Mostly the eats

18 Nov

Hi everyone !

Thank you for your positive, honest, helpful, encouraging, and sincere comments on my last post. I would smile with each and every one and it was even further reminder that I CAN do this and that I am so not in this alone.

I’m pretty pumped for this post because I’ve got some pics & more interesting eats!!

ThE EaTs: πŸ˜€

hahah i feel like such a dork writing it like that- when I was in middle school, everyone typed like that. I just had the urge to do it.. yeah.. don’t know.

Monday started with a yogurt mess with my new, thrilling buys from whole foods/copps and included my new PUMPKIN BUTTER!

in this baby= fage 2%, a banana, a scoop of cinnamon raisin swirl, a scoop of pumpkin butter, & some marshmallow oaties, cinnamon crunch cascadian farms cereal, & graham bumpers = explosion of deliciousness in my mouuuth!

It was so good that after my am class & a fab work out with the boy, I made him a very simliar bowl because he said he needed to try fage a second time to decide if he liked it.. :\

he pretty much loved it & can’t stop talking about how good it was… i think i’ve officially converted him to the greek stuff!

Lunch was a turkey sammiee on this really good whole grain boy @ gar’s apartment with pepper jack cheese, and glenn’s soy crisps zesty bbq flavored & an apple- LOVE!

Dinner was at the sorority house. Monday nights we have chapter & dinner but usually i can’t go to dinner since i have class.. but i may or may not have skipped my first college class πŸ™‚ hehe i can’t say i’m too proud though.. i have a guilty conscious!

I was anxious about the dinner because I knew it probably wouldn’t be the healthiest but I pretty much forced myself to eat it because I know that is what normalΒ eatingΒ is about. All the other girls are eating it, it is not that bad for me, I should just not worry & eat it.. so I did.

sorry for the pathetic picture, i tried to take one secretively haha but i pretty much failed. it was an asian themed dinner with a vegetarian option asian seasoned meatball thing? so i had one of those, an egg roll, some salad/veggies & a little bit of salmon… not bad!

I skipped my ensure drinks on Monday and i’m trying not to beat myself up about it but it kind of upsets me because I was on the right track and after my family visited i kind of fell of the wagon and went back to more restrictive ways. but you’ll see as my post continues that i’m getting back on the track I was on! I refuse to fail at this.

Tuesday started with a yogurt mess that went unpictured– i’m really boring, but i’m sorry they are goood! I had an ensure plus too after class.

Lunch was something slightly different- but SO delicious!!

I bought these recently & thought today was the perfect day to try them for lunch!

After microwaving for 2 minutes, I put a piece of cheese on it and then sandwiched it with an earth grain sandwich thin & some mushrooms, spinach, and tomatoes. I also ate it with some soy crisps, an apple, and milk!

It was seriously awesomee- i’m going to have to incorporate this into my eating more! & this pic just does not do it justice :-\ it was like a cheeseburger, except healthier!

For a snack I tried the iced gingerbread clif bar!

don’t get me wrong, this bar tasted really good & i thoroughly enjoyed it. But I was a tinnny bit disappointed in the lack of ginger flavor… i was expecting more! i’d buy it again though.. i’d probably give it an 8/10

for dinner I picked something up on the way to the sorority house… I tried Milio’s which is a sandiwch place i’ve been wanting to try!

I got a turkey wrap on a lo-carb wrap with provolone, tomato, lettuce, & alfalfa sprouts! It was so amazing, I loved it! I will definitely be going there again

I also had me some baked lays & a pickle!

Tonight I drank a walgreen’s offbrand drink like ensure that was strawberry flavored & kind of sucked.. i need more ensure pluses! :-\ and I had it with a handful of trail mix (unpictured) which was really good

ok, so the lovely jessica tagged me to do this survey πŸ™‚ here we gooo..

1. favorite variety of apple? Honeycrisps or pink ladies for sure- i’m a sucker for anything sweet

2. apples dipped in..? Dark chocolate dreams for a dessert or HONEY!

