Froyo Love

12 Nov

hope everyone enjoys their Thursdays :)the weekend is so close I can taste it!

well, today was the big day… I met with a nutritionist here on campus named Marcy. I was pretty excited because I thought i’d go in there & she’d give me a plan and i’d leave feeling great, but I have to be honest..that’s not exactly how it went. 😦

The lady i was meeting with had a very serious tone, she seemed incredibly worried about my weight & made the situation seem REALLY serious. I’m not saying the situation isn’t serious, but I just wish she could have had a lighter attitude because it just stressed me out more. plus, when she weighed me I had gained some & so I felt like things are fine.

She told me that this is a really big deal & that living your live controlled by food/eating healthy/etc. is not the way to live. –> which I VERY much agree with

I guess I just wasn’t expecting her to be so serious and so it kind of made me sad/angry/annoyed. But when I left I realized i needed to be treated that way because I need to believe & understand that this is a big deal and actually try to change it. She suggested I ‘treat’ myself to things like froyo at least 2 times a week (which I did tonight!!) so I can try to get back to “normal” eating.

what is normal eating anyways? I mean, I don’t know if i’ll ever be able to be a ‘normal’ eater. I’ll always think about my food more than the average person I think. Anyways, I am going to meet with her on a weekly/bi weekly basis and she is going to weigh me each time. I think this is what I need and I am excited to hopefully get better/back to normal. I really do want HEALTH.

She said what I am doing now looks great, so that made me feel good at least.

I just really hope this is the help I need and this moves me in the right direction…

does anyone have good advice about how to make the best use out of a nutritionist if you go to one?

anyways, since the last time we talked I haven’t gotten too many interesting food shots 😦

last night I went to dinner with three of my friends at noodles & company- it was SO good but I didn’t take a picture since I was with my friends! I had bangkok curry with shrimp and a tossed salad on the side with fat-free asian dressing.

I found the best place on campus to study yesterday! It is called the Student Activity Center & it has a room that looks like this. How cool is that? I loved it!

DSC00678

while studying in there, I snacked on some TJ’s trail mix! really good πŸ™‚

DSC00680

Today started with a delicious yogurt mess! boring, I know but I still couldn’t resist taking a picturee! i drank my ensure about an hour and a half later. this yogurt mess had VANILLA CHOBANI :), banana, a mix of golean and peanut butter bumpers, and some dark chocolate dreams! sadly, i am out of my greek yogurt.. grocery store trip in the near future?

DSC00682DSC00683

I then went to my retail class & heard from Hy-Vee! It was ok, but I enjoyed catching up with my friend Abbey. Then, since the weather was nice, I went for a quick run with Gar OUTSIDE! It was a good run because we were going at a fast pace & I felt like we were really pushing each other. I’m so glad i’ve been running outside more, it really is better than the treadmill!

We then had lunch & I didn’t have my camera but it was pretty boring! I also snacked on a chocolate peanut butter nugo bar in my 4:30 class.

Dinner tonight was seasoned chicken breast, scalloped potatoes, & a salad that had spring mix, diced carrots/red peppers, couple pieces of broccoli & zucchini, mushrooms, a little tabouli (loveee tabouli), & lite raspberry vinaigrette dressing. yum!

DSC00684

Gar suggested bubble tea which has froyo for dessert & I didn’t hesitate to obligee πŸ™‚

DSC00690

look how cute our froyos are!! mine is the vanilla w/ raspberries & his is cherry froyo with fruity pebbles, blueberries, & kiwi!

TRUTH–> part of me really didn’t want this because I knew I still had to drink my ensure and it seemed like so much, but I did it anyways.. & you know what. It was damn good!!

there has been a lot of talk in the ‘blogworld’ about why people have started their blogs. I’ve enjoyed reading about it from people like Rebecca, Mitri, & Devon… It is so important to make sure we are all blogging because we are truly inspired by each other & want to heal or share or passions, or whatever else, not to compare or any of that nonsense. I’ve personally been thinking lately about what my family & people close to me would think of my blog.

There is no way I want them to know (besides gar :-D) about it because it is personal & I wouldn’t feel comfortable, but I can’t help but wonder what they would think. do your families know about your blog? if so, what do they think about it?

another RANDOM tidbit- I thought i’d share something i’m proud of!

