Mac n’ Cheese Pizza, Pepper Spray, and Sleep Deprived

5 Nov

I hope everyone had a great hump day! Mine was SUPER busy but pretty good/productive I think.

Last night I had a decently good dinner

DSC00589salmon, a salad with a couple pieces of tofu & some kidney beans, and a bowl of this white & wild rice with milk.

now i was a little stressed out about the rice because I don’t like to eat white rice, but I needed the calories. I was happy i ate them even though it did make me a little anxious :-\

Today started out great! I worked out with the boy (only ran for 15 minutes & then did some weight training for mostly back) & then after I treated myself to a delicious yogurt mess with chocolate milk πŸ™‚

Usually today would be subway day with my friend in my retail class but in my second class (which is at 2:30) they told us we’d be getting pizza. Naturally, this kind of stressed me out but it is a small class and I figured that I would eat it since it’d probably be weird if I didn’t to the other students/my teachers. do any of you sometimes feel like you have to eat something because other people will judge you if you don’t?

The pizza was ordered from this place called Ian’s & they are famous for their mac n’ cheese pizza

I never tried ian’s because it is kind of a ‘fear’ food but today they had it! I was so relieved they had the veggie pizza option so I could get something somewhat nutritious. It had really good tomatoes, spinach, and portobello mushrooms on it

DSC00596ok, so I didn’t try the mac n’ cheese pizza- but I think it’s a pretty funny concept! I got a pretty weak pic of it to show you bloggies with my phone

mac n cheeseI did have a tiny bite of my friends though- it was interesting… haha

a few hours later I snacked on a chocolate chip clif bar… I had never tried this flavor and I really liked it. I thought it tasted great and was very filling.

DSC00599I then had to rush to a sorority meeting for a couple hours. It was fun and my “mom” in the sorority bought me pepper spray! I was so excited :] it’s even in this cute little pink case!

pepper

I picked up dinner at this little organic food restaurant that I love! I got a turkey and avocado sandwich on wheat bread

DSC00601it was pretty good- it tasted really fresh! I also had a handful of pretzels that went unpictured.

On the way home I stopped at a local coffee shop as well & guess what I found…

DSC00603I am so excited to try these!! I have heard such great things about heart thrives… I’ll definitely post a review as soon as I try one.

Later, I got soft serve with the boy from the caf and let me tell you they put so much ice cream in that cake cone! I wish i could have gotten a picture. It was so good and I was really happy that I let myself indulge πŸ™‚

I have a couple of things I want to bring up…

1) Do any of you find that when you stray from your routine, you may undereat? Today, I definitely ate some things I wouldn’t normally eat in a typical day (i.e the pizza, soft serve, and even the sandwich) but sometimes I think when I do that I underestimate the calories and end up not meeting the calorie goal I set for myself. When things get ambiguous (such as calories), I find that I am likely to eat less than when I know exactly how many calories I am consuming. Does anyone else feel this way? do you think you sometimes are more cautious when you don’t know the exact calories?

2) I talked to my Mom and she is really concerned that I still haven’t gained anything. She had me buy ‘ensure plus’ drinks. I am really hesistant to drink these but I know if I drink a couple a day it will probably be the extra calories I need to actually see results in my weight gain. girls who have taken drink supplements like this– how do you incorporate them in your diet? How do you feel about these drinks? I plan to replace milk at two of my meals with these and continue eating the way I have been eating. Part of me is really hesistant to drink these but I know it is probably what I need to do.

ensure

anyways, have GREAT Thursdays! Sorry this post was so heavy on the eating stuff- I really don’t want this to be the WHOLE focus of the blog but right now it is something I am dealing with. I also have a HUGE paper in my marriage and family class due next week and lots of other work so i’m going to be pretty busy this weekend.

anyways- I need to go to sleep- I feel sleep deprived for sure! A nap is in store for tomorrow πŸ™‚

love you guys!!

xoxoxoxo

Shelleyβ™₯

23 Responses to “Mac n’ Cheese Pizza, Pepper Spray, and Sleep Deprived”

  1. brianna November 5, 2009 at 4:29 am #

    I am in love the pink pepper spray haha! Mmm chocolate milk is so good.. I have to have choco soy milk though because the good ol’ stuff kills my tummy.

  2. eliza November 5, 2009 at 4:43 am #

    love heart thrives! the lemon poppy seed is my favorite πŸ™‚ such yummy eats!
    good luck with the ensures lovie, hmm well when i drank them i would have one at breakfast instead of milk, or in IP and with my afternoon snack i would have one as well, and also at night…now i dont drink them, but my doctor wrote out a perscription for me to get them because she really thinks they are helpful, which they are…but i havent yet to go get them at the store. :/ but i am still gaining on my own so i guess that’s all that matters..but good luck sweetie with the ensures, they are super good poured over cereal πŸ˜‰

    lots of love
    xx
    Eloza

  3. Gabriela November 5, 2009 at 7:08 am #

    I love soft serve too! I always dip mine in TONS of sprinkles πŸ™‚ I do sometimes eat things I normally wouldn’t if others are around, but I think it’s important to listen to your body and do what you want. If you’re hungry (which of course you were if you hadn’t eaten lunch,) then go for it and enjoy the pizza! But don’t be afraid to just have a little sample of something you’re not really digging…it’s better to have a full serving of something you know you’ll ENJOY, and then you won’t feel guilty, either!

