My Thanksgiving Post

29 Nov

Recap!

clearly just about every blogger has their standard thanksgiving post… so I suppose this is mine!

Being home has felt absolutely amazing. I”ve seriously enjoyed every second spent resting, relaxing, sleeping in my bed, having a reallll kitchen, seein some old familiar faces, and of course..shopping!

Thanksgiving Day started out with this delicious bowl of messiness.

& then my cousins came over to begin the cooking craziness!! I managed to squeeze in a pretty delectable lunch featuring an amy’s meatless burger and munster cheese, kashi crackers, & a honeycrisp!

This was my first year experiencing the chaoticness of thanksgiving cooking..the whole turkey thing FREAKED me outt

and apparently my mom too? hahahah love her.

We set a beautiful Thanksgiving table

My Mom always makes muffins for the thanksgiving table & this eyar was no different. They were cranberry pumpkin– AMAZING.

Another tradition in my family is oranges with cranberry turkeys on them! … not sure why, but I love it!

I managed to sneak a pic of my plate– i tried a bit of everything and yes, I was stressed and yes, I felt that everyone was watching me to make sure I was eating..but I survived. & the food was GOOD!

so that’s my platee and on it you’ll find some turkey, mashed taters, vegetarian stuffing (my sister is a vegetarian), sweet potato casserole (omg amazing), & cranberries. I went back for seconds on the sweet potato casserole. I also had a sliver of pumpkin pie that went unpictured. It was a delicious meal and though I definitely overindulged, I was able to have some sort of comfort with it and tried my hardest to enjoy myself.

The next day I slept in until about 12 and woke up to a biggg bowl of oat bran & was sad to not get a pick :(.

Then, despite my avid denial to enter into Black Friday madness, I was convinced by mi madre.. & it was fun! While out, I snacked on this bar, Kashi Go Lean Cruncy chocolate pretzel- I was pretty impressed with it. I thought it had a great taste & it was filling.

I thnk my best buy was this adorable pair of booties!

I then went to dinner with my parents at a mediterranean restaurant and wasn’t able to get pictures but I had a delicious cup of butternut squash & a greek salad with salmon.

My friend had a party last night & it was great to catch up with old friends πŸ™‚

I slept in until about 12:30 today & so missed breakfastt.

lunch was turkey on whole wheat with muenster cheese, reduced fat cheezits, a honeycrisp apple, some carrots dipped in hummus, and a glass of chocolate milk !

For a snack, I ate a spooky s’mores bar that I found & I loved it! Dinner was with Gar & his family at a country club & it was amazing, I had butternut squash soup, seared scallops, brussel sprouts & some dark chocolate gelato split with gardner. I didn’t take pictures though… it would have been awkward! haha

Then tonight I had some of my girl friends form high school over & it was great to catch up, reminisce, gossip, & all the other thing’s girls do.

Tomorrow morning I head home & luckily I am flying with Gardner this time ! We have a 3 hour layover in Milwaukee 😦 but i think it’ll be fine because we’ll just get lunch, do some school work, etc.

This break has taught me a few things & I just thought i’d share some of the things I learned since i’ve been home

1. I have people here who care about me, love me, & want the best for me. I was told by so many people from my past that they think that I would be happier, healthier, and more beautiful at a higher weight. Honesty went a long way for me mentally this week.

2. I like food… a lot. I like to eat, so why was i being so restrictive? Enjoying a good meal without restriction is normal & healthy. I hope one day I can do that without feeling a hint of guilt.

3. New beginnings are exciting, but your roots are important. I love school and I feel like i’ve been so wrapped up in my new friends, sorority, experiences, etc. that I took home for granted. Though I LOVE the new people in my life, the old are so important. They have helped me become who I am today & they get me in a way that my new friends can’t really. I should appreciate these people more & I am going to make more of an effort to keep in touch with my roots.