DSC00270

me n gar after a 5 mile run this summer! ❀

so before this whole disordered eating thing took over my life, I was always active (by the way, i’m going to update my story page this weekend! with much more detail) but I hated running. When me n Gar would run, I would be wayyy behind him & I would be pretty much dying.

over the past year, i’ve developed a love for running. Today, when Gar & I were running I felt fast & I felt great. It just feel so good to think about how far i’ve come with running & how I used to DIE when me n Gar would go for runs together and now i’m able to keep up with him (even though I know he slows down a bit for me). Even though part of me knows running is a bad thing with my disordered eating, there is a HUUGE part of me that does it because i LOVE the feeling after a great run & the motivation to keep improving that comes along with it.

ok rant over!

What is something YOU are proud of???

sorry this post was long!!

oxoxoxoxooxo

Shelleyβ™₯

48 Responses to “Froyo Love”

  1. Megan November 12, 2009 at 2:31 am #

    Yay I love fro-yo!! And greek yogurt messes!?! <– I eat one pretty much every day for breakfast πŸ™‚ I'm obsessed!

    And I LOVE running.. I always feel so awesome after any type of run and I feel weird if I don't get a run in. I think something I'm proud of is getting the courage to join my college's XC team this year.. and I'm SO glad I did.. I've met so many amazing people and I'm having a great time!!

  2. burpexcuzme November 12, 2009 at 2:55 am #

    Yup, my family and friends know about my blog, but don’t make a big deal out of it. My parents don’t really read my blog though, they simply don’t have the time.

    As for the nutritionist, I hope she is well-aware of ED issues. I’ve heard of some crazy-ass nutritionists who would ask their ED patients to eat about 2000 kcal aday, which is totally NOT enough, and also some may implicate a negative idea on “bad food” when really, all food is medicine for you right now. Normal eating is a tricky thing to learn, but it comes when you GIVE UP the control you have over food. No food is bad, no food is too much or too little…it just means listening to your body, fueling it enough so that you can get on with your life.

  3. Lexi November 12, 2009 at 4:54 am #

    my nutritionist is very serious as well. when i’m with her, i just try to go with the flow and take her suggestions seriously (like you did!) great job with the froyo. so proud of you. it looks so tasty!!

    my family and some of my friends know i blog. at first i have to say i was a little embarrassed by it, but now i feel proud of it. it’s like a creative outlet for me, so that’s one thing i’m proud of!

    have a great day today,
    =)
    much love,
    lexi

  4. maya November 12, 2009 at 6:42 am #

    hey girl i second all that Sophia ^^said about a Nutritionist, but i dont have one at the moment, but my twin eliza does, i think if u give up some control and go with what she says, it will work out for the best, but as long as she “gets” EDs, u know?, and always listen to ur body and keep fueling it as it is needed, and your doing so wonderful girly! πŸ™‚

    and all the yogi messes and froyo..YUM! love it! πŸ™‚

    xx
    maya

  5. rebecca lustig November 12, 2009 at 8:25 am #

    I remember how nervous I was before my first nutritionist appointment. I kept thinking, ‘what if she doesn’t let me eat what I want’ and ‘what if she’s mean?!’

    I know, for me at least, that sometimes I need a tough love attitude and a push to stay motivated. The way I make most out of my time with her is by being honest. She usually asks how I’m feeling and all that jazz. Then we go over the meals I ate and how I felt, why I did/didn’t complete my exchanges. Then we talk about ‘fear foods’ I could try in the following week. What’s been most helpful is her suggestions for products and recipes. I find that I get bored with the same old routine, and since she LOVES food (and natural, whole foods at that), she’s been able to give me advice and suggestions.

    I think it’s important to be honest with the nutritionist. She can become your saving grace.

    You and Gary are SO cute– I’m glad you were able to enjoy a mindful run with him.

    Have a wonderful day sweetie!
    Becca

    p.s. I’m proud of sticking up for myself yesterday.

