Getting Back in the Swing of Things

18 Jan

It feels great to be back!

I forgot just how much I love Madison. When I am here, I truly feel at home. I don’t know why, considering i’ve only really been here for like 6 months, but I Just love the atmosphere! & Thank you all so much for your sweet comments- I can’t thank you enough for your kindness & support!

Before Gar & I embarked on our 8.5 hour road trip, i had a delicious breakfast which was kashi truly vanilla hot cereal, 1/4 cup egg beaters, pumpkin, banana, peanut butter, almonds & chocolate chips!

We always stop at Subway for lunch. I looked in advance to see what would best fit my meal plan. I know it isn’t the healthiest thing, but pre-Ed I used to love Italian BMTs. Gertrude told me that any meat beside turkey/chicken is bad but the italian BMT fit my meal plan PERFECTLY and all I needed was one more carb- enter, chicken noodle soup!

This sandwich tasted so good, I forgot how much I loved these :). 1 point Shelley, 0 Points Gertrude!!

I even managed to get in my afternoon snack despite feeling very sedentary in the car. I had this delicious bar & some dried apples! Me n Gar sang in the car a lot and I embarrassed him by dancing, particularly when other cars were nearby :)

When I got back to school, I was unpacking for a long timee.. it took a while! I was also so excited because a new grocery store called the Fresh Madison Market opened and it has organic items along with a hot bar & salad bar, fresh sushi, wraps, etc. :) Just look at the bar selection!! YUM.

For dinner I got a honey lime chicken breast, baby baker potatoes (so cuteee), salad with dressing & an apple- this fit my meal plan perfectly! It helps to be able to look at the nutrition facts.

I had a really fun first night back! I got together with a bunch of my girlfriends from my sorority and we all went to Gar’s apartment and then to a bar! It was a great way to kickoff the semester. I snacked on trail mix later in the night.

For breakfast today I challenged myself! They were serving a breakfast sandwich that looked good & fit into my meal plan- I used to avoid it for whatever reason, but I decided to eat it today! It counted for 2 carbs, 3 fats, 3 proteins so it was a great nutrient dense meal. It felt really good to indulge in something like this! I didn’t even feel guilty afterwards because I knew it fit my meal plan.
I had to get all my books & run some errands so today has been crazy! Tonight I am going to the sorority house & watching Bachelor/relaxing before my first day of classes.

****

I wanted to talk about challenges. Everyone has challenges- eating disorder or not- and life is about how you face those challenges. You can either avoid situations in which you encounter your challenges, or you can face them head on, confront them, and overcome them. I am working on taking the second route. It is so easy to eat my “safe meals” but I think a huge part of my recovery is being able to overcome certain foods I have avoided. I have done this lately at Subway and for breakfast and I know doing things like this will make life easier. Why not indulge in some new foods if they fit the meal plan? What is the difference? Every day does not have to be a day full of challenges & beating challenges, however, it is an important part of life and I am going to try to overcome my fears & challenges more often!

****

I also wanted to talk about one of my FLAWS. I have a flaw of caring WAY too much about what people think. I think a lot of us have that problem, but for me it is something I am starting to notice. I am too concerned with doing what everyone else wants me to do and pleasing others and I really should be able to do my own thing and feel comfortable in my skin. In addition to working on facing challenges, I am also going to work on loving myself for who I am and not caring as much about what others think.

****

Questions

1) how do you deal with challenges?

2) what is a flaw that you want to work on and/or how do you deal with not caring a lot about what others think (or at least not letting it interfere with living your life) ?


xoxoxoxox

Shelley♥

oh, and before i forget.. don’t forget to enter this girl’s giveaway!!

70 Responses to “Getting Back in the Swing of Things”

  1. adrienmelaine January 18, 2010 at 7:11 pm #

    Shelley! Amazing job on your victories today! I love seeing you grow so much through this process.

    It’s probably so nice to be back to a place you loved, old fears- but remember it’s a new you!

