Irrational Fear of Minnie Mouse

22 Nov

I bet that title got your attention? haha well, to answer any concerns you may or may not have had…

No, I do not have an irrational fear of minnie mouse, however, apparently one of the top searches for my blog is “irrational fear of minnie mouse.” I laughed pretty hard when I read that…

how could anyone be scared of that?

Anyways, since the last time we talked, I continued to enjoy my weekend ED free (for the most part). I indulged for the second weekend in a row & looking back on it, I am happy I did! There were definitely moments where I felt guilty, but for the most part I have been able to deter those thoughts —> huge accomplishment

Friday night was noodles & company dinner with my best friennndd πŸ™‚ I got the trio with pad thai, shrimp & a side salad! It was sooo good. I’d recommend the pad thai or bangkok curry @ noodles & company.. my favs!

after noodles, I went and studied for a bit & then went back to my dorm to pre-game w/ the floor. & the boy came as well πŸ™‚ we had a fun night for sure.. i loveee gar πŸ™‚ he’s so great to mee i just feel so lucky!

Saturday was spent studying for my midterm Tuesday and the eats were boring & went unphotographed (sorry!!) but saturday night i went out with the girls in my sororityy & it was really fun!

I got a lil’ goofy..

enough said! the picture says it all.

Today I woke up to a yogurt deliicccouss mess! I forgot my camera but I put this really delicious kashi wild blueberry cluster cereal in it & loooved every bite.

Then I went to my favorite study place with the boy and pretty much studied all day! I took a break to go to lunch with my friend, Leah! We got Cosi (one of my favorrite places) & I tried something NEW! I got the fire roasted veggie sandwich and it was honestly amazing.. I think its going to be my new regular!

this was consumed along with cosi kettle chips! amazing.

Then, around 5:30 I had a snack before going to humo practice. I had the white chocolate macadamia clif bar for the first time & after hearing great things from many fellow bloggers, I am happy to say I was NOT disappointed…this bar is absolutely fabulous!

Dinner was Chipotle! I feel like i’ve been eating out so much but I picked some up for me & the boyy!

My bowl had rice, chicken, tomatoes, cheese, lettuce, & guacamole! I never used to get the rice but I know it is so important to add calories to my meals so I got rice & lOVED every bite.

This week, I have a midterm Tuesday & then i’m heading back home Tuesday afternoon! I can’t believe it has been 3 months since i’ve been home. It is going to be soo weird but probably feel really great at the same time.

Thanksgiving is one of my favorite holidays. I love the idea of having a holiday to just be thankful for food, family, etc. I think my favorite part of thanksgiving is just being with family and enjoying each other’s company… not to mention the DELICIOUS foods.

What is your favorite part of thanksgiving?

Do you have any amazing thanksgiving recipes? If so, please share! I’m helping cook & i’m supposed to find some recipes. It can be dessert, appetizers, or main course!

hope you all have great weeks & an amazing Monday! I absolutely love all of you & everything I have already gotten from blogging… it really is amazing!

PS- for all of you who are wondering, my weight is back to where it was when I first came to school so that is a really great thing! But the problem is, I find myself thinking in the back of my head that it is ok to stop here because it is where I was but realistically I am still underweight. How do you keep yourselves motivated to stay on the right track?

xoxooxoxoxoxo

Shelleyβ™₯

51 Responses to “Irrational Fear of Minnie Mouse”

  1. Anna November 23, 2009 at 12:15 am #

    I am very proud of you hon! You are SO on the right track.

    Of course my favorite part about Thankgiving is the food! Just all the things you eat once a year and are so special and yummy…but I also love catching up with the family and starting Christmas crafts and the like.

    What kept me on the right track when I was gaining weight was I kept thinking about how much I was becoming my old self once again when I fueled myself properly. I mean with the ED and everything I was a shadow of who I used to be personality-wise. I was just so tired all the time! I never EVER wanted to go back to that place where I was too tired to simply be ME. It was horrible.