  6. Emily (http://funnyemily.wordpress.com) November 12, 2009 at 9:10 am #

    yay for fro-yo!!
    as for nutritionists, i don’t have much background there. i went to the campus one a couple times last year and i remember her really pushing “normal” eating, and i thought she was crazy at the time….i have actually been thinking about going back recently but i keep talking myself out of it, so idk. sorry that was no help.
    i think you are doing such a great job, your running greatly inspires me (i haven’t run since july) i’ve had a love hate relationship with it because i was obsessed, but it feels great, i am excited for when i am strong enough to run for the runners high.
    as for the family & the blog, i let my mom read it, because it helps her know what’s going on with me even though i still talk to her everyday. sometimes she asks about things and it makes it easier for me to share.
    keep going πŸ™‚ you are doing great
    xoxo have a beautiful day dear

  7. Emily November 12, 2009 at 9:15 am #

    So proud of you for enjoying that FroYo which looks sooooooo incredibly enjoyable! πŸ˜€

    I love that picture of you two! You look so happy! I have never ran 5 miles straight…that is quite the accomplishment!

  8. blueeyedheart November 12, 2009 at 9:41 am #

    I always, always fall into the trap of thinking, I gained some and that means things are fine… don’t ask me why it’s so easy to ignore the fact that if you need to gain (totally random numbers here) twenty, one really isn’t much more than a drop in the bucket. Yet I do it again, and again, and again.

    At times, it is really tempting for me to “lie” to my nutritionist, or stretch the truth… but that just means I’m lying to myself. I guess the best thing you can do with a nutritionist is pretty much the best thing you can do in life in general, and just be honest!

    NO WAY does anyone in my family know about my blog… and it’s going to stay that way, thank you very much.

    ❀ ❀

  9. julia November 12, 2009 at 9:49 am #

    I think it’s really important that you nutritionist knows about ED’s. Because it’s different. I speak from experience!

    Take her seriousness: because it IS serious and sometimes it’s not too bad to be reminded of the importance of recovery…
    Make sure that she helps you gaining (and make agreements. Like that she will tell you to add things to your diet if you don’t gain (enough).
    Make sure that she helps you with being relaxed about eating EVERYTHING. Because I believe that’s one of the most important things in recovery: to be able to eat everything, don’t have fear foods anymore. Absolutely nothing. I’ve done it and it feels so good! I had to eat some foods so many times before they felt completely ‘normal’ again and I love it, there’s no such thing as bad food!

    And most important…she can help you, but YOU gotta do it! It’s hard work, but you can do this! It’s worth it! Good luck:)

    xxx Julia (Taste of Living)

  10. traynharder23 November 12, 2009 at 10:12 am #

    you are such a cute couple! hahha.

    i know, i was like blahhhh on the treadmill. i had to go easier. and the lifting in the gym today was not fun. lol. i had major headaches. i’m going to try to hit up a small run outside.

  11. chocolate pickle November 12, 2009 at 11:03 am #

    Hi! Some nutritionists are very strict, some nice, some not so nice….the key I think is finding one you click with….if you don’t click with the first one you meet with, it’s OK….maybe look for other people? Everyone responds best to different approaches so even though your nutritionist might be right for some people, she’s probably not right for others…..only you can make that decision, though….if your gut tells you she’s good then stick with her….if not, your well being is most important so you might want to find someone else who suits your personality and needs better:) Hope that helps!

    On a happier note, you and your boyfriend are so cute together!!

  12. Missy Maintains November 12, 2009 at 11:35 am #

    As you know, my family has no clue about the blog but they will be finding out in 2 months because of Shape! I am seriously dreading it but I am not going to turn down such good blog exposure at the same time. Half of me is scared for them to read about my bingeing and the other half is scared because of my boyfriend they hate. We’ll see how it goes!

    Glad you enjoyed some fro-yo! Always a nice treat!

  13. sarahdbelle November 12, 2009 at 11:51 am #

    My nutritionist was really, really incredible. She had an eating disorder when she was younger, so she made me feel completely comfortable. One of my favorite and first things she said to me was that, “Nothing you tell me will shock me. You could tell me that you hang from the chandelier and eat bananas, and it will not make me bat an eye. I want you to be able to tell me anything and know you will not be judged.”
    One of the best recommendations from her was to make sure that I incorporated enough healthy fat in my diet. I used to eat a tablespoon of peanut butter every single day in addition to my regular meals. It actually helped me gain my period back in time.
    Lots of love.
    Sarah

  14. jaime November 12, 2009 at 12:01 pm #

    hi doll!!

    ughh i can totally relate to your nutritionist issues– to be honest i stopped seeing mine because she would always PUSH me to do wayy more than i believed i needed to and she often made things seem worse than it really was– especially since i was only a few lb under.

    i think you shoudl tell her how you are feeling and that way you two can work on a plan that will work for you. for me personally– it was challenging myself with one thing per week and then adding on from there.. .just shoot me an email if you need any advice or anything πŸ™‚ love the blog mama!