3. favorite way to enjoy pumpkin? probably pumpkin pie..love it! Or in my yogurt messes with pumpkin butter

4. favorite soup? with crackers or bread? I love sizzling rice soup from chinese restaurants- always have! & no to the crackers/bread

5. do you eat orange foods all year round? Yes! I don’t discriminate πŸ™‚

6. most used spice in your autumn cooking: cinnamon- 100%..not that i cook…

7. you are baking some homemade bread, what flavor combination of bread would you like to make? hahahah sorry, me baking makes me laugh, but I would love pumpkin banana chocolate chip- yummmmm

8. favorite autumn vegetables and ways to eat it? roasted squash! delicious..haven’t had it yet 😦

9. hot chocolate, hot cider, coffee or tea? all of the above? but according to my habits, i’m a coffee girl

10. favorite seasonal dessert? pumpkin pie, pumpkin ice cream, gingerbread cookies!! (i know its a little early)

11. lets make a fall stew! pick any 6 ingredients to create your one: bahh this is hard but i’ll have to go with squash, sweet potatoes, lentils, zucchini, and maybee a hint of pumpkin? πŸ™‚

12. pumpkin seeds, sunflower seeds, walnuts or almonds to snack on? I love almonds for a snack

13. popcorn flavor/seasoning? Kettle corn is my shit

14. bowl of hot cereal you have been wanting to try: this is a tough one– but i actually haven’t tried pumpkin oats =-o and I really want to!

15. post a link to a recipe that you recently bookmarked: Jessica’s banana cupcakes with chocolate and peanut butter frosting

that was fun πŸ™‚ It makes me want to actually cook… I told my mom i’d help with thanksgiving dinner? does that count?

thought i’d show you guys this awesome view- yeah this is what I was looking at today while studying. I thought it was beautiful for some reason!

I think it is so important to sit back and realize how lucky we all truly are. Sometimes I feel that with all my struggles, I get so caught up in my life & my little bubble and I forget about the huge, beautiful world out there & everything else going on. It’s moments like those when I realize how lucky I am just to be alive and to have people in my life who I love & who love me. Because that is really what life is about.. feeling like you have a purpose and I honestly feel that I do all the things I do not only for myself, but for those people who love me unconditionally & who I also love unconditionally. & I think those people know who they are πŸ™‚

I hope you all have great Wednesday’s!

xoxxoox

Shelleyβ™₯

31 Responses to “Mostly the eats”

  1. kbwood November 18, 2009 at 12:32 pm #

    thats so good your boyfriend likes fage! haha my boyfriend HATES it..but he pretty much hates anything healthy. ive never had pumpkin butter-i need to get some asap! and i totally felt guilty skipping my first college class too..now i never feel guilty..haha i dk if thats a good or a bad thing

  2. Allison November 18, 2009 at 12:42 pm #

    Love this positive post girly!! It’s crazy to think we all run around stressed about the tiniest things when we are all lucky enough to have our health and our loved ones and that’s really what matters in the end… I loveeee the Iced Gingerbread Clifs! YOu have to try the Spiced Pumpkin Pie one it’s to die for! And after reading #14 on the survey… you need to try them out with some of your pumpkin butter, it’s awesome! Happy Wednesday πŸ™‚

  3. Emily (http://funnyemily.wordpress.com) November 18, 2009 at 1:01 pm #

    mm i really need to get myself some pumpkin butter i have never tried it.
    the positivity in this post is so contagious, yay i need it πŸ™‚
    happy hump day beautiful
    xoxo

  4. startinghealthy November 18, 2009 at 1:14 pm #

    I love the portabella veggie burgers, but since they’re a bit on the expensive side I’ve been trying to find a recipe that mimics them. Iced Gingerbread is my favorite Clif bar though, I thought the ginger mix was perfect.