  2. Lo November 23, 2009 at 12:31 am #

    gosh girl, cosi, chipotle, noodles and co..u are living the life! i eat out all the time usually so dont worry about that…i mean your choices were healthy and awesome! it sounds like you are really “going with the flow” and thats the best thing one can ever do for themself! love that ur blogging too girly! have a great monday!

    xoxo
    Lo

  3. burpexcuzme November 23, 2009 at 12:46 am #

    To keep on track..that is tough! But think of this: “I feel SO much better now than I was before…so how much more energized and beautiful will I be if I gain a bit more?” Plus, half-way to your goal is not really an accomplishment, is it? πŸ™‚

    Good job though! I’m proud of you for coming so far!

  4. Rachel November 23, 2009 at 12:54 am #

    Yay that you’re back on the fighting path! You’re so close now, don’t give up just yet:)

    That Clif bar…oh yum. ❀

  5. kbwood November 23, 2009 at 12:55 am #

    girl.. i am SO proud of you for having such a stress-free weekend! you are AWESOME! i stay motivated by knowing that the Lord has a BIGGER plan for me..and i need to be healthy for it.

    ive ALWAYS wanted to try noodles and co..we dont hae one here! it looks awesome

    you and your boo are ADORABLE! you are gorgeous!!

  6. Lizzy November 23, 2009 at 1:13 am #

    Hi! I’m so glad I came across your blog! Your pics from the weekend are sooo cute! super pretty! It sounds like you had a fab weekend and I hope it continues into a great holiday week! xoxo!

  7. Hillary November 23, 2009 at 1:38 am #

    Nice to hear you had an ED-free weekend, for the most part. Keep it up. That’s great that your weight is up some, but I agree with the other girls in your dorm and think you look much healthier with more weight. You’re a pretty girl no matter what. Keep eating all of the seasonal goodies. Take care!

    Just wondering, are you a freshman in college?

  8. crazylittlethingneela November 23, 2009 at 4:28 am #

    aww sweetie you’re so beautiful. i’m glad you have your boy to be there for you and support you!
    the clif bar is amazing right? aww i love that bar so much πŸ˜€
    and i love the fact that you had an ED weekend. now i wish that you will have an ED whole week maybe?
    loads of love
    xoxo
    oh and for staying on track, i have a little collage in my room with photos and quotes. that helps me a lot. and talking to my friends and family when i struggle. never give up!

  9. Lexi November 23, 2009 at 5:05 am #

    I love noodles and company so much! it’s absolutely delish. my favorite is the bangkok curry! my favorite part of thanksgiving: seeing my extended family. how do i stay on track: journaling about my motivations, day dreaming about the future without ED and talking to my parents about my goals.

    have a great day lovie!! πŸ™‚

  10. candice November 23, 2009 at 6:02 am #

    Glad to see that you’re still going strong! ED’s voice is inevitable, but you’re rebuffing it, so you’re good πŸ™‚ My favorite part of Thanksgiving is the fact that so many people gather together to celebrate all of the gifts of life, including food. A holiday centered on food?! πŸ˜€

    RICE!!! Hahaha, yay for rice! ❀ Have a wonderful day!

  11. julia November 23, 2009 at 6:39 am #

    Keeping on track can be difficult. Just say to yourself: no matter how I feel, no matter how I look, no matter what: I will gain till XX (=a healthy BMI, truly healthy that’s easy to maintain without thinking too much…)
    Good luck!

    xxx Julia (Taste of Living)

  12. Lauren November 23, 2009 at 7:01 am #

    Love Noodles and Co. and LOVE Chipolte. I have a question though. I just tryed Chipolte for the first time the other night and instanlly FELL IN LOVE!!!! SOoooooo freaking good! I ordered the burrito because it seemed like the best option and now I am noticing that NO ONE seems to order the burritos there?!?! Have you ever tried one? Seriously, it’s amazing. But now I’m thinking they may contain some scary ingredients because no one seems to touch them at Chipote?! Do you know?

    Oh well, it was incredible.

    Glad you had a great weekend hun. And keep strong, you are AMAZING!