  15. Bethany November 12, 2009 at 12:01 pm #

    You and Gar look adorable!

    Something that I’m proud of is that I signed up for my first 5k on New Years Day!! I can’t wait!!

  16. vegfiguresk8er November 12, 2009 at 12:36 pm #

    Good job on the running! i also use to hate it, but now I love it πŸ™‚
    My family and friends don’t really know about my blog, but it’s still new and I guess I don’t think they would be interested.
    have a wonderful day doll!

  17. Gabriela November 12, 2009 at 2:51 pm #

    No one knows about my blog, for now at least- I’d like to keep it private until I’m used to it! I’m glad you have such a positive outlook on your meeting, it sounds like you’re doing great! And that froyo looks super yummy…it’s making me crave some πŸ™‚

  18. julie November 12, 2009 at 3:50 pm #

    mmmm girl WORK THAT froyo! Twice a week is super exciting so feel excited about it πŸ™‚ I know its definitely gonna be hard some weeks but just think of the deliciousness that comes in that bowl! mmm mm

    at first I felt awkward with the family knowing about the blog but now they’re all about it and very supportive! especially when they see the free food that gets shipped to my house haha

  19. balancedbean November 12, 2009 at 4:10 pm #

    Hi! I just came over to your blog from Whit’s getting fit. It’s my first visit, but I know I’ll be back. I have the polar opposite problem that you deal with. I’m overweight. I have been to a nutritionist and truth, I wish mine had been harder on me…maybe a stern tone and a set regimen would have helped me more. The woman I saw for 6 months was extremely kind, but maybe too nice??? Sometimes I thought she couldn’t relate to me either. I struggle with portion control and a love for all things chocolate. I would tell her that I had trouble staying out of a bowl of hershey kisses and she would say, “well just have one and be done”, and I would think…aren’t you listening to me, I can’t stop once I start, please help me deal with that issue!
    I wish you all the best! Your food looks fantastic and so beautifully healthy! πŸ™‚
    -Jean

  20. Melissa November 12, 2009 at 4:17 pm #

    Are there any other nutritionists you can try? It’s along the same lines as seeing a therapist. You’re not going to click with everyone. It’s important to find the right person to suit your needs.

    My family knows about my blog, though only my immediate family knows about my issues with disordered eating. I’m really glad I told the fam about the blog because they’re all so supportive!

  21. homecookedem November 12, 2009 at 4:46 pm #

    That fro-yo looks wonderful. And I know it doesn’t seem like it right now, but you can return to normal eating. I promise! I’ve been through similar things as you and I’ve come such a long way!! πŸ™‚

    My husband, mom, and sister both know about my blog. They were my very first readers!! πŸ™‚ Both my mom and sister actually have their own food blogs (on my blogroll), but my mom no longer updates her’s. So needless to say I’ve been lucky to have them be so supportive.

  22. StartingHealthy November 12, 2009 at 6:20 pm #

    That study room looks amazing, I bet the view during the winter is great. If the nutritionist issue doesn’t get better I’d just request a different one, not all personality types get along and I’m sure they’d understand.

  23. traynharder23 November 12, 2009 at 6:34 pm #

    yeah, i’m going to try to relax a bit! =D

    i just had work, so i’m going to relax now….with some water, nose spray, and gum.

  24. kasondra November 12, 2009 at 7:17 pm #

    Shelley I found your post very inspiring. I can absolutely relate to how you are feeling I definitely have some experience with nutrition and nutritionist appointments. I would always write myself nutrition plans and my nutritionist liked them so much that she would just use them. So basically i was only going to her to have her tell me if i have been following the plan that I wrote! haha. It was nice to have an ok place to talk about food though! I would love to help you with your nutrition if you are interested.
    I really enjoy reading your blog!

  25. kasondra November 12, 2009 at 7:20 pm #

    P.S. Great job with the frozen yogurt!!!

