November already?

1 Nov

Happy November !!

Is it just me or is this fall FLYING by? I can’t believe halloween is over

I had suchhh a fun but exhausting weekend. way too much fun & way too little sleep was involved 😦 but i’m recovering today! Β I really did an awful job of taking pictures of my eats.. in fact, I really didn’t picture anything at all so i’m sorry but i promise i’ll get back on track this week.

I did, however, dress up as a mime….

DSC00534_2& this is me & gar in our white trash costumee. haha just LOOK at him

DSC00564yeah it was pretty much a crazzzy weekend.

how was your halloween? tell me stories!!

today, I walked into the little convenience store by my dorm that is attached to the cafeteria & saw that they got some new &healthy stuff!

DSC00574DSC00575even though i’m sooo incredibly stocked on bars right now, i still had to buy 4!! it was too tempting.. plus, I had never tried these before! I can’t wait. I’m also definitely going to have to try some of this kashi oatmeal asap πŸ™‚

ok so i have to be honest– i have really been struggling with everything. I feel like i’ve been eating a lot lately & it is really stressing me out. I just haven’t been exercising as much b/c of my weight gain plan & that causes me a lot of anxiety. I just wish I didn’t think about eating and dieting and working out as much as I do.. i feel like it’s not normal and I shouldn’t let it get to me the way it does. I feel like there is no way to change at this point though & I feel like thoughts of food/exercise/etc. are just kind of ingrained in my head.

I feel like based on how i’ve been eating, I should have gained like 5 pounds already but my weight still ahsn’t gone up. I have this irrational fear that i’m going to wake up one day and have gained a lot of weight all at once. I know this isn’t practical but I really fear it.Β does anyone else have anxiety like this?

on a similar note: i love blogging.. i really do. i’m so happy i decided to do it. but i can’t help but wonder if this makes my thoughts about food & exercise worse? I mean, i think it helps me because everyone’s positive comments are so encouraging but at the same time I can’t help but fear that blogging my eats could only make me more obsessive? any thoughts? anyone who struggles with disordered eating have similar concerns?

can’t wait to catch up on all hte other blogs & hopefully have a more photographed post very soon πŸ™‚

xoxoxo,

Shelley β™₯

12 Responses to “November already?”

  1. Jessica November 1, 2009 at 7:29 pm #

    Hey girl, love the white trash costume…too cute!

    just remember that you NEED to gain this weight, so working out shouldn’t be an option. You honestly need months and months of just resting your body, and eating a lot more food that you’d ever expect! Trust me, i’ve been there!

    You’ll ease up on diet and exercise if you can just drop most of your rules. Quit working out completely (your body NEEDS it, and you’re still going to look great…think about how many other girls don’t work out ever, or rarely do and still look good! you’re young…so you can get away with it!!), and break those rules! Add more peanut butter to that breakfast, or grab an extra handful of pretzels with your lunch….try some new things too!

    Blogland is here for you, just keep working at it! πŸ™‚

  2. Emily (http://funnyemily.wordpress.com) November 1, 2009 at 9:26 pm #

    awesome costumes girl!

    && i totally feel you on the anxiety, my problem is that i go in cycles almost daily, and i let Ed talk me away from eating what i should too often. we have to be stronger than Ed, we are smart enough to know that he is wrong.
    as for working out i don’t do it. i try to do yoga daily (but allow myself to miss a day sometimes) and i treat all the walking i do to get from class to class as all the cardio i need.
    to be honest i have been going on this way for 3 months and i haven’t gained…its troubling

    this may be the longest comment ever…sorry about that, but remember
    i’m here whenever you need anything email me/facebook me, anything

    i believe we can do this πŸ™‚

  3. psychoj1 November 1, 2009 at 9:56 pm #

    I’m sorry you are struggling lately!! If there’s anything I can do or you just wanna talk, just let me know via email/comment πŸ™‚

    You can do this girl. I know it’s not easy, but all the hard work is worth it. The weight gain is a hard path, but I know you can get through this!
    ❀ jess
    xoxo

  4. brianna November 2, 2009 at 4:53 am #

    The white trash costume is epic and i totally love it! I always have that anxiety with weight gain so your not alone. I know its hard to not worry about your weight but try to. Just live your life and i find when you are happy in your everyday life you weight seems to take care of itself. Just eat what your body needs and still keep the unhealthy foods to a minimum and all will be okay. I haven`t had to be a program where I need to gain weight because I still have a healthy bmi but I deal with the anxiety of gaining tons of weight everyday. Just listen to your body and try and shut out the negative thoughts that ED puts into your head. I hope I helped in some way… if you ever need to chat i’m always here!

  5. Naomi (onefitfoodie) November 2, 2009 at 5:45 am #

    love the costumes S, they are so cute!!

    you are not alone in this struggle. It is hard to NOT think about everything you put in your body and exercise, it really is. WHen you are having negative thoughts try to think about something else, like How good the food youa re about to eat is going to taste and how much your body needs nourishment! you are a beautiful girl, and you gotta give it what it needs!!

    xoxox

  6. Mitri November 2, 2009 at 8:12 am #

    Sometimes I have fears when maybe one night I eat more than usual, splurge in dessert etc, I irrationally feel like when I wake up the next morning that dessert will somehow have appeared externally on my body lol. But it doesn’t work that way. You don’t just get “fat” over night. I’ve been testing it πŸ˜‰

    I do think blogging can have negative consequences if you approach it in the wrong way. For example, I thought I should post a picture of each meal every day for awhile, but that just forced me to perpetuate the rules of meal planning and making everything”right” rather than just eating normally. But if you include other interests and just post some food whenever you happen to take a picture, no problem πŸ™‚

  7. solclare November 2, 2009 at 8:27 am #

    Yes, I’ve been having such anxiety, such to the extent that I feel that as long as my mouth’s moving, I just feel so “sinful”. Ugh, sucks totally, no?

    Oh well, it’s just the beginning of Nov, great month to you babe!

  8. foodieinthecity November 2, 2009 at 9:47 pm #

    Thank you for stopping by my blog! I can’t wait to catch up on yours. I added you to my google reader πŸ™‚

  9. julie November 2, 2009 at 10:06 pm #

    hey girl keep your head up! It’s such a hard battle when you know what you have to do but your mind and the devil on the left shoulder is telling you something else. You’re gorgeous no matter what so tell yourself that EVERYDAY!

  10. Devan G Newman November 2, 2009 at 11:53 pm #

    your costumes are SO cute!! I love the mime!

    I struggle soemtimes with the same feelings.. blogging, food, exercise.. if blogging triggers it, as you feel you need to do what other bloggers or doing.. eating what they eat.. or whatever. its tough.
    😦 I just started seeing a dietion.. i so nervous. But I also find that the blog world is good support too

  11. amh7183 November 3, 2009 at 10:28 am #

    Just discovered your blog: I’m going to add you to my blogroll if you don’t mind πŸ™‚

    I am with you about the anxiety issues. I’m not sure if keeping such a detailed blog about food consumption is just feeding an OCD personality and adding more anxiety! I think if you find the blogging is helping you instead of hurting you, it’s a step in the right direction.

    Look forward to reading your posts!
    http://poiseinparma.wordpress.com

  12. Gabriela November 3, 2009 at 10:34 pm #

    Hey girl, thanks for the comment! I know what you mean with the anxiety…I’ve been struggling with this for a few years now, and though I now I’m way better, old habits die hard. Just remember that just as weight loss is slow, weight gain can be as well. Keep sticking through it!

Leave a Reply