  13. determinedtoshine November 23, 2009 at 8:48 am #

    glad you had a great weekend hun. your boy sounds so perfect πŸ™‚ your one lucky lady!

    i feel the same way about my weight gain – when i get to a certain number (that ED deems as “safe”) i think “ok im done now”. but when you think about it logically it makes no sense… why should we compromise on our health? why should we not want anything but the BEST for ourselves? but i know thats so much easier said than believed, so the way i keep myself going is by reminding myself that as long as i am underweight, the ED thoughts are not going to disappear. so if i really want to be free of ED, i have to get to a healthy weight. hope this helps πŸ™‚

    enjoy your thanksgiving lovie!

    xo hannah

  14. pscalise November 23, 2009 at 8:49 am #

    I love reading the top searches. They are so entertaining! I am glad to know you do not have a fear of minnie mouse… I would be concerned.

    Thanksgiving is the best! I am a little nervous because the last few years have been disastrous but I love spending time with my fam and enjoying all the delicious food!

  15. determinedtoshine November 23, 2009 at 8:49 am #

    ooh also, i have a question for you… what is a sorority? sorry for being such an ignorant brit πŸ˜‰

  16. blueeyedheart November 23, 2009 at 9:02 am #

    My favorite part of Thanksgiving… is probably that we don’t celebrate it!! Haha I’m a party-pooper…

    Keeping yourself on track, I guess, just takes a lot of self-talk… because it’s not all right to stop just because it feels “safe.” That’s usually when I start to get concerned, actually: if I feel too complacent or “okay,” it usually means I’m not working hard enough.

    ❀ ❀

  17. julie November 23, 2009 at 9:24 am #

    awww it looks like you had SUCH a fun weekend πŸ™‚ so glad you did!

    i’m super excited for thanksgiving! i think the EASIEST and most delicious recipe i have is for pumpkin muffins…2 ingredients…1 box of spice cake and 1 15oz can of pumpkin…combine and bake at 350 for 10-15 minutes or more! SO easy and super delicious πŸ™‚

  18. psychoj1 November 23, 2009 at 9:35 am #

    You go girl!! You’re doing so well πŸ™‚ I’m very proud of you. Keep on trucking!!

    Mmm chipotle is AMAZING!!!!!!

    ❀ jess
    xoxo

  19. Naomi (onefitfoodie) November 23, 2009 at 9:56 am #

    you sound SOO happy girl! I love how you are incorporating new foods into your daily regimen, its so awesome, you are proving that you are fighting right through this!! that clif bar looks awesome, I love the drizzle on top!!

    fav part of the thanskgiving…the food!!!

  20. Jenna November 23, 2009 at 10:06 am #

    i love thanksgiving! it is such a special time to get together with my family i loveeee ❀
    jenna

  21. brianna November 23, 2009 at 10:23 am #

    Loving the embellished gray shirt! Your doing so well with your eating, I’m so proud πŸ™‚ I’m still battling my eating habits… now more than ever actually but I just have to fight through it!

  22. Missy Maintains November 23, 2009 at 12:02 pm #

    Glad you had a great weekend and indulged in some yummy food! That Cosi sandwich looks delicious! I need to go there now! You and your boy are so cute by the way!

    • emily March 5, 2011 at 3:09 pm #

      awwwwwwwwwwwwww thats cute thanx

  23. MelissaNibbles November 23, 2009 at 12:42 pm #

    Awww…love the pic of you and your boyfriend.
    Congrats on a great weekend full of delicious eats. You’re on the right track!

  24. glidingcalm November 23, 2009 at 1:16 pm #

    chipotle is ze bomb!!

  25. katie anne November 23, 2009 at 1:17 pm #

    hey just wondering, are u still doing the ensure plusses? i hope so!!!
    yea so im freaking about thanksgiving and going o utside my rigid food schedule. you know the deal? any ideas
    xoxoxo
    keep up the great work.