So, Here I am… I have gained weight, I am on the right track, & now i go back to school and have to keep on this track. I am really only a couple pounds underweight now. Part of me is happy, the other part of me is extremely scared. Gardner and I decided to call my eating disorder “GERTRUDE” haha because I was sick of talking about the eating disorder. Well, Gertrude is such a part of me that part of me is scared to lose “her”.. does anyone know what I mean? Even though I know Gertrude is terrible & ruining my life, I don’t quite remember life without “her.”

Sorry that this post was a bit of a ramble… I hope you were able to follow.

I’ll leave you with a few questions

1. Did you learn anything from your Thanksgiving Break? If so, what?

2. What is your favorite part about being home?

3. Random–> What is the craziest thing you’ve done lately? πŸ™‚

Wishing you all a relaxing Sunday!

xoxoxoxoox

Shelleyβ™₯

62 Responses to “My Thanksgiving Post”

  1. glidingcalm November 29, 2009 at 2:25 am #

    glad you had a wonderful Thanksgiving, love!

  2. Kris | iheartwellness.com November 29, 2009 at 2:50 am #

    Hi Bella!! I love your mom, what a hoot!! I hope you had a great time at thanksgiving πŸ™‚

    Your morning mess always looks delish!!!

    I just wanted to say congratulations on your accomplishment this week with your good news on your weight! You are so healthy!!

    Thanks for the comment on my last post….Grapes were a huge shocker to me and we would occasionally feed hudson grapes too!! YIKES!

    XXOO
    Kris

  3. laurasworthlesswords November 29, 2009 at 3:08 am #

    πŸ™‚ great to hear your getting on track but just remember while you might be a few pounds underweight you still have a bit to go to get back to total healthyness.

    We dont celebrate Thanksgiving here so I cant really say I learnt anything! Well done though, it looks like you made a huge effort and you should be really proud of yourself for that, its another point for you over ed!

    I like food to πŸ™‚ and the more you keep challenging yourself like you did above the easier it will become and someday you`ll be able to eat without a thought.

    Have a great Sunday, xoxo

  4. crazylittlethingneela November 29, 2009 at 4:39 am #

    gerturde!! haha that is the ugliest german name ever created and it fits perfectly well with the ED πŸ˜‰
    glad you had a good time back home
    the craziest thing i’ve done was probably trying out the hypnotherapy which i thought was crazy but helped me so much
    xoxo

  5. pscalise November 29, 2009 at 5:23 am #

    glad you had a lovely Thanksgiving. ANd those boots are adorable!

  6. determinedtoshine November 29, 2009 at 5:35 am #

    hahaha i just lol-ed at you and gar calling your ED gertrude – thats so perfect!

    glad you had a happy thanksgiving break with the ones you love. sounds like you’ve got some very wise friends & family – you WILL look healthier, happier and more beautiful at a higher weight πŸ™‚

    the thing i miss most about home is being able to hug my mum whenever i want πŸ™‚ oh and my bed. i love my bed!

    have a safe flight ❀

    hannah xo

  7. anonymous November 29, 2009 at 8:33 am #

    so happy to hear you had a great thanksgiving! keep it up girl you’re almost there, you’re so close!!!! keep doing what you’re doing bc you’re doing a great, AMAZING job at beating this. you can do it! i truly believe you can. have a safe flight πŸ™‚

  8. Emily (http://funnyemily.wordpress.com) November 29, 2009 at 8:34 am #

    your thanksgiving sounds wonderful! way to go on your plate, it looks great to me!
    and i agree its great to reminisce and remember that there are more people out there who love you and only want the best for you πŸ™‚
    i understand being afraid to lose gertrude (its a abusive relationship i’ve figured out) but you are better off without her! you’ve got this, you are so inspiring πŸ™‚
    my favorite part of being home is having my silly family around πŸ™‚
    xoxo

  9. julia November 29, 2009 at 8:52 am #

    I’m proud and happy that you enjoyed your Thanksgiving!

