Jello shots & Realizations

7 Nov

I love Saturdays like today. It is suchh a beautiful, sunny day here.

I thought i’d start this out by catching you all up on my eats!

Thursday was the first day I started incorporating my ensure drinks.

Breakfast was my pretty standard yogurt mess with an ensure

DSC00607to my surprise, the ensure was really pretty good. haha it tasted like a chocolate milkshake

after my 9:30 class I decided to stop at this little fruit stand that is on campus because I heard they had a sale on apples

DSC00613I got 6 honeycrisps πŸ™‚

Then, I went over to the boy’s place & I made him breakfast!!

DSC00615I made him oats with cinnamon raisin swirl peanut butter, heated up sliced apple, some honey sunshine, & cinnamon– he lOVED it!

Then I had my own lunch which was pretty typical & featured one of my new honeycrisps!!

DSC00616For a snack I had a luna bar i had never tried before.. lemon zest!

DSC00622it was good– not my favorite because it was maybe a tiny bit too sweet for me but i’d definitely eat it again.

For dinner I had broiled fish, scalloped potatoes, & a huggge salad!

DSC00626They had chickpeas for the salad! yummm

Thursday night was really relaxed– I just went over to Gar’s and we made some jello shots for our party that was last night! It was fun… we ended up making like 170

DSC00631They turned out perfectly!

Breakfast Friday morning was a yogurt mess but they were out of bananas so I had to improvise… I used some strawberries, pineapple, cantaloupe, & apple slices. I also had an ensure

DSC00633Lunch went unpictured because it was very typical & i don’t want to bore you all!

Yesterday I worked out with Gar! I ran for 20 minutes & then did some chest & shoulders– we did 3 x 10 of bench press, incline press, shoulder press, and this other weird shoulder thing that we call ‘truck drivers’. Then we did abs! 20 crunches, 20 butterfly crunches, & 10 on a decline bench. It felt really great. I’m really proud of myself for doing more strength training

After workout snack featured my new heart thrives!!! I tried lemon poppyseed & omg it was amazing! I heated it up for 20 seconds and topped it with dark chocolate dreams

DSC00642seriously- if you can find these… get them! I am going to try the chocolate ones soon & so i’ll let you all know what I think!

Last night’s dinner was a baked potato with salsa, a huge salad, & an apple from the cafeteria. I even put some cute little goldfish in my salad.

DSC00647I got a large chocolate milk too because I forgot my ensure (oops) and I had to get over to Gar’s to get ready for the night!

Last night was so funn– lots of people showed up & people loooved the jello shots!

something kind of interesting happened last night. granted, it was semi influence by alcohol but nonetheless it affected me. so a couple girls from my floor who came to gar’s apartment went in his room & saw a picture of me and him from prom my junior year… this is it:

promthis is me at my old weight. The girls on my floor didn’t recognize me. They asked me who it was. I told them it was me and they were astonished. They then went on to say how beautiful I looked and how they think I should get back to this point. I had never been told so directly that I looked great before I lost weight by people I didn’t know very well. Sure, gar & my family and old friends tell me– but to hear it from new friends who didn’t know me before meant a lot.

No, I don’t think i’ll ever get back to that weight. I don’t want to give exact numbers I don’t think, but I just know that my ideal weight is now lower than that. Still, it makes it a lot easier for me to remind myself that I NEED to gain weight & that I will look BETTER if I gain some weight.

These girls helped me so much last night & I really owe them alot. I thanked them but it kind of made me realize they are people I want to be closer friends with πŸ™‚

have any of you experienced little acts of kindness that have gone a longer way than people may realize?

I hope you all have fantastic weekends.. my night is probably going to be kind of boring but sometimes I don’t mind relaxing nights !

also- next weekend my family is visiting for parent’s weekend & i’m so excited!! I can’t wait to take my lil sista out :]

xoxooxo

Shelleyβ™₯

34 Responses to “Jello shots & Realizations”

  1. Gabriela November 7, 2009 at 5:56 pm #

    Jello shots are lethal…but I love them πŸ™‚ I agree, sometimes it does take a total stranger to tell you the truth! You do look great in that pic, but what’s important is to be HEALTHY…if you feel good, you’ll look good at any size! Enjoy the rest of your weekend girl xo

  2. Emily (http://funnyemily.wordpress.com) November 7, 2009 at 6:04 pm #

    omg so jealous of the honeycrisps… i can’t bring myself to spend the cash on them, but i love them all the same!
    ahh jello shots are so happy πŸ™‚

    i totally understand how total strangers can motivate you to keep going, they are right that picture is beautiful and pressing forward toward that is healthy.
    its all about feeling better & owning it πŸ™‚
    keep having fun!

  3. Lexi November 7, 2009 at 6:26 pm #

    great eats babe! i love the lemon zest lunas. and baked potato with salsaaaaa!!!!! my fave my fave.

    i’ve had the same experience with someone seeing a picture of me before my ed. my friends always tell me that i was small even before it happened and that i didnt need to lose weight at all. you look b-e-a-utiful in that photo. just to let you know, it would definitely not be a bad thing to get back up to that weight. you look so good.

    im glad you’re having a fun weekend thus far. i love love love jello shots they’re the besttt.

    p.s. thats so cute that you made breakfast for your boy!