  2. merittothecarrot January 18, 2010 at 7:21 pm #

    GOOD GOOD GOOD job on changing your mindset regarding challenges and fears. Once you beat your fear, it only gets easier. Seriously, you have taken such huge steps that everything should seem less threatening. Mazel Tov :)

  3. Abby (Abby's Vegan Eats) January 18, 2010 at 7:28 pm #

    Sounds like you are making HUGE steps, hun!! YAA.. the fact that you are stoked to go back to school is a great sign too!!

    Tha Fresh Madison place looks fabulous!!! I want some bars :)

  4. Eliza January 18, 2010 at 7:30 pm #

    hey lovie :)
    such a great post, you are so inspiring, seriously so amazing Shelley. and getting that sammie at subway is so amazing that you went for what YOU wanted not Gertrude ;) btw love how you call your ed that it is amazingly cute and original! hehe… i totally agree 101% on the challenging your fear foods and also about feeling too self conscious about others thoughts about me, my body, my appearance etc..about the challenges, the other day in the city i challenged myself to a brie and tomato basil sandwich on baguette, that was like the biggest challenge i have faced this far on into my recovery, brie cheese and french bread are 2 of my many fear foods, and i did it, and nothing bad happened, i felt really empowered and strong like i showed my ED who’s boss ;P
    ohh and that bar love those! i must get that again so yummzz! love how you and gar sing and dance in the car, you both are adorable…and the bar selection at your new market looks ridic perfect!! :)
    okay have i mentioned yet in this comment that you are adorable, and amazing yet? because you are ;)

    love you babe.
    xx
    Eliza

  5. Morgan January 18, 2010 at 7:32 pm #

    I think it’s so wonderful that your mindset it changing and you just want to be you, and do what you need to do. It’s so important to be comfortable in your own skin, and with all of your choices, big and small!
    I tend to face challenges head on and hope for the best!

  6. Lexi January 18, 2010 at 7:33 pm #

    So proud of you for getting the BMT and kicking ass! Glad you got what you truly wanted. It’s amazing, everything can fit into a meal plan! Love it! Glad you got the breakfast sandwich too, I love egg and cheese sammies, so delicious.

    I’m glad you’re doing well back at school. And I’m so happy to hear that you feel at home there. I have yet to find a school that really feels like my home. I was talking to my dad on the phone today, and he thinks I should transfer schools again. uh oh lol.

    Anyway, I deal with challenges by faces my fears. I think the only way to overcome is to push through. A flaw I want to work on, is my anxiety, and the fact that I “quit” a lot of things that I start. I really would like to follow through more, and keep my promises.

    Have a great first day of school!
    Loveya!
    -Lex

  7. Hannah January 18, 2010 at 7:38 pm #

    you are awesome and inspiring. simply put.

  8. Lyss January 18, 2010 at 7:39 pm #

    you are ridiculous…..ly amazing. for real.

    “Gertrude told me that any meat beside turkey/chicken is bad…” when i first read this, i thought it said GARDNER. i was like, um WHAT?! hahaha, so glad that it didn’t.

    you really are helping SO many girls by biting the bullet and kicking this disease in the ass… YOU ARE GOING PLACES MISS SHELLEY!

  9. uneviesaine January 18, 2010 at 7:40 pm #

    Omg this post could not have come at a better time…you really hit the nail on the head when talking about how you’re too worried about pleasing others. I’m the same way, and I just had a fight with my mom about it today. The bottom line is, you can’t make others happy without being happy yourself. It’s a contagious thing, and if you don’t stand up for yourself, who else will? Thank you so much for this :)
    ps- way to go on your challenges! You’ve come such a long way in such a short time…way to go girl!

  10. Caitlyn (Letters from the Oasis) January 18, 2010 at 7:41 pm #

    I’m so proud of you for sticking with your meal plan and leaving your comfort zone a bit!

