Parent’s Weekend

15 Nov

I feel so incredibly out of it! I haven’t posted since Wednesday & soo sooo much has happened since then! i’ve missed you beautiful blogetteees πŸ™‚

This past weekend was parent’s weekend, which as you can imagine was pretty crazy. I can’t even lie- I can hear my body saying “Shelley, I hate you” haha because lots of not so great things were consumed/drank/etc. but I had fun so it’s all good right?

Well… to catch you up on some eats…

Thursday I was studying for psych hardcore & so my eats were pretty standard

lunch was typical (i am SUCH a creature of habit!)

DSC00691for dinner gardner took me to sunroom cafe! my favoriteee… & i tried something new. I ordered the shrimp/vegetable stir fry with the peanut sauce on the side! & it came with a salad which i had with fat free honey dijon dressing..it was soo good!

DSC00696DSC00700Thursday night was pretty much a shit show… went to a girl in my sororities birthday party at Uno’s & it was a lot of fun!!

Friday was relaxing because I have no classes πŸ™‚ the family was getting in later that night but I first had lunch with the boy in the cafeteria

DSC00712it was a salad with hard boiled egg & tofu & veggies, and a REALLY good soup that was like ginger chicken lemongrass soup? idk but loved it!

then me n gar went grocery shopping & just LOOK at my bar drawer now!

DSC00715i can’t wait to try these & let you know what i think! I even found a seasonal clif bar πŸ™‚

& some other goood buys…

DSC00717

DSC00718I am so excited to try pumpkin butter! i’ve never had it πŸ™‚

then the family took us out for a really nice dinner at Fleming’s where I had a petite filet mignon, grilled asparagus (looove asparagus), & a huuge baked potato (and lots & lots & lots of wine….) dinner was so good & HILARIOUS. we were all a bit tipsy… haha. it was a nice restaurant

DSC00719

& apparently it was my mom’s ‘birthday’… yes, i had a bite!

DSC00723

then things got so busy & my food pix suffered immensely 😦 but I did have some fabulous sushi last night for the first time but sadly I didn’t get a picture & a great lunch yesterday at sunroom cafe!

so my mom & i have a weight goal for me by thanksgiving. Last time she was here, she weighed me and she weighed me again this time. I was really nervous about it, but I had gained roughly 3 pounds since the last time she weighed me. I was so relieved! & she was really happy. I feel like i am on the right track to recovery. Honestly, the weight I am at now is still low but part of me is starting to feel a little panicked because I feel that I ate so much this weekend & it is kind of stressing me out 😦

Rationally though, I know it is ok & NECESSARY to indulge and i should let myself enjoy it! So i ate a little more this weekend with my family then I normally would, WHO CARES? it tasted good & i enjoyed it.

do you ever feel guilty after an indulgence?

now the lovely lexi tagged me to tell a ‘truth’. & this will be my truth: I love my family & I was so excited to see them, but I have to admit that part of me was terrified for them to come visit me for parent’s weekend. I knew I would be eating a lot more & probably have to go to restaurants where I can’t follow my exact ‘plan’ and that kind of stressed me out. But i’m really proud because I was able to enjoy myself for the most part and I think i showed them that I am on the right track!

i’m going to pass on the truth week to diane because she just made her blog & you should all check it out for sure πŸ™‚

Thanksgiving is coming up- I can’t wait! Thanksgiving is one of my favorite mealsss ever.


sorry for my lack of food pix/blogging lately! i will be getting back on track this week for suree

xoxox

Shelleyβ™₯

41 Responses to “Parent’s Weekend”

  1. Devan Geselle Newman November 15, 2009 at 11:11 pm #

    I always feel guilty after indulging 😦 I hate it.. but I am working on it.
    I am SO proud of you!! You are doing so well.. And I am super jelous of your bar drawer, and your grocery hull! AMAZING buys, love!

    It sounds like you had a splendid weekend with your family πŸ™‚ sending smiles to you, girly

  2. katie November 15, 2009 at 11:23 pm #

    good for you girl for knowing what you deserve-to enjoy good eats out with people you love!!
    that stirfry looks so good at the top!! and YAY for new bars!! which seasonal clif did you get? i cant wait to try mine!! and ive never had pumpkin butter either!