    I live in NYC, and a lot of restaurants are required to put calories on their menu. It’s helps people make better choices, I guess, but it does sometimes make me enjoy treats less (like a cupcake). I try not to think about it and just eat what I’m craving!

    I’ve never tried Boost, but I know lots of bloggers have and they don’t seem to hate it πŸ™‚ When I was struggling with other issues a few years ago and lost rather than gained weight, my therapist told me to add PB to EVERTHING, which can be kind of fun too if you love PB! Think extra PB in yogurt messes, PB on fruit and in sammies (with everything else) at lunch, PB right out of the jar!

    Have a good day love!

  4. Megan November 5, 2009 at 8:46 am #

    Mac and cheese pizza!? That’s pretty insane haha.. I’m not too sure on how I feel about that πŸ™‚ And I LOVE the pepper spray! One of my best friends has pepper spray that looks like lipstick and it’s awesome.

    I can’t wait for your Heart Thrive review! I’ve been looking for those every where!

  5. Tasty Health Food November 5, 2009 at 9:08 am #

    Mac and Cheese pizza is so strange… I tried it once last year and I still haven’t decided if I like it or not! I’m really glad you’re trying to meet your calorie goals with the Ensures. They will really help. I remember when ED was strong for me this summer, my mom used to want me to drink an Ensure every day, but I always poured it down the drain. 😦 Bad memories…

  6. Mitri November 5, 2009 at 9:16 am #

    That happens to me sometimes: I feel like it would be “weird” for me not to eat because everyone is expecting everyone else to eat whatever it is. Glad you challenged yourself though πŸ™‚

    I’ve never had an Ensure before, but I imagine you might be able to use it on your cereal instead of milk?

  7. julia November 5, 2009 at 11:14 am #

    That pizza looks delicious!

    As for the supplements: I recommend just taking them ‘extra’ and not think too much about it. Just have them, you need them. It’s not such a big deal in that way (in my experience), you can even get creative and mix them with fruits etc.

    Good luck! xxx Julia (Taste of Living)

  8. sarahdbelle November 5, 2009 at 11:28 am #

    Hey Shelley!
    I’m so glad to hear that you’re getting over some of your fear foods. I know how hard it is, and you should be so proud.
    The pizza looks delicious, too!
    xoxoxo
    Sarah

  9. Taylor November 5, 2009 at 12:21 pm #

    major props on all those fear foods! that’s a big deal, foreal.

    and i think i definitely tend to overestimate the caloric value of my meals if i don’t know for sure. my “ed head” likes to put a nice little cushion on top of whatever the meal probably actually has just to keep me from going over my calorie needs. i know it’s not good, but it gives me a lot less anxiety to think i might be under rather than over.

    and the ensure isn’t so bad. i put it on my cereal in the mornings or make smoothies with it. you can also add it to coffee or heat up the chocolate flavor to make hot chocolate. just don’t pair it with yogurt or pudding if you’re new to drinking it, and don’t drink it too quickly. that’s a quick way to make yourself suuuper nauseous, in my experience.

    good luck, love the blog, keep up the good work!!! <333

  10. blueeyedheart November 5, 2009 at 1:36 pm #

    Your idea of replacing the milk with the Ensure is a good one; I know it was always a fear of mine that I’d get “used” to the supplement and feel “deprived” when I stopped. The vanilla is good over cereal. (I’ve actually poured the chocolate over cereal, too. It was… interesting.)

    ❀ ❀

  11. Lexi November 5, 2009 at 1:47 pm #

    hey girl! just saw your comment on my blog! so cool that you’re from columbus too. i just want to say, that i have gone through a very similar process. i read your “my story” tab and my story is very similar to yours, although at this point i have gained up to a healthy weight. i had to use ensures and boosts to help me get to where i am today. dont be afraid of them, even though they seem scary. they will help you get to where you need to be and you’ll ultimately be healthier and happier as a result, trust me πŸ™‚ anyway, great finding your blog, i hope to continue reading and getting to know you more! maybe we could do a meet up in the future since we live so close! lots-of-love,
    lexi πŸ™‚

  12. Devan G Newman November 5, 2009 at 1:54 pm #

    haha so awesome about the pepper spray πŸ™‚ I want to get some!!
    Congrats on the pizza challenge πŸ™‚ I find if I go out of routine, i will uner-eat as well.. but it is all in baby steps, right?
    i have never been a fan of ensure, or boost. i used to have them when I was in bed-rest. i will never go back 😦

  13. dee (the apple hill adventurer) November 5, 2009 at 2:55 pm #

    hi there! thanks for stopping by my blog! I know it is not very popular, so it means a lot to me that you took the time to check it out!

    i really love your blog too! found a new one to bookmark YAY!

    your food looks so yummy! and i must say, that pepper spray is adorable! my dad got me some, but its in a can the size of a brick haha

  14. snackface November 5, 2009 at 2:57 pm #

    Hey sweetpea! I thought I’d stop by your blog and what did I discover? Oh, you’re gorgeous! Just that lil thang πŸ˜‰

    Anyway, I’ve done the Ensure thing, so if you want any advice, email me at kharless10@gmail.com!