    I face challenges head on, and don’t look back… I’m assertive, and aggressive and unafraid to screw up (because I know I can just try again)

    One of my biggest flaws actually has to do with how I face challenges. I don’t always (or I NEVER) assess the situation completely before charging forward. I need to work on being more rational and less bull-headed when I approach a challenge… Also, if the challenge I face involves others… I’m not always the most compassionate person… and I often hurt people without having that intention. Oops. :-/

  11. Stef @ moretolifethanlettuce January 18, 2010 at 7:42 pm #

    i care way too much about what other people think too! OMG check out that bar selection, you’ll have so much fun trying new ones out! it sounds like your sorority sisters are cool peeps. yay for challenging yourself with food!

  12. blueeyedheart January 18, 2010 at 7:43 pm #

    That looks like one awesome store that opened near you!! You’re doing an awesome job of kicking Gertrude’s ass ;)

    I have the same problem with caring too much about what other people think… SO frustrating.
    <3 <3

  13. *Andrea* January 18, 2010 at 7:45 pm #

    great job!!!! you’re so amazing :-) fear is hard to overcome but you’re taking all the right steps. i love those amazing grass bars! i’ve only tried the chocolate though

  14. Tina January 18, 2010 at 7:53 pm #

    I think caring what others think OR believing others are judging me is a big flaw of mine as well. It is hard to overcome and a daily battle. I think, for me, it helps to remind myself of all the people who love me, that God loves me, and the positive things about myself. It is hard to get in the habit of doing that, but it does help.

    And I think it is great how you opened up to new and different meals. Things don’t always have to be raw, organic, non-processed, etc to be healthy. Those things are great but can’t be the “be all, end all” of what we eat. I think sometimes the blogging world can add to that since so many gals post ‘perfect’ foods. Subway, in my opinion, is a perfectly healthy meal. Not something to eat every day, but still healthy :) Great job!

  15. homecookedem January 18, 2010 at 7:55 pm #

    Glad you’re settling in nicely back at school. You’re definitely not the only one who struggles with worrying too much about what other people think. Most girls I know (me included) are guilty of this. I think as we grow up we will start realizing more and more that it really doesn’t matter what other people think.

  16. tatiannalives January 18, 2010 at 8:04 pm #

    <3 I love you waaay too much big sis :P
    You always inspire me to keep going strong with my meal plan.. I still can't thank you enough for everything you have done for me. You have come so far Shelley, I am honestly so honoured to have you as a friend :)
    … I am SO proud of you for branching out with your meals (which sound/look FAB btw!) and facing new challenges. It is SO important to overcome our fears, and you proved it!

    xox
    Tat

    1) how do I deal with challenges?
    Usually if I set out to face a fear or confront a challenge… I force myself to give it my all no matter how hard it may seem. The sense of pride that comes along with following through can sometimes feel even better than completing the challenge :)

    2) what is a flaw that you want to work on?
    A huge flaw of mine is being too hard on myself.. I really need to work on accepting my self and having a positive self-image.

  17. Molly January 18, 2010 at 8:07 pm #

    your breakfasts always look SO good!

    and amen sister- your flaw is the same as mine. I ALWAYS put other people before myself. I always gave up my own happiness to see others happy. but with my struggles and through my years of getting trampled on, and walked all over I realized the only person who is going to never leave me is myself. and the only person who is 100% going to look out for me is myself as well.
    Do what you have to do for YOU, girly. and you will get so far. but that compassion you have for others will always shine through as well :)

    Happy Monday!

    xo- Molly

    http://www.givinganythingbutup.wordpress.com

  18. lindsey January 18, 2010 at 8:08 pm #

    holy bar section! i would love to visit that store :)

  19. crazylittlethingneela January 18, 2010 at 8:24 pm #

    best way for me to deal with a challenge is to go back and try to figure out what i really want in this situation to happen. now of course it can be really confusing when ED is manipulating you. so i try to imagine someone who i really love (like my best friend or my brother) in this situation and try to decide what would you choose for them at this point. this is usually where the ‘real’ neela has her real voice and opinion.
    xoxo

  20. Susan January 18, 2010 at 8:29 pm #

    Congrats on stickin’ it to “Gertrude” with your delicious eats!