    • shell625 November 16, 2009 at 12:19 am #

      i got the iced gingerbread one πŸ™‚ i’m jealous you found the pumpkin onee

  3. Lizzy November 15, 2009 at 11:42 pm #

    i get like that after an indulgent night too, but you just learn and move on. nothing to beat yourself up over! no worries girl! i think your doing great!!!!! πŸ™‚ have a super awesome night!

    http://saladdiva.wordpress.com

  4. traynharder23 November 15, 2009 at 11:42 pm #

    hahha come here and you can be my workout partner! =D

    =D

    and…i’m so jealous of your bar drawer!

    what would you eat on cereal sunday?!

  5. *Andrea* November 16, 2009 at 12:08 am #

    you are so brave! having a good weekend with family and friends and good food is always worth it. indulgences can be tough for me too but getting back on track after will make thigns better.

  6. Hillary November 16, 2009 at 12:20 am #

    I’m glad you indulged this weekend, Shelley. I know it may stress you out thinking about your eats, but life’s short, girl. If you enjoyed it, that is all that matters. Every day is a new day, so tomorrow you can start fresh. I am a creature of habit as well, but we have to – and must – step out of our box every now and then. Take care.

  7. kris | iheartwellness.com November 16, 2009 at 12:59 am #

    How are you doll? Hun I feel guilty after eat many weekend treats….but you have to have some or what is the fun in life, right??

    It sounds like you had a nice few days!

    Ummm is that a gingerbread bar?! Fill us in!

    XXOO

  8. christina November 16, 2009 at 1:00 am #

    wow @ your bar drawer !!! I’m so jealous! I’ve never had pumpkin butter either, all i see here is pumpkin seed butter. I’m sure that’s not the same thing though.

    Have a great night!

    xxoxoxoxoxooxox

  9. vegfiguresk8er November 16, 2009 at 1:16 am #

    your bar drawer is amazing! where did you go shopping?
    pumpkin butter is sooo yummy! I’m sure you will love it πŸ™‚

  10. Anna November 16, 2009 at 1:26 am #

    Hey chica! I’m glad you like the blog. Isn’t college a blast?!

    I don’t feel guilty after indulging, but because I had an ED the thoughts of guilt that don’t stem from me but rather from the ED are there but they are totally detached from my emotions because I made recovery, so I can acknowledge that the thought is there and I allow it to go as quickly as it came, if that makes any sense at all haha

  11. Megan November 16, 2009 at 1:38 am #

    Your bar stash is AMAAZING. And your mom’s “birthday” cake = looks delicious!!

  12. julia November 16, 2009 at 3:06 am #

    It’s so important to always remember one thing: you need to GAIN weight. So indulging in restaurant food (fabulous, by the way!) is not only normal and totally what everyone should do, but also very much NEEDED right now!

    xxx Julia (Taste of Living)

  13. MelissaNibbles November 16, 2009 at 4:50 am #

    I think everyone feels a little guilt after indulging. I think it’s because we’re told all our lives by the media and society that sweets are “bad.” Look at all the commercials for chocolate where there’s a woman eating it like it’s the last supper or after the kids leave for school, etc…It’s hard not to think that way when that’s what you see and hear all the time. Don’t feel guilty at all!

    The wrap looks delicious! Have a great week!

  14. Lexi November 16, 2009 at 5:12 am #

    Oh my gosh, I LOVE your bar drawer. your fridge looks exactly like mine, too πŸ™‚

    I totally understand your truth. but it is okay to indulge and eat a bit more. especially since you are trying to gain right now. so don’t worry about it (easier said than done, i know).

    love you tons girlie, have an amazing day

  15. Naomi (onefitfoodie) November 16, 2009 at 5:35 am #

    good for you for indulging, there are certain times (*such as parents weekend) where you just have to fully enjoy everything and all the food, drinks and even your moms ‘birthday’ cake haha πŸ™‚

    LOVING the bar drawer and fridge goodies! I am a fage lover myself

    I think for me it depends on the indulgence and when/if I will feel guilty…if I am eating something and it is just so amazing, I do not feel guilty, BUT if I indulge on something that isn’t so tasty, well then I do feel a bit guilty(that rarely happens though!)