  26. nattietan November 12, 2009 at 7:56 pm #

    Well done on the Froyo and Ensure. I know how tough it must have been but you’re a sure fighter and you ARE going to pull through this!! =)

    My parents and friends know about my blog. They read it but that’s about it. Haha. I guess it has helped them gain a better understanding of EDs so that helps in communicating to them my ups and downs rather than have to explain it to each of them individually as and when they ask.

    And what is something that I’m proud of? Well, there are a lot of things but as of today, I’m proud of having come this far in recovery. Sure, there are still days when ED beats me up over having departed so far from my ‘skin & bones’ days. On the most part though, it feels great to be living again!

    Praying that lovely sunshine keeps shining your way!! Have a wonderful day ahead hun!!

    xx

  27. Lauren November 12, 2009 at 8:17 pm #

    I remember when I first met with my nutrionists years ago, she told me that I HAD TO GAIN WEIGHT! Like the world would end unless I gained 10 pounds overnight. Now, she wasn’t the best nutrionist mind you, but I remember getting so angry when she told me the answer was drinking big milkshakes every single night. I really think if I would have done that, I wouldn’t have ever overcome anything.
    Girl, trust me…you WILL get through this. I know it’s scary and I know that you are probably feeling like no one really gets it (especially the nutrionist) but trust me, the hardest part is not gaining the weight, it’s getting over the mental trap. Are you seeing a therapist? I know it sounds like a lot, but I truly beleive that therapy saved me life, not the scares from the medical doctors. I don’t know why the docs and nutrionists always feel the need to scare you into a healthy weight. Sometimes, just hearing that you are worthy of being happy and normal is all you really need to hear.
    So, I am telling you…YOU ARE WORTHY and YOU DESERVE TO BE HAPPY!!!!! πŸ™‚

    Take care sweet heart and if you ever want to talk more, email me! I’ve been through the same difficult journey at one point in my life so I totally understand! πŸ˜‰

  28. candice November 12, 2009 at 10:01 pm #

    I’ve never been to a nutritionist, so I can’t give advice on yours. But I’m glad you’ve been motivated to become healthy again. There’s only one way to do that…

    That fro-yo looks awesome, by the way. πŸ™‚ Though my stomach would probably kill me for it in this freezing weather. :/

  29. Mitri November 12, 2009 at 10:25 pm #

    Thanks for mentioning me πŸ™‚

    That room looks an awful lot like one I used to study in at my old college haha… suspicious πŸ˜› I think the nutritionist may be a good thing just because sometimes we forget what it is like to look at ourselves from an objective point of view. Of course we think we are okay or whatever.. we only see it from our own eyes. But someone who is not affected by our thoughts can probably see the reality.

    Hope it works out for you!

  30. crazylittlethingneela November 12, 2009 at 10:46 pm #

    i have to agree with many others here. finding a good nutritionist is really not as simple as it sounds. i gave up mine after she told me to start exercising even though i was dealing with obsessive exercising before and just needed a break from it all. some really don’t understand what we really need to recover πŸ˜€
    but you are really looking gorgeous with your boy there πŸ˜‰
    loads of love
    xoxo

  31. kbwood November 13, 2009 at 1:53 am #

    loved this post! girl, you deserved that freakin fro yo! get it!! that looks delicious by the way.. i wish we had a cool fro yo place here..

    and im sorry about your nutritionist..my old one had NO idea what she was doing..she was like “you have a small frame so you only need xxxx calories a day” and that was WAY less than what i had been eating.. i was like, what the heck woman? she was so clueless…needless to say.. i dropped her! sometimes stern ones are good though, it would keep me in line!

  32. Laura November 13, 2009 at 8:14 am #

    Such a good post!!
    The best advice I can give to you about the nutritionist is simply to BE HONEST! If she asks you to start including something and you absolutely KNOW you won’t be able to- tell her! That way she can work with you to find something that works, or some way to make that specific addition work.

    ❀ Laura

  33. krittie November 13, 2009 at 11:29 am #

    Hey Girly! I came across your blog via a comment you left me and I have to ask… Do you live in WI? I saw your post about Ians Pizza-FYI LOVE THAT PLACE! It’s great for the 2am food runs πŸ™‚ Also, if you do live in WI where the hell do you find froyo? They do not have it by me in Milwaukee, it’s so sad 😦 Let me know!