    I’ll admit I try to avoid challenges that I think are unnecessary, but when backed into a corner, I think I do a pretty good job of overcoming tough stuff.
    And I’m trying to let go of not being so hard on myself : )

  21. tryingtoheal January 18, 2010 at 8:41 pm #

    Challenges are big things for me and take me a lot of time to get through. sadly i think too much about things when i don’t know how to accomplish them like i want to, but i just make sure to keep calm and take one step at a time. i tell myself as many positive things about it as possible and hope for the best!

    I too care too much about what others think and it has kept me from far too many things in life.

  22. kbwood January 18, 2010 at 8:42 pm #

    yay for challenges!
    i know what you mean about school-it is SO great to be back!
    im sorry you care too much..you need to know that you are so beautiful and we cant live for the approval of man! I know you know that :)
    i am wayy to hard on myself, I have to pray about that a lot!

  23. Julie @savvyeats January 18, 2010 at 8:42 pm #

    I heard about the new grocery store and want to check it out, even though it is nowhere near my apartment… it sounds great!

    I’m planning a blogger meet-up in Madison… want to come?

  24. Jenna January 18, 2010 at 8:46 pm #

    I’m glad you got the subway sandwich you love! You are right! If it fits into your meal plan then why not eat it?!
    That new market looks perfect for you :)
    Jenna

  25. Tricia January 18, 2010 at 8:50 pm #

    I love the amazing grass green superfood bars, yum!

  26. Sarah January 18, 2010 at 9:06 pm #

    You’re doing so well Shelley! So proud of you.
    Sarah

  27. katie January 18, 2010 at 9:23 pm #

    Ughhhhh!! I know that feeling love, caring too much about what others think of me, that is tough, I used to let that bother me ALOT, but learned to just let it go and realize that it just brought me down, now I dont anymore!!!

    Wow that new food store looks amazing, huge bar selection!!! Yum!!!!!!!

    Glad you are happy to be back to Madison!!!

    Have a great night girl! xoxo

  28. april January 18, 2010 at 9:33 pm #

    You are doing awesome in your progress!!

    Subway’s bread is so darn good! I don’t know how they make it so doughy but it’s so good I won’t even question it! haha.

    And I do care about what people think. Actually it kind of depends on the topic! For example, if you read my post today I got hurt feelings with some of the comments people left me about my diet. But in real life if someone doesn’t like me for another reason I figure they aren’t important enough to be in my life anyway! haha.

  29. Ashlei January 18, 2010 at 9:38 pm #

    Girl, you are rocking that meal plan!! Way to go :)

    A couple weeks ago I let myself indulge in a bagel with hummus, lettuce, tomato and onion and it was sooo good – I was like “dang, I’ve been missing this because it’s not a “safe food” for me.” Looking back I realize how silly that way of thinking was.

    I love singing and dancing in the car. And Amazing Grass bars <333 :)

    I'm slowly learning to do things that please me and not caring about what other people think. It's hard though. Good luck!

    xoxoxox
    Ashlei

  30. jocelynsteiber January 18, 2010 at 9:46 pm #

    Hey babe-

    Thank you for your inspiring words. It seems like you are doing amazing and not letting the ED take control anymore. Kudos to you! : )

    I struggled with both the points you mentioned today. I used to care WAY too much about what people thought of me! I based all my decisions on what others thought I should do and wouldn’t go out because I feared I didn’t look good enough or wouldn’t be cool enough. So silly now looking back on it! Although I will admit I didn’t feel comfortable in my own shoes until after college. But I realized that I’m pretty freakin cool! And that I should learn to trust and listen to myself more often.