  4. nattietan November 7, 2009 at 8:02 pm #

    Your bf is so lucky to have you make such yummy breakfasts for him! lol. And you know what? You have such an upbeat tone to your post that makes for wonderful, motivational reading!

    You did look gorgeous and you still do! BUT I bet you’re gonna be sizzling when you do reach a healthy BMI so keep up the wonderful work! You are so blessed to have people who love you and are supportive of you. I am sure that even better, more beautiful things await you!!

    xx

  5. april November 7, 2009 at 9:58 pm #

    Yummy eats! That’s so cute your bf eats the oats you make him.. I actually got my boyfriend to eat purple sweet potatoes, kabocha, and oats in a jar! Crazy I know!

  6. rebecca lustig November 7, 2009 at 10:35 pm #

    JELLO SHOTS are bomb. I’m glad those girls could put reality and rationalization in your head for you. A little external positive reinforcement never hurt πŸ™‚

    Those heart cookie things look delish. I might have to check ’em out!!

    Enjoy the rest of your night, lovely lady!
    With love,
    Rebecca

  7. The voracious Vegan November 8, 2009 at 1:41 am #

    Such a sweetie to make such delicious breakfasts for your boyfriend! When it comes to cooking for my hubby I’m like an old fashioned Italian grandma, all I do is say ‘eat! eat!’ I LOVE cooking for him more than anyone else.

    Your meals look so vibrant and healthy and tasty too! I love the big salads, especially topped with chickpeas. Doesn’t get any better than that!

    I’m glad you heard such a nice compliment about that photo of you. I can tell you that you DO look so stunning there! You are all glowy and happy, you really do look beautiful. πŸ™‚

  8. Nelly November 8, 2009 at 3:10 am #

    I just started my own health blog too!

    http:/wholeyfit.blogspot.com We should keep in touch!

  9. crazylittlethingneela November 8, 2009 at 5:16 am #

    hello gorgeous girl!
    thank you for your sweet comment on my blog πŸ˜€
    aww i really want to try those lemon lunas. everyone always raves about them so they must be good.
    well done on introducing the ensures to your diet. it helps a lot when trying to gain some weight. you’ll just get even more gorgeous than you already are πŸ˜€
    xoxo

  10. Ada November 8, 2009 at 6:12 am #

    Wow, girlie, you look gorgeous in that picture! Your skin looks like it’s glowing in that photo.

    Haha jello shots, what fond memories! That was also really sweet of you to bring the boy breakfast:)

  11. Tatianna November 8, 2009 at 6:45 am #

    Hey Shelley πŸ™‚
    Random acts of kindness that extend far beyond their reach? I would have to include your amazing comment on my blog to that list πŸ˜‰

    It means so very much to me when someone reaches out (especially because I hadn’t met you, or read your blog at all which I am THOUGHLY enjoying btw!).

    Thanks so much for the amazing support; its people like you who make me feel like I can accomplish anything.
    Don’t be a stranger ;D
    xo
    Tat

  12. julia November 8, 2009 at 8:40 am #

    I think it’s most important to get to a healthy BMI that’s natural for your body, so you don’t have to think or worry about it: it’s just the way your body is… In that picture, you look gorgeous! Perfect to me:)
    Loving those heart-things, so cute!

    xxx Julia (Taste of Living)

  13. ~Jessica~ November 8, 2009 at 12:09 pm #

    Thank you for the lovely comment you left me πŸ™‚

    I think you look so beautiful in that picture but I can also understand how it is to feel uncomfortable at a certain size, despite what others say or how they perceive you. Finding a happy medium between what we desire and what is healthy is never easy, but I believe with the realisation that you are gorgeous no matter what, perhaps you might be able to come closer to achieving some kind of inner peace. Personally, I believe that the psychology of weight perception is just as important as gaining the actual weight itself, and it sounds like you’re on the way towards seeing what a stunning individual you are, regarless of weight.

    Congrats on the strength training! I’m useless at it πŸ˜‰

    Hope your Sunday is going well

    ❀

    xoxo

  14. katie November 8, 2009 at 1:12 pm #

    I will let you know how it is!!! I bet its good!! Yay for the pumpkin kashi bars being yummy!! Cant wait to try them!! I know forever 21 is very overwhelming, thats why I shop online!! Have a great Sunday!!! xoxoxo

  15. MelissaNibbles November 8, 2009 at 3:43 pm #

    I’ve never had the Lemon Luna before. I’ll have to check it out.

    Glad your finding friends at school that you can open up to.

    You’re beautiful!

  16. Katie November 8, 2009 at 5:32 pm #

    Hey girly,
    Just came across your blog, love it!
    Now, I’m from australia and I have zero idea what jello shots are! hahah they look cute…..!
    Can’t wait to read more posts!
    xx

  17. Laura November 8, 2009 at 7:57 pm #

    Sometimes seeing old pictures can spark something inside of you. I look through old pictures when I want motivation- not because of the weight, but because I know I was much happier and energetic at that point.

