3 Nov

Hope everyone has had fabulous starts to the week!

Mine has been good ,but not very interesting! Last night was a lattte night of studying & doing random stuff so i’m feelin a little bit sleep deprived right about now :-\

My eats lately have been pretty standard slash not incredibly interesting but I did manage to get a few shots to show you all 🙂

Dinner Sunday night was in the cafeteria & one of the main components was this delicious salad

DSC00580basically, I stocked it up with veggies & then added some tofu, cottage cheese, & olive oil vinaigrette dressing. I also had some soup, an apple, & milk with it.

yogurt messes have been my go-to breakfasts and so I haven’t been picturing them because that would just get boring!

lunch yesterday was a sandwich on these new amazig earthgrains thin buns! they are just like arnold sandwich thins but they have a little bit of a different taste/texture that I really like

DSC00462DSC00582I also had some cheddar pretzels, a pickle (does anyone else love pickles?!), an apple, & milk!

for a snack, I tried one of hte bars I found in my cafeteria yesterday

DSC00587it was ok- it was filling but it kind of had that fake-proteiny chocolate/pb taste so i was slightly disappointed

yesterday I worked out with Gar. I ran 20 minutes & did some weight-training for legs.. It felt great but I almost ran more than 20 minutes. I was happy I was able to stop myself but it is so hard to not fall into my old routine.

i’ve gotten some great advice from some of you bloggies & i love it– thank you all so muchhh! I just feel like so many things are easier said than done. I feel like this blog is a positive thing overall and even though sometimes I definitely find myself comparing myself to other bloggers, I love the support system it provides & how I feel like I can just post my thoughts whenever I want… it’s very therapeutic in a sense.

I have a lot of work this week so i’m just hoping things don’t get too stressful– i’m already ready for the weekend!! I think me & the boy are going to host a little party at his apartment 🙂 jello shots anyone???

I have to make this ‘freshman survival guide’ for a class i’m in and i was wondering what advice you would give to college freshman?It can be about absolutely anything & i appreciate any ideas!

Currently, I am multi-tasking while watching my go-to trash tv- BRAVO (i am a sucker for the real housewives shows, tabatha’s salon takeover, etc.) – what is your favorite trash tv?? i may or may not be really excited for the premier of real housewives of orange county Thursday (hehe)

real-housewives-of-orange-county-season-5-00

anyways- i’ve got work to do! so i’m off 🙂 hope everyone has a great Tuesday!

xoxoxoxo,

Shelley ♥

14 Responses to “”

  1. lowandbhold November 3, 2009 at 1:12 pm #

    Wow… advice for freshman?? That’s really fun 😉

    1. Appreciate it! Never again will you be in the position to meet so many new people and experience so many new things. Be open-minded, let people and experiences in that you may not have been willing to in High School. Keep your eyes open to what is going on around you and remember it, because it will fly by. Put yourself out there!
    2. Don’t stress too much about your career/major/future, but also don’t stress too little. Try out different groups and campus activities that have something to do with what you may want to do (pre-law club, young dems/republicans, work at the school yearbook/magazine/newspaper, foreign language clubs, etc). If something really strikes your passion then take the sign and run with it. Be sure to put a lot of effort an ambition into your classes and activities – it will make intern and job searching a breeze.

    Hope that helps 🙂

  2. determinedtoshine November 3, 2009 at 2:56 pm #

    Congrats on being able to work out and stop when you told yourself you would. Its soo easy to push our bodies too far, but its important that we listen to them and respect them 🙂

    Have a great day!
    Hannah xo

  3. brianna November 3, 2009 at 3:27 pm #

    Is that a new housewife I spot! I can’t wait to get back to North America so I can resume my trash tv watching. I would defs tell a college freshman to get organized buy a big calendar and an agenda ant to get enough sleep, whenever possible!

  4. foodieinthecity November 3, 2009 at 3:30 pm #

    How did I not know about the Real Housewives of Orange County premier this Thursday?