    I love these quotes:

    “To be nobody but yourself in a world that’s doing its best to make you somebody else, is to fight the hardest battle you are ever going to fight. Never stop fighting.” -E. E. Cummings

    And the classic:

    “Be who you are and do what you feel because those who matter don’t mind and those who mind don’t matter”

    So true!

    xo

    Jocelyn

    http://peacelovenutrition.wordpress.com/

  31. Lizzy January 18, 2010 at 9:49 pm #

    ohh i LOVE challenges because they provide such a great feeling of accomplishment once they are overcome!! I usual break the challenge down and make mini goals because it’s very difficult to just jump straight at the challenge. You are so gorgeous inside and out, don’t ever let anyone make you feel self-conscious!! I LOVE RAW REVOLUTION and PURE BARS!! You must try them from your new market…how exciting!! I hope you have a great week chica!! xoxo!

  32. theemptynutjar January 18, 2010 at 10:19 pm #

    I am struggling now with challenges Shelley…and my flaws are too too many…
    you make me so ….touched inside…like you are just doing so well and living so much life…you really really amaze me and I just cannot express it…

  33. Lily @ Lily's Health Pad January 18, 2010 at 10:21 pm #

    Love the picture of you and your sorority sisters! Enjoy your college days. They will be wonderful memories one day.

    Way to go on one-upping Gertrude. You kicked her butt today!

  34. melonshot. January 18, 2010 at 10:44 pm #

    i love reading about all your silly adventures, and your accomplishments! you are a splendid girl <3

  35. sophia January 18, 2010 at 10:44 pm #

    I’m so happy you are back happy in Madison, Shelley. Good for you, and awesome that you challenged yourself! That is a very well-balanced breakfast, and that’s what a normal portion should be like. :-)

    There is no way to challenge yourself except to just DO it. Don’t think or analyze or plan it too much, you’ll only be overcome by anxieties. Just mindlessly, determindedly DO it. And the more you do it, the less challenging they will be!

  36. blueberrymuffins January 19, 2010 at 12:22 am #

    What? Subway has soup????!?!? I guess I missed something.

    Amazing job challenging yourself- keep it up :)

  37. Lauren (Biochemísta) January 19, 2010 at 12:41 am #

    Hey girl :)

    Glad you had a good trip back to Madison!!! Keep up with the good work!

    xx

    Lauren
    http://www.Biochemista.com

  38. Averie (LoveVeggiesAndYoga) January 19, 2010 at 12:54 am #

    new grocery store sounds like a great thing! wow aweseome!

    your position about trying to not care what others think…well, I think I always care to an extent. I wish i could say, oh no it doesnt bother me, but my skin is thin sometimes and it does bother me. The best I can do is say, well, that’s her opinion, that’s her logic, she doesnt know me, the whole story, etc she’s coming at her opinion from a place that’s different…I mean, the final result is that I try to shrug it off by using rationale of why this person’s opinion really doesnt, and shouldn’t, matter.

    Sorry not sure if that helped but even in my 30s, married, with a child, i still care. It’s human nature, you just gotta work thru it I think :)

  39. brianna January 19, 2010 at 1:02 am #

    I used to avoid challenging myself like the plague but since going to europe to be an au pair, I realized challenging yourself to go beyond your boundaries is the only way to grow! Each week I try to challenge myself to run further, study longer or do something that I normally wouldn’t do.

    I have to be honest I still care what people think but not to the extent that I did when I was in high school. Your the only person living your life so don’t change yourself because of what other people think of you!

  40. One Healthy Apple January 19, 2010 at 2:38 am #

    Oh challenges! I am just starting to deal with them and it is hard! You are such a mature and wise girl and I learn so much from you!

    I totally dance in the car with my boy too and love that it makes him laugh and a little embarassed!

    Thank you for this post and for spreading your sunshine to my blog!

  41. julia January 19, 2010 at 3:54 am #

    Good job girl!