    Also, would you believe that the ONLY Luna bar I haven’t tried is the LemonZest one. I’m so hesitant to try it!!

  18. blueeyedheart November 8, 2009 at 9:43 pm #

    I’m glad you were able to figure out a way to fit the Ensures into your diet!

    Those Jello shots are adorable πŸ˜‰

    And you really do look beautiful in that photo!

    ❀ ❀

  19. Devan G Newman November 8, 2009 at 9:52 pm #

    hehe i love making jello shots πŸ™‚ so fun!

    actually all of your eats look SO delicious! and im glad The Boy loveed his breaky πŸ˜‰ xxoo

  20. Kris | iheartwellness.com November 9, 2009 at 12:52 am #

    Mmmm how was the lemon zest luna??

    It looks tasty!

    I hope you have a great week Doll!

  21. Emily November 9, 2009 at 12:58 am #

    You are beautiful girl! Inside and out..I am sure!

    I have never tried a lemon zest luna, but I sure do love lunas! πŸ˜€

  22. lora November 9, 2009 at 3:18 am #

    girlie, u are and were and always will be gorgeous πŸ™‚

  23. Lindsey November 9, 2009 at 3:26 am #

    Hey,
    I just read your story and you sound so much like me when I was in high school; feeling you could stand to lose a little weight, and then going overboard into a dangerous zone. I remember being told that for my height (5’8) and weighing as little as I did, about 114, I was off the charts as far as being underweight goes- THAT was a huge wakeup call, along with missed periods and such. It’s weird looking back and thinking how being that skinny HAD to look better than anything you ever were.

    That was nearly 7 years ago and I just want to say things get easier with time, like being able to eat certain foods you consider off limits. Plus, you surely know all of the incredible benefits to your health when you incorporate the right things into your diet. Good luck letting go of the tendencies to think you’re eating too much, or not working out enough. I wish I had a blogging community to help me through my process, but I think you’re going to do great with this!

    • shell625 November 9, 2009 at 12:52 pm #

      thanks for the sweet comment- i’d love to read your blog if you have one! what’s the link?

      • Lindsey November 9, 2009 at 3:38 pm #

        I don’t– not yet! I’ll definitely let you know when I do!

  24. Missy Maintains November 9, 2009 at 12:08 pm #

    Yum jello shots are the best! Love the Heart Thrive bars too! I must try them with dark chocolate dreams now! And yes, you do look beautiful in that picture!!

  25. kbwood November 9, 2009 at 2:23 pm #

    ensures really do taste like chocolate milkshakes! haha. I need to try the heart thrives..ive seen them everywhere and they look delicious

  26. Melissa November 9, 2009 at 4:35 pm #

    6 Honey Crisps AND Jello shots…wow, you had a great day!

    (Thanks for visiting my blog and leaving such a nice comment!)

    No matter how you look in one picture or how you look now…just take care of yourself. It’s about how you feel on the inside and being healthy. πŸ™‚

  27. katie November 9, 2009 at 7:32 pm #

    Yum it was!! Hey I like the Bengals! Good Coach!!! Marvin rocks!! Hope you have a great nite!! xo

  28. Sarah November 9, 2009 at 8:36 pm #

    I totally identify with you. Once I gained some weight back, everyone told me how much better I looked. Just remember it’s more important to be happy and healthy than thin. And you are and always will be gorgeous!
    Sarah

  29. psychoj1 November 9, 2009 at 9:56 pm #

    It’s amazing how pretty much strangers can make us think…don’t ya think? πŸ˜‰

    Great eats girl! Love your yogurt messes!
    ❀ jess
    xoxo

  30. The Foodie Diaries November 9, 2009 at 10:21 pm #

    I think your boy and my sis have similar tastes; we made them such similar oat bowls πŸ™‚ haha

    You are so incredibly stunning in that picture! I’m glad those girls were unknowingly able to give you a positive boost and a little extra incentive to keep up your good work. You can get to where you need to be if you keep focusing on your wellness/happiness… Can’t wait to keep reading, chica<3

  31. burpexcuzme November 10, 2009 at 1:34 am #

    Shelley, you definitely look drop-dead gorgeous in that pic…I can’t wait for you to gain back your health and beauty, and post a more recent pic of yourself, looking that brilliant!

  32. kasondra November 17, 2009 at 9:04 pm #

    You are strong Shelly. I know how scary it can be. I was at 90lbs at my lowest. I’m at 130 now and i still don’t even have any stomach skin to pinch! I am so much happier where i am now. people tell me all the time how great I look. I am 5’7″ being around 105 was my scariest .It was so overwhelming to think of how much weight i had to gain. I felt like i would NEVER get there. but with baby steps and weekly/monthly goals I got there. I found that setting goals was a must!!! I would just let the days, weeks, months, pass when i had no time frame! Keep at it gurlie! I believe in you!!!
    Kasondra xoxo

Leave a Reply

