Great Start to the Week

26 Oct

hello lovelies 🙂

Today has been a really good day for a few reasons:

1. I found out I got an A on my marriage & family exam!! (yes, I know..weird class? but whatever)

2. I had a great work out with my amazing boyfriend! He actually got me to do some weight lifting that I needed and I limited my running to 20 minutes & it felt great. I hadn’t worked out for almost a week & it was just what i needed

3. I was feeling really positive about myself/my weight/etc. and I feel like I made really good food choices

4. I went grocery shopping with my boyfriend/best friend in my pledge class which is always fun. The boy & leah got some trix yogurt… they are such little kids

here is my breakfast! I had the same yogurt mess except with a new kind of yogurt… Siggi’s! It was SO GOOD

DSC00445DSC00448Then, after my work out I had a very typical lunch… I forgot my camera but it wasn’t interesting. Just a turkey sandwich, some baked lays, an apple & 1% milk!

For a snack I had this incredibbllly delicious clif bar! This was my first time eating a clif bar b/c i always steer clear of them b/c of their high calories, but i was missing out!

DSC00451Then, Dinner was pretty good! The cafeteria made really good steak and even though I barely ever eat red meat, I decided it’d be good for me! So i had some steak, a baked potato, and a salad with veggies & lite rasberry vinagrette

DSC00457

I’ll probably snack on an apple or something before going to sleep 🙂

I got some good stuff at the grocery.. I didn’t need much but i got some fage 2%, some la tortilla factory wraps, some diet sierra mist (addiction), and some 100 calorie sun chip packs (sun chips are awesome I think)

anyways, in other news i’m helping my friend lose weight the healthy way! I am helping her with a meal plan… she tends have trouble eating correctly so i’m trying to help her out and make sure she isn’t starving herself.. does anyone have any advice?

Also, I thought i’d give you some info on the boy!!! 🙂 We both go to school here and it has been great to have him here while also making my own life for myself at school

Here we are over the summer:

DSC00141

& this is us @ prom in high school 🙂

me n gar

I think it is so important to have someone in your life who you can truly be yourself with and tell everything to. He has been there for me through all my struggles & is also the only person I have told about this blog. I feel so lucky every day just to know that he is there for me and will back me up no matter what.

He is the most understanding person ever & I love him! He’s the greatest

I also thought i’d show some pix of some of the food in my dorm =]

DSC00452DSC00454DSC00455yup, i stock up on the bars!

Eating healthy in college is not that hard… here are some pointers for those of you dealing with the same thing!

1) figure out a routine & stick with it! There are healthy choices in your cafeteria- you just have to figure out what they are

2) if your cafeteria makes turkey sandwiches, take advantage of it! A turkey sandwich on whole grain bread with a slice of cheese and some fruits/veggies is always a good, well balanced meal

3) If you get the salad bar, make sure you get enough protein! Don’t be one of those girls who just eats a tiny salad- it’s not enough and you will probably just end up snacking later.

4) Have healthy snacks available in the room ! This can be tough, but just try to find a way to get to the grocery store a couple times & stock up 🙂

This blog has already made me feel so much better about my situation… I appreciate the positive support & feedback, it really is encouraging! If there is anything you want to learn more about, please let me know

xoxoxo,

Shelley ♥

13 Responses to “Great Start to the Week”

  1. brianna October 27, 2009 at 3:31 am #

    Sounds like you had a great week girl! Hmm make sure your friend eats good protein so eggs and tofu (might be hard on campus), lots of veggies and low on starchy blah carbs. Then try her to get 30 minutes of exercise 4-5 days a week even if its just a brisk walk outside. Holy bar central in the dorm room!

  2. dailygoods October 27, 2009 at 8:34 am #

    hey girl heyyyy 🙂 lovin your new blog! you are gorgeeeouss! it sounds like you had an amazing week!! i have seen that yogurt a few places before and i definitely want to try it!

  3. Peanut Butter Bliss October 27, 2009 at 5:35 pm #

    aww girlie I am so glad you found my blog because I adore yours 😀
    wow we eat some of the same food – totally love the PB stash!!