    I think you already know from my blog that I challenged (and still challenge) myself often, so I would be able to eat everything. (Everything yes!) I think that’s such an important aspect of real recovery and I’m glad you realize it too. Keep challenging yourself (with other options and maybe eat something completely different and MORE than in the meal plan without compensating…those things will kick out Gertrude and you deserve it!)

    xxx Julia (Taste of Living)

  42. Karin January 19, 2010 at 6:16 am #

    I’m so happy to hear that you’re doing so well back at Madison! Also: HOORAY for kicking Gertrude’s butt!
    I think I deal well with challenges because I overcame my ED which was HUGE. I now think that nothing’s impossible ;).
    As for flaws.. I have millions of them! I sometimes really worry about what people think of me but I think it’s getting better with time..

  43. seekmyself January 19, 2010 at 7:45 am #

    It’s great to see you facing challenges AND overcoming them. Girl, you’re amazing.

    To deal with challenges, I always try to focus on the positive aspects of what I’m trying to achieve. I always tend to get overcome by negativity so I try to consciously shift my focus to the good that will come out of facing a challenge.

  44. Simply Life January 19, 2010 at 8:02 am #

    wow that market does look amazing! I’d be happy to get lost in there! :)

  45. The Candid RD January 19, 2010 at 8:08 am #

    That’s so fantastic that you challenged yourself like that at breakfast. Good for you, seriously, so great. When I was getting over my ED it was those challenges that really helped me recover. I would eat something like that that I used to avoid (for me I remember the first time I ate peanut butter!!) and I would see that wow, nothing happened! My world DIDN’T end! It was great. Keep up the good work.

    As for not caring what others think, I believe that college is one of the most difficult times for that. But I used to remind myself that in college, especially, everyone is different and unique, and most people are mature enough to respect that. So I walked around campus PROUD to be who I was! so should you :)

  46. Laura January 19, 2010 at 8:19 am #

    Subway is FANTASTIC for fitting into the meal plan!!

  47. rebecca lustig January 19, 2010 at 8:41 am #

    I’m SOOO proud of you for challenging yourself… look at the ‘good’ that came out of it. I also think it’s important to be honest with yourself and recognize flaws..as long as you remember there is no such thing as perfection :)

    Hope youre doing well darling, thank you for your cdontinued support<3

  48. Danielle January 19, 2010 at 8:47 am #

    Glad to hear you’re loving school!
    I like to face challenges head on- I sort of thrive off that feeling ;)
    I’d say one of my biggest flaws is letting the little things bother me. Sometimes you just gotta brush it off

  49. lowandbhold January 19, 2010 at 9:33 am #

    I love those italian subs, yum! You are doing so great at kicking Gertrude’s ass! Loooove it :)

  50. Casey January 19, 2010 at 10:17 am #

    Great post Shelley! Your breakfast sandwich looks really yummy! :)

    I face challenges in the confidence department. Confidence in myself, my relationships, etc—the list goes on. I need to trust myself and my decisions, and the people I love. Sometimes I just let doubt get the best of me! I’m working on it. :)

  51. Ada January 19, 2010 at 10:45 am #

    Congrats on your first day back at school! That road trip with Gardner must have been such a blast:) I didn’t know you went to school in Madison, I bet there’s a lot of great cheese there!

  52. bella52586 January 19, 2010 at 11:25 am #

    Hi Shelly, I just recently started reading blogs and I love reading yours! It really seems like you’re on a great road to success! Good for you girl, keep it up!

    Melissa

  53. Missy Maintains January 19, 2010 at 12:10 pm #

    Great job getting what you truly love at Subway and for breakfast! A flaw of mine is never really thinking my body looks good yet I know deep down it could be a lot worse.