    I know you can stay on this right track. It’s never ‘just a bit underweight’. It’s underweight and that’s unhealthy, so you should get to a healthy BMI. Thinking that helped me… And I know you can do this!

    xxx Julia (Taste of Living)

  10. candice November 29, 2009 at 9:00 am #

    Oooh, your cranberry turkeys are adorable! I’m glad you managed to enjoy yourself! It may be scary to let go of Gertrude, but it’ll just me like going home—all your family and friends will be there to love and support you. Nourishing your body doesn’t only make you physically stronger. πŸ™‚ Keep at it, girl!

    The craziest thing I’ve done lately is try to blend kabocha with an electric whisk. -_- Don’t try that.

  11. kbwood November 29, 2009 at 10:40 am #

    girl- i loved this post! made me so giddy!
    first of all-your momma is adorable with that turkey! haha so cute.
    Also, GOOD for you for conquering thanksgiving, even if you did feel a little guilty, you def didnt need to but you still OWNED it and deserved to have a great dinner
    i LOVE what you said at the end..all of your realizations..those are so so true! not only do you feel better at a healthy weight, you look so much better! much much more attractive!
    you and your boyfriend are adorable πŸ™‚

  12. Michelle November 29, 2009 at 11:57 am #

    Awesome post, I’m so glad you had a wonderful Thanksgiving! πŸ™‚

    LOVE the boots!

  13. blueeyedheart November 29, 2009 at 11:57 am #

    I’m glad you were able to enjoy your Thanksgiving and even indulge with minimal guilt!! If you keep on the right track, I’m sure soon you’ll be able to do that with no guilt at all. πŸ™‚

    Love those cranberry turkeys — they’re adorable!

    ❀ ❀

  14. katie November 29, 2009 at 12:13 pm #

    Your mom is too cute!! She seems like a really cool mom!! I am so glad you had a great Thanksgiving and enjoyed yourself and didnt feel bad, you should be proud of yourself!!!! I love the Spooky Smores Clif Zbars, they are so good!!! Love the boots you got, I hope you have a safe trip back!!!! xoxoxo

  15. homecookedem November 29, 2009 at 12:30 pm #

    1. Did you learn anything from your Thanksgiving Break? If so, what? Focusing on family and friends is way more important than worrying about how many calories I’ve eaten.

    2. What is your favorite part about being home? Laughing and talking with friends and family I haven’t seen in awhile.

    3. Random–> What is the craziest thing you’ve done lately? Stayed up until 2am last night – yes I am an old, boring, married lady, haha! πŸ™‚

  16. merittothecarrot November 29, 2009 at 12:51 pm #

    Love the post. I’m so so happy for you.. you deserve the great Thanksgiving break that you had. Sounds like you had a great time at home πŸ™‚

    And I, too, love to eat… so I find myself asking the same question “Why was I so restrictive?”

  17. The Candid RD November 29, 2009 at 1:27 pm #

    I learned that I am SUPER lucky, over break. My aunt is on bead rest, and she’s so positive about it. I can’t believe her spirit and positive vibes, I love her so much. She made me appreciate my own life so much more.

    Thanks for your comment on my blog. Let me tell you, as an RD I sometimes feel guilty about eating certain things, but I would NEVER not eat them because of that guilt, as I know my diet is 90% healthy and I practice what I preach 90% of the time. I would never tell anyone they had to stick to a PERFECT diet, as it’s unrealistic. I sitll get BBQ wings and a beer on occasion, and after watching Food Inc. I won’t feel bad going to Wendy’s every once in a while either. Going everyday like some people, now THAT is another story!