    • shell625 November 23, 2009 at 2:24 pm #

      hey! i am incorporating the ensure pluses, but i ran out 😦 i need to get more! but i’ve been compensating with food a lot (not everything I eat is put on here :]) so don’t worry about me hun!
      & i definitely can relate to you wiht the eating outside of the schedule thing… i wish i had some kind of great solution for you but really this is how i’ve started to try & think: part of life is about going iwth the flow. there are going to be special occasions like thanksgiving where a food schedule doesn’t quite work- but who cares? there are millions of people in the world who eat unscheduled and are perfectly healthy/normal. so i say, try your very hardest to basically say “screw you” to your food schedule & just enjoy thanksgiving. & even though people tend to overdo it on thanksgiving, truthfully it doesn’t have to be that way. there are plenty of healthy things for thanksgiving dinner (turkey is a great protein, i’m sure you will ahve some veggies, & some sort of starch hopefully with only a little butter…but if there is, who cares!) & obviously you can save room for dessert πŸ™‚ but try not to freak out & you should be fine! hope that helpedd

  26. Melissa November 23, 2009 at 1:51 pm #

    I think if you just keep doing what you’re doing, you’ll stay focused and on the right track. You’re getting healthy and you’re happy!

    You and the boy are super cute. πŸ™‚

  27. Molly November 23, 2009 at 2:04 pm #

    hi girl,

    sorry i know i have been slacking in the updates (boo no internet .. but since I am home with access they will be flowing for this week at least)

    ahh glad you had so much fun with your sorority. i so miss sorority gatherings — those were always sooooo much fun!

    random side note: my best friend was president of AXO @ Nebraska-Lincoln couple years ago!

    very cute pictures as usual and super excited that your weight is good :0)

  28. Liza November 23, 2009 at 2:14 pm #

    Shelley!!! hey girl, good job this weekend, you totally beat the ED. My favorite part of Thanksgiving is the fellowship. To stay on track I suggest, journaling and just having positive self- talk, and keep health as TOP PRIORITY!!! xoxox

  29. Melinda November 23, 2009 at 2:44 pm #

    Glad you had a great time- you look so cute! πŸ™‚

    Love Chipotles- I wish I had one close by!

    My fave part of Thanksgiving would definitely have to be hanging out with my family and the fun activities like hayrides and we usually go to see the Christmas lights and pick out christmas trees together πŸ˜€

  30. Devan G Newman November 23, 2009 at 2:45 pm #

    You are so beautiful Shelly!
    I love your outfits in your photos πŸ™‚
    what do you usually drink when you go out?
    I love thanksgiving.. our canadian thanksgiving already passed… but im still thankful for my family, freinds, food, and the support i recieve from the blogging community!

  31. One Healthy Apple November 23, 2009 at 2:54 pm #

    Thanksgiving is an awesome time! I love every part of it! I’m cooking our first thanksgiving dinner, so it should be lots of fun and a new adventure for me! I’ll try to share recipes as I figure them out!

    You’re doing a wonderful job- I’m very proud of you!!!

  32. jocelynsteiber November 23, 2009 at 3:37 pm #

    I love stuffing/sweet potatoes and being with family!! Ps I really want to try that Cliff bar it looks delicious…I’m addicted to the peanut butter crunch ones. So good!!

    xo
    Jocelyn

  33. jocelynsteiber November 23, 2009 at 3:43 pm #

    oh and that’s hysterical that irrational fear of minnie mouse was your top search for you blog! Sooooo random

  34. ~Jessica~ November 23, 2009 at 4:14 pm #

    As we don’t celebrate Thanksgiving in the UK it’s hard to know what my favourite part would be, but I suspect it would involve pumpkin πŸ˜‰ I don’t come from a large family and we’re all somewhat isolated so it would be quite difficult to have the traditional large gathering of people.

    Thank you for such a lovely comment ~ I’m still reviewing the nut butter situation as it’s not a case of restricting from it…it’s just a bit of a dangerous food to have around when I’m struggling.

    You look just stunning in your pictures! Even prettier than Minnie Mouse πŸ˜‰

    ❀

    xoxo

  35. homecookedem November 23, 2009 at 4:21 pm #

    haha, that post title is hilarious! πŸ˜‰

    Glad you had a good weekend and are making such fantastic progress!!