  34. blueberrymuffins November 13, 2009 at 12:58 pm #

    Yikes sorry to hear abt the Nutritionist issues, sadly I don’t have one at my school!

  35. Devan Geselle Newman November 13, 2009 at 1:50 pm #

    I have a nutrionist too.. The best thing is to talk about what YOU want to talk about. she is working for YOU , love. to help acheive YOUR goals !
    I hope that helps, a little at least…

  36. Naomi (onefitfoodie) November 13, 2009 at 4:17 pm #

    very proud of you eating that DELICIOUS looking froyo-i mean how could you turn that down?? I think that with a nutritionist it is super important to really talk as much as you can for them to understand you and get a great idea of your whole ‘picture’ they are there to help you and want to help you so just speak your mind, girl!!

    that student center is certaintly beautiful indeed and trail mix is the perfect study snack!

    i am so happy you are enjoying the outdoor running more! it goes by so much faster than on a treaddy!

  37. Nelly November 13, 2009 at 10:42 pm #

    Yes mam I am getting more samples! BUT the chocolate greens is amazing! If you click the link and put in the code you get a discount πŸ™‚
    Love checkin out your site too!

  38. glidingcalm November 13, 2009 at 11:31 pm #

    yay for fro yo!!!

    my parents know about my blog, but I dont feel comfortable letting most of my friends in on it! It is sort of a private thing, and I don’t want a ton of people knowing about it for privacy purposes.

    have a great weekend, girl!

  39. imaginenamaste November 13, 2009 at 11:38 pm #

    My nutritionist was like that at first, too! She relaxed as I relaxed to her, too! But, isn’t it great that you walked in and went?

    PS Your campus view is amazing! Mine is just a dirty river and brick buildings. Lovely in the summer/spring/fall, not so much in the winter!

  40. mayapamela November 14, 2009 at 2:48 am #

    I’ve also developed a love for running this past year. It’s great that we’re starting so young, it’ll hopefully be a lifelong love!

  41. solclare November 14, 2009 at 9:03 am #

    I love your yogurt mess!

    I used to run a lot, but now I can’t as the doc forbade me to do any exercise now. Sometimes I run just to vent my frustrations too.

    Hmm.. something I’m proud of? Haha I’m proud to say that I can actually do Chinese Dance, and actually I’ve been doing so for 12 years! Funny thing is, no one could tell I actually do Chinese Dance from my looks :D.

  42. Jenna November 14, 2009 at 3:45 pm #

    hey shelley!
    i just came across your blog and i absolutely love it and can relate to you so much! i can’t wait to follow your blog and i would love it if you could check out my blog!!
    jenna

  43. Diane Doesn't Diet November 14, 2009 at 5:33 pm #

    You and your boyfriend are so cute!!

    Your food looks DELISH.

    My fam doesn’t know about my blog yet, but I think I will tell them eventually.

  44. poiseinparma November 15, 2009 at 2:17 pm #

    I’ve considered going to a nutritionist but was worried about having a similar experience. I too struggle with the idea of “treating myself” early in the day when I know what’s still ahead of me. We have to remember to listen to our bodies! Maybe one of these days, I will… and stop thinking so much!

  45. onehealthyapple November 15, 2009 at 10:35 pm #

    I love, love, love fro yo! I’m so glad you got to enjoy yours! I have slowly told family about my blog and I know they now read it regularly. It makes me want to censor myself a bit, so that would be the only draw-back. Otherwise they are really cool and supportive about it!

    Great job on the running. I really love it but can only do it on the treadmill because I have bad knees, so I still put on crazy music and get my run on!

    Have a great rest of your weekend!

  46. traynharder23 November 15, 2009 at 10:36 pm #

    twas a good run! THOSE PROMAX BARS are made for bigass body builders. i don’t know how i ate it all (well, i ate it as a meal, so it’s dif i guess!)
    i’m proud of the little defintion in my abs. =D

    and i’m proud of my sense of humor. and how i finished that darn 10k!

  47. Julie @savvyeats November 20, 2009 at 6:29 pm #

    I have been looking for a fro yo place in Madison ever since my trip in October to California… where is it? East Campus Mall?

    • shell625 November 20, 2009 at 8:30 pm #

      yep! in bubble tea in the food court at east campus mall πŸ™‚ & they are opening a red mango on state street!!! i’m so pumped

Leave a Reply

