Gettin the hang of things

25 Oct

Sorry I didn’t post for a while, things have been SO CRAZY! first of all, I had a psych midterm & so i was studying my butt off all week. Then, i got this ridiculously horrible rash (allergic reaction to anitobiotics?) on my hands and feet and it has been awful. It is so itchy!!! Benadryl has been my savior for getting sleep.

But I had the best weekend besides the rash! I was initiated into my sorority today so the whole weekend was pretty much a celebration… lets just say a lot of it is not remembered :-\ Thats ok in college sometimes though, right?

So i have a LOT of delicious eats to show you! I have been trying so hard to get on the right track with eating to gain some weight but it is so hard.

I haven’t been running/working out at all and I can’t help but feel anxious/guilty/etc etc… Before I show you my eats, I wanted to talk about “exercise guilt”… do any of you feel like you deal with exercise guilt a lot? Since getting more into running over the past 6 months, I have started to get anxious feelings on days I don’t run. Lately, the days are much more numerous where I don’t run since I know I have to gain some weight… but it’s so hard not to tell myself that i’m lazy for not running or that I just feel gross… any advice???

Onto some eats πŸ™‚

Tuesday Breakfast was very simlilar to yesterday

DSC00390

Tuesday Night Dinner:

DSC00393Suprisingly good salmon from the cafeteria, mini baker potatoes (SO CUTE!) topped with salsa, a freakin’ HUGE salad w/ lots of veggies & some rasberry vinagrette dressing, an apple, & reduced fat milk. I had a huge dinner because I ran that day and so I knew i needed some compensation.

I also ate a delicious snack on Tuesday… another bar from the coffee shop near my dorm!

DSC00392so delicious!! Seriously, one of my favorite bars i’ve ever had! & it has 11 g of protein & 170 calories.

Wednesday was full of studying 😦

Lunch was turkey on whole wheat bread with some cheddar pretzels, a pickle, a huge apple, & some reduced fat milk

DSC00400Snack was the famous (in the blog world hahah) pb & j lara bar!!!

DSC00409Dinner Thursday night was not pictured 😦 but it was flat top grill stir fry white fish, brown rice, & tons of veggies!!

On Friday I made a trip to whole foods!! Naturally, i absolutely stuffed my plate with everything from the salad/hot bar

DSC00418I can’t even remember what was in this..it was honestly a little bit of everything! To be honest, i felt really guilty after eating this. Even though I know it was healthy, I felt like i ate way too much 😦 I wish i didn’t have these negative associations with eating… I want to be a better intuitive eater.

Dinner went unpictured but it was just a sammie that I ate super quickly before going out for the night!

Saturday was a weird day of eats…. I did manage a couple pictures!

Peanut Butter Pretzel Mojo Bar (SO GOOD) it was my first time trying this, and i loved it

DSC00434I didn’t picture lunch or dinner, but I did get a snapshot of this amazing frozen yogurt topped with strawberries, chocolate chips, & cocoa krispies

DSC00437Last night I slept at the sorority house & it was a lot of fun!

I’m really feeling anxious about this whole weight gain thing…. I just need some encouragement!

You are probably wondering how I am able to do things like go to whole foods, etc. while being a freshman in college.. well I have the BEST BOYFRIEND in the WORLD! I can’t wait to tell you all about him in my next post πŸ™‚

Thanks for reading & I really appreciate some recent support i’ve gotten.. I love blogging so far!!

xoxooxox,

β™₯Shelleyβ™₯

Ps- be sure to check out this awesome giveaway!!

7 Responses to “Gettin the hang of things”

  1. brianna October 25, 2009 at 8:36 pm #

    I get exercise anxiety all the time but I know not to push myself to the extreme anymore. I do my 30 minutes of cardio 5-6 days a week because its good for my heart. Before I would sit on my stationary bike for an hour just so I could burn calories but now I’m exercising for overall health not to lose weight. I know how you feel about gaining those few pounds. I still flip when i gain one pound but everyones weight fluctuates – we’re human! Your body is beautiful and so are your curves! Love every inch of yourself because there are better things to do with your time than worry about the little pudge. We can work through this uphill battle together, i’m here! Yay for a fun weekend at the sorority house. I wish my college had a greek system!

  2. lora October 26, 2009 at 12:16 am #

    whole foods hot bar= my life and the death of my bank account. i still struggle with intuitive eating, so u r not alone girlie. just trust that you are doing whats best for you body and push negative thoughts aside πŸ™‚

    xoxo

  3. onehealthyapple October 25, 2009 at 11:34 pm #

    Sometimes life happens and we get too busy. Try to remember that nobody is perfect and you can always get back to the gym. Your yogurt looks great too!

  4. Devan G Newman October 26, 2009 at 12:33 am #

    you took a lot of words out of my mouth
    I should be gaining weight too.. and I also started running a little bit, and feel anxious and guilty on days I dont exercise.
    and even wholesome, delicious, healthy meals, (such as WF bar) I get anxious if Its not “what i’d normally eat” or if I fear its “too much”

    but its NOT. you are worth every bite, and every lazy day.. we just have to keep reminiding ourselves of that.

    xo love your blog

  5. Naomi (onefitfoodie) October 26, 2009 at 4:38 am #

    omg the whole foods salad ar is the best, i get stressed out when I go there sometimes because it is just all so good my bowl ends up being one of everything haha

    intuative eating is hard! I just started getting better at it, putting food down when I know I am not hungry etc…don’t you worry- i also have to agree with devan who just put it best, you are worth every bite πŸ™‚

    cant wait to hear about your BF!!

  6. Missy Maintains October 26, 2009 at 2:44 pm #

    Yum to Whole Foods! Sometimes I feel guilty after eating there too because I always stuff myself. I also get exercise guilt and feel like I’ll gain so much weight when I skip a few days. I am trying to get better at it but I know how hard it can be!

  7. MelissaNibbles October 26, 2009 at 4:52 pm #

    Hi! Thanks for checking out my blog. I’m enjoying yours and can relate to your story. Isn’t the blogging community a wonderful support system?

    I suffer from the exercise guilt as well. I just remind myself that my body needs the recovery time and if I overdo it, I’m doing more harm than good. It’s tough though. You seem to be handling the college transition very well though. Just keep your head up πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