  18. icanlaughagain November 29, 2009 at 1:30 pm #

    i love the questions at the end of your blog and your blog in general it has life and spunk! mom and the turkey is a wonderful pic-reminds me of my silly fam. i really learned a lot this thanksgiving about myself and just feeling at peace with life and everything that’s around me, esp. nature like woahhhhhhh it’s beautiful out there in the world-imagine that! i hope your holidays were as lovely!!! xo

  19. Naomi (onefitfoodie) November 29, 2009 at 2:26 pm #

    its so nice to be home for a little while you truly do remember all the things you are thankful for! although jelly can cranberry sauce scares me those are the cutest lil turkey’s!!!

    looks like you had such a nice time home and good for you for facing black friday! nice steal with those boots-SUPER cute! πŸ™‚

    xo

  20. Resa November 29, 2009 at 2:57 pm #

    hello ..
    want to exchange links with me?
    if you agree put my links on this website ..
    and confirmation to me, then I can place your link on my blog ..
    how?

    thank you for your attention

  21. Allie (Live Laugh Eat) November 29, 2009 at 3:32 pm #

    Beautiful spread! I totally support having muffins for Thanksgiving Dinner πŸ™‚

  22. Ali November 29, 2009 at 4:36 pm #

    hahah your mom is adorable! πŸ™‚

    & those cranberry turks are even moree adorable! what a creative idea

  23. MelissaNibbles November 29, 2009 at 5:08 pm #

    I’m glad the day went well for you. It will take time, but believe me, there will be a time when you and “Gertrude” aren’t the focus of family dinners. I know it’s a lot of pressure. You almost wish someone else in the family would screw up so the focus would be off of you. I used to feel that way and then as time went on, people trusted me and stopped monitoring my eating. Just be patient πŸ™‚

    Safe travels!

  24. Melissa S. November 29, 2009 at 6:26 pm #

    so glad you had a great thanksgiving love! these kinds of things take some time, but you’re getting so strong that soon enough, it will just be something you just do and think! yay!!!

  25. Haylee November 29, 2009 at 6:40 pm #

    your mom is so young looking! Gosh, my mom looks like she could have been your mom’s MOM. πŸ™‚
    love the boots! I gotta say, i’m pretty impressed with your black friday shopping..I never have the guts!
    haha Gertrude I love it.
    Hm, I learned that there IS such a thing as too much oat bran and soup. πŸ˜‰

  26. VeggieGirl November 29, 2009 at 6:43 pm #

    1.) I learned I’m able to challenge myself to do new things.

    2.) My family

    3.) Get my hair cut, haha.

  27. julie November 29, 2009 at 8:49 pm #

    wow girl you had an AMAZING break πŸ™‚ so glad you enjoyed your time home!

    lovin food is the best thing on earth haha

  28. Bekah November 29, 2009 at 9:32 pm #

    Aw, such a sweet post! Yay for being home, and to old friends, and to new beginnings. You are definitely on the right track hun! Have a safe trip back to school. πŸ™‚ xoxo

  29. Food-Fitness-FreshAir November 29, 2009 at 9:57 pm #

    looks great!

    Favorite part about being home…ah so many things. Family, friends, food, fresh air, fun…all the F’s haha.

  30. nattietan November 29, 2009 at 10:09 pm #

    Aww your Mum’s adorable!!! And I’m glad you had a beautiful thanksgiving! We have so many things to be thankful for and I’m sure that your Mum, and family for that matter, must be incredibly proud of how far you’ve come. A mega-big hug from me to you!! Stay strong dearie. You’re amazing!

    xx

  31. jenna November 29, 2009 at 10:57 pm #

    glad you enjoyed your stay at hone! Mine was nice as well, I totally understand when you say you don’t want to let go of gertrude because a part of you does not want to let her go. It is a love hate relationship, and is so hard.

  32. onehealthyapple November 30, 2009 at 12:13 am #

    It sounds like you had a good, yet challenging trip at home! I’m glad you came out happy at the end. Gertrude was the name I used to give guys I wasn’t interested in in High School, so that is awesome!

    I didn’t make it out shopping, but I have serious bootie envy after seeing yours!

    I have learned that I am a complete stress-ball when I am at work and I miss the old me that comes out on weekends. Um…the craziest thing I have done lately is get married. I’ve never done that before πŸ™‚

  33. italyology November 30, 2009 at 12:24 am #

    So glad you had such a great thanksgiving with your family!!:)
    Sounds like your doing such a great job!!!:) and of course those boots are soooooooo cute!!!!