  5. julia November 18, 2009 at 1:25 pm #

    Pink ladies are the best:)!

    Lovely eats girl! xxx Julia (Taste of Living)

  6. glidingcalm November 18, 2009 at 1:47 pm #

    It’s so important to remember how lucky we are….I am constantly trying to think more of the others around me…doing things to help my parents and friends, trying to be more generous, etc.

    I have nvr tried those Portabella burgers, but other Gardenburgers I have hated- sooooooo onion-y. Maybe someday!? Morningstar are still my ALL TIME fav.

    have a great day gurrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrl

  7. blueeyedheart November 18, 2009 at 1:50 pm #

    I think it may have been the strawberry flavor that was the problem… I hated strawberry Ensure Plus too. (But I hate Ensure Plus in general… I prefer Boost as a supplement! And I hate Boost in strawberry.)

    ❀ ❀

  8. Anna November 18, 2009 at 1:55 pm #

    That cliff bar looks so good! I’ve actually never had cliff bars before. Maybe that can be the first flavor I’ll try.

    And btw, Honeycrisps are my fav apple!! So fresh tasting, but I haven’t had them in a few weeks because they’re only available from the farmer’s market 😦

  9. Missy Maintains November 18, 2009 at 2:36 pm #

    My boyfriend refuses to eat Greek yogurt! I am going to keep trying though! Yogurt with pumpkin butter is one of my favorite snacks! Lovely view and I’m glad you appreciated it!

  10. Lexi November 18, 2009 at 2:51 pm #

    hey girly!! great eats you’re amazing. i’m so proud of you for having dinner at the sorority house and experiencing normal eating! sounds like it was pretty good too. i have yet to try pumpkin butter!!! i need to get some. i enjoyed reading the answers to your survey πŸ™‚ have a great day lots of love!

  11. laurasworthlesswords November 18, 2009 at 2:54 pm #

    I love pink ladies to πŸ™‚
    I`m glad to see you got yourself back on track with your eating, dont let your ed try to pull you back, it only makes life miserable.
    Like you said there is a huge beautiful world out there for you to explore and be part of but you`ll miss out on it and so much more if you are wrapt up in an ed.
    Take care, xoxo

  12. sarahdbelle November 18, 2009 at 3:28 pm #

    It’s so awesome that you had dinner with your friends! You should be very proud of yourself and also for trying to get yourself back on track.
    Hope you have a beautiful day!
    Sarah

  13. ~Jessica~ November 18, 2009 at 4:02 pm #

    Fage 2% is literally the only thing that I miss being vegan…even after five years I still pine for it! Sadly soy yoghurt just isn’t the same.

    Pink Ladies are indeed delicious…they come second after Jazz for me πŸ˜‰

    Seems like you did really well at the dinner and managed to put together a healthy yet satisfying plate ~ don’t be too hard on yourself about the Ensures because you met the challenge of eating eat the dinner and that was an achievement in itself: it’s understandable that it might throw you off track a little temporarily.

    Congratulations for seeing the positives in life and that truly is a wonderful view!

    ❀

    xoxo

  14. traynharder23 November 18, 2009 at 5:09 pm #

    omg. you have to try it. dude, and if you want a new type of cereal, i have like 3 more boxes of quaker oat crack! lemme know if you wanna do a swap!

  15. Hannah November 18, 2009 at 5:37 pm #

    so much amazing food in one post! looks like you’ve been doing a great job at nourishing your body, and well done on getting back on track πŸ™‚

    oh and fage = LOVE!!

    xo Hannah

    http://determinedtoshine.wordpress.com/

  16. determinedtoshine November 18, 2009 at 5:45 pm #

    so much amazing food in one post! your doing such a gre atjob at nourishing your body, and congrats on getting back on track πŸ™‚

    oh and fage = LOVE!

    xo hannah

  17. Melinda November 18, 2009 at 6:10 pm #

    I think you are doing awesome on your eats! πŸ˜€

    So great that you got the bf to like something healthy! All of those raw cookies & brownies that I’ve been making- the hubby doesn’t like any of them, but he’s super picky anyway.