  54. Michelle (Snacks and Field) January 19, 2010 at 12:36 pm #

    I think you are doing AMAZINGly at challenging yourself trying new foods- as soon as I read the Subway thing I was impressed. You are more SATISFIED when you get what you want, as opposed to getting what Gertrude tells you to get! (Love the Shelly 1, Gertrude 0)… And I agree I think a lot of people really care too much about what other people think, myself included. I’ve been working on it a lot though and I’m definitely more confident than I used to be…
    I hope you are having a great time at school!!! Good luck with your classes :)

  55. daintyvegan January 19, 2010 at 12:55 pm #

    Man, you’re just killing those challenges left and right! Yay for Shelley! You are too awesome. :D

    When I have challenges in my life, which I do because everyone does, then I try to face and overcome them if they’re for the best. Who wants to back down from a challenge? Certainly not me, no matter HOW hard it may be.

    One of my flaws is that I care more about making myself happy than others. :/

  56. Little Notes January 19, 2010 at 1:17 pm #

    Oh my, look at that bar selection!!!! Your so lucky to get those over there, we dont get ANY of them here!
    I really love to see how you have embraced your meal plan and have found ways to bring in foods you enjoy. I like the sound of your meal plan the way you can work exchanges, its a good way to work off calorie counting and stuff.
    It is so important to keep doing what your doing, in recovery thats the best time to conquer fear foods. Its possible to gain weight and get back to a healthy weight but still habe obsessional thoughts over food and fears, so nows the time to get rid of them! Your doing a fantastic job of that :-)
    xox
    Laura

  57. Naomi (onefitfoodie) January 19, 2010 at 1:44 pm #

    you sound so happy! I am so happy FOR YOU that you are back and feel great and enjoying some awesome food! the italian BMT sounded like the perfect meal.

    I think that in college I used to have this same mentality of caring what others thought too much. As time when on, I realized I really don’t and shouldnt care what others think of me. I am my own person with my own life and i shouldbe the only one who is in charge of my life. I lived wiht a very manipulative roomate who my other roomates kissed the ground she walked upon. I chose to be much more independent and NOT kiss her ass, and I realized they were not real friends to me because they ended up following this ;queen bee’ and ignoring or ganging up on me…bottom line–you have to do what you believe in and be your own person!

    You have come such a long way!!! Keep it up girl!

    xoxo

  58. julie January 19, 2010 at 1:59 pm #

    oh that new market sounds so good! and that bar selection is one to be reckoned with :) glad youre happy to be back in town and enjoy your old favs!

  59. Total Fit Girl January 19, 2010 at 2:02 pm #

    It sounds like you are doing so well! I deal with challenges by finding support from the positive people in my life :)

  60. Emily January 19, 2010 at 3:06 pm #

    So, just fyi, we were just reading each other’s blogs at the same time! lol I just got your comment as I was reading…a sign? Not sure…. lol

    Anyways, LOVIN’ that bar selection…always a good sign of what’s in store (pun intended).

    We all have flaws in some form or fashion…when it comes down to caring what other’s think, I think that is just something that you have to come to a realization with. People should accept you for who you are. If they don’t or if they think differently of you…who cares! There are so many more important things in life than what other people think…The most important reason why I do not care what other’s think is because God is in control of my life. If you just remember that and let the pieces fall where they may, it makes things alot easier!

  61. whydeprive January 19, 2010 at 3:40 pm #

    You are doing so great!! And the breakfast sandwich looks fabulous!
    Everyone has flaws – one of mine is my temper. I get mad over stupid things and Im MEAN about it. Its pretty awful.

  62. Hedda January 19, 2010 at 4:26 pm #

    It makes me smile to see the strenght you show challenging yourself and keeping a positive attitude- two thumbs up for you!
    I have so many challenges that I would spend ages if I should mention them all, haha. My first is to accept the fact that I have to eat more than the people around me. It is hard when the anorexic in me is trying to stop, trying to tell me it is wrong, bad, dangerous. But, I am working on it. I know I have to eat more than other people, a lot more. I am supposed to gain weight, other people are trying to maintain their weight. Ahh, it is so hard.