    My boyfriend is going to love it that I will be clogging up our DVR even more now. Hands down, this is my favorite reality tv show. Well, this and the Bachelor/Bachelorette!

    Advice for freshman.. man I feel old.

    I guess I would say savor every moment you have in college. It goes by WAY too fast.

    Also, when choosing your career… it is easy to just go for what will make you the most money. However, after coming out of college and being in the workforce, you realize money doesn’t=happiness. I would much rather be doing something I enjoyed everyday. So go for what you are PASSIONATE about. 🙂

    Rant over!

  5. Allie (Live Laugh Eat) November 3, 2009 at 7:06 pm #

    Haha back in the day I loved watching Engaged and Underage on MTV. Now I love Gossip Girl–although I wouldn’t consider that trash 🙂

  6. psychoj1 November 3, 2009 at 9:36 pm #

    Enjoy the partyyy! 🙂

    You are Gar seem so cute! Little workout partners!! Smart job stopping yourself!

    ❤ jess
    xoxo

  7. Molly November 4, 2009 at 8:44 am #

    Hi girl,

    I am in love with pickles as well. At work I always take a pickle spear (when the boss is not there) to have with my shift dinner if it is a large veggie filled salad. YUM!

    Good job on your workout and the ability to stop yourself! Seriously routines are h-a-r-d to break! (or stop, for that matter).

    Have a good day/week girl!

  8. katie November 4, 2009 at 12:41 pm #

    Wow those earthgrains sandwich thins look good, will have to try those ones, I always get Arnolds, I love pickles!!! I love pickle juice too, I remember when my sis and I were little we would pretend we were turtles and would drink pickle juice out of the jar cause we thought it would mak us faster, lol! Oh the good days!

  9. Missy Maintains November 4, 2009 at 3:20 pm #

    Freshman advice? First of all have as much fun as possible and enjoy every minute. At the time I though school work sucked and you couldn’t wait to be in the real world but now I would do anything to relive college. Also do not drop out of a major you love just because it is tough. I dropped out of nutrition and highly regret it! Marketing got me no where!!

  10. jocelynsteiber November 4, 2009 at 4:44 pm #

    Freshman Advice:
    1) GET INVOLVED!! College is about learning what you want to do and there are so many things to explore and find your passion.
    2) Meet lots of people! The friendships/connections you make in college will help you in the real world.
    3) GO to Class…you can;t learn the information just by reading the textbook
    4) Study with people– you learn so much better this way
    5) Enjoy yourself. There is NEVER going to be a time again when you surrounded by people ALL your own age!

    xo Hope this helps : )

    Jocelyn

    ps I love love love Housewives of OC!!

  11. Megan November 4, 2009 at 11:25 pm #

    Ahh it seems so long ago that I was a freshman! Those were the days… my biggest piece of advice–

    HAVE FUN!! Try new things out, you’ll most likely find something you’re in LOVE with that you never knew!

    And YES to jello shots 🙂

  12. Haylee November 5, 2009 at 1:29 am #

    I saw those earthgrains thin buns in the grocery store the other day and i’ve been dieing to try them ever since! They look delish.
    Yes ma’m, another pickle lover here! haha I could eat them all day I swear. (Ok, maybe not all day..)
    Ah real housewives of OC will definitely be playing at my house as well! 🙂 Gotta love trash TV.

  13. StartingHealthy November 6, 2009 at 12:05 pm #

    I’ve only tried the Vanilla Yogurt NuGo bar, but it was pretty good and the 11 grams of protein puts it in line with Luna Bars. It’s too bad the peanut butter and chocolate flavor didn’t turn out as well, it’s a classic combo. For new freshman, my best advice would be to get involved, not necessarily even clubs or groups, but just a strong social circle. College is about more than just classes and studying, and it’s not likely that you’ll be in an environment like it again.

  14. Melinda November 9, 2009 at 1:40 pm #

    I LOVE Bravo Tv- my fave channel EVA! 😀

    I’m sooo excited for Real Housewives of Orange County premier- love them!! I also love The Hills and The City- two of my other faves 🙂

Leave a Reply