  16. determinedtoshine November 16, 2009 at 7:30 am #

    wow sounds like you had an amazing weekend! try not to feel guilty about what you ate/drank though- what would life be without the occasional indulgance? its completely normal and healthy to have some treats in your diet, so i think you did a great job!

    love your bar draw πŸ™‚

    xo hannah

  17. The voracious Vegan November 16, 2009 at 8:10 am #

    I NEVER feel guilty when it comes to food and what I eat. Guilt has absolutely no place in my life! Food is just food, nothing more. It powers my body and it makes me smile. My motto is: Drink your green juice but eat your cupcakes too! Some things are good for the body and others are good for the soul, it is absolutely necessary to have a healthy balance between the two.

    Hahaha, your ‘bar drawer’ made me smile, wish I had one of those!

  18. Emily (http://funnyemily.wordpress.com) November 16, 2009 at 8:20 am #

    holiday clif!? no fair πŸ™‚
    so glad you enjoyed parents weekend and “indulged” i think the best thing to remember is that you don’t eat like this every day so it won’t hurt. it’s important for that whole balance thing πŸ˜‰
    you are doing wonderfully!!
    hope you have just as wonderful a week!

  19. blueeyedheart November 16, 2009 at 8:53 am #

    Your bar stash is almost as big as mine. Almost. πŸ˜‰

    I always feel guilty for indulging. 😦 I feel guilty for even thinking about indulging!! But logically I know that it’s okay to do it, and I’m trying to make the logical / emotional connection.

    I’m glad you enjoyed Parents’ Weekend! πŸ™‚

    ❀ ❀

  20. dailygoods November 16, 2009 at 9:12 am #

    so proud of youuuuuuuuuuu! yay fellow fh girl πŸ™‚ so happy you enjoyed your parents weekend! xo

  21. solclare November 16, 2009 at 9:22 am #

    Yes, guilt always comes in after an indulgence :(.

    Oh the shrimp/veggie stir-fry looks totally awesome!

    I feel happy for you girl that you’re on the right track! As much as how you’re always showing your support for me, I’d love to express my utmost support to you too! πŸ˜€

    Lovely week ahead!! xoxo

  22. Diane Doesn't Diet November 16, 2009 at 10:12 am #

    Thank you so much for tagging me, girl! I’m loving your blog..and the look of those salads πŸ™‚

    Sometimes I do feel guilty after indulgences like you said, but I think it’s important to remember that once in a while an indulgence is okay. Actually, it’s more than okay- you only live once, right πŸ™‚

    Have a great day!!

  23. Gabriela November 16, 2009 at 11:02 am #

    Soooo many yummy bars- white chocolate Lunas are my fave if you haven’t tried them yet! I’m loving all the veggies too πŸ™‚ Have a great day!

  24. Melissa November 16, 2009 at 11:47 am #

    Definitely do not feel guility. Life is all about balance. You are allowed to have times like that without any stress. It’s not like you eat like that every day.

    Keep working on being healthy and happy. No worries!

    Love your Bar Drawer! Mmmm!

  25. glidingcalm November 16, 2009 at 1:32 pm #

    hay gurl hay!!!!!!
    SO JEALOUS of your bar drawer and greek yogs stocked in yo fridge!!! very NAICE!! πŸ™‚

    hope you have an amazing week!!!

  26. lowandbhold November 16, 2009 at 1:33 pm #

    Glad you had such a good weekend! And it’s so awesome that you were able to overcome your fears and have a good time and eat good food! Each step is important, and I think that was a big one πŸ™‚

  27. italyology November 16, 2009 at 2:39 pm #

    yay for finding my blog! I’m so glad you did! I look forward to reading more of yours.
    & you will LOVE the pumpkin butter:)

  28. Nelly November 16, 2009 at 3:34 pm #

    I just put up info for the amazing grass! I am loving this stuff!
    And I just got a new order in of the wicking bands..if you wanna check it out…they are awesome for working out and running and for fashion to wear out!

