Feeling Zen

6 Aug

I can’t believe I haven’t posted for so long! I really thought I was ready to get back into the swing of things…but clearly I was not! I think the problem is that I put such an all-or-nothing label to blogging so if I don’t think I can do it on a regular basis, I’d rather not do it at all. Instead, I’m going to try to do it when I have time and not worry about when I’m going to have time to post next.

I truly do plan on posting very soon about how things are going in recovery/life/etc. but this post is just about a small new addition to my life.

And of course I do have a couple meals to show you…

That is a salad mess with sour cream, guac, salsa, turkey, arizona heat mustard & yogurt ranch dressing. The “chips” are simply a baked tortilla!! Super easy & really delicious.This was a delicious stir-fry- whole wheat rigatoni, garlic chicken sausage, olive oil, and veggies.

So not to get all zen on you guys (but I am), but I wanted to tell you all about something i’ve recently gotten into…

Meditation

This summer I’m working as a research assistant in a psych lab that studies meditation and its effects on the brain. If you’re interested, you can check it out here. I’ve taken a class on relaxation which incorporated meditation too. Still, I’ve never really considered doing it on a regular basis. I didn’t think it was something that was important enough for me to do on a regular basis or make time for until this summer.

I have been having some trouble sleeping and I googled what I could do to fix my problem. One of the ideas was meditation and instead of ignoring it, I gave it a second thought. Since then, I’ve been doing it at least once a day. There are a lot of different types of meditation but the ones I’ve been doing are simple guided meditations I find on youtube or itunes for free. I’ve done loving kindness meditation and ones that are about building self-esteem.

The benefits of meditation are endless, but so far I can see a few ways that I have benefited. For one, it helps me relax so that I am able to sleep easier (which was my issue in the first place). Second, when I do it first thing in the morning it really helps me set my mood for the day and approach the day with a more positive attitude. Lastly, I have noticed that my dreams have been much more vivid since I’ve started meditating. I’m not sure if meditation is the cause of this, but it definitely seems like it could be.

It’s amazing that something like meditation can make such a difference. I tend to be a fairly anxious person so meditating can be a challenge but it has definitely   made me more aware of my day-to-day stressors. It helps me relax.

Obviously, I’d highly recommend giving it a try :) It might seem stupid at first but after some practice (it takes time!!!) it really does great things!

Here are a few links for ya if you’re interested in trying :)

A little explanation about meditating

Til next time!

7 Responses to “Feeling Zen”

  1. movesnmunchies August 6, 2011 at 10:49 pm #

    so interesting girl! i have troubles sleeping so maybe this is the solution for me too :)

  2. Allison (Allison's Delicious Life) August 6, 2011 at 11:33 pm #

    i have tried meditating at the end of yoga classes and i’ve always enjoyed it. i am really glad you posted this—i am an easily stressed-out person and i think this could be an answer to my problem!

  3. debbiecutieface August 6, 2011 at 11:55 pm #

    my sister is all about meditation and I agree that it’s DEFINITELY helped her cope with living in my house with my mom. I’ve tried it a few times but honestly I’ve felt stupid :( I really do want to give it another go though, I’m sure it would really help me sort through a lot of things right now.

    I’m sorry we didn’t really get to talk last night by the way! You know I’m always here for you.

  4. Katharina August 7, 2011 at 11:31 pm #

    It definitely helps you become more mindful of things :) meditating helps me relax and makes me a firm believer in the power of the mind.

    XOXO, always love hearing from you!!!

    http://www.ohonemorething.wordpress.com

  5. Sarah August 8, 2011 at 6:31 pm #

    I’m so glad you posted about this! In the various ed groups I go too people have been encouraging me to try meditation lately…I don’t know why I haven’t. I think it’s hard for me to sit still like that and have thoughts running through my head without doing something to distract myself from them. But meditating might even help me to calm them…thank you! :)

  6. cardiopizza August 12, 2011 at 3:52 pm #

    I need to meditate more…there’s something so powerful about it.

  7. Christine August 14, 2011 at 10:11 pm #

    I need this in my life! Im going to give it a try :) Thank you

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 197 other followers