    And what a gorgeous view!

  18. homecookedem November 18, 2009 at 6:13 pm #

    I love those soy crisps too!!

    I’m so glad to hear you ate dinner with your sorority!! That is such a great and HEALTHY step towards becoming a normal eater!! You’re doing awesome!! πŸ™‚

  19. Tasty Health Food November 18, 2009 at 6:21 pm #

    Ha, your boyfriend likes Fage. πŸ˜›

    It sounds like you’re having a lot of fun at your sorority. It’s a good thing you ate with them that night. Your eating is definitely getting on the normal track! <33

  20. crazylittlethingneela November 18, 2009 at 6:41 pm #

    i love your last paragraph! we are so fortunate to live the life that we do and we should thank gos every day to have everything we need. and now it’s OUR job to make the best of that πŸ˜‰

  21. rebecca lustig November 18, 2009 at 7:21 pm #

    Is pumpkin butter not the most amazing treat on the face of the earth!? Ha, ok maybe I exaggerated… just slightly.

    Anyways, thank you for this insightful and motivational post– it’s just what I needed. We should never take anything in life for granted. It’s the time to be appreciative of all that life has to offer.

    Have a wonderful evening, lovely lady
    tons of love,
    becca xo

  22. chocolate pickle November 18, 2009 at 7:45 pm #

    Glad to see another Wisconsin bloggie….I assume you’re in Wisconsin from the building pic and Ian’s and Milio’s:) I’m in Milwaukee now and went to Marquette for undergrad and dated several Madison-ites, so much love to a fellow Wisconsin blog-girl!:)

  23. Naomi (onefitfoodie) November 18, 2009 at 7:53 pm #

    HIYA GIRL!

    good for you for trying those foods at the sorority house, I know it is not easy, but you are doing such a great job listening to your body

    loving that iced gingerbread clif bar it is so pretty and festive!
    xo

  24. Megan November 18, 2009 at 8:29 pm #

    Hahah this sounds ridiculous but the first time I tried greek yogurt I literally spit it out I thought it was so gross!! And now.. I’m obsessed πŸ™‚

  25. Jess November 18, 2009 at 10:07 pm #

    Great eats, girl! Love that pumpkin butter. I recently tried pumpkin butter and peanut butter on toast, and WOW, it’s amazing πŸ™‚

    ❀ jess
    xoxo

  26. Bethany November 18, 2009 at 10:53 pm #

    I love Greek yogurt!! Totally addicted! πŸ™‚

  27. Kris | iheartwellness.com November 18, 2009 at 11:59 pm #

    Shelley, you are the cutest thing since sliced bread! I just love your posts, and your comments!

    All of this looks good! I am sorry to hear the cliff bar wasn’t as good as we were all hopeing it you be for you! LOL!!

    Thank you for the comment today, I am very happy to be where I am today!

    XXOO

  28. lowandbhold November 19, 2009 at 10:29 am #

    Everything looks yummy! Glad you got the boy to like greek yog πŸ˜‰

  29. italyology November 19, 2009 at 11:04 am #

    Thos are some yummy eats!! and I really enjoyed the little survey.
    I totally agree with you. It’s so easy to get caught up in our little bubble, but there’s so many other things that are way more important and we are so blessed to be able to even walk and see!:)

  30. Julie @savvyeats November 20, 2009 at 6:27 pm #

    Thanks for commenting on my blog! Ha, I love that I can look at the picture of the view when you were studying and know exactly what all of those buildings are.

    If you ever want to meet up in Madison, let me know!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. some good eats & 3 things « Finding Happiness and Health - December 17, 2009

    […] I went over to study with Gar & his guy friends at the student activity center, the place with this incredible view. We were sitting in this room that they opened for finals week that was pretty […]

Leave a Reply