  29. ~Jessica~ November 16, 2009 at 3:43 pm #

    I seriously covet your bar drawer…and your PB collection! It’s fantastic that you have such delicious food to nourish your body with and I think you should be proud of eating outside of your comfort zone for the weekend. Nothing you had looks ‘indulgent’ at all really and a bite of cake is certainly nothing to be ashamed of!

    Three pounds is nothing in terms of the timescale you’re talking about so the weight gain is slow, steady and at the correct rate. I appreciate the anxiety you must be feeling but you are certainly not out of control in the slightest and seem to be gaining a better relationship with food in the process. That’s one heck of an achievement πŸ™‚

    Enjoy Thanksgiving ~ you deserve to.

    ❀

    xoxo

  30. Jenna November 16, 2009 at 3:56 pm #

    lots of great eats! love the bar stash!
    jenna

  31. Joy Winner-or-Whiner November 16, 2009 at 4:13 pm #

    We are ALL creatures of habit. That is why we can drive and get to our destination while talking on the phone and thinking about lunch. It comes in handy at times, but when it does not serve you you have to force variety until it becomes habit.

  32. julie November 16, 2009 at 4:56 pm #

    awww so glad you had such a good time with parents weekend! you deserve it girl πŸ™‚

    your bar drawer is stocked to the brim! reminds me I’ve GOT to replenish mine πŸ™‚ can’t wait to hear the reviews!

  33. katie November 16, 2009 at 5:37 pm #

    Wow you got some great goodies!!! love all the bars and I got some Kashi Honey sunshine too : ) I know how you feel, I used to feel guilty when indulging all the time, but now I dont, I look forwrd to indulging once a week sometimes more on special occasions, and I get right back on track, a good workout makes me feel better!!! Have a great Monday!!! xoxo

  34. crazylittlethingneela November 16, 2009 at 6:34 pm #

    we should all never feel guilty about indulging! it’s such a natural process of the human body. cause normally after you indulge you should feel satisfied and not crave that particular food anymore that’s why i think it’s really important to give into those cravings
    love the bar stash girl πŸ˜‰
    xoxo

  35. Lauren November 16, 2009 at 9:04 pm #

    Feeling a little guilty after a weekend indulge is normal, but stressing for more than 10 min over something that is totally “okay” to do every now and then is when you should start to question your emotions. It looks like you had an amazing weekend. So you ate a little more, but you also laughed a little more, and loved a little more, so where’s the harm? πŸ˜‰

  36. homecookedem November 16, 2009 at 9:38 pm #

    So glad you enjoyed yourself this weekend!! Don’t waste your time feeling guilty, especially since you have nothing to feel guilty about! πŸ™‚ Remember, we only live once and spending quality time with your family is priceless!! πŸ™‚

    Very jealous of your bar stash!! Lots of goodies in there!!! πŸ™‚

  37. Laura November 16, 2009 at 10:22 pm #

    Holy bar stash!!!! I’m utterly jealous!!
    I feel guilty after overindulging, but I try to remind myself that a few days won’t do much of anything. Plus, sometimes when my intake increases a lot, really fast- my body goes into overdrive and I actually lose weight.
    Not that I think you should be losing…but I think you get what I’m saying! Our bodies compensate. Try hard to just relax and TRUST your body!!!

  38. Emily November 16, 2009 at 11:16 pm #

    I htink that feeling guilty after an inulgence is human nature…and your body’s way of reminding you to give him lotsa greens the next day! Now, I would have no guilt after indulging in that BAR STASH πŸ˜€ You are hoooooked up!

  39. Emily November 16, 2009 at 11:17 pm #

    I like how I just referred to your body as a “him”…let’s go with “it”…oh, and spell “think” correctly. Okay, time for bed! haha

  40. janie November 29, 2009 at 3:02 am #

    omg so jealous of your bar drawer!!

Leave a Reply