    Hmmm… My fav part about being home is being with family! through thick and thin their always there for me:)

  34. burpexcuzme November 30, 2009 at 12:33 am #

    I’m so happy that you had a great Thanksgiving! And also that you discovered that you do love food after all! Food = friend, not enemy!

    1. I learned that I am SO blessed…I find surrogate families wherever I go! πŸ™‚

    2. I wasn’t home though.

    3. Craziest thing= getting up at 1 pm!

  35. Lauren November 30, 2009 at 6:42 am #

    I am so happy to hear that your Thanksgiving was wonderful! It’s amazing how gratifying it can be to let go and enjoy the true surroundings without having the fear of restricition or anxienty. I understand, I know it’s hard at first, but it gets so much easier. You start to NOT CARE AT ALL what others are thinking when you eat. You just eat because you love it and then you realize that ohter people really aren’t too concerned about how much or what you are eating.

    Anyways, I always seem to ramble on your comments but I just can’t help it! I want to share so much with you my dear!!

    Hope you have a safe trip home. Enjoy the flight with your boy! πŸ˜‰

  36. Ada November 30, 2009 at 6:45 am #

    Aww your mom is so cute, that picture was hilarious! Your Thanksgiving feast looks like it was amazing, and those boots are awesome:)

  37. theemptynutjar November 30, 2009 at 9:05 am #

    I plan to regularly visit your blog. You are very relatable. Congratulations on the gain and continued success in further gain and maintainance.

  38. Abby November 30, 2009 at 10:42 am #

    What a beautiful spread and great eats!! Sounds like you had a perfect Thanksgiving πŸ™‚

  39. lowandbhold November 30, 2009 at 11:56 am #

    I love those cranberry turkeys! SO cute. I wish we would have had vegetarian stuffing. But I still got mayjah full from it all. I’m glad you were able to enjoy yourself girl πŸ™‚

  40. Missy Maintains November 30, 2009 at 12:24 pm #

    Glad you had a nice Thanksgiving and were able to enjoy dinner. Those boots are adorable! My favorite part of being home was shopping with my mom and being treated to plenty of nice dinners πŸ™‚

  41. Jessica (jesslikesithot) November 30, 2009 at 12:46 pm #

    There is no such thing as “over” indulging for you, right now! Remember that girl! πŸ™‚

    But that thanksgiving dinner looks so delish and i’m so happy that you just enjoyed yourself and the time with your fam and friends!!

  42. sarahdbelle November 30, 2009 at 12:54 pm #

    It sounds like you are doing really well right now. So proud of you. I’m glad you had a nice time at home ; )
    Sarah

  43. Kelly November 30, 2009 at 1:39 pm #

    Those cranberry pumpkin muffins look seriously AMAZING. I’m glad you had so much catch up time with old friends. I agree with you that old friends just know you in a different way- eventually your college friends will be like that too πŸ™‚

  44. Foodie (Fab and Delicious Food) November 30, 2009 at 1:46 pm #

    Glad you had such a good Thanksgiving and a great time at home!

    Love the boots!

    P.S. Wanted to let you and your readers know about a spa-themed giveaway on my blog! Just leave a comment with your favorite way to relax or de-stress and you’ll be entered to win!

    http://www.fabanddeliciousfood.com/?p=10930

    Thanks!

  45. Melissa November 30, 2009 at 2:28 pm #

    Glad you had a great Thanksgiving, indulged in a good way, and learned some new things about yourself!

    I haven’t done anything too crazy lately…but my boyfriend has a surprise date planned for Saturday night so I’ll keep you updated!

  46. Gillian November 30, 2009 at 7:45 pm #

    I like #2, I like food a lot too!!! I was once very restrictive but afterwards learnt to love and appreciate food for all it has to offer. It is one of life’s greatest pleasures and is so fun to share and experience in different ways!

  47. rebecca lustig November 30, 2009 at 8:32 pm #

    Aw thank you for the thoughtful comment– i really appreciate it.

