you progress it will gradually progress as well to other things :-), I think its a great idea and something to really work towards.

    I used to love the Rugrats, I havent seen them in years!

    xoxo

  27. chocolate pickle December 12, 2009 at 5:48 pm #

    A new blog with a different focus is a great goal to have! I’m jealous of your fro yo right now…..there’s no decent place in milwaukee to get any!! Argh!

    I have gone through a lot of the things you are dealing with right now and it changed my life for years and probably forever….but as I keep going, I realize how much I have learned and that I have made it through some pretty rough times! If you can make it through this on top (which I KNOW you can) then you can make it through anything:) It’s a tough disease to beat, partly because many people don’t understand it or don’t see it as a serious disease…..you’re doing awesome!!

    Good luck studying!!!!!

  28. Bekah December 12, 2009 at 7:10 pm #

    Mmm salmon and fro yo! Two of my faves.
    And Shelley- even though your blog is FOR your ED, doesn’t mean those ladies who are so inspiring have their issues too. Its something I struggle with a lot, because I read their blogs, and think “wow, they have it soo together!” but maybe they just don’t post about their inner struggles. Just a thought.

    But someday you will have a new blog, and I cannot wait for that day my dear!

  29. izzy December 12, 2009 at 9:11 pm #

    Hey hun, thanks for the lovely comment! I came over to your blog and saw the pumpkin yoghurt and was like “YUP I like this chick” ; ) I wish we had that here!!

    I know what you mean about moving away from blogging one day. Right now, I just find that writing and reading the blogs is so theraputic – I love it : )

    izzyy
    xx

  30. rebecca lustig December 12, 2009 at 9:57 pm #

    Happy Channukah, my dear!
    I’m LOVING your optimism and certainty that you WILL recover and move on from this blog. That’s a beautiful, inspiring goal.

    You’re a rock star ❀
    bec xo

  31. lillizzy December 12, 2009 at 10:47 pm #

    hang in there girl, because the hardest thing i’ve gone through is recovery, but making successes is the most satisfying and rewarding things you can do-because-it lets you LIVE!

  32. Carly in wonderland December 13, 2009 at 12:50 am #

    Oh my god!!! the rugrats!!! haha I learned all about the Jewish religion through that show! Well, happy “chanukah”! πŸ™‚

    ED has made me so much stronger! It was hell but I would never change a thing. It’s shaped me and made me who I am.

    That pumpkin pie yogurt looks divine! I think I will add it to my shopping list.

  33. Melissa December 14, 2009 at 9:48 am #

    I don’t think you should think of it as being able to leave this blog and start a new one. Your ED will be something that was part of your life, no matter how far into recovery you are. But that’s totally ok. Acknowledge your past and just keep blogging about how you’re growing, recovering, still struggling, just everything that life hands you!

    Loved Rugrats when I was younger!

Leave a Reply