  63. Jessica Zara January 19, 2010 at 4:51 pm #

    I am in awe of that bar selection. So jealous!

    How do I deal with challenges? Uh, panic, cry, panic some more and then eventually calm down enough to rationalise the best method of dealing with them. But the anxiety attack first is totally necessary, of course ;)

    Congrats for approaching all your challenges and getting through them :)
    <3

    ~Jess~

  64. katie January 19, 2010 at 7:40 pm #

    Thanks for the pic comment and Angelas Recipe is delish, you need to try it!!!

    Hope you had a great day beautiful! xo

  65. Kelly January 19, 2010 at 8:09 pm #

    I’m glad you are “home” :)
    Hmm…chocolate chips in your oatmeal, I may have to do that..dangerous haha.

    I know what you mean about caring too much what people think of you. Fortunately as I’ve gotten older, I think I have just naturally improved in this area. Not that I don’t care at all anymore, but less so than I did when I was in high school/college. I still have a lot of other struggles though, mostly getting stressed too easily, and having anxiety about social situations if I think I won’t be able to leave when I want to (which is stupid- I can always leave) haha.

  66. Gelareh @ Orange Truffle January 19, 2010 at 8:28 pm #

    It sounds like you started your semester on a good note… friends and food :)

    You know I have never been one to care what people think of me… not in a bad way… for example.. when I was in high school I was always made fun of for my accent… believe it or not I am almost 30 and there are people, professionals, who make fun of my pronunciation.. but you know I always remind myself that this is who I am and honestly if they don’t like it I don’t want to have anything to do with them.

  67. Janie January 19, 2010 at 9:17 pm #

    You and your blog are seriously amazing and so inspirational. Your progress at every step of the way (ie, single meals and snacks!) is so cool to see and even more enjoyable because your food choices are similar in taste preferences to my owwwwnnn ;) hence I drool whenever I see (most) of your selections! Glad you are having a positive start to the new semester. =) (And That always helps make the foodstuffs easier). Plus, totally jealous of that bar selection at that new grocery store.

  68. glidingcalm January 19, 2010 at 10:41 pm #

    aww girl! you always make me so happy to see your progress with each post!!! hurray for going for new foods!!

    subway used to be a staple in my diet too! haha it is the healthiest of almost all the fast food chains!!

    welcome back to school!! and gluck with the school term!!!

    hugs!

  69. Sara K January 19, 2010 at 10:43 pm #

    Great job on the Subway and Breakfast Sandwich! Four million points for you and none for “Gertrude!”
    Yeah, I also have that flaw of caring too much about what people think- it’s gotten better, but a lot of the time it’s still in the back of my mind which sometimes prevents me from asserting myself (which then builds resentment….not a good result). It’s not necessarily a flaw I guess to care about what other people think about you- unless it’s at the point where it’s negatively impacting you/driving you crazy trying to meet expectations. I know learning to say, “No,” was huge to me, I mean I always felt like I HAD to provide an explanation- but then I realized that you know what, it’s okay to say no- the other person won’t hate me, think I’m selfish/a bitch, or anything- overanalyzing in our heads is a killer for sureeee!
    As for challenges- sometimes it’s difficult to step up to the plate and initiate, but often times I realise that the anticipation of a challenge is much worse than actually going through with it- plus the feeling of accomplishment afterwards- SO WORTH IT :)

  70. imaginenamaste January 20, 2010 at 12:29 am #

    I’m with you on your challenge to not obsess/worry as much over what people think/perceive of you….and, at the same time, loving yourself! I often worry and wonder what people think of me–when most people hear about me (i.e., age, gender, things like that–even sorority involvement), I always wonder if I am what they think they are expecting….and of course about everything else! Rambling now!

    Hope you had fun with your sorority sisters :) I love when I get to get together with mine! It is like we never left!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 184 other followers

