The Cookie Diet

21 Oct

Let me start this post by explaining the title & perhaps ranting a little bit about it….

Since coming to school, I have noticed girls everywhere are CRAZY about food/dieting/exercise/etc. Some girls want to lose weight and talk about it constantly, some girls just are plain unhealthy (too much freedom? idk), some girls eat salads at every meal :-\, some girls only eat one meal a day, etc. etc. As you can imagine, this is kind of bad for me to be around as I am trying to gain weight and the last thing I enjoy seeing is other girls who are doing the opposite (and, not to mention, extremely unhealthily).

case in point:Β Today, in my intro to psych class (which i LOVE, by the way), I noticed a girl in front of me on her laptop. She was looking up all these weight loss sites (she looked perfectly thin to me) and one of the ones she was looking at was about a “cookie diet.” I don’t know why, but this really got to me. I mean, seriously, a cookie diet? Now i’m sure this thing works in some absurd way…. but whyy is it so hard for people to lose weight the healthy way? And why do college girls have so many self image problems 😦 i’m sorry, but I think it is really sad. I wanted to just tell the girl how pretty she is & how she shouldn’t be worrying about this stuff, but I didn’t for many obvious reasons.

Through struggling with disordered eating (I don’t have an eating disorder, I just think I have an obsession with food/eating/nutrition/exercise that is unhealthy), I have come to realize that happiness should not revolve around weight or your appearance. College is an AMAZING time and I wish it was easier for girls to find balance, happiness, health, & high self esteem here.

anyways… here are some of my eats for the day! I am still new at this & forgot to picture my dinner & a snack 😦 but here is what i’ve got

BreakfastDSC00381Fage 2%, 1/2 cup of kashi go lean/heart to heart, a banana, some cinnamon raisin swirl peanut butter & a cup of skim milk! And of course i had my daily coffeeee fix (unpictured)

Lunch was also delicious!DSC00386La tortilla factory wrap with turkey, pepper jack cheese, and lettuce with a serving of pretzels & one deliciousss apple! And a glass of skim milk on the side πŸ™‚

oh yeah and I definitely drank this…DSC00388maybe you are starting to catch on, but i have a caffeine/diet soda/coffee ADDICTION (I know..it’s bad)

Sadly, my chipotle dinner was unphotographed 😦 but i’ll tell you it was amazzzing. I was really proud of myself because I got rice in my burrito bowl. I usually just get a salad to decrease calories, but I thought I needed some carbs! I also had chicken, some cheese, tomatoes, lettuce, and guacamole on the side! Then, later I snacked on a pure protein s’mores bar (SO GOOD) while studying for psych 😦

I had a sorority meeting tonight & it was really funn… i’m loving my pledge class & i’m so excited because this weekend is initiation.

Sorry this post is so long, hopefully i’ll have some more food pix tomorrow & maybe something else interesting to talk about?


xoxooxox,

β™₯Shelleyβ™₯

8 Responses to “The Cookie Diet”

  1. Missy Maintains October 22, 2009 at 4:45 pm #

    Thanks for the nice comment! Love your blog and look forward to reading more! Sounds like I can relate to you a lot because I find myself obsessed with food/exercise too. It is ashame that so many girls of negative body images!

  2. Melinda October 22, 2009 at 5:17 pm #

    Hi Shelley- so happy that you stopped by my blog-I love yours as well and can’t wait to follow πŸ˜€

    I know the feeling about being obsessed with eating certain foods- I went through the same thing and was underweight and now I’m dealing with needing to lose some weight and I’m doing it the healthy way. It’s about finding the balance which I admit can be a daily challenge for me at times as well, hit me up if you ever need some support- anywho, welcome to the blogworld! πŸ˜€

  3. Naomi (onefitfoodie) October 22, 2009 at 5:50 pm #

    i am so happy I found your blog!! πŸ™‚

    there was certainly a period of time where I was obsessed with every little thing I ate. I counted calories, carbs, protein-eerything and it acutally drove me crazy and I gained weight. right now I am back to an intuative eating approaching, eat MUCH more carbs then i had a few months ago and have acutally lost weight listening to my body!

    it is certainly a challenge to find that healthy balance, but once it is achieved it is the best feeling, sort of like that “ah-ha!” moment!

    have a great day! πŸ™‚

  4. One Healthy Apple October 22, 2009 at 6:16 pm #

    I found your blog through Missy’s. Welcome to the blog world. I can say that I spent too much time in college and post-college in my food obsession and I think it’s great that you are realizing it’s not quite worth it. I’ll be reading along!

  5. Devan G Newman October 22, 2009 at 7:26 pm #

    your breakfast looks awesome.

    i also have a caffiene , soda pop addiction πŸ™‚

  6. Monique October 22, 2009 at 7:37 pm #

    What a lovely blog! Congrats on your first post. Blogging is a great stress reliever for me and i hope it is as therapuetic and helpful to you!
    cheers!

  7. brianna October 22, 2009 at 7:39 pm #

    Self image is such a touchy subject for so many girls but the important thing is you stay healthy and on the right track mi amica! I loved my intro to psych class so much freshman year! I’m taking another psych course when I got back to school in january! I’ve been seriously addicted to Fanta zero since being in italy – so bad!

  8. mirundap November 6, 2010 at 5:10 pm #

    To the poster above get your data right

Leave a Reply