    I realized that I want a life full of love, faith and joy with meaningful relationships πŸ™‚

    love ya
    bec xo

  48. april November 30, 2009 at 9:51 pm #

    What a delicious Thanksgiving! I’m glad you had a good time!

  49. mayapamela December 1, 2009 at 2:26 am #

    1) I love food, too! But I do have a complicated relationship with food that has this annoying habit of interfering with my life sometimes. I learned this past Thanksgiving that the holidays are about who you’re with. Yes, food is delicious and part of it, but don’t let it be the focus. I hope to remember this as we forget ahead into the holiday season!

    2) MY CAT. I love her to pieces.

  50. Meredith December 1, 2009 at 7:51 am #

    Those muffins sound awesome! Glad you had such a great Thanksgiving πŸ™‚

  51. Diane Doesn't Diet December 1, 2009 at 10:08 am #

    I love the things you learned at the end, especially #3 πŸ™‚ Your family will always be there to love & care for you! And I’m glad you’re feeling healthy and on track. I can’t imagine how hard the ride must have been, but I think you’re a really strong person to be coming out of it.

    The oranges with cranberry turkeys on top=PRESH. I love it. & Those boots are hot!

  52. Melinda December 1, 2009 at 10:57 am #

    Your Mom is so cute and funny! πŸ˜€

    And I LOVE those booties!!!

    Congrats on your new weight- you are on the right track!

  53. Jessica @ How Sweet It Is December 1, 2009 at 12:52 pm #

    I love those boots!! πŸ™‚

  54. vegfiguresk8er December 1, 2009 at 1:20 pm #

    Good luck on writing your paper! πŸ™‚

  55. Devan G Newman December 1, 2009 at 2:35 pm #

    i LOVE those booties!!

    everything looks delicious πŸ™‚
    and beautiful table setting!!

    I am so glad you had a great Thanksgiving πŸ™‚

    XO

  56. imaginenamaste December 2, 2009 at 12:28 am #

    I’m so glad you had such an awesome Thanksgiving!!!!

    I was in a sorority, too, and it really gave me something to work for–I felt like I belonged somewhere! I really enjoyed it.

    All your three realizations made me smile πŸ™‚

    My crazy…hmmmmm…..haha not really crazy πŸ™‚

  57. The voracious Vegan December 2, 2009 at 5:46 am #

    Awww this was a great post. I love hearing what other people are thankful for, always puts a smile on my face and a warm feeling in my heart.

    And your mom is awesome! Also, I’m intrigued by those cranberry turkeys on orange slices….I bet that is a good flavor combination!

  58. tatiannalives December 2, 2009 at 6:26 am #

    You areso inspirational πŸ™‚ I loved this post.. and not just because your eats look so incredible.

    I know exactly what you mean about not wanting to let go; I am currently struggling with this quite a bit :/ I find reading all of your blogs helps set me back on track!

    I’m so glad you had such a wonderful thanksgiving and were able to indulge in a wonderful meal with your family. You have come so far!
    xox
    Tat

  59. Anna December 2, 2009 at 7:18 pm #

    Thanksgiving during recovery is so difficult, so props for making it through πŸ™‚

    Also I hope you realize how AMAZING it is that you are so close to your “goal” weight. In combination with what looks to me like an earnest effort to enjoy eating, you are making so much progression!

    Have a great day love

  60. Jess December 2, 2009 at 9:37 pm #

    I learned that thanksgiving is a great Holiday and that it should never be feared as I did a couple years ago. What delicious fooooddd!
    Great recap girl! Your plate looks identical to mine!
    ❀ jess
    xoxo

  61. katie December 3, 2009 at 6:47 am #

    Yeah Michael Buble is a cutie for sure!! Hope your week is going great!!!! xoxoxo

  62. Nelly December 4, 2009 at 3:42 pm #

    Hey girl you won the synergy giveaway πŸ™‚ email me when you get the chance. cndunlevy@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