    Hope your Thursday is going well!

  15. Emily (http://funnyemily.wordpress.com) November 5, 2009 at 3:09 pm #

    thanks so much for the support beautiful! you are right we have to remember that gaining weight is gaining health and we need it.
    omg congratulations on the pizza! veggie = yum, mac&cheese i don’t know about that one haha.

    i do the same thing when i don’t know how many calories are in things, i find myself overestimating them just to make sure…i’m trying to stop doing it, i’ve found that not counting helps, but some days i just don’t know.
    i’ve got ensure chilling in the dorm room, right now i use it kind of as a back up, if i am super busy and have a group meeting during dinner time (i actually like the dark chocolate ones)
    xoxox πŸ™‚

  16. dailygoods November 5, 2009 at 4:48 pm #

    theres a place right by me that has mac and cheese pizza too! haha. it’s been on the food network channel and everything. i wanna try it, i just odn’t think i could handle it! haha

  17. nattietan November 5, 2009 at 7:29 pm #

    Hey hun!! I’m taking Ensure too and I have a packet with breakfast and one with my afternoon snack. I think it’s easier for me because at least I know that once I reach my healthy weight, I can drop them off and not fear overeating. I think it’s probably preferable to take them with snacks so they don’t fill you up too much!!

    You’re going strong girlie! And you’ve got me droolin’ with your eats! Yummmm!

    xx

  18. Rachel November 5, 2009 at 8:43 pm #

    Ensure:) It’s like…flavoured milk, really. Go with what Mitri said! It’s yum with cereal, or to make oatmeal with. Alternatively, it’s nice on its own too. LOL, I sound like I’m advertising for it, but really, as supplements go, Ensure isn’t too bad.

    Your pepper spray made me laugh…and I can’t wait for your review on the Heart Thrive:)

    Take care, sweetie!

  19. Kristie November 5, 2009 at 9:03 pm #

    I would have definitely had to try a bite of the mac&cheese pizza. What a weird concept..but delicious! Two of my old fav foods haha. Yikes! Your veg pizza of choice looks much more delicious though πŸ™‚

    I’d be pretty excited about pink pepper spray too!

  20. Allison November 5, 2009 at 9:21 pm #

    I’ve never had the Heart Thrives but I’ve heard nothing but good things about them.. I’m definitely gonna have to get my hands on some!

    Sometimes I have days that I’m just NOT hungry for about 75% of the day (weird.. I know) but I’ve gotten pretty good at knowing when I’m actually hungry & when I’m just eating to eat.. and it’s usually days that I’m stressed out, have a billion things to do, or even some days with heavy workouts that no food sounds good to me causing undereating.. it’s kinda sketchhh

    You’re doing AWESOME girl! I’m sure its difficult but taking baby steps is the best way to go… I’m proud of you for facing your “fear foods” Thats some amazing progress πŸ™‚ Keep it up!

  21. My Organic Intuition November 5, 2009 at 11:14 pm #

    so glad you started your blog sweet pea! it looks great!!!

    LOVE choc chip clif bars— SOO goood! πŸ™‚

    that is AWESOME you challenged yourself with the pizza– amazing job!

    i can def relate to feeling ‘like you have to’ eat if other people are– but i ALWAYS end up doing waht i want– never feel pressured to do something you are not comfortable with!! today for example all my coworkers were eating lunch together in the restaurant at our hotel to try it out– i had already eaten lunch and i didnt want anything— i was the only one not eating but it was because i was already STUFFED from my lunch! at the end of the day– do what makes you feel happy & comfortabel πŸ™‚

    have a great day xoxoo

  22. determinedtoshine November 6, 2009 at 6:16 am #

    woop to challenging yourself to the pizza! but yes, i am exactly the same – if I challenge myself or eat something without knowing its calorie content I always overestimate how much it was, and then make up for it by undereating later on in the day. so its a win-lose situation really 😦

    good luck with the ensures. i used to have to have them in IP with each snack. the advantage of them is that they get the calories in without making you super bloated or overly stuffed. and also, when you reach your goal weight and want to switch to maintanence you can just remove the drinks from your diet and you dont have to worrying about cutting back on any food.
    iv got a presciption for them now but havent started using them yet :/

    enjoy your day lovie!
    ps the pepper spray is adorable!

  23. glidingcalm November 8, 2009 at 4:38 pm #

    Mac and cheese pizza?! How weird!!

    That pepper spray is really cute! My roomie gave me hers (from her sorority) when I was getting back to our apt. late at night….and well, our neighborhood was a little freaky deaky! I’m happy to say I don’t really need to carry it around anymore!

Leave a Reply