  36. Emily (http://funnyemily.wordpress.com) November 23, 2009 at 4:45 pm #

    mm all your eats look soo so good & loving the party pic πŸ™‚
    i totally know what you mean about being at an “okay” weight, that’s where i have been suck for a while now, i go back and forth with myself and Ed a lot, but right now what’s motivating me is life. especially life after college, when my life will be really different than it is now and i have to be healthy to handle & enjoy it
    mm my favorite part of thanksgiving has to been getting together with my crazyy family, they are pretty entertaining πŸ™‚
    xoxo

  37. lowandbhold November 23, 2009 at 4:52 pm #

    All the eats look so good! I’m super proud of you for continuing to just eat and enjoy life!

  38. simplysavlysav November 23, 2009 at 5:18 pm #

    Your eats look really tasty!! So glad you enjoyed your time almost completely ED free!!
    My favorite part of Thanksgiving is all the scents, the extra time I get to spend with my friends and family AND my Dad and I watch all nine Thanksgiving episodes of Friends! =D ❀

  39. katie November 23, 2009 at 5:48 pm #

    thank u!btw boosts are good too ….if uve gotta do it, it mine as well be yummy. thats what i try to say to myself. ur really inspiring me so thank u! xoxoxo

  40. merittothecarrot November 23, 2009 at 6:49 pm #

    Mazel Tov! I’m so happy for you, that you were able to let loose and have a mostly ED free weekend… the best of kinds πŸ™‚

    You must be so excited to go home, I wish you nothing but the bust of times with your family πŸ™‚
    Good luck with the midterm!

  41. Gillian November 23, 2009 at 8:09 pm #

    That salad looks incredible!

    One of my fave thanksgiving recipes is yams mashed with a little bit of sour cream and honey. It is so sweet, smooth and divine!

    You are a beautiful girl, glad to have found your blog. Stay focused in gaining to a healthy weight, it is so hard but just aim on being and feeling your best!

  42. nattietan November 23, 2009 at 8:13 pm #

    Well done on getting back on track!! I’m so proud of you and I’m loving your pictures! You’re looking more and more beautiful each time. I know what you mean by feeling that it’s ok to stop already but I guess it’s more important to be objective and know that it is only ok to stop once your BMIs at at least 18.5. I find that hard to accept at times but I know that that’s the only way I can be deemed healthy – which is where I know I want to be. =)

    Have fun this holiday!! I’m sure we all have a gazillion things to be thankful for!!

    xx

  43. rebecca November 23, 2009 at 10:19 pm #

    I’m so proud of you dear!
    I can just tell by the energy in your writing that you’re happy and enjoying life!
    You and the boy are too cute and I also enjoy Cosi (at least, much more than Panera)

    Keep reminding yourself of your goals–which should include a healthy, sustained and maintained lifestyle πŸ™‚

    ❀ ya
    bec xo

  44. Kris | iheartwellness.com November 23, 2009 at 11:55 pm #

    Hey Sweetie,

    Your weekend looked and sounded amazing! I love the pic of you…I never would have known you have that fierce side to you πŸ˜‰

    I think you are doing great! And just remember (this is what I do) I know I am eating nothing but wholesome nutritious foods….my body will thank me. So does yours!! You want to make sure you are healthy and that is the bottom line!

    Keep your eye on the prize princess – a healthy you!

    XXOO

  45. traynharder23 November 24, 2009 at 6:32 am #

    fav part of thanksgiving: THE TURKEY! i love turkey. =D

    yah yah i love pushups. except when i’m dying from you know, DOMS.

  46. Michelle Nardine R.D. November 24, 2009 at 8:39 am #

    Fire roasted veggie sandwich looks sooooo good! Like the blog, I’ll stick around and get to know you. Stay healthy!

  47. Mitri November 24, 2009 at 8:47 am #

    Wow, there’s so many happy comments I got lost finding the comment box ;P Way to stay on track! You have been doing a great job taking care of yourself and LIVING LIFE!!! Sorry I don’t have any recipes to share at the moment, but I hope you enjoy your Thanksgiving!

  48. katie November 24, 2009 at 8:59 am #

    Have a Happy Thanksgiving!!!!!!!!! Im going to stuff myself!!!!!!!

    Katie xoxo

  49. holly November 24, 2009 at 2:24 pm #

    you are too cute girl. love noodles, love cosi and love that flav of clif bar!

    happy week!

Leave a Reply