  4. Naomi(onefitfoodie) October 27, 2009 at 5:48 pm #

    great tips there shelley! Love the pics of your food in the dorm room! when i was in college, I had quite the stash as well, one of my roomates would always steal my food so I kept it under my bed LOL

    as far as your friend, make sure she is getting enough whole grains (oats, WW bread, sweet potato, whole grain crackers) protein such as lean meat, fish, yogurt, string cheese, cottage cheese and also healthy fats! you should have her read your healthy eating tips that you just wrote!

    cute pics of you and your boy 🙂

  5. lora October 28, 2009 at 1:03 am #

    i think its crazy how diff i ate in my first semester of college (freshman year) LOL But, after time, you do learn that the cafeteria offers healthy things, like wraps and salads and soon you jsut crave the healthy things! Those tips you have lsited are awesome girl! You sound like you are on your way to helping ur friend lose weight…just let her know that snacks are beneficial in keeping that metab. revved 🙂

    p.s. ur boyf and u are too cute!

    xoxo
    LO

  6. Emily October 28, 2009 at 7:38 am #

    I agree girl…eating well in college is not THAT hard! Then again, it can get boring when it’s your second year in the dining halls…but there’s ways around that too! 😉

    LOVE your cereal/bar stash! nom nom nom

  7. Molly October 28, 2009 at 8:02 am #

    oh gosh I don’t even want to reflect back on freshman year of college.. prior to/right up to then I was way way restricting (the worse) then I got there and somehow lost all control/inhibitions and gained yes close to 25 pounds and no. Gosh then I started working out the following 3 years and thinking about what went into my mouth and lost all those pounds and now I am normal again.. but the weirdest thing is I stopped working out and my body has maintained this weight since May when I quit… funny how your body works. (oh maybe its because I am feeding it the way it should be and being nice to me…crazy thought right?!)

    I am impressed with your drawer of goodies :0) and your boyfriend and you are just adorable!! LOVE your pictures really.

    Thank you for finally commenting so I can start following and reading your blog because it is just adorable! Have a good day…

    p.s. I did the whole sorority deal as well it was super fun!!

  8. Foodie (Fab and Delicious Food) October 28, 2009 at 8:03 am #

    Hey Shelley,

    Thanks for stopping by my blog and leaving such a sweet comment! I appreciate it! I ended up telling a couple people about my blog and they were very supportive of it, said it was cool. But they didn’t actually read it or anything – not sure if they will or not! I think I might tell a couple more people today but don’t think I’ll tell every single person about it. Anyway, sorry for such a long comment, but thank you so much for your support! It meant a lot to me!

    Moving on to your blog now!

    You and your boyfriend are so cute together! He sounds like such a sweetie! Very cool that he knows about the blog and is supportive of it!

    You are too cute with the stash of granola bars and snacks in your room!

    Love your blog, you’re doing great! Will be adding it to my blogroll!

    Hope you have a wonderful day!

  9. healthy ashley October 28, 2009 at 8:38 am #

    You have such a great stash of goods in your dorm!

    Glad your week started out well… I hope it finishes that way, too!

  10. Melinda November 1, 2009 at 6:18 pm #

    Wow, what a bar selection- loves it! 😀

    You and the boy are such a cute couple 🙂

  11. StartingHealthy November 1, 2009 at 9:54 pm #

    Nice tips for staying healthy while in school. I’ve found the biggest problems for students are money, time, and kitchen access. It can get pretty tough to eat healthy when you’re on a student’s budget and only have a microwave. Nice bar supply though, I just bought a Carrot Cake Clif bar but haven’t tried it out yet.

  12. katie November 2, 2009 at 5:17 pm #

    I love your stash!!! great things that I always eat in there!! I love your blog and glad we are friends now!!!! I love your halloween costumes too, you looked great!!!! Have a great week!!!! xoxo

  13. Jenna November 14, 2009 at 4:55 pm #

    shelley! i love your blog and i just cant stop reading it! i can relate to you and your eatings sooo much 🙂
    jenna

Leave a Reply

